NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Big Bang News
February 22, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:42pm EST

More Big Bang News
February 22, 2017

Historic Detection of Gravitational Waves

Feb. 19, 2017 — A scientist who has been involved with nearly every aspect of the development and ultimate success of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO), will give a talk about the ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — NASA's Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope has identified the farthest gamma-ray blazars, a type of galaxy whose intense emissions are powered by supersized black holes. Light from the most distant ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — What is propelling the Milky Way's race through space? By 3-D mapping the flow of galaxies through space, researchers found that the Milky Way galaxy is speeding away from a large, previously ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — A UK, Canadian and Italian study has provided what researchers believe is the first observational evidence that our universe could be a vast and complex hologram. Theoretical physicists and ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — By using galaxies as giant gravitational lenses, an international group of astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have made an independent measurement of how fast the universe is ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — A team of astronomers has discovered seven distinct groups of dwarf galaxies with just the right starting conditions to eventually merge and form larger galaxies, including spiral galaxies like the ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Scientists have clarified that toroidal magnets can also look for axions, one of the particle candidates for the mysterious dark ... read more

Jan. 16, 2017 — It’s the big astrophysical whodunnit. Across the Universe, galaxies are being killed and the question scientists want answered is, what’s killing ... read more

Jan. 12, 2017 — Galaxies are merging all the time, even our own galaxy, the Milky Way. But how these mergers occur isn't entirely clear. An American astrophysicist will use a National Science Foundation grant ... read more

Jan. 11, 2017 — The 11 farthest known stars in our galaxy are located about 300,000 light-years from Earth, well outside the Milky Way's spiral disk. New research shows that half of those stars might have been ... read more

Jan. 8, 2017 — A black hole under investigation is so hidden that it requires highly sensitive observations in the highest energy X-rays to classify it as obscured. But they give themselves away when material they ... read more

Research Supports Role of Supernovas in Measuring Pace at Which the Universe Expands

Jan. 6, 2017 — A team of research scientists recently published a paper marking the importance of Type Ia supernovas in measuring the pace at which the universe expands. Type Ia supernovas are among the very ... read more

Jan. 6, 2017 — Astronomers have discovered a cosmic one-two punch never seen before. By combining data from some of the best X-ray, optical and radio telescopes in the world, researchers have found out what happens ... read more

Jan. 5, 2017 — An unparalleled image from NASA's Chandra X-ray Observatory is giving astronomers the best look yet at the growth of black holes over billions of years beginning soon after the Big Bang. This is ... read more

Jan. 4, 2017 — New research by cosmologists confirms the accuracy of Type Ia supernovae in measuring the pace at which the universe expands. The findings support a widely held theory that the expansion of the ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — The Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) in Chile has begun observing in a new range of the electromagnetic spectrum. This has been made possible thanks to new receivers installed at ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — Astronomers have found one of the Universe's biggest superclusters of galaxies near the Milky Way. The Vela supercluster, which had previously gone undetected as it was hidden by stars and dust ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — Distant galaxies can be seen as they were when most of today's stars were being born, report scientists, answering longstanding questions about mechanisms of star formation billions of years ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — The sheer observing power of the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope is rarely better illustrated than in an image such as this. This glowing pink nebula, named NGC 248, is located in the Small ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — Physicists have conducted the first precision study of antihydrogen, the antimatter equivalent of ... read more

Sunday, February 19, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Sunday, January 8, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Sunday, August 7, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016