Communications News
May 2, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:49am EDT

More Communications News
May 2, 2016

Researchers Develop Secure Audio Captchas

Apr. 29, 2016 — In order to avoid spam, on many websites users are prompted to prove that they are human by entering symbols that are difficult to read. For partially sighted users, acoustic solutions have been ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Researchers have built a computer model of the interaction between different bacteria, and between bacteria and the gut wall. This has led them to explain how antibiotic-resistant microbes develop ... read more

Social Media Interaction Tools Might Make Massive Open Online Courses Stickier

Apr. 27, 2016 — Developers of massive open online courses -- or MOOCs -- may want to take a page from Facebook to keep more students engaged and enrolled, according to ... read more

Consumers Reveal Barriers to Brain-Training App-Iness

Apr. 27, 2016 — The preconceptions and concerns of young US consumers about brain-training smartphone apps are examined in a new scientific study. The work investigated why consumers decide to download these apps, ... read more

Does Learning Improve When Every Student Gets a Laptop?

Apr. 26, 2016 — Schools that provide each student with a laptop computer, as well as the appropriate support for both students and teachers, see significant improvement in academic achievement, a new paper ... read more

Sensitive People More Vulnerable to Online Dating Scams

Apr. 26, 2016 — Sensitive and less emotionally intelligent people are more likely to be vulnerable to online dating scams, new research concludes. Over 90 victims of dating scams took part in questionnaires relating ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — The majority of video reproduction portals on internet, with the exception of YouTube, have quite unsophisticated systems for controlling fraud in the number of views, and some of them even seem to ... read more

Trust in the Cloud Could Be Pinned to Online Scoring System

Apr. 22, 2016 — An easy-to-use online tool to help build people's trust in the cloud has been developed by computer scientists. Cloud computing is widely recognized as a highly useful technology, with multiple ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Researchers will present a new, decentralized planning algorithm for teams of robots that factors in not only stationary obstacles, but also moving obstacles. The algorithm also requires ... read more

Interrogation Computers Work, If You Believe They Are Human Controlled

Apr. 21, 2016 — Study into the use of avatars in interrogation situations demonstrates that they are only effective if the subjects under interrogation believe that the avatar is under human ... read more

Smarter Sensing for the Internet of Things

Apr. 27, 2016 — A sensor node processor for networked sensor applications achieves ultra-low power consumption by using ultra-low voltage operation, hardware acceleration and cognitive sensing ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Computer scientists, programmers, theorists, applied mathematicians, economists, biologists and environmental scientists have helped create a new field, computational sustainability, addressing ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Player behavior in narrative role-playing games (RPGs) reflects specific character roles -- even if the game tells players nothing about the character's role. This finding is relevant to both ... read more

Ionian Musical Heritage Conservation Goes Digital

Apr. 20, 2016 — Digitization and the web are being used to manage and disseminate cultural heritage, according to new research. A new study focuses on an Ionian music archive to show how modern technology can be ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — People who often mix their media consumption -- texting while watching TV, or listening to music while reading -- are not known for being able to hold their attention on one task. But sharpening ... read more

Smartphone Users Are Redefining Privacy in Public Spaces

Apr. 18, 2016 — A combination of public smartphone use and technological surveillance has led to diminished personal privacy, a new study argues. The study argues that "dynamic visibility," in which ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Converting a single photon from one color, or frequency, to another is an essential tool in quantum communication. Scientists have now developed a miniaturized version of a frequency converter, using ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Researchers have trialled a quantum processor capable of routing quantum information from different locations in a critical breakthrough for quantum ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A team of researchers demonstrate that location-tagged posts on just two social media apps are enough to link accounts held by the same person and identify him or her, raising new concerns about ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Online computer games allow gamers to solve a class of problems in quantum physics that cannot be easily solved by algorithms alone. Citizen science games have already proved successful in advancing ... read more

Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016