ESA News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:41am EDT

More ESA News
July 27, 2016

Measure Greenhouse Gases from Space

June 22, 2016 — Space agencies examine the extent of greenhouse gases in the air via prisms and gratings in satellites. New technology now makes it possible to connect both components with each other so that they ... read more

June 16, 2016 — The Mars Camera CaSSIS on the ExoMars Trace Gas Orbiter captured its first images of the Red Planet this week. The pictures are a part of the mission’s preparations for arriving at its destination ... read more

May 24, 2016 — Astrophysicists have taken a major step forward in understanding how supermassive black holes formed. Using data from Hubble and two other space telescopes, researchers have found the best evidence ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Together with irregular galaxies, spiral galaxies make up approximately 60 percent of the galaxies in the local universe. However, despite their prevalence, each spiral galaxy is unique -- like ... read more

May 12, 2016 — A sequence of images shows Comet 252P/LINEAR as it passed by Earth. The visit was one of the closest encounters between a comet and our ... read more

May 4, 2016 — It happens only a little more than once a decade and the next chance to see it is Monday, May 9, 2016. Throughout the US, sky watchers can watch Mercury pass between Earth and the sun in a rare ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Astronomers have observed two black holes in nearby galaxies devouring their companion stars at an extremely high rate, and spitting out matter at a quarter the speed of ... read more

Rare Transit of Mercury to Take Place on 9 May

Apr. 27, 2016 — On 9 May there will be a rare transit of Mercury, when the smallest planet in our Solar System will pass directly between the Earth and the Sun. The last time this happened was in 2006, and the next ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — A new study finds that a large sea on Saturn's moon Titan is composed mostly of pure liquid methane, independently confirming an earlier result. The seabed may be covered in a sludge of carbon- ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — A new NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope image captures in stunning clarity what looks like a gigantic cosmic soap bubble. The object, known as the Bubble Nebula, is in fact a cloud of gas and dust ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — A dust detector on the Cassini space probe -- known as the cosmic dust analyzer (CDA) -- has identified several extremely rare and minuscule particles of interstellar dust from outside our solar ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — In a nod to extraterrestrial mountaineers of the future, scientists have identified the highest point on Saturn's largest moon, ... read more

Searching for Life Beyond Earth: First Scientific Roadmap for European Astrobiology

Mar. 27, 2016 — The first scientific Roadmap for European Astrobiology was published on 21 March 2016. The AstRoMap European Astrobiology Roadmap considers astrobiology in a wide context: it is understood as the ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — Solar storms trigger Jupiter's intense 'Northern Lights' by generating a new X-ray aurora that is eight times brighter than normal and hundreds of times more energetic than ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Astronomers using the unique ultraviolet capabilities of the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have identified nine monster stars with masses over 100 times the mass of the Sun in the star cluster ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Observations made at ESO's La Silla Observatory in Chile have revealed unexpected changes in the bright spots on the dwarf planet Ceres. Very careful study of its light shows not only the ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — The first of two joint ESA-Roscosmos missions to Mars has begun a seven-month journey to the Red Planet, where it will address unsolved mysteries of the planet's atmosphere that could indicate ... read more

Mar. 11, 2016 — NASA successfully tested the first deep space RS-25 rocket engine for 500 seconds March 10, clearing a major milestone toward the next great era of space exploration. The next time rocket engine No. ... read more

Mar. 11, 2016 — NASA's Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport (InSight) mission to study the deep interior of Mars is targeting a new launch window that begins May 5, ... read more

Mar. 3, 2016 — By pushing the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope to its limits astronomers have shattered the cosmic distance record by measuring the distance to the most remote galaxy ever seen in the Universe. This ... read more

Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Sunday, March 27, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015