New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Big Bang News

February 27, 2024

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers have characterized a bright quasar, finding it to be not only the brightest of its kind, but also the most luminous object ever observed. Quasars are the bright cores of distant galaxies and they are powered by supermassive black holes. ...
A new paradigm is taking shape in the space industry as the countries and entities accessing space continue to grow and diversify. This dynamic landscape creates both competition and potential for scientific collaboration, as well as the challenges ...
A team found evidence for hydrothermal or metamorphic activity within the icy dwarf planets Eris and Makemake, located in the Kuiper Belt. Methane detected on their surfaces has the tell-tale signs of warm or even hot geochemistry in their rocky ...
Employing massive data sets collected through NASA's James Webb Space Telescope, astronomers are unearthing clues to conditions existing in the early universe. The team has catalogued the ages of stars in the Wolf--Lundmark--Melotte (WLM) galaxy, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 8:46pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

In the culmination of a decade's worth of effort, scientists analyzed an unprecedented sample of more than 1,500 supernovae classified using machine learning. They placed the strongest ...

We don't know how magnetic fields in the cosmos formed. Now a new theoretical research tells how the invisible part of our universe could help us find out, suggesting a primordial genesis, even ...

Researchers have analyzed more than one million galaxies to explore primordial fluctuations that seeded the formation of the structure of the entire ...

 A new snapshot of an ancient, far-off galaxy could help scientists understand how it formed and the origins of our own Milky Way.   At more than 12 billion years old, BRI 1335-0417 is the oldest ...

Supercomputer helped astronomers develop PRIYA, the largest suite of hydrodynamic simulations yet made of large-scale structure in the ...

A team of astronomers has used asteroseismology, or the study of stellar oscillations, to accurately measure the distance of stars from the Earth. Their research examined thousands of stars and ...

Not all discoveries turn out to be actual new discoveries. This was the case for the extremely red objects (EROs) found in James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) data. Analysis shows that they are very ...

Astronomers have discovered a population of massive stars that have been stripped of their hydrogen envelopes by their companions in binary systems. The findings shed light on the hot helium stars ...

Two galaxies in the early universe, which contain extremely productive star factories, have been studied by a team of scientists. Using powerful telescopes to split the galaxies' light into ...

Galactic winds enable the exchange of matter between galaxies and their surroundings. In this way, they limit the growth of galaxies, that is, their star formation rate. Although this had already ...

Through analysis of high-resolution data from a ten-meter telescope in Hawaii, researchers have succeeded in generating new knowledge about three stars at the very heart of the Milky Way. The stars ...

Astronomers studying images from the James Webb Space Telescope have identified an object as a 'dusty star-forming galaxy' from nearly 1 billion years after the Big Bang. They have also ...

The universe is expanding. How fast it does so is described by the so-called Hubble-Lemaitre constant. But there is a dispute about how big this constant actually is: Different measurement methods ...

While life on Earth is relatively new, geologically speaking, the ingredients that combined to form it might be much older than once thought. The simplest amino acid, carbamic acid, could have formed ...

Wondering whether whether Dark Matter particles actually are produced inside a jet of standard model particles, led researchers to explore a new detector signature known as semi-visible jets, which ...

If you look at massive galaxies teeming with stars, you might be forgiven in thinking they are star factories, churning out brilliant balls of gas. But actually, less evolved dwarf galaxies have ...

Our own Milky Way galaxy is part of a much larger formation, the local Supercluster structure, which contains several massive galaxy clusters and thousands of individual galaxies. Due to its ...

Using the James Webb Space Telescope, CECILIA Survey receives first data from galaxies forming two-to-three billion years after the Big Bang. By examining light from these 33 galaxies, researchers ...

The second- and fourth-most distant galaxies ever observed have been discovered in a region of space known as Pandora's Cluster, or Abell 2744, using data from NASA's James Webb Space ...

Astronomers have discovered the most distant barred spiral galaxy, similar to the Milky Way, that has been observed to ...

Monday, January 8, 2024
Wednesday, January 3, 2024
Friday, December 22, 2023
Thursday, December 21, 2023
Friday, December 15, 2023
Thursday, December 14, 2023
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
Tuesday, December 5, 2023
Friday, December 1, 2023
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Monday, November 27, 2023
Tuesday, November 21, 2023
Monday, November 20, 2023
Monday, November 13, 2023
Thursday, November 9, 2023
Thursday, November 2, 2023
Tuesday, October 31, 2023
Tuesday, October 24, 2023
Thursday, October 19, 2023
Monday, October 16, 2023
Tuesday, October 10, 2023
Friday, October 6, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Tuesday, October 3, 2023
Monday, October 2, 2023
Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Friday, September 22, 2023
Thursday, September 21, 2023
Wednesday, September 20, 2023
Tuesday, September 19, 2023
Friday, September 15, 2023
Thursday, September 14, 2023
Wednesday, September 13, 2023
Tuesday, September 12, 2023
Monday, September 11, 2023
Friday, September 8, 2023
Thursday, September 7, 2023
Wednesday, September 6, 2023
Tuesday, September 5, 2023
Tuesday, August 29, 2023
Wednesday, August 23, 2023
Monday, August 21, 2023
Thursday, August 17, 2023
Tuesday, August 15, 2023
Wednesday, August 9, 2023
Wednesday, August 2, 2023
Monday, July 31, 2023
Thursday, July 20, 2023
Wednesday, July 19, 2023
Monday, July 17, 2023
Thursday, July 13, 2023
Wednesday, July 12, 2023
Tuesday, July 11, 2023
Thursday, July 6, 2023
Wednesday, July 5, 2023
Monday, July 3, 2023
Saturday, July 1, 2023
Thursday, June 29, 2023
Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Thursday, June 22, 2023
Wednesday, June 14, 2023
Tuesday, June 13, 2023
Monday, June 12, 2023
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
Monday, June 5, 2023
Saturday, June 3, 2023
Friday, June 2, 2023
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Monday, May 29, 2023
Thursday, May 25, 2023
Friday, May 19, 2023
Wednesday, May 17, 2023
Friday, May 12, 2023
Thursday, May 11, 2023
Thursday, May 4, 2023
Wednesday, May 3, 2023
Thursday, April 27, 2023
Tuesday, April 25, 2023
Monday, April 24, 2023
Sunday, April 23, 2023
Tuesday, April 18, 2023
Thursday, April 13, 2023
Tuesday, April 11, 2023