Immune System News
August 23, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:02pm EDT

More Immune System News
August 23, 2016

Aug. 19, 2016 — Rheumatoid arthritis patients taking medications that inhibit interleukin-1beta, a molecule that stimulates the immune system, are 300 times more likely to experience invasive Group A Streptococcal ... read more

Mouse Study Points Way to Shut Down Harmful Immune Response in Lupus

Aug. 17, 2016 — Molecules that scavenge debris from dying cells appear to halt the cycle of chronic inflammation in lupus, while also enhancing the body’s ability to combat flu, according to studies in ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — Scientists have identified the molecule that recognizes the influenza virus in infected cells and triggers their suicide to fight the infection, outlines a new ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — The brain and the gut are connected through neural networks that signal hunger and satiety, love and fear, even safety and danger. These networks employ myriad chemical signals that include the ... read more

New Method for Bone Marrow Transplants Without Using Chemotherapy

Aug. 10, 2016 — Scientists have devised a way to destroy blood stem cells in mice without using chemotherapy or radiotherapy, both of which have toxic side effects. The new procedure could clear the way for patients ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — A method for "silencing" RNA that has recently emerged is in clinical trials in Europe, Asia and the United States against hepatitis B, an infection that can destroy the ... read more

Immune Analysis of on-Treatment Longitudinal Biopsies Predicts Response to Melanoma Immunotherapy

Aug. 10, 2016 — Immune response measured in tumor biopsies during the course of early treatment predicts which melanoma patients will benefit from specific immune checkpoint blockade drugs, researchers ... read more

Discovery of Key Component of HIV Yields New Drug Target

Aug. 10, 2016 — Scientists have discovered an essential feature of HIV that the virus uses to infect cells whilst avoiding detection by the immune system. This discovery presents a new drug target and the ... read more

A Spoonful of Fat Makes the Medicine Go Down

Aug. 10, 2016 — One of the key goals of drug development has long been to produce a therapy that can be taken orally (therefore cheap and easy to deliver) and is absorbed as directly and quickly into the blood ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Nearly 80 percent of peanut-allergic preschool children successfully incorporated peanut-containing foods into their diets after receiving peanut oral immunotherapy (OIT), a clinical trial has found. ... read more

Killer T Cells Recognize Cancer in Pre-Clinical Tumors, but Are Silenced as Tumor Develops

Aug. 9, 2016 — In a tumor's pre-clinical stages, certain immune cells can recognize changes that make these cells behave as cancerous cells and attempt to launch an immune attack. However, the T cells that are ... read more

Getting It 'Just Right' in the Immune System

Aug. 9, 2016 — Scientists have proposed a solution to the puzzle of how our immune system scales its response to any threat to our health to make it 'just right.' Their ideas could support a range of ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — With a trick of engineering, scientists have improved a potential weapon against inflammation and autoimmune disorders. Their work could one day benefit patients who suffer from inflammatory bowel ... read more

Promising New Treatment for Lupus on the Horizon

Aug. 9, 2016 — A drug originally used to boost the immune system is showing promise as a potential new treatment for lupus. Lupus is an autoimmune disease, where the immune system attacks the body's own organs ... read more

Seasonal Allergies Could Change Your Brain

Aug. 8, 2016 — Hay fever may do more than give you a stuffy nose and itchy eyes, seasonal allergies may change the brain, says a new ... read more

Scientists Identify Marker for Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells

Aug. 5, 2016 — Scientists have identified a marker that distinguishes PMN-MDSCs from neutrophils in the blood of patients with a variety of cancers. Study also showed that higher numbers of cells positive for the ... read more

Blocking the Migration of Cancer Cells to Destroy Them

Aug. 4, 2016 — Researchers report using an antibody able to neutralize a specific protein to block the migration of lymphoma cells, thus preventing the disease from developing. This still-experimental ... read more

Alcohol Abuse Drug Can Be Repurposed to Treat a Blinding Disorder

Aug. 4, 2016 — Disulfiram prevents scars forming in a mouse model of scarring conjunctivitis. Human scar making cells, from patients with scarring conjunctivitis, are returned to normal by disulfiram. Disulfiram is ... read more

Big Step Towards Cure for HIV and Other Lifelong Viral Infections

Aug. 3, 2016 — New research has taken us a step closer to finding a cure for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), as well as other infections including the glandular fever virus, which is associated with the ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers are studying a protein called Nef involved in HIV progression to AIDS with the ultimate goal of blocking it. He and his collaborators have developed a new hybrid method to study this HIV ... read more

Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016