NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Immune System News
October 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:32am EDT

More Immune System News
October 26, 2016

Gene Deletion Points Way to Flu Treatment

Oct. 19, 2016 — Researchers kept mice from getting the flu by removing a gene that regulates their immune system. According to the study, mice missing the gene Trim29 eliminated human influenza virus within 48 ... read more

Estrogen Signaling Impacted Immune Response in Cancer

Oct. 17, 2016 — Estrogen signaling was responsible for immunosuppressive effects in the tumor microenvironment across cancer types, a new study has concluded. These findings pave the way for combining ... read more

Oct. 17, 2016 — Spinal cord injury alters the type of bacteria living in the gut and that these changes can exacerbate the extent of neurological damage and impair recovery of function, new research suggests. The ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — L-arginine, an amino acid that is consumed through diet, can boost the activity of a particular type of immune cells, so called T cells, new research indicates. When the levels of L-arginine are ... read more

New Analysis Sheds Light on Zika Virus Evolution, Spread

Oct. 12, 2016 — Researchers have modeled the evolutionary development and diversity of the Zika virus to better understand how infection spreads between populations and how the virus reacts with the immune system. ... read more

Post Breastfeeding Tissue Remodelling Explained by New Research

Oct. 12, 2016 — A ground-breaking study into the changes that occur in a woman’s breast, from growing into one that provides milk for a new-born, and then back to its normal state, has discovered that ... read more

Combination Therapy Shows Promise in Fighting Neuroblastoma

Oct. 11, 2016 — Further light has been shed on the role of the cytokine TGF?1 in the growth of neuroblastoma, and suggests the possibility for a small molecule drug/antibody combinatorial therapy to treat this ... read more

New Immune Cell Subset Associated With Progression to Type 1 Diabetes

Oct. 11, 2016 — A recently described T cell subset may have a central role in the development of type 1 diabetes, research suggests. These so called follicular T helper cells were found to be increased at the onset ... read more

Viral Particles Support Prophylactic Vaccination Against Breast Cancer

Oct. 11, 2016 — Artificial structures of tumor antigens, so-called mimotopes, applied in vaccinations of cancer patients can trigger a long-term immune response. For the vaccine, however, a carrier is required that ... read more

Oct. 10, 2016 — The liver reacts to chronic injury by walling it off with scar tissue and calling in immune cells with inflammatory signals. If cancer arises, the resulting inflammation then stokes tumor ... read more

Oct. 10, 2016 — It’s a known fact that cells can move around the body, but how they do it has been unknown – until ... read more

Immunotherapy Shows Promising Results in First, Second Line Treatment of Metastatic Bladder Cancer

Oct. 8, 2016 — Immunotherapy has shown promising results in first and second line treatment of metastatic bladder cancer in two phase II ... read more

Oct. 7, 2016 — Scientists have long understood that mother's milk provides immune protection against some infectious agents through the transfer of antibodies, a process referred to as "passive ... read more

Neoadjuvant Immunotherapy Prior to Surgery Is Safe, Feasible in Early Lung Cancer

Oct. 7, 2016 — Neoadjuvant immunotherapy with the PD-1 inhibitor nivolumab is safe and feasible prior to surgery for early lung cancer, researchers ... read more

Researchers Probe HPV's Manipulation of Immune System

Oct. 6, 2016 — Fresh insight has been gained into how one of the main viruses that cause cervical cancer evades its hosts' immune systems. These findings suggest that a protein known as E7, produced by a ... read more

New Evidence Supports Biological Link Between Zika Infection, Guillain-Barré Syndrome

Oct. 6, 2016 — In a collaborative effort with scientists at six Colombian hospitals, researchers report what they believe to be the strongest biological evidence to date linking Zika virus infection and ... read more

Oct. 5, 2016 — Your gut may play a pivotal role in preventing the onset of Parkinson's disease. And the reason may be its knack for ... read more

Genome: It's All About Architecture

Oct. 5, 2016 — Many serious diseases such as malaria or AIDS present a major challenge for medicine because the causative pathogens use the same strategy although they are completely different: by camouflaging ... read more

EBV-Derived microRNAs Silence Immune Alarm Signals of the Host Cell

Oct. 5, 2016 — Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) prevents infected cells from being attacked by the immune system. The virus drives production of small molecules, so-called microRNAs, that suppress alarm signals sent out by ... read more

Eczema in Children Has Unique Immune Profile, Offering New Targets for Treatment

Oct. 4, 2016 — Atopic dermatitis, or eczema, is a common skin disorder that usually starts by 5 years of age, but virtually all of the studies that have defined the immune changes underlying eczema and are ... read more

Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Saturday, September 17, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016