NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Inorganic Chemistry News
February 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:14pm EST

More Inorganic Chemistry News
February 23, 2017

Feb. 22, 2017 — A team of researchers argues that the nitrate anion can display a counterintuitive Lewis acidity. Their findings may serve as a (retrospective) guide to interpret data involving the chemical behavior ... read more

In-Mouse Catalysis

Feb. 17, 2017 — A gold catalyst can be delivered to a target organ in a higher organism where it performs a chemical transformation visualized by bioimaging. This intriguing approach could make organometallic ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Scientists have developed a method to obtain structural details on molecules in lipid membranes near gold nanoparticles. Their method, called SABERS, could help researchers who study drug delivery ... read more

New Economic Water-Splitting Catalyst: Ruthenium-Based Material

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers in South Korea have developed an exiting new catalyst -- a ruthenium (Ru)-based material -- that can split water into hydrogen almost as well as platinum ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers have made major progress in the production of two-dimensional polymer-based materials. To produce cloths from monomolecular threads, the scientists used SURMOFs, i.e. surface-mounted ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Every molecule holds a complex landscape of moving atoms – and the ability to single out and examine individual nuclear vibrations may unlock to the secret to predicting and controlling chemical ... read more

Turning Up the Heat for Perfect (Nano)diamonds

Feb. 14, 2017 — For use in quantum sensing, the bulk nanodiamond crystal surrounding the point defect must be highly perfect. Any deviation from perfection will adversely affect the quantum behavior of the material. ... read more

Feb. 14, 2017 — Graphene foam reinforced with carbon nanotubes can hold thousands of times its own weight and still bounce back to its full height. The material is thermally stable and highly conductive, making it ... read more

Learning How to Fine-Tune Nanofabrication

Feb. 14, 2017 — Researchers developed a new computational method that may be used to produce tiny wires with diameters 1/100,000th that of a piece of hair, or tiny electrical circuits that can fit on the tip of a ... read more

Measuring Entropy: Scanning-Tunneling Microscope Gives Glimpse of the Mysterious Property

Feb. 14, 2017 — The scanning-tunneling microscope (STM), which is used to study changes in the shape of a single molecule at the atomic scale, impacts the ability of that molecule to make these changes, researchers ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Tiny carbon dots have, for the first time, been applied to intracellular imaging and tracking of drug delivery involving various optical and vibrational spectroscopic-based techniques such as ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — In the future, wide-ranging composite materials are expected to be stronger, lighter, cheaper and greener for our planet, thanks to a new invention. Nine years ago, an American researcher invented an ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cancer cells have been observed being targeted and killed from the inside with metal-based compound, report researchers. The compound, Organo-Osmium FY26, attacks the weakest part of cancer cells. ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Graphene's unusual electronic structure enables this extraordinary material to break many records of strength, electricity and heat conduction. Physicists have used a model to explain the ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new approach to dynamically tune the micro- and nano-scale roughness of atomically thin MoS2, and consequently the appropriate degree of hydrophobicity for various ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Scientists have discovered the unique properties of two-dimensional (2D) materials and metals grown on graphene, graphite, and other carbon coated ... read more

A New Sensitive and Stable Self-Powered Photodetector

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have developed a self-powered photodetector that can be used in a wide range of applications such as chemical analysis, communications, astronomical investigations and much ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Chemical engineers build simulations based on samples from unconventional, organic shale formations that can help predict how much oil and gas a well might produce and how best to extract ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Scientists have applied rational crystal design to create protein crystals with extended porous network to accumulate exogenous molecules inside living cells. This work lays a foundation for ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Scientists have controlled wave-generated currents to make previously unimaginable liquid materials for new technological innovations, including techniques to manipulate ... read more

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017