ESA News
February 14, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:46am EST

More ESA News
February 14, 2016

Jan. 28, 2016 — Inside a massive clean room at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland the James Webb Space Telescope team is steadily installing the largest space telescope mirror ever. ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — One dozen flight mirrors are now installed on NASA's James Webb Space Telescope, out of the eighteen mirror segments that make up the primary mirror. The assembly of the primary mirror is an ... read more

Dec. 22, 2015 — NASA's Cassini spacecraft has begun transmitting data and images from the mission's final close flyby of Saturn's active moon Enceladus. Cassini passed Enceladus at a distance of 3,106 ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — NASA's Cassini spacecraft will sample the ocean of Saturn's moon Enceladus on Wednesday, Oct. 28, when it flies through the moon's plume of icy ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — With the help of enthusiastic European ham radio operators, engineering students now have two-way communication with their home-built ESA-sponsored satellite AAUSAT5 that was sent into orbit around ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — Observations have taken advantage of gravitational lensing to reveal the largest sample of the faintest and earliest known galaxies in the Universe. Some of these galaxies formed just 600 million ... read more

Oct. 14, 2015 — An innovative SkinSuit designed to reduce the debilitating physical effects of space flight has been trialled for the first time on the International Space Station (ISS) by a European Space Agency ... read more

Oct. 13, 2015 — Scientists using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have produced new maps of Jupiter that show the continuing changes in its famous Great Red Spot. The images also reveal a rare wave structure in ... read more

Oct. 7, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered never-before-seen structures within a dusty disc surrounding a nearby star. The fast-moving wave-like features in the disc of the star AU Microscopii are unlike anything ... read more

Rosetta’s Mass Spectrometer ROSINA Detected Argon at Comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko

Sep. 26, 2015 — The mass spectrometer ROSINA on ESA’s comet probe Rosetta has for the first time detected the noble gas argon in the coma of 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. This measurement adds to the debate about the ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — A global ocean lies beneath the icy crust of Saturn's geologically active moon Enceladus, according to new research using data from NASA's Cassini ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered a gargantuan galaxy cluster with a core bursting with new stars -- an incredibly rare find. The discovery is the first to show that gigantic galaxies at the centers of ... read more

How to Get Rid of a Satellite After Its Retirement

Sep. 1, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new method to eliminate artificial satellites in Highly Elliptical Orbits when they finish their mission. The methodology, which allows for a reduction of both cost and ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — The shimmering colours visible in this NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope image show off the remarkable complexity of the Twin Jet Nebula. The new image highlights the nebula's shells and its knots ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — A pockmarked, icy landscape looms beneath NASA's Cassini spacecraft in new images of Saturn's moon Dione taken during the mission's last close approach to the small, icy world. Two of ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Astronomers have teased out a secret planetary system hiding in the arms of Cassiopea, just 21 light years away from us. The remarkable system, named HD219134, hosts one outer giant planet and three ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko poses new riddles: Surface material measurements performed by the Philae landing module indicate that the near surface material might have changed since its formation. Up ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Some of the most breathtaking views in the Universe are created by nebulae -- hot, glowing clouds of gas. This new NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope image shows the center of the Lagoon Nebula, an ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Conservation scientists need to collaborate with space agencies, such as NASA and the European Space Agency, to identify measures which help track biodiversity declines around the world. Scientists ... read more

July 16, 2015 — The Gaia satellite has discovered a unique binary system where one star is 'eating' the other, but neither star has any hydrogen, the most common element in the Universe. The system could ... read more

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Saturday, January 31, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Saturday, November 15, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014