advertisement

ESA News

September 25, 2023

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers using data from NASA's James Webb Space Telescope have identified carbon dioxide in a specific region on the icy surface of ...
A new article hints at the existence of several black holes in the Hyades cluster -- the closest open cluster to our solar system -- which would make them the closest black holes to Earth ever ...
Using ESO's Very Large Telescope (VLT), astronomers have observed a large dark spot in Neptune's atmosphere, with an unexpected smaller bright spot adjacent to it. This is the first time a dark spot on the planet has ever been observed with a ...
The NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope has captured a monster in the making in this observation of the exceptional galaxy cluster eMACS J1353.7+4329, which lies about eight billion light-years from Earth in the constellation Canes Venatici. This ...
advertisement

Latest Headlines
updated 4:34pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A study using data from telescopes on Earth and in the sky resolves a problem plaguing astronomers working in the infrared and could help make better observations of the composition of the universe ...

Astronomers report the first exoplanet jointly discovered through direct imaging and precision astrometry, a new indirect method that identifies a planet by measuring the position of the star it ...

The early universe was a rambunctious place where galaxies often bumped into each other and even merged together. Using NASA's Hubble Space Telescope and other space and ground-based ...

When it comes to measuring how fast the Universe is expanding, the result depends on which side of the Universe you start from. A recent study has calibrated the best cosmic yardsticks to ...

A new study probing the structure and evolution of galaxy clusters shows good agreement with the predictions of standard cosmological ...

Space travel has always tested the human body by the effects of the new conditions of altered gravity on biological systems. It has long been known that continuous exposure to microgravity conditions ...

advertisement

Current state-of-the-art instrumentation being sent to Mars to collect and analyze evidence of life might not be sensitive enough to make accurate assessments, according to new ...

Scientists have found how the human brain changes and adapts to weightlessness, after being in space for 6 months. Some of the changes turned out to be lasting -- even after 8 months back on ...

Since their discovery by NASA's Voyager mission in the 1980s, temporary 'spoke' features across Saturn's rings have fascinated scientists, yet eluded explanation. They have been ...

Astronomers have directly measured the mass of a single, isolated white dwarf -- the surviving core of a burned-out, Sun-like star. Researchers found that the white dwarf is 56 percent the mass of ...

In June 2021, NASA's Juno spacecraft flew close to Ganymede, Jupiter's largest moon, observing evidence of magnetic reconnection. A team has used Juno data to examine the electron and ion ...

A new analysis of distant galaxies imaged by NASA's James Webb Space Telescope shows that they are extremely young and share some remarkable similarities to 'green peas,' a rare class ...

advertisement

ESA's novel Aeolus satellite reliably measures wind speed also in higher air layers and thus in a region of the atmosphere where other direct global wind measurements are relatively sparse. This ...

Astronomers took a 'deep dive' into one of the first images from NASA's James Webb Space Telescope and were rewarded with a surprising discovery: telltale signs of two dozen previously ...

Researchers have discovered web-like plasma structures in the Sun's middle corona. The researchers describe their innovative new observation method, imaging the middled corona in ultraviolet ...

On Dec. 11, 2021, astronomers detected a blast of high-energy light from the outskirts of a galaxy around 1 billion light-years away. The event has rattled scientists' understanding of gamma-ray ...

Peeking out from behind the glare of a bright foreground star, astronomers have uncovered the most extraordinary example yet of a nearby galaxy with characteristics that are more like galaxies in the ...

Following a successful launch of NASA's Space Launch System (SLS), the most powerful rocket in the world, the agency's Orion spacecraft is on its way to the Moon as part of the Artemis ...

It is still a glimpse into the future: Astronauts could be put into artificial hibernation and in this state be better protected from cosmic radiation. At present, there are already promising ...

Three different moments in a far-off supernova explosion were captured in a single snapshot by NASA's Hubble Space Telescope. The star exploded more than 11 billion years ago, when the universe ...

Sunday, April 23, 2023
Thursday, April 13, 2023
Wednesday, April 5, 2023
Tuesday, April 4, 2023
Monday, April 3, 2023
Tuesday, March 7, 2023
Tuesday, February 21, 2023
Friday, February 17, 2023
Thursday, February 9, 2023
Thursday, February 2, 2023
Tuesday, January 10, 2023
Monday, January 9, 2023
Tuesday, December 20, 2022
Friday, December 16, 2022
Monday, December 12, 2022
Wednesday, December 7, 2022
Tuesday, December 6, 2022
Wednesday, November 16, 2022
Monday, November 14, 2022
Thursday, November 10, 2022
Wednesday, October 26, 2022
Thursday, October 20, 2022
Wednesday, October 19, 2022
Wednesday, October 12, 2022
Wednesday, September 21, 2022
Friday, September 16, 2022
Thursday, September 1, 2022
Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Thursday, August 18, 2022
Tuesday, August 2, 2022
Friday, July 15, 2022
Tuesday, July 12, 2022
Monday, July 11, 2022
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Wednesday, June 29, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Saturday, January 8, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Saturday, December 25, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021
Monday, September 6, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Monday, July 26, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Friday, July 16, 2021
Friday, July 9, 2021
Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021
Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Tuesday, May 25, 2021
Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Tuesday, May 4, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021
Thursday, April 22, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
Tuesday, April 6, 2021
Tuesday, March 30, 2021
Friday, March 5, 2021
Thursday, March 4, 2021
Monday, February 22, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021