NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Communications News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:18am EST

More Communications News
February 20, 2017

Social Exclusion in Virtual Realities Has a Negative Social and Emotional Impact in 'Real' Life

Feb. 16, 2017 — In this age of highly realistic computer games and increasingly popular social networks, social exclusion in virtual worlds is becoming more and more socially significant, as is demonstrated by the ... read more

Researchers Apply Machine Learning to Condensed Matter Physics

Feb. 13, 2017 — New research demonstrates that machine learning algorithms might play an important role in identifying different phases of condensed ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Most of us take turning the lights on for granted. In reality, the energy we draw from the electrical grid to brighten homes, freeze food and watch TV is part of a complicated and widespread system. ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have developed the first computer machine-learning model to accurately predict which patients diagnosed with acute myelogenous leukemia, or AML, will go into remission following treatment ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — A similar rule governs traffic flow in engineered and biological systems, reports a researcher. An algorithm used for the Internet is also at work in the human brain, says the report, an insight that ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Holographic atomic memory is the first device able to generate single photons on demand in groups of several dozen or more. The device, successfully demonstrated in practice, overcomes one of the ... read more

New System Makes It Harder to Track Bitcoin Transactions

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers have developed a Bitcoin-compatible system that could make it significantly more difficult for observers to identify or track the parties involved in any given Bitcoin ... read more

Why We Underestimate Time When We're Having Fun on Facebook

Feb. 7, 2017 — Updating your Facebook status can be a fun way to while away the hours -- but now it seems it really is making us lose track of time as we do ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — An international team has, for the first time, developed a way of combining anonymized data from mobile phones and satellite imagery data to create high resolution maps to measure ... read more

Controlling a Prosthesis With Your Brain

Feb. 6, 2017 — The use of brain computer interface has the potential to improve the daily lives of people with prosthetic limbs, according to new ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Neural networks are commonly used today to analyze complex data -- for instance to find clues to illnesses in genetic information. Ultimately, though, no one knows how these networks actually work ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — As we saw during the 2016 US election, protecting traditional computer systems, which use zeros and ones, from hackers is not a perfect science. Now consider the complex world of quantum computing, ... read more

Online Scrutiny Is Stressful for Doctors

Feb. 2, 2017 — Online ratings and discussions about the quality of care American doctors provide can add to their stress levels. Patients, on the other hand, feel that such information empowers them to make better ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — The University of Washington's AccessMap project has launched a new online travel planner offering customizable suggestions for people who need accessible or pedestrian-friendly routes when ... read more

Where Are the EU Twitter Communities?

Feb. 1, 2017 — Governments and politicians have attempted to exploit social media for their own ends. However, a study now reveals that governmental Twitter accounts across the European Union have almost totally ... read more

Finding Credibility Clues on Twitter

Jan. 27, 2017 — By scanning 66 million tweets linked to nearly 1,400 real-world events, researchers have built a language model that identifies words and phrases that lead to strong or weak perceived levels of ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — For the first time, artificial intelligence has been used to discover the exact interventions needed to obtain a specific, previously unachievable result in vivo, providing new insight into the ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — With the addition of holographic diffusers or frosted glasses to wavefront modulators, researchers offer a simple and practical solution to significantly enhance the performance of 3D dynamic ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — In a preliminary study, engineers found that as subway use swells during events that draw big crowds, so too does the number of tweets at these events. The results suggest that data from Twitter, and ... read more

Researchers Are Developing Monitoring System for Seniors

Jan. 26, 2017 — A team of researchers is developing a monitoring system for seniors: upon registering a fall of a person, the system sends a notification to the ... read more

Thursday, February 16, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Saturday, December 24, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016