Immune System News
May 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:02am EDT

More Immune System News
May 31, 2016

May 30, 2016 — Painkillers paradoxically prolong pain in rats, a study that could have far-reaching effects for humans, new research demonstrates. Roughly 20,000 Americans died in 2015 from overdoses of ... read more

A Combined Approach to Treating Metastatic Melanoma

May 30, 2016 — Oncologists have successfully treated a patient with metastatic melanoma by combining two different types of ... read more

Zika Virus Infects Human Placental Macrophages

May 27, 2016 — One of Zika's mysteries is how the virus passes from an infected mother, through the placenta, to a developing fetus. The route may not be direct either -- transmission via multiple cell types ... read more

Guarding the Gatekeepers

May 27, 2016 — Calcium is a key signalling agent in the information networks of life. As calcium ions cannot cross cell membranes directly, the rise and fall of calcium levels within a cell are controlled through a ... read more

May 27, 2016 — A genetic variant in the 5q11 chromosome, which is associated with susceptibility to developing multiple sclerosis, greatly regulates a gene known as ANKRD55, researchers have discovered. Multiple ... read more

May 25, 2016 — New research has identified a new regulator of immune responses. The study sheds new light on why T cells fail to clear chronic infections and eliminate ... read more

Antiretroviral Therapy May Not Be Enough to Reduce HIV-Associated Arterial Inflammation

May 25, 2016 — Initiating antiretroviral therapy soon after diagnosis of an HIV infection did not prevent the progression of significant arterial inflammation in a small group of previously untreated ... read more

Understanding the Underlying Mechanisms That Lead to Psoriasis

May 25, 2016 — Psoriasis is an inflammatory skin condition that affects some 125 million people worldwide. It is characterized by itchy, scaly skin plaques. The exact cause of psoriasis is unclear. But mounting ... read more

Putting the Brakes on Cell's 'Engine' Could Give Flu, Other Vaccines a Boost

May 24, 2016 — Altering MCJ -- a relatively unknown molecule that regulates metabolism in virus-attacking T cells -- can result in a boost to the immune system's response to the flu, according to a new ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Researchers may have figured out a way to call off a cancer cell assassin that sometimes goes rogue. The scientists designed genetically engineered CAR T cells that must be activated and targeted by ... read more

Harnessing the 'Natural Killer' Within Us to Fight Cancer

May 23, 2016 — Researchers are investigating ways to 'switch on' our Natural Killer cells.The researchers identified a protein 'brake' within Natural Killer cells that controls their ability to ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Nanosized Trojan horses created from a patient's own immune cells have successfully treated inflammation by overcoming the body's complex defense mechanisms, perhaps leading to broader ... read more

May 20, 2016 — New research explains why ovarian cancer becomes resistant to chemotherapy. The findings suggesting the potential to harness immunotherapy as a future treatment ... read more

May 20, 2016 — An all-on-chip method enables rapid neutrophil chemotaxis assay directly from a few microliters of blood for both cell migration research and clinical sample ... read more

May 20, 2016 — Scientists have identified the trigger for immune cells' inflammatory response, a discovery that may pave the way for new treatments for many human ... read more

May 20, 2016 — In a new study in mice, researchers overcame a process by which cancer co-opts a fundamental protein into protecting it against the body's ... read more

May 19, 2016 — A simple and environmentally friendly method for extracting RNA from the cells of bacteria, plants and animals for detecting viruses has been developed by a research ... read more

Combining Radiation With Immunotherapy Showing Promise Against Melanoma

May 19, 2016 — Combining radiation treatments with a new generation of immunotherapies is showing promise as a one-two-punch against melanoma, researchers ... read more

May 19, 2016 — Flaviviruses -- such as Zika, dengue, and yellow fever -- have emerged as human pathogens because of their ability to specifically overcome our anti-viral defenses. In the case of Zika, researchers ... read more

Cancer Can Be Combated With Reprogrammed Macrophage Cells

May 19, 2016 — Researchers have generated antibodies that reprogram a type of macrophage cell in the tumor, making the immune system better able to recognize and kill tumor cells. The study, say the scientists, ... read more

Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Sunday, May 1, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016