NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Inorganic Chemistry News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:14am EST

More Inorganic Chemistry News
February 20, 2017

Feb. 15, 2017 — Scientists have developed a method to obtain structural details on molecules in lipid membranes near gold nanoparticles. Their method, called SABERS, could help researchers who study drug delivery ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers have made major progress in the production of two-dimensional polymer-based materials. To produce cloths from monomolecular threads, the scientists used SURMOFs, i.e. surface-mounted ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Every molecule holds a complex landscape of moving atoms – and the ability to single out and examine individual nuclear vibrations may unlock to the secret to predicting and controlling chemical ... read more

Turning Up the Heat for Perfect (Nano)diamonds

Feb. 14, 2017 — For use in quantum sensing, the bulk nanodiamond crystal surrounding the point defect must be highly perfect. Any deviation from perfection will adversely affect the quantum behavior of the material. ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cancer cells have been observed being targeted and killed from the inside with metal-based compound, report researchers. The compound, Organo-Osmium FY26, attacks the weakest part of cancer cells. ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Graphene's unusual electronic structure enables this extraordinary material to break many records of strength, electricity and heat conduction. Physicists have used a model to explain the ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new approach to dynamically tune the micro- and nano-scale roughness of atomically thin MoS2, and consequently the appropriate degree of hydrophobicity for various ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Scientists have discovered the unique properties of two-dimensional (2D) materials and metals grown on graphene, graphite, and other carbon coated ... read more

A New Sensitive and Stable Self-Powered Photodetector

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have developed a self-powered photodetector that can be used in a wide range of applications such as chemical analysis, communications, astronomical investigations and much ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Chemical engineers build simulations based on samples from unconventional, organic shale formations that can help predict how much oil and gas a well might produce and how best to extract ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Scientists have applied rational crystal design to create protein crystals with extended porous network to accumulate exogenous molecules inside living cells. This work lays a foundation for ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — The Middle Ages certainly were far from being science-friendly: Whoever looked for new findings off the beaten track faced the threat of being burned at the stake. Hence, the contribution of this era ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A team of researchers has invented a new technology to produce automobile tires from trees and grasses in a process that could shift the tire production industry toward using renewable resources ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers report that they are the first to grow a 2-D material with the ability to have many different ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Scientists have created unique polymer matrices for polymer composites based on novel phthalonitrile monomers. The developed materials possess higher strength than metals, which helps to sufficiently ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new study has solved the contact resistance problem of metal-semiconductor, which had remained unsolved for almost 50 ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a negative thermal expansion material that shrinks by a record-breaking amount when heated, and which could help control materials' thermal expansion. The volume of ... read more

Research Pinpoints Promise of Polycrystalline Perovskites

Feb. 7, 2017 — A team of scientists has determined that surface recombination limits the performance of polycrystalline perovskite solar ... read more

How to Recycle Lithium Batteries

Feb. 7, 2017 — Research describes a new way to extract the lithium and the cobalt that make up the bulk of the metal components of rechargeable lithium ion ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — Researchers have developed a novel type of LED street light of increased efficiency. Compared to conventional LEDs, power consumption may be reduced by up to 20%. This will also decrease costs and ... read more

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017