Communications News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:18am EDT

More Communications News
September 26, 2016

Sep. 22, 2016 — The R2-D2 robot from Star Wars doesn’t communicate in human language but is, nevertheless, capable of showing its intentions. For human-robot interaction, the robot does not have to be a true ... read more

Rise of the Internet Has Reduced Voter Turnout

Sep. 16, 2016 — During the initial phase of the internet, a “crowding-out” of political information occurred, which has affected voter turnout, new research ... read more

Promote Legal Alternatives to Stop Unlawful Downloading, Says Study

Sep. 15, 2016 — The promotion of legal alternatives, rather than the risk of prosecution, is more likely to change unlawful file sharing behavior, according to new ... read more

Sep. 14, 2016 — In the face of increasing bandwidth demands, ground-breaking research has demonstrated solutions for network infrastructure to address the looming network capacity ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — Experts are presenting a new programming language, called Milk, that lets application developers manage memory more efficiently in programs that deal with scattered data points in large data ... read more

App Vs. Website: Which Best Protects Your Privacy?

Sep. 12, 2016 — Should you use the app -- or a web browser -- for that? That's the ques­tion that researchers ask in a new study that explores how free app- and web-based ser­vices on Android and iOS mobile ... read more

Setting Up a Decoy Network May Help Deflect a Hacker's Hits

Sep. 9, 2016 — Computer networks may never float like a butterfly, but information scientists suggest that creating nimble networks that can sense jabs from hackers could help deflect the stinging blows of those ... read more

Political Inequality Leads to Digital Inequality

Sep. 8, 2016 — During the Arab Spring, the internet was frequently seen as a 'liberation technology.' According to this view, it fosters political transparency, political rights and democracy. New ... read more

Social Networks Enable Smart Household Appliances to Make Better Recommendations

Sep. 8, 2016 — A computer engineer, has improved the tools for predicting the trust that a user will place in another in his/her social environment and has come up with a new algorithm that selects in less time the ... read more

Research Could Help Local Governments Plan Together

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new approach to modelling land use change could help cities and towns better coordinate their land-use planning efforts. The approach can enhance existing computer planning models, better enabling ... read more

New Chip Could Bring Highest Level of Encryption to Any Mobile Device

Sep. 8, 2016 — Random number generators are crucial to the encryption that protects our privacy and security when engaging in digital transactions such as buying products online or withdrawing cash from an ATM. For ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — All over the world, lakes, rivers, and coastal waters are threatened by high nutrient inputs. Nitrate or phosphates from waste-waters or fertilizers causes eutrophication. The consequence: Algae, in ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Chronically ill, homebound children who use robotic surrogates to “attend” school feel more socially connected with their peers and more involved academically, according to a first-of-its-kind ... read more

Posting Personal Experiences on Social Media May Help You Remember Them in the Future

Sep. 7, 2016 — Posting personal experiences on social media makes those events much easier to recall, a new study -- the first to look at social media's effect on memory -- has ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Researchers illustrate how smartphones, due to their ubiquity and sophisticated gadgetry, can easily hack 3-D printers by measuring 'leaked' energy and acoustic waves that emanate from the ... read more

Introducing Diversity in Online Language Analysis

Sep. 7, 2016 — For the past 30 years, computer science researchers have been teaching their machines to read standard English -- for example, by assigning back issues of the Wall Street Journal -- so computers can ... read more

New Service Improves Cloud Storage Usage on Mobile Devices

Sep. 7, 2016 — Researchers designed and developed StoArranger, a service to intercept, coordinate and optimize requests made by mobile apps and cloud storage services. StoArranger works as a 'middleware ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — When science fiction heroes communicate, they don‘t use landlines or cell phones. The caller simply appears in virtual form in the middle of the room; full sized and three dimensional. This vision ... read more

Healthcare Corruption Taken to Task by Technology, Study Shows

Sep. 6, 2016 — Mobile phone technology could help to beat bad practices in healthcare delivery, research suggests. Innovations such as apps offer opportunities for improving governance in the healthcare sector, ... read more

Researchers Use Hardware to Accelerate Core-to-Core on-Chip Communication

Sep. 6, 2016 — A new way to significantly accelerate core-to-core communication has been developed by researchers. Their advance relies on hardware to coordinate efforts between cores for multiprocessor ... read more

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016