NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Sun News
October 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:42am EDT

More Sun News
October 1, 2016

Asteroid Named After Professor

Sep. 13, 2016 — A professor has had his name written among the stars, after an asteroid was named after ... read more

Aug. 31, 2016 — Scientists have discovered three giant planets in a binary star system composed of stellar 'twins' that are also effectively siblings of our Sun. One star hosts two planets and the other ... read more

Aug. 30, 2016 — The solar system could be thrown into disaster when the sun dies if the mysterious 'Planet Nine' exists, according to new ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — The center of the Milky Way galaxy is currently a quiet place where a supermassive black hole slumbers, only occasionally slurping small sips of hydrogen gas. But it wasn't always this way. A ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — In the race to discover a proposed ninth planet in our Solar System, researchers have observed several never-before-seen objects at extreme distances from the Sun in our Solar ... read more

Can One Cosmic Enigma Help Solve Another?

Aug. 24, 2016 — Astrophysicists have proposed a clever new way to shed light on the mystery of dark matter, believed to make up most of the universe. The irony is they want to try to pin down the nature of this ... read more

Aug. 24, 2016 — Astronomers have found clear evidence of a planet orbiting the closest star to Earth, Proxima Centauri. The long-sought world, designated Proxima b, orbits its cool red parent star every 11 days and ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — NASA has reestablished contact with its STEREO-B spacecraft, after communications were lost on Oct. 1, 2014. Over 22 months, the STEREO team has worked to attempt contact with the spacecraft. Most ... read more

Meteorological Impact of 2015 Solar Eclipse

Aug. 21, 2016 — A pioneering study has revealed the meteorological impact of the 2015 UK solar eclipse across three ... read more

Aug. 21, 2016 — A young star over 30 times more massive than the sun could help us understand how the most extreme stars in the universe are ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — Comet ISON, a bright ball of frozen matter from the earliest days of the universe, was inbound from the Oort Cloud at the edge of the solar system and expected to pierce the Sun's corona on ... read more

A New Goldilocks for Habitable Planets

Aug. 19, 2016 — The search for habitable, alien worlds needs to make room for a second 'Goldilocks,' according to a researcher. A new study suggests that simply being in the habitable zone isn't ... read more

SPIES Tool Aims to Support Solar Park Developments

Aug. 18, 2016 — A ‘go-to’ guide for the UK’s solar park community has been planned, allowing researchers to qualify and, where possible, quantify and value the ecosystem services of current and planned ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Research has for the first time statistically proven that the earliest standing stone monuments of Britain, the great circles, were constructed specifically in line with the movements of the Sun and ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — An interplanetary shock struck the outermost of Earth's Van Allen radiation belts on March 17, 2015, resulting in the greatest geomagnetic storm of the past 10 ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Brown dwarfs are smaller than stars, but more massive than giant planets. As such, they provide a natural link between astronomy and planetary science. However, they also show incredible variation ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Astronomers have accurately measured the light hitting the Earth from outside our galaxy and determined that 10 trillionths of your suntan comes from beyond our ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Venus may have had a shallow liquid-water ocean and habitable surface temperatures for up to two billion years of its early history, according to NASA computer modeling of the planet's ancient ... read more

Getting to Know More About Sun Storms

Aug. 10, 2016 — A violent solar eruption can disrupt Earth’s magnetic field, which in turn can interfere with power grids. Electrical power sector experts around the world are making contingency ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — A solar storm that jammed radar and radio communications at the height of the Cold War could have led to a disastrous military conflict if not for the US Air Force's budding efforts to monitor ... read more

Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016