NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Inorganic Chemistry News
September 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:43pm EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
September 30, 2016

Sep. 22, 2016 — A device for the rapid analysis of liquids on the content of hazardous substances - such as heavy metals - has been developed by researchers, who have used a method based on polymer optodes, very ... read more

Popeye Was Right: There’s Energy in That Spinach

Sep. 22, 2016 — Using a simple membrane extract from spinach leaves, researchers have developed a cell that produces electricity and hydrogen from water using sunlight. Based on photosynthesis, and technology paves ... read more

Molecular Switches: Two Ways to Turn

Sep. 21, 2016 — Chemists have synthesized a new photo-activatable molecule, which shows 2-dimensional switching behavior -- an essential prerequisite for the construction of complex molecular ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — Scientists have known for a long time that an atom or molecule can also be in two different states at once. Now researchers have exploited this Schroedinger’s Cat behavior to create X-ray movies of ... read more

Combining the Elements Palladium, Ruthenium for Industry

Sep. 21, 2016 — For a long time, researchers have thought that combining palladium and ruthenium could lead to improved and novel properties for industrial applications. However, the two elements do not readily mix ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — Researchers have put metal-oxides and organic magnets together, suggesting that their work has applications for ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — With the help of artificial intelligence, chemists have computed the characteristics of about two million crystals made up of four chemical elements. The researchers were able to identify 90 ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — The industrial catalysts of the future won’t just speed up reactions, they’ll control how chemical processes work and determine how much of a particular product is ... read more

Discovery Could Lead to Safer, Cheaper Production of Amine-Boranes

Sep. 20, 2016 — A newway to produce amine-boranes has been created that promises to be safer and cheaper, and could lead to new uses in medicine, energy storage, rocket propulsion and other technologies. ... read more

Inexpensive Semiconducting Organic Polymers Can Harvest Sunlight to Split Carbon Dioxide Into Alcohol Fuels

Sep. 20, 2016 — Chemists have been the first to demonstrate that an organic semiconductor polymer called polyaniline is a promising photocathode material for the conversion of carbon dioxide into alcohol fuels ... read more

Small Molecules Lead to a Big Change in Reaction Outcomes

Sep. 20, 2016 — Scientists have found a way to rewire the behavior of an important group of small molecules involved in the synthesis of carbon-to-oxygen chemical bonds. The process allows small, synthetic molecules ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — Light-emitting, four-armed nanocrystals could someday form the basis of an early warning system in structural materials by revealing microscopic cracks that portend failure, thanks to recent research ... read more

Diamond Proves Useful Material for Growing Graphene

Sep. 19, 2016 — A new method has been developed to grow graphene that contains relatively few impurities, and costs less to make, in a shorter time and at lower temperatures compared to the processes widely used to ... read more

Direct Observation of Graphene Decoupling on Cu(111)

Sep. 19, 2016 — A recent quantum mechanical study of graphene has elucidated the intercalation mechanism and pathways for graphene decoupling from the copper ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — Antimicrobial cutting boards. Flame-retardant carpets. Friction-resistant bearings. Engineered surfaces add value to the things we use, providing extra layers of safety, easing their operation, ... read more

Deep Insight Into Interfaces

Sep. 16, 2016 — Interfaces between different materials and their properties are of key importance for modern technology. Physicists have developed a new method, which allows them to have an extremely precise glance ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — Researchers have used a 'thermal metamaterial' to control the emission of radiation at high temperatures, an advance that could bring devices able to efficiently harvest waste heat from ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — If you bottle up a gas and try to image its atoms using today's most powerful microscopes, you will see little more than a shadowy blur. Atoms zip around at lightning speeds and are difficult to ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — Materials scientists have developed a new strategy for crafting one-dimensional nanorods from a wide range of precursor materials. Based on a cellulose backbone, the system relies on the growth of ... read more

Shedding Light on the Limits of the Expanded Genetic Code

Sep. 15, 2016 — In 2014, scientists made a huge news splash when they reported the ability to grow bacteria with an expanded genetic code. Critics feared the rise of unnatural creatures; others appreciated the ... read more

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016