Electronics News
October 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:10am EDT

More Electronics News
October 4, 2015

Sep. 23, 2015 — Asimple approach to synthesize novel environmentally friendly manganese dioxide ink by using glucose has been developed by a group of ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Researchers have designed new multimaterial printheads that mix and print concentrated viscoelastic inks that allow for the simultaneous control of composition and geometry during printing. Using ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Light, sound, and now, heat -- just as optical invisibility cloaks can bend and diffract light to shield an object from sight, and specially fabricated acoustic metamaterials can hide an object from ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Researchers have created a synthetic material out of 1 billion tiny magnets. Astonishingly, it now appears that the magnetic properties of this so-called metamaterial change with the temperature, so ... read more

Sep. 20, 2015 — An international research team elucidated a new principle whereby electromagnetic waves including light propagate on the surface of a photonic crystal without being ... read more

Sep. 17, 2015 — Scientists have investigated a way to create linear chains of carbon atoms from laser-melted graphite. The material, called carbyne, could have a number of novel properties, including the ability to ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — Researchers have devised a novel, inexpensive way to turn low frequency signals into higher frequencies. The approach makes use of a Nobel Prize-winning device called a Josephson junction, which is ... read more

'Instruction Manual' for Futuristic Metallic Glass

Sep. 15, 2015 — Researchers have created an 'instruction manual' for developing metallic glass -- described as the most significant materials science innovation since plastic. Among the toughest materials ... read more

Sep. 14, 2015 — Scientists have invented a new way to view and create what they are calling 'an electron superhighway' in an organic semiconductor. This approach promises to allow electrons to flow faster ... read more

First Realization of an Electric Circuit With a Magnetic Insulator Using Spin Waves

Sep. 14, 2015 — Researchers have found that it is possible to make an electric circuit with a magnetic insulator. This was first deemed impossible. The circuit is realized using spin waves: wave-like perturbations ... read more

An Even More Versatile Optical Chip

Sep. 14, 2015 — Telecommunication networks will soon have to exploit the quantum properties of light. A team is paving the way to this technological revolution by removing the technical barriers of quantum photonics ... read more

Sep. 11, 2015 — Researchers have announced the observation of a dynamic Mott transition in a superconductor. The discovery experimentally connects the worlds of classical and quantum mechanics and illuminates the ... read more

Sep. 11, 2015 — A new compact structure enables efficient lasers to be realized on silicon ... read more

Insights Into Obscure Transition Uncovered by X-Rays

Sep. 11, 2015 — The list of potential mechanisms that underlie an unusual metal-insulator transition has been narrowed by a team of scientists using a combination of X-ray techniques. This transition has ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — New research shows how individual atoms move in trillionths of a second to form wrinkles on a three-atom-thick material. Revealed by a brand new 'electron camera,' one of the world's ... read more

Physicists Catch a Magnetic Wave That Offers Promise for More Energy-Efficient Computing

Sep. 9, 2015 — A team of physicists has taken pictures of a theorized but previously undetected magnetic wave, the discovery of which offers the potential to be an energy-efficient means to transfer data in ... read more

One Step Towards Faster Organic Electronics

Sep. 9, 2015 — For years we have believed that ordered polymer chains increase the conductivity of plastic. And a new generation of polymers has been developed. It is true that these new polymers are more ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — A cut or tear in a material is typically a sign of weakness. Now researchers have created complex 3-D micro- and nanostructures out of silicon and other materials using an assembly method that uses ... read more

Realizing Carbon Nanotube Integrated Circuits

Sep. 8, 2015 — Newly developed, solution-based encapsulation layers have been used by researchers to create air-stable, wafer-scale integrated circuits made from single-walled carbon ... read more

Super-Stretchable Metallic Conductors for Flexible Electronics

Sep. 8, 2015 — Researchers have discovered how to stretch metal films used in flexible electronics to twice their size without breaking. The discovery could lead to dramatic improvements and addresses one of the ... read more

Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Sunday, September 20, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015