Inorganic Chemistry News
April 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:04pm EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
April 29, 2017

Apr. 29, 2017 — A new use for the ubiquitous PowerPoint slide has now been discovered: Producing self-folding three-dimensional origami structures from photocurable liquid ... read more

Apr. 28, 2017 — A fast, nondestructive optical method for analyzing defects in two-dimensional materials has been developed, with applications in electronics, sensing, early cancer diagnosis and water ... read more

Understanding the Correct Architectures of IMM Proteins

Apr. 25, 2017 — Scientists have developed a new technique to understand the correct architectures of IMM proteins, using special chemical ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — Fuel such as gasoline is made up of hydrocarbons -- a family of molecules consisting entirely of carbon and hydrogen. Pigment and dye, coal and tar are made up of hydrocarbons too. These common, ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — Performing multiple reactions in one shot reduces raw material needs and byproduct waste, a potential step toward a greener chemical industry. Researchers have developed a nanocatalyst that can ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — An important concept in future healthcare is the development of devices called "lab on a chip". These "chips" are injected to fill specifically designed microscopic channels. ... read more

Apr. 22, 2017 — New knowledge has been gained about the behavior of metal nanoparticles when they undergo oxidation, by integrating X-ray imaging and computer modeling and simulation. This knowledge adds to our ... read more

Two-Dimensional Melting of Hard Spheres Experimentally Unravelled After 60 Years

Apr. 21, 2017 — Experimental evidence of melting in two-dimensional substances has finally been gained by researchers. Findings from the study could be used to support technological improvements to thin film ... read more

Apr. 21, 2017 — Organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs) are promising candidates for flexible flat displays. By means of a screening process, it is now possible to identify more quickly lead structures with superior ... read more

Apr. 21, 2017 — Three-dimensional printing allows extremely small and complex structures to be made even in small series. A new method now allows glass to be used for this technique. As a consequence of the ... read more

Finding Order and Structure in the Atomic Chaos Where Materials Meet

Apr. 20, 2017 — Materials science researchers have developed a model that can account for irregularities in how atoms arrange themselves at the so-called 'grain boundaries' -- the interface where two ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — A low-cost plastic material has now been developed that could become the basis for clothing that cools the wearer, reducing the need for energy-consuming air ... read more

Broad Advance from Chemists Dramatically Simplifies Olefin Synthesis

Apr. 19, 2017 — Chemists have discovered a new method that greatly simplifies, and in many cases enables for the first time, the making of a vast range of organic ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — The way that nanoparticles behave in the environment is extremely complex. There is currently a lack of systematic experimental data to help understand them comprehensively, as environmental ... read more

New Method Can Model Chemistry in Extreme Magnetic Fields of White Dwarfs

Apr. 18, 2017 — Approximately 10-20 percent of white dwarfs exhibit strong magnetic fields, which can reach up to 100,000 tesla. However, on Earth, the strongest magnetic fields that can be generated using ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Using pressure instead of chemicals, nanoparticles have been fabricated into nanowire arrays similar to those that underlie touch-screens for phones, computers, TVs, and sensors. The pressure process ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers have created a new method to extract the static and dynamic structure of complex chemical systems. In this context, 'structure' doesn't just mean the 3-D arrangement of ... read more

Researchers Capture Excess Photon Energy to Produce Solar Fuels

Apr. 18, 2017 — Scientists have developed a proof-of-principle photoelectrochemical cell capable of capturing excess photon energy normally lost to generating ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — Stress sensors are important tools when it comes to evaluating the robustness of a material facing strong mechanical forces. Researchers have just published an article reporting a new kind of sensor ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — Photosynthesis requires a mechanism to produce large amounts of chemical energy without losing the oxidative power needed to break down water. A research team has clarified part of this mechanism, ... read more

Saturday, April 29, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Saturday, April 15, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Saturday, April 1, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017