NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Sun News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:43am EST

More Sun News
February 21, 2017

Jan. 30, 2017 — NASA's Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope has identified the farthest gamma-ray blazars, a type of galaxy whose intense emissions are powered by supersized black holes. Light from the most distant ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — Scientists have identified the origin of key stardust grains present in the dust cloud from which the planets in our Solar System formed, a study ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — Today, more than 16 years of space-weather data is publicly available for the first time in history. The data comes from space-weather ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — NASA scientists studying high-altitude radiation recently published new results on the effects of cosmic radiation in our atmosphere to help improve real-time radiation monitoring for aviation ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — A new model is mapping out the path of coronal mass ejections as they travel from the sun to Earth, where these storms can interact with our planet's magnetic fields and cause a variety of space ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — Incredibly rapid gas flares from a white dwarf binary star system have been detected for the first time by scientists. The first sighting of such activity, it suggests that our current understanding ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — The presence of water on ancient Mars is a paradox. There's plenty of geographical evidence that rivers periodically flowed across the planet's surface yet Mars should have been too cold to ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — In September 2015, a team of astronomers successfully observed the entire hydrogen coma of the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, using the LAICA telescope onboard the PROCYON spacecraft. They also ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Researchers have discovered minerals from 43 meteorites that landed on Earth 470 million years ago. More than half of the mineral grains are from meteorites completely unknown or very rare in ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Scientists have clarified that toroidal magnets can also look for axions, one of the particle candidates for the mysterious dark ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — Astronomers have located the habitable zone, the region where water could exist on the surface of a planet, on the Wolf 1061, a planetary system that's 14 light years ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — Scientists are planning to send a deep-space probe to a metal asteroid, enabling them to see what is believed to be a planetary core. Psyche, an asteroid orbiting the sun between Mars and Jupiter, is ... read more

Extreme Space Weather-Induced Blackouts Could Cost US More Than $40 Billion Daily

Jan. 18, 2017 — The daily US economic cost from solar storm-induced electricity blackouts could be in the tens of billions of dollars, with more than half the loss from indirect costs outside the blackout zone, ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — New images have revealed otherwise invisible details of our Sun, including a new view of the dark, contorted center of a sunspot that is nearly twice the diameter of the Earth. The images are the ... read more

Jan. 16, 2017 — 49 Lib, a relatively bright star in the southern sky, is twelve billion years old rather than just 2.3 billion. For many decades, researchers were stumped by conflicting data pertaining to this ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — A groundbreaking new optical device to correct images of the Sun distorted by multiple layers of atmospheric turbulence, is providing scientists with the most precisely detailed, real-time pictures ... read more

Jan. 9, 2017 — A new study provides additional insight into relationship between Pluto and its moon, Charon, and how it affects the continuous stripping of Pluto's atmosphere by solar wind. When Charon is ... read more

Jan. 6, 2017 — Interstellar forecast for a nearby star: Raining comets! NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has discovered comets plunging onto the star HD 172555, which is a youthful 23 million years old and ... read more

Jan. 6, 2017 — Powerful solar storms can charge up the soil in frigid, permanently shadowed regions near the lunar poles, and may possibly produce 'sparks' that could vaporize and melt the soil, perhaps ... read more

Jan. 6, 2017 — Astronomers using NASA's Hubble Space Telescope have measured the material along the Voyager 1 and 2 probes' trajectories as they move through space. Hubble data, combined with the ... read more

Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016