Cosmology News
May 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:42pm EDT

More Cosmology News
May 27, 2016

Apr. 28, 2016 — Nuclear scientists have devised a method that allows scientists to determine key reaction rates at stellar energies using conventional nuclear ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — A giant star that exploded 30 million years ago in a galaxy near Earth had a radius prior to going supernova that was 200 times larger than our sun, say astrophysicists. The massive explosion, ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — Researchers are getting closer to corner light dark-matter particle models. Observations can rule out some axion-like particles in the quest for the content of dark ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Most of the galactic cosmic rays reaching Earth come from nearby clusters of massive stars, according to new observations from NASA's ACE spacecraft. The distance between the cosmic rays' ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Innovative multidisciplinary research in nuclear and particle physics and cosmology has led to the development of a new, more accurate computer code to study the early ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Today, scientists operating the High Altitude Water Cherenkov (HAWC) Gamma-ray Observatory released a new survey of the sky made from the highest energy gamma rays ever observed. The new sky map, ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — Conditions in the vast universe can be quite extreme: Violent collisions scar the surfaces of planets. Nuclear reactions in bright stars generate tremendous amounts of energy. Gigantic explosions ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — A dust detector on the Cassini space probe -- known as the cosmic dust analyzer (CDA) -- has identified several extremely rare and minuscule particles of interstellar dust from outside our solar ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Subtle distortions hidden in ALMA's stunning image of the gravitational lens SDP.81 are telltale signs that a dwarf dark galaxy is lurking in the halo of a much larger galaxy nearly 4 billion ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Approximately two million years ago a star exploded in a supernova close to our solar system: Its traces can still be found today in the form of an iron isotope found on the ocean floor. Now ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — The SuperKEKB particle accelerator at the KEK research center in Japan has recently reached a major milestone: electrons and positrons have been circulated for the first time around the rings. The ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Every second, trillions of neutrinos travel through your body unnoticed. Neutrinos are among the most abundant particles in the universe, but they are difficult to study because they very rarely ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Deep radio imaging has revealed that supermassive black holes in a region of the distant universe are all spinning out radio jets in the same direction -- most likely a result of primordial mass ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — One of the largest supermassive black holes on record has been discovered in an unexpected place: a relatively sparse region of the local universe where massive galaxies -- the typical home of these ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Astrophysicists have revealed details of how supermassive black holes formed 13 billion years ago, and it's not from normal (stellar size) black holes growing to supermassive ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — New results from NANOGrav -- the North American Nanohertz Observatory for Gravitational Waves -- establish astrophysically significant limits in the search for low-frequency gravitational waves. This ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Scientists have determined the likely trigger for the most recent supernova in the Milky Way. They applied a new technique that could have implications for understanding other Type Ia supernovas, a ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Simulations have revealed for the first time exactly how these black holes formed 700 million years after the Big ... read more

Searching for Life Beyond Earth: First Scientific Roadmap for European Astrobiology

Mar. 27, 2016 — The first scientific Roadmap for European Astrobiology was published on 21 March 2016. The AstRoMap European Astrobiology Roadmap considers astrobiology in a wide context: it is understood as the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Calculations by scientists have found highly magnetized, rapidly spinning neutron stars called magnetars could explain the energy source behind two extremely unusual stellar ... read more

Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Sunday, March 27, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015