Communications News
August 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:17pm EDT

More Communications News
August 31, 2016

Inferring Urban Travel Patterns from Cellphone Data

Aug. 29, 2016 — A new computational system has been developed that uses cellphone location data to infer urban mobility patterns. Applying the system to six weeks of data from residents of the Boston area, the ... read more

One in Two Users Click on Links from Unknown Senders

Aug. 29, 2016 — Most people know that e-mails and Facebook messages from unknown senders can contain dangerous links. However, many users still click on them and researchers have investigated why. The results: up to ... read more

New Approach to Computing Boosts Energy Efficiency

Aug. 26, 2016 — A research project has launched a set of tools that will make computer systems more energy efficient – a critical issue for modern computing. Using the framework of the project programmers has ... read more

Researchers Find Vulnerabilities in iPhone, iPad Operating System

Aug. 25, 2016 — An international team of computer science researchers has identified serious security vulnerabilities in the iOS -- the operating system used in Apple's iPhone and iPad devices. The ... read more

What Digital Divide? Seniors Embrace Social Technology

Aug. 25, 2016 — Contrary to popular belief, older adults enjoy emailing, instant messaging, Facebook and other forms of social technology. Not only that, but such online networking appears to reduce seniors' ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — The Piton chip's architecture is scalable; designs can be built which go from a dozen processing units (called cores) to several ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — Researchers have created a new theoretical framework which could help physicists and device engineers design better optoelectronics, leading to less heat generation and power consumption in ... read more

Cybersecurity Student Researches How to Keep Cars Safe from Hacking

Aug. 19, 2016 — Cybersecurity student researches spent the summer researching how to keep cars safe from cyberattacks during an intensive eight-week cybersecurity summer research ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — The availability of accurate and reliable information on the location of impoverished zones is surprisingly lacking for much of the world. Applying machine learning to satellite images could identify ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Personalized wearable digital technology can help adults diagnosed with autism understand and manage their anxiety, say ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Engineers have introduced a new way of communicating that allows power-constrained devices such as brain implants, contact lenses, credit cards and smaller wearable electronics to talk to everyday ... read more

People Disregard Security Warnings on Computers Because They Come at Bad Times, Study Finds

Aug. 17, 2016 — Software developers listen up: if you want people to pay attention to your security warnings on their computers or mobile devices, you need to make them pop up at better times. A new study finds the ... read more

Combating Traffic Congestion With Advanced Data Analytics

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers are investigating how cell phone data could benefit traffic planning by carrying out a study to determine whether data from cell phone networks could offer a reliable source of ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — Scientists have revealed the network infrastructure used by Netflix for its content delivery, by mimicking the film request process from all over the world and analyzing the ... read more

Automating Genetic Analysis Helps Keep Up With Rapid Discovery of New Diseases, Study Finds

Aug. 15, 2016 — Researchers are devising ways to have computers help perform some of the intensive genetic analysis now performed manually when scientists study a patient's genome to diagnose a ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — In order to simplify program development, a recent project is developing technology that provides human operators with automated assistance. By removing the need for would-be programmers to learn ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A commonly used device found in living rooms around the world could be a cheap and effective means of evaluating the walking difficulties of multiple sclerosis patients. The Microsoft Kinect is a 3-D ... read more

Computer Scientists Reveal History of Third-Party Web Tracking

Aug. 15, 2016 — Researchers have presented the first-ever comprehensive analysis of third-party web tracking across three decades and a new tool, TrackingExcavator, which they developed to extract and analyze ... read more

How Racial Inequality Is Produced Online

Aug. 15, 2016 — Internet users tend to navigate between websites in a racially segregated way, despite pathways that provide equitable access to different sites, finds a new ... read more

Virtual World Improves Communication Following Stroke, Says Study

Aug. 12, 2016 — A virtual reality world called EVA Park can improve the communication of those who have impaired speech and language following a stroke, according to ... read more

Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016