Immune System News
April 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:58am EDT

More Immune System News
April 28, 2017

Key Mechanism to Control Antibody Production

Apr. 27, 2017 — A new study may hold implications in future clinical applications concerning more efficient vaccine development or treatment of autoimmune ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — A novel microscopy method allows unprecedented insights into the spatial organization and direct interactions of immune cells within blood and liquid multi-lineage tissues. The assay, called ... read more

Altered Immune Cells May Both Contribute to Preeclampsia and Offer New Hope for Treatment

Apr. 24, 2017 — Researchers have found that the immune system's natural killer (NK) cells activate and change in response to placental ischemia. Disrupting these altered cells seems to blunt some of the ... read more

When Liver Immune Cells Turn Bad

Apr. 21, 2017 — A high-fat diet and obesity turn 'hero' virus-fighting liver immune cells 'rogue,' leading to insulin resistance, a condition that often results in type 2 diabetes, according to ... read more

Preliminary Study Suggests Possible New Treatment for MS

Apr. 20, 2017 — A small, preliminary study may show promise of a new type of treatment for progressive multiple sclerosis ... read more

No Link Found Between HIV Levels and Immune Activation During Antiretroviral Treatment

Apr. 20, 2017 — Despite successful treatment, people receiving antiretroviral drugs continue to have small amounts of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) in their blood, as well as elevated immune system activation. ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — Macrophages have a previously unrecognized role in helping the mammalian heart beat in rhythm. Researchers have discovered that macrophages aggregate around central cardiac cells that regulate ... read more

Immune Discovery Points to Therapies to Improve Stroke Recovery

Apr. 20, 2017 — Having a stroke damages immune cells as well as affecting the ... read more

Research Uncovers Life-Saving Benefits in the Battle Against Viruses

Apr. 20, 2017 — At-risk patients, such as those with HIV or transplant recipients, could benefit from potentially life-saving study, say ... read more

Protection for the Gut Barrier: New Approach May Prevent Graft-Versus-Host Disease

Apr. 20, 2017 — Stem cell transplants can save lives, for example in patients with leukemia. However, these treatments are not free of risks. One complication that may occur is graft-versus-host disease (GVHD), ... read more

Scientists Uncover Mechanism Allowing Bacteria to Survive the Human Immune System

Apr. 20, 2017 — Researchers have uncovered molecular details of how pathogenic bacteria fight back against the human immune response to infection. Scientists have identified the structure of NsrR, a bacterial ... read more

Women More Sensitized Than Men to Metal Used in Joint Replacement

Apr. 19, 2017 — Why are women at higher risk of complications after total hip or knee replacement surgery? An increased rate of hypersensitivity to the metals contained in joint implants might be a contributing ... read more

Defective HIV Proviruses Hinder Immune System Response and Cure

Apr. 19, 2017 — Proteins created by defective forms of HIV long previously believed to be harmless actually interact with our immune systems and are actively monitored by a specific type of immune cell, called ... read more

Scientists Provide New Insights on How Cancers Evade the Immune System

Apr. 19, 2017 — A team of scientists has discovered new ways in which cancers can escape the body's immune system. Focusing on gastric cancer (GC), the third leading cause of cancer death worldwide, the ... read more

Researchers Identify Tactic Dengue Virus Uses to Delay Triggering Immune Response

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers describe novel mechanism cells use to recognize earliest stages of infection and how virus evades triggering an immune ... read more

Researchers Unlock an Immunity 'Black Box'

Apr. 18, 2017 — Mapping the biological machinery of the inflammatory skin disease neutrophilic dermatosis offers multiple targets for treating inflammatory ... read more

Cytokine Controls Immune Cells That Trigger Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Study Finds

Apr. 18, 2017 — A certain cytokine, or small protein that helps cells communicate during immune responses, can control whether immune cells promote or suppress inflammatory bowel disease, a finding that could lead ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Scientists have discovered an unknown molecular mechanism promoting the activation of the human immune system. The team has been studying the glutathione molecule known for its role in cleaning the ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new method that will allow doctors to detect minute amounts of a protein called interferon- in patient samples. The technique will aid the diagnosis and treatment of ... read more

Measuring the Safety, Efficacy of a Vaccine Against Ebola Virus Disease

Apr. 18, 2017 — The 2014--2015 Ebola epidemic affected several countries in West Africa, leading to the death of more than 11,000 people. Although this epidemic of Ebolavirus disease is over, there is no knowing if, ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017