Electronics News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:10pm EDT

More Electronics News
August 28, 2015

Aug. 11, 2015 — Used in everything from cell phones to supercomputers, tiny electronic circuits contain transistors that generate performance-compromising heat. Circuit designers can “see” how temperatures ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Graphene, an atom-thick material with extraordinary properties, is a promising candidate for the next generation of dramatically faster, more energy-efficient electronics. However, scientists have ... read more

New Hydrogel Stretches, Contracts Like a Heat-Driven Muscle

Aug. 10, 2015 — A new hydrogel that works like an artificial muscle -- quickly stretching and contracting in response to changing temperature -- has been developed by researchers. They have also managed to use the ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A methodology for brain penetration using diameter flexible needles has been developed by scientists. This should further reduce invasiveness and provide tissue penetrations hardly broken than ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — Molybdenum ditelluride (MoTe2)  is a crystalline compound that if pure enough can be used as a transistor.  Its molecular structure is an atomic sandwich made up of one molybdenum atom for every ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Easily manufactured, low cost, lightweight, flexible dielectric polymers that can operate at high temperatures may be the solution to energy storage and power conversion in electric vehicles and ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — Engineers have found a new way to switch the polarization of nanomagnets without the need for an external magnetic field. The advance brings the semiconductor industry a major step closer to moving ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — Researchers have combined two unlikely materials to make a digital switch that could improve high speed ... read more

Researchers Clear the Way for Fast Plasmonic Chips

Aug. 3, 2015 — Researches have developed a new method for optical communication on a chip, which will give a possibility to decrease the size of optical and optoelectronic elements and increase the computer ... read more

Nature: Compact Optical Data Transmission

Aug. 3, 2015 — Compact optical transmission possibilities are of great interest in faster and more energy-efficient data exchange between electronic chips. One component serving this application is the Mach-Zehnder ... read more

A Cost-Effective Solution to Tuned Graphene Production

July 29, 2015 — Graphene has been called the miracle material but the single-atomic layer material is still seeking its place in the materials world. Now a method to make 'defective' graphene could provide ... read more

July 29, 2015 — Researchers have created the world's highest-performance single-molecule diode. Development of a functional single-molecule diode is a major pursuit of the electronics ... read more

July 29, 2015 — Printed Electronics is key in enabling smart packaging innovations, a fast growing market for industry, researchers say. The smart packaging market is expected to grow to more than US$ 1.45 billion ... read more

July 28, 2015 — Rewritable CDs, DVDs and Blu-Ray discs owe their existence to phase-change materials, those materials that change their internal order when heated and whose structures can be switched back and forth ... read more

Doctor Warns About Lead Poisoning Risk from Recycling Older Electronic Equipment

July 28, 2015 — The disposal and recycling of electronic devices has increased exposure to lead and other toxicants and created 'an emerging health concern,' according to a pediatrician who has expertise ... read more

Flexible Future of Point-of-Care Disease Diagnostic

July 28, 2015 — The world-wide deployment of biomedical devices for health monitoring, point-of-care diagnostics and environmental sensing is hampered by their high cost that is not readily affordable for developing ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Researchers have created a polymer gel that could allow for the development of long-acting devices that reside in the stomach, including orally delivered capsules that can release drugs over a number ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Those who wish to renovate their houses and make them more energy-efficient often use the well-known yellow to blue thermal images to visually identify weak spots applying infra-red measurements. ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Coating the inside of glass microtubes with a polymer hydrogel material dramatically alters the way capillary forces draw water into the tiny structures, researchers have found. The discovery could ... read more

July 23, 2015 — You don't need a magnetic material to create spin current from insulators, researchers say. This work has important implications for the field of spintronics and the development of high-speed, ... read more

Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015