Sun News
April 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:03am EDT

More Sun News
April 26, 2017

Mar. 30, 2017 — Solar wind and radiation are responsible for stripping the Martian atmosphere, transforming Mars from a planet that could have supported life billions of years ago into a frigid desert world, ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — Recent images have revealed the emergence of small-scale magnetic fields in the lower reaches of the corona researchers say may be linked to the onset of a main ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — The same kind of large-scale planetary waves that meander through the atmosphere high above Earth's surface may also exist on the sun, according to a new ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — NASA's Van Allen Probes uncover new phenomena in our near-Earth environment with their unique double orbit. Recently, the spacecraft were in just the right place, at just the right time, to ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Stars don't have to be massive to evaporate material from around nearby stars and affect their ability to form planets, a new study ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Astronomers have developed a way to detect the ultraviolet background of the universe, which could help explain why there are so few small galaxies in the ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Images returned from the European Space Agency's Rosetta mission indicate the surface of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko was a very active place during its most recent trip through the solar ... read more

Comet 67P Is Constantly Undergoing a Facelift

Mar. 21, 2017 — Changes that the Rosetta spacecraft discovered on the surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, including the collapse of entire cliffs, were likely driven by seasonal events, according to a new ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — The inner Van Allen belt has less radiation than previously believed, according to a recent study. Observations from NASA's Van Allen probes show the fastest, most energetic electrons in the ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Astronomers measured the light produced when a sun-like star wandered too close to a 3-million-solar-mass black hole similar to the one at the center of our own ... read more

Mar. 17, 2017 — Eruptions on the Sun's surface not only send bursts of energetic particles into the Earth's atmosphere causing disturbances in our planet's magnetic field, they can also strangely ... read more

Mar. 17, 2017 — Kirby Runyon wants to make one thing clear: regardless of what one prestigious scientific organization says to the contrary, Pluto is a planet. So, he says, is Europa, commonly known as a moon of ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — A team of astrophysicists studying an enormous and bizarre young planet approximately 300 lights years from Earth has gained a rare glimpse into the final stages of planetary evolution. While ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — Earth's radiation belts, two doughnut-shaped regions of charged particles encircling our planet, were discovered more than 50 years ago, but their behavior is still not completely understood. ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Researchers have shown how supermassive black holes may have formed in the early universe. They suggest that radiation from a neighboring galaxy could have shut down star-formation in a black-hole ... read more

Mar. 12, 2017 — A regional dust storm currently swelling on Mars follows unusually closely on one that blossomed less than two weeks earlier and is now dissipating, as seen in daily global weather monitoring by ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — This beautiful Hubble image reveals a young super star cluster known as Westerlund 1, only 15,000 light-years away in our Milky Way neighborhood, yet home to one of the largest stars ever ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Magnetic explosions happen constantly all across the universe, and new results with NASA's ARTEMIS mission help explain how near-Earth explosions convert energy into heat and propel particles ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Astronomers have used ALMA to detect a huge mass of glowing stardust in a galaxy seen when the Universe was only four percent of its present age. This galaxy was observed shortly after its formation ... read more

Mar. 2, 2017 — Scientists have proven that the warning signs of one type of space weather event can be detected up to 17 minutes before it arrives at Earth -- critical time that could help protect astronauts in ... read more

Thursday, March 30, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Sunday, March 12, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016