ESA News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:03pm EDT

More ESA News
April 24, 2017

Mar. 1, 2017 — The events surrounding the Big Bang were so cataclysmic that they left an indelible imprint on the fabric of the cosmos. We can detect these scars today by observing the oldest light in the ... read more

Feb. 28, 2017 — Mammalian cells fully adapt to zero gravity in less than a minute. Real-time readings on the International Space Station (ISS) reveal that cells compensate ultra-rapidly for changes in gravitational ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — Technically, this picture is merely a sidekick of the actual object of interest -- but space is bursting with activity, and this field of bright celestial bodies offers plenty of interest on its ... read more

Feb. 14, 2017 — This image was taken at 3:38 a.m. EST on Feb. 9, 2017, when the spacecraft was 75 million miles (120 million kilometers) from Earth and 419 million miles (675 million kilometers) from Jupiter. With ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — NASA's Magnetospheric Multiscale mission begins a three-month long journey into a new orbit, taking it twice as far out as it has previously flown, to areas where magnetic reconnection is ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — A giant black hole ripped apart a nearby star and then continued to feed off its remains for close to a decade, according to research. This black hole meal is more than 10 times longer than any other ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — The Calabash Nebula -- which has the technical name OH 231.8+04.2 -- is a spectacular example of the death of a low-mass star like the ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — By using galaxies as giant gravitational lenses, an international group of astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have made an independent measurement of how fast the universe is ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — A new model is mapping out the path of coronal mass ejections as they travel from the sun to Earth, where these storms can interact with our planet's magnetic fields and cause a variety of space ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — In September 2015, a team of astronomers successfully observed the entire hydrogen coma of the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, using the LAICA telescope onboard the PROCYON spacecraft. They also ... read more

Jan. 16, 2017 — A newly captured image marks an important milestone as AlSat Nano is Algeria’s first CubeSat mission. AlSat Nano stuck to a tight development schedule, with less than 18 months between payload ... read more

Jan. 13, 2017 — The beautiful spiral galaxy visible in the center of the image is known as RX J1140.1+0307, a galaxy in the Virgo constellation imaged by the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope, and it presents an ... read more

Dec. 29, 2016 — This entire galaxy essentially acts as an astronomical laser that beams out microwave emission rather than visible light (hence the 'm' replacing the ... read more

Dec. 22, 2016 — Lurking in the constellation of Canes Venatici or The Hunting Dog, NGC 4707 lies roughly 22 million light-years from ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — The sheer observing power of the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope is rarely better illustrated than in an image such as this. This glowing pink nebula, named NGC 248, is located in the Small ... read more

Astronauts to Get Help from Snake Robots

Dec. 20, 2016 — Researchers are looking into how a snake robot might carry out maintenance work on the International Space Station (ISS), study comets, and explore the possibility of living and working in lava ... read more

Dec. 15, 2016 — The cameras of the Dawn space probe discover water ice in Ceres' polar region. It can survive for aeons in the extreme cold traps, even though there is no ... read more

Dec. 13, 2016 — Researchers have created a new magnetic mirror-based device that could one day help cosmologists discover new details about ripples in space-time known as gravitational waves, particularly those ... read more

Dec. 12, 2016 — An extraordinarily brilliant point of light seen in a distant galaxy, and dubbed ASASSN-15lh, was thought to be the brightest supernova ever seen. But new observations from several observatories, ... read more

Dec. 9, 2016 — The constellation of Virgo (The Virgin) is especially rich in galaxies, due in part to the presence of a massive and gravitationally-bound collection of over 1,300 galaxies called the Virgo Cluster. ... read more

Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Sunday, March 27, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015