Communications News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:18am EDT

More Communications News
July 26, 2016

July 19, 2016 — Open air is getting crowded. Signals streaming back and forth from smart devices stretch existing fourth-generation wireless networks almost to their limits. As demands on these systems increase, ... read more

Can We Protect Against Computers Being Fingerprinted?

July 19, 2016 — Researchers are working to find new methods of protecting against the "fingerprinting" of personal computers – and are now giving members of the community the chance to see firsthand ... read more

Can Robots Recognize Faces Even Under Backlighting?

July 19, 2016 — Researchers have developed a novel technique to address the problem of vision-based face detection and recognition under normal and severe illumination conditions. This technique contributes to help ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Working parents and grandparents who FaceTime with their toddlers can take heart from a new study that sheds new light that on young children and how they engage in—and learn from—screen-time ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Chemists have succeeded in using computer simulations to elucidate transient structures in proteins. Researchers have set out, in a new article, how computer simulations of details at the atomic ... read more

July 13, 2016 — A researcher has discovered how to control multiple robotic drones using the human brain. A controller wears a skull cap outfitted with 128 electrodes wired to a computer. The device records ... read more

Study Uses Text-Mining to Improve Market Intelligence on Startups

July 13, 2016 — A researcher has created a new method that uses big data analytics and text-mining techniques to improve market intelligence and explain potential mergers and acquisitions of startup companies in the ... read more

Researchers Report Cybersecurity Risks in 3-D Printing

July 13, 2016 — Researchers examined two aspects of additive manufacturing (AM), or 3-D printing, that could have cybersecurity implications and harmful economic impact: printing orientation and insertion of fine ... read more

July 13, 2016 — An analysis of ant colony behavior could yield better algorithms for network communication, say investigators. Biologists have long suspected that ants base their population-density estimates on the ... read more

Greater Privacy, Security Measures Needed to Protect Patient Info in Mobile Health Tech

July 13, 2016 — With over two-thirds of US adults owning a smartphone, and the rise in miniaturized sensors and low-power body area networks that are used for remote health monitoring, mobile health (mHealth) is ... read more

Advancing Self-Driving Car Design, Other Shared Human And Machine-Controlled Systems

July 13, 2016 — Computer scientists have described a new approach to managing the challenge of transferring control between a human and an autonomous ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers are a step closer to harvesting renewable or ambient energy from mobile phone base stations to power battery-operated wireless sensors used in industries including health and ... read more

Machine Learning Puts New Lens on Autism Screening and Diagnostics

July 12, 2016 — Researchers are now exploring whether machine learning might play an important role in helping screen for autism and guide caregiver and practitioner ... read more

July 11, 2016 — New software could make databases much easier for laypeople to work with. The program's home screen looks like a spreadsheet, but it lets users build their own database queries and reports by ... read more

Researchers Devise Secure, Efficient Anonymity Network

July 11, 2016 — A new anonymity scheme has been presented by experts that provides strong security guarantees but uses bandwidth much more efficiently than its predecessors. In experiments, the researchers' ... read more

Extortion Extinction

July 8, 2016 — Ransomware – what hackers use to encrypt your computer files and demand money in exchange for freeing those contents – is an exploding global problem with few solutions, but a team of researchers ... read more

Building a Better Computer Bug Finder

July 7, 2016 — Detecting bugs in computer programs is an expensive task, and there is no way of measuring their efficacy without knowing exactly how many go unnoticed. To tackle this problem, researchers have ... read more

Accelerating Research Into Dark Energy

July 7, 2016 — A quick method for making accurate, virtual universes to help understand the effects of dark matter and dark energy has been developed by scientists. Making up 95 percent of our universe, these ... read more

July 6, 2016 — As an important step towards graphene integration in silicon photonics, researchers have published a paper that shows how graphene can provide a simple solution for silicon photodetection in the ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A field study suggests a personalized privacy assistant app currently under development can simplify the chore of setting privacy permissions for your smartphone apps. That's a task that ... read more

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016