NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Immune System News
September 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:32pm EDT

More Immune System News
September 28, 2016

Skin Cancer: Drug Combination Could Improve Immunotherapy

Sep. 27, 2016 — The results of studies show that the effect of immunotherapy on malignant melanoma (black skin cancer) can be improved by combining it with other cancer treatments. However, the results also show ... read more

Pediatric Atopic Dermatitis May Benefit from Early Immune Intervention

Sep. 23, 2016 — An association between pediatric eczema and large abnormalities in non-lesional skin and multi T lymphocyte axes activation has been uncovered by ... read more

Neutrophils Are Key to Harnessing Anti-Tumor Immune Response from Radiation Therapy, Study Finds

Sep. 21, 2016 — Combining targeted radiation therapy with a neutrophil stimulant enhances anti-tumor immunity, according to new research into cancer ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — 'Training' immune cells boosts effectiveness in patients with acute myeloid leukemia (AML), report scientists. A small clinical trial provides evidence that the immune system's ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — Scientists have de-mystified the molecular workings of the multiple sclerosis drug Tecfidera®. The drug is the most widely prescribed pill-based therapy for MS, but its biological mechanism remains ... read more

Stem Cell 'Heart Patch' Moves Closer to Clinic

Sep. 21, 2016 — The promise of stem cells to treat cardiovascular disease may soon be a step closer to clinical application as scientists seek to perfect and test three-dimensional “heart patches” in a large ... read more

Research Finally Reveals Reason for Perplexing Red Skin Disease

Sep. 20, 2016 — There aren't any effective treatments for the disease with the hard-to-pronounce-name, ichthyosis. The rare and perplexing genetic disease causes skin to be disfigured by redness and dark scales ... read more

Sep. 19, 2016 — A strategy to maximize the effectiveness of anti-cancer immune therapy has been developed by a group of researchers who have identified a molecular switch that controls immune suppression. This ... read more

Sep. 19, 2016 — The discovery of a novel, advanced technique to identify the rare cells where human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) hides in patients taking antiretroviral therapy (ART). This is an important step ... read more

Nanoparticle Drug Cocktail Could Help Treat Lethal Cancers

Sep. 17, 2016 — An ingenious way to spur checkpoint blockade cancer immunotherapy into more potent action has been developed by a group of researchers. The therapy offers the hope of an effective treatment for ... read more

New Way to Reprogram Lymph Node Function to Fight Multiple Sclerosis

Sep. 15, 2016 — Researchers report a new way to turn off the harmful immune attack that occurs during autoimmune diseases such as multiple sclerosis (MS), while keeping healthy functions of the immune system ... read more

Researchers Identify How Hepatitis a Virus Causes Liver Injury

Sep. 15, 2016 — Investigators have discovered how hepatitis A virus causes liver injury as well as how the virus could jump from primates to mice. Hepatitis A virus is a vaccine preventable form of infectious ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — A small device implanted under the skin can improve breast cancer survival by catching cancer cells, slowing the development of metastatic tumors in other organs and allowing time to intervene with ... read more

Dying Tumor Cells Release Intracellular Ions in a Last-Ditch Attempt to Block the Immune System

Sep. 15, 2016 — Researchers have discovered how a mineral ion leaked from tumor tissue as it dies acts to stop the work of anti-tumor immune cells. This discovery provides a new approach in the development of ... read more

Sep. 14, 2016 — Two genes, NR4A1 and ABC transporters, mark a distinct subset of quiescent T cells within human tissues, researchers say. They report that they have developed methods to mobilize them into ... read more

Mucosa Forms Special Immunological Memory

Sep. 14, 2016 — If a vaccine is to protect the intestines and other mucous membranes in the body, it also needs to be given through the mucosa, for example as a nasal spray or a liquid that is drunk. The mucosa ... read more

Sep. 14, 2016 — Cells in the immune system of patients with multiple sclerosis behave differently from those of healthy individuals. Researchers have exploited this difference to develop a method that can predict ... read more

Researchers Lay Foundation for Innovative Treatment of Multiple Sclerosis

Sep. 14, 2016 — Inhibition of the protein kinase CK2 prevents the development of auto-aggressive T cells, say multiple sclerosis researchers. Multiple sclerosis is the most common chronic inflammatory disease of the ... read more

Scientists Discover Missing Link in Septic Shock

Sep. 14, 2016 — An important mechanism of sepsis, an overreaction of the body’s immune system to an infection, has been revealed by researchers. In this condition, the brain is unable to curb an inflammatory ... read more

Anti-Tumor Immunity Identified With New Ovarian Cancer Treatment Strategy

Sep. 13, 2016 — New research demonstrates how a drug already in clinical trials could be used to boost anti-tumor immunity and cause T-cells to target the cancer directly while minimizing side ... read more

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Saturday, September 17, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016