Big Bang News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:40pm EDT

More Big Bang News
July 26, 2016

Making Astrophysical Simulations More Accurate

July 5, 2016 — New research may result in better simulations of large astrophysical events such as supernova explosions. This work also raises hopes of finding out more about how atomic nuclei behave in neutron ... read more

June 30, 2016 — Euclid satellite, due for launch in 2020, will set astronomers a huge challenge: to analyze one hundred thousand strong gravitational lenses. The gravitational deflection of light from distant ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Scientists may have answered why green galaxies are rare in our universe and why their color could reveal a troubled ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Astronomers have released a catalog of the hidden universe, which reveals the unseen sources of energy found over the last 12 billion years of cosmic ... read more

June 28, 2016 — A new Hubble Space Telescope image shows a firestorm of star birth lighting up one end of the diminutive galaxy Kiso 5639. The dwarf galaxy is shaped like a flattened pancake, but because it is ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Around half of the star formation in the local Universe arises from minor mergers between galaxies, according to data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey. The patch of sky called Stripe 82 is observed ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Astronomers have released spectacular new infrared images of the distant Universe, providing the deepest view ever obtained over a large area of ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Gravitational waves captured by space-based detectors could help identify the origins of supermassive black holes, according to new computer simulations of the ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Cosmologists have begun modelling the universe for the first time using Einstein's full general theory of ... read more

Detailed Plans for Largest Neutrino Telescope in the World

June 24, 2016 — A deep-sea array will soak up signals from neutrinos traveling through the cosmos to study the evolution of the universe and to discover more about the fundamental properties of these prized ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Our universe came to life nearly 14 billion years ago in the Big Bang -- a tremendously energetic fireball from which the cosmos has been expanding ever since. Today, space is filled with hundreds of ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Astronomers have presented one of the most complete models of matter in the universe and predict hundreds of massive black hole mergers each year observable with the second generation of ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Utilizing the Atacama Large Millimeter Array, one of the most powerful telescopes in the world, researchers have peered into the feeding habits of a supermassive black ... read more

June 16, 2016 — A team of astronomers has used the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) to detect glowing oxygen in a distant galaxy seen just 700 million years after the Big Bang. This is the most ... read more

'Mosh Pits' in Star Clusters a Likely Source of LIGO's First Black Holes

June 15, 2016 — Astrophysicists have shown their theoretical predictions last year were correct: The merger of two massive black holes detected Sept. 14, 2015, could easily have formed through dynamic interactions ... read more

June 15, 2016 — When an astronomical observatory detected two black holes colliding in deep space, scientists celebrated confirmation of Einstein's prediction of gravitational waves. A team of astrophysicists ... read more

June 15, 2016 — The supermassive black holes found at the centre of every galaxy, including our own Milky Way, may, on average, be smaller than we thought, according to new work. New research suggests that the ... read more

June 14, 2016 — New research has enhanced scientists' understanding of how free neutrons decay into other particles. The work provides the first measurement of the energy spectrum of the photons that are ... read more

June 13, 2016 — A prototype system that will test a planned array of 5,000 robots for a sky-mapping instrument is taking shape. Dubbed ProtoDESI, the scaled-down, 10-robot system will run through a series of tests ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Two volunteer participants in an international citizen science project have had a rare galaxy cluster that they found named after ... read more

Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016