Energy Policy News
September 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:39am EDT

More Energy Policy News
September 5, 2015

How to Curb Emissions: Put a Price on Carbon

Sep. 3, 2015 — Literally putting a price on carbon pollution and other greenhouse gasses is the best approach for nurturing the rapid growth of renewable energy and reducing emissions. While prospects for a ... read more

Is the Energy System Really Ready for Sustainable Energy?

July 14, 2015 — New research into sustainable energy systems focuses on integrating renewable and nuclear power plants into the electrical grid – a topic high on the agenda for scholars, industry and policy ... read more

Timber and Construction: A Well-Matched Couple

July 7, 2015 — For the last 10 years, scientists have been conducting research into building structures and materials (concrete, steel and timber). According to their latest piece of research, timber is a very ... read more

Barnett Shale Research Raises New Concerns About Methane Emissions

July 7, 2015 — Some natural gas wells, compressor stations and processing plants in the Barnett Shale leak far more methane than previously estimated, potentially offsetting the climate benefits of natural gas, a ... read more

Switzerland's Transition Away from Nuclear Power

July 7, 2015 — Switzerland has a long history of trying to be as self-sufficient and energy independent as possible. Although its energy supply system has served it well in the past, the country is now looking to ... read more

Stronger Action Needed to Transform UK's Energy System

July 5, 2015 — An ambitious policy package is essential for the UK to transform its energy system to achieve the deep reductions in carbon emissions required to avoid dangerous climate change, according to new ... read more

Bioenergy in the Upper Rhine Area: Potential for Improvement

June 30, 2015 — Scientists have analyzed the potentials of sustainable use of biomass on the Upper Rhine. The conclusion drawn by the researchers: Further increase in biomass production is limited, as this would ... read more

Little Faith in Carbon Capture in the EU and USA

June 29, 2015 — Pessimism prevails about the future of carbon capture and storage in both the USA and EU. This is despite the fine promises that it was precisely this technology that would save the oil and gas ... read more

Analysis Shows Increased Carbon Intensity from Canadian Oil Sands

June 26, 2015 — Gasoline and diesel refined from Canadian oil sands has a higher carbon impact than fuels derived from conventional domestic crude sources, a new study ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Researchers achieved 15% energy conversion efficiency in perovskite solar cells for the first time certified at an international public test ... read more

Costs of Residential Energy Efficiency Investments Are Double the Benefits

June 23, 2015 — Through a randomized controlled trial of more than 30,000 households in Michigan -- where one-quarter of the households were encouraged to make residential energy efficiency investments and received ... read more

Highest Certified Efficiency for Perovskite Solar Cells Measuring Over One Square Centimetre

June 18, 2015 — Researchers have achieved a 15% energy conversion efficiency in perovskite solar cells for the first time in the world, as officially recognized by an international public test ... read more

Fighting Climate Change, With Cement

June 12, 2015 — The cement industry is one of the largest sources worldwide of carbon emissions, accounting for around five per cent of global emissions. New technologies may help substantially lower these ... read more

Car of the Future: Autonomous, or Cooperative

June 22, 2015 — The self-driving car has strong potential for improving traffic flow, road safety, and reducing the environmental impact of traffic. But only if it is designed to communicate with other cars and ... read more

June 2, 2015 — The heat generated by burning a fossil fuel is surpassed within a few months by the warming caused by the release of its carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, a new study says. The release of CO2 into ... read more

Use of Computerized Clinical Decision Support Tools Leads to Small Reduction in Inappropriate Advanced Imaging Studies

June 2, 2015 — The increasing use of advanced medical imaging such as MRI and CT is often cited as a key driver of increasing medical costs. Beginning in 2017, federal rules will require that decision support tools ... read more

EU Biofuels Regime Failing to Meet Its Objectives Under Current Regulatory Framework, Experts Say

May 26, 2015 — The European Union regulatory framework for biofuels has the potential to address its climate, energy and environmental objectives, but only if carefully tailored and effectively implemented. The ... read more

May 26, 2015 — Drones, say goodbye to pilots. With the goal of achieving autonomous flight of these aerial vehicles, researchers have developed a vision and learning system to control and navigate them without ... read more

May 26, 2015 — Scientists have developed an environment friendly version of building concrete called green-mix ... read more

Enhancing Knowledge Crucial to Improving Energy-Saving Behaviors, Study Shows

May 22, 2015 — Increasing public knowledge and understanding about energy issues is vital if improved energy-saving behaviors are to be encouraged among individuals and organizations, a study ... read more

Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Friday, January 2, 2015
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014