Cosmology News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:03pm EDT

More Cosmology News
April 24, 2017

Mar. 30, 2017 — New research rules out a challenge to the accepted standard model of the universe and theory of how galaxies form by shedding new light on a problematic ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Enigmatic dark energy, thought to make up 68% of the universe, may not exist at all, according to a Hungarian-American team. The researchers believe that standard models of the universe fail to take ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Observations using ESO's Very Large Telescope have revealed stars forming within powerful outflows of material blasted out from supermassive black holes at the cores of galaxies. These are the ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Astronomers have directly observed a pair of Milky Way-like galaxies seen when the universe was only eight percent of its current age. These progenitors of today's giant spiral galaxies are ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Pushing the limits of the largest single-aperture millimeter telescope in the world, and coupling it with gravitational lensing, astronomers report that they have detected a surprising rate of star ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Once upon a time, the Universe was just a hot soup of particles. In those days, together with visible particles, other particles to us hidden or dark might have formed. Billions of years later ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A molecule found in car engine exhaust fumes that is thought to have contributed to the origin of life on Earth has made astronomers heavily underestimate the amount of stars that were forming in the ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Astronomers have developed a way to detect the ultraviolet background of the universe, which could help explain why there are so few small galaxies in the ... read more

Looking for Signs of the Big Bang in the Desert

Mar. 21, 2017 — The silence of an immense desolate land in which to search for reverberations coming from the time at which everything began. The Simons Observatory will be built in the Chilean Atacama desert at an ... read more

Does the Universe Have a Rest Frame?

Mar. 21, 2017 — Physics is sometimes closer to philosophy when it comes to understanding the universe. Physicists are now attempting to elucidate whether the universe has a resting ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — A new computer simulation helps explain the existence of puzzling supermassive black holes observed in the early universe. The simulation is based on a computer code used to understand the coupling ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — New observations indicate that massive, star-forming galaxies during the peak epoch of galaxy formation, 10 billion years ago, were dominated by baryonic or 'normal' matter. This is in ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Researchers have shown how supermassive black holes may have formed in the early universe. They suggest that radiation from a neighboring galaxy could have shut down star-formation in a black-hole ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — It may soon be possible to detect the universe's first stars by looking for the blue colour they emit on ... read more

Why the Discovery of a Bevy of Quasars Will Boost Efforts to Understand Galaxies' Origins

Mar. 10, 2017 — Late last year, an international team including researchers announced the discovery of more than 60 extremely distant quasars, nearly doubling the number known to science - and thus providing dozens ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has found that the black hole at the center of our Milky Way galaxy ate its last big meal about 6 million years ago, when it consumed a large clump of infalling ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Magnetic explosions happen constantly all across the universe, and new results with NASA's ARTEMIS mission help explain how near-Earth explosions convert energy into heat and propel particles ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Astronomers have used ALMA to detect a huge mass of glowing stardust in a galaxy seen when the Universe was only four percent of its present age. This galaxy was observed shortly after its formation ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — The first massive data set of a 'cosmic census' has been released using the largest digital camera on the Subaru Telescope. With its beautiful images now available for the public at large, ... read more

Mar. 6, 2017 — Astronomers have performed an extensive study of the properties of galaxies within filaments formed at different times during the age of the ... read more

Thursday, March 30, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Sunday, January 8, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016