Communications News
February 14, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:17pm EST

More Communications News
February 14, 2016

Mobile Communication Keeps Couples Who Live Close to One Another Even Closer

Feb. 11, 2016 — Texting can make the heart grow fonder. That is just one of the findings of recent research that shows that even couples who live close to one another rely heavily on mobile media to manage their ... read more

Doctors' Reminders Help Keep People More Engaged in Their Health Care

Feb. 11, 2016 — Follow up emails from a primary care doctor can be a critical way to keep patients involved in their own health care, an new study examining the program called OpenNotes has ... read more

Ten Fingers Not Needed for Fast Typing

Feb. 9, 2016 — The number of fingers does not determine typing speed, new study shows. People using self-taught typing strategies were found to be as fast as trained ... read more

'Pushback' Against Constant Connectivity Also Reflected in Images

Feb. 5, 2016 — People expressing the wish to resist constant online connectivity -- dubbed "pushback" by researchers -- is manifested as powerfully in images as in text, further study has ... read more

Most Internet Resources for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis Are Inaccurate, Incomplete and Outdated

Feb. 5, 2016 — After evaluating content on idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis on almost 200 websites, researchers with medical backgrounds found that the information on IPF from these sites was often incomplete, ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — A new chip has been designed specifically to implement neural networks. It is 10 times as efficient as a mobile GPU, so it could enable mobile devices to run powerful artificial-intelligence ... read more

Anonymous Browsing Hinders Online Dating Signals

Feb. 3, 2016 — Big data and the growing popularity of online dating sites may be reshaping a fundamental human activity: finding a mate, or at least a date. Yet a new study finds that certain longstanding social ... read more

Internet Use Increases Social Inequalities

Feb. 3, 2016 — Internet use is driving a greater wedge in our communities, increasing existing inequalities between rich and poor, a new study ... read more

Professor Creates Video Games That Redefine Art

Feb. 2, 2016 — Eddo Stern straddles the world of fine art and game design to ask fundamental questions about what is ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Computer science has become a new basic skill, essential in order to excel in an increasingly computational and data-intensive world. However, access to computer science (CS) at the K-12 levels ... read more

Super Mario Gets Social Intelligence

Feb. 2, 2016 — Computer scientists help the popular jump ‘n’ run game figures learn to observe, collaborate – and even switch ... read more

Planning for a Disease Outbreak? There's a Game for That

Feb. 1, 2016 — Computer scientists and statisticians are turning disease outbreak planning exercises into a game. They’re creating powerful new software that can predict, simulate and analyze a major disease ... read more

When Loved Ones Battle Cancer, Families Head to Web for Information More Than Support

Feb. 1, 2016 — Loved ones of cancer patients are likely to search for further information about the disease online but less inclined to seek emotional support from social media forums, according to a study. It is ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — New transparent metamaterials under development could make possible computer chips and interconnecting circuits that use light instead of electrons to process and transmit data, representing a ... read more

Exact Formula Now Available for Measuring Scientific Success

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientometrics research is the science of evaluating scientific performance. Physics methods designed to predict growth based on a scale-free network have rarely been applied to this field. Now, ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Standard lasers are actually not useful for secure communication because they emit what is called 'classical' light. Data eavesdroppers could extract any data being carried via classical ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Avatars are all around us: they represent real people online and colonise new worlds in the movies. In science, their role has been more limited. But avatars can be extremely useful in linguistics, ... read more

Bitcoin Study Reveals False Beliefs on Ease of Use and Privacy

Jan. 26, 2016 — People who have used Bitcoin, and those who don't have any experience with it, have something in common: Both groups share misconceptions about how the controversial digital currency actually ... read more

On Twitter, E-Cigarette Ads Spread Like Secondhand Smoke

Jan. 26, 2016 — Are 500 retweets the modern equivalent of 'everyone's doing it' when it comes to e-cigarette marketing? While the Food and Drug Administration has proposed a ban on the sales of ... read more

Delivering the Internet of the Future, at the Speed of Light and Open-Sourced

Jan. 26, 2016 — New research has found, for the first time, a scientific solution that enables future Internet infrastructure to become completely open and programmable while carrying Internet traffic at the speed ... read more

Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015