Robotics Research News
May 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:57pm EDT

More Robotics Research News
May 5, 2015

Artificial Spin Ice: A New Playground to Better Understand Magnetism

Apr. 27, 2015 — For the first time, nanomagnet islands or arrays were arranged into an exotic structure (called “shakti”) that does not directly relate to any known natural material. The “shakti” artificial ... read more

Measurement of Components in 3-D Underwater

Apr. 15, 2015 — The maintenance of underwater technical systems is elaborate and expensive. Pipes, flanges and connections of conveying systems for oil and gas at sea, for example, must first be measured for this ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — Customers expect products to be tailored to their needs. And not only that: they want to influence the way the product is manufactured as well. As a result, very flexible manufacturing and ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Temperature is one of the key variables in studying the ocean. A fiber-optic sensor can register significantly smaller temperature changes, roughly 30 times faster than existing commercial ... read more

Novel Sensor System Provides Continuous Smart Monitoring of Machinery and Plant Equipment

Mar. 26, 2015 — A new method of continuously monitoring the status of machinery is currently being developed. The mobile tablet-based system supplies information on the operational state of industrial machinery and ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — Scientists have been working with marine conservation groups to develop better techniques for studying the seabed which is vital for marine conservation and fisheries ... read more

Mobile Battery Life Can Be Prolonged With System Settings

Mar. 25, 2015 — By using crowdsourced measurements researchers explain the energy impact of smartphone system settings, and their results show how to improve a mobile device's battery lifetime by adjusting the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Engineers have taken a leaf out of nature's book by equipping an artificial hand with muscles made from shape-memory wire. The new technology enables the fabrication of flexible and lightweight ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Researchers who develop snake-like robots have picked up a few tricks from real sidewinder rattlesnakes on how to make rapid and even sharp turns with their undulating, modular device. Working with ... read more

Mar. 20, 2015 — Scientists are developing an entirely new kind of welding system, one which solves quality and productivity problems related to automated and mechanized welding. The system is self-adjusting, ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — Researchers in Japan have jointly developed a robot with four arms and four crawlers which can perform multiple tasks simultaneously to help clean up the rubble left after the 2011 quake-tsunami ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — Advances in materials science, distributed algorithms and manufacturing processes are revolutionizing robotic materials. Prosthetics with a realistic sense of touch. Bridges that detect and repair ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — Biorobotics researchers have developed the first aerial robot able to fly over uneven terrain that is stabilized visually without an accelerometer. Called BeeRotor, it adjusts its speed and avoids ... read more

Mar. 5, 2015 — An international research team wants to create semi-artificial chloroplasts for the manufacture of biotechnologically relevant products. For this purpose, they aim to modify the photosynthetic ... read more

Security in a Smart World

Mar. 5, 2015 — More stable power grids and quicker accident care: When used properly, digital data may be of high benefit. However, electronic processing also facilitates data abuse. For this reason, scientists ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — From light-up shoes to smart watches, wearable electronics are gaining traction among consumers, but these gadgets' versatility is still held back by the stiff, short-lived batteries that are ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — Who is the teacher: the student or the machine? By showing a robot how to write letters, children improve their writing skills and gain ... read more

Networks of Micro-Drones: What Can They Be Expected to Do?

Mar. 3, 2015 — Micro-drones are already being put to use in a large number of areas: These small aircraft face extensive requirements when performing aerial observation tasks or when deployed in the field of ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — Months of lab work has led to this chilly day -- by Florida standards -- with four small, wheeled robots moving around the parking lot outside the Launch Control Center while their leader, Kurt ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — A team of engineers is using magnetic force to design new and improved instruments for minimally invasive surgery. The use of magnetic actuation allows them to create tools that are more flexible and ... read more

Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Sunday, November 30, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014