Video Games News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:19pm EDT

More Video Games News
August 30, 2016

Aug. 15, 2016 — A commonly used device found in living rooms around the world could be a cheap and effective means of evaluating the walking difficulties of multiple sclerosis patients. The Microsoft Kinect is a 3-D ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Researchers have developed an application that can be accessed from parents' smart phones, tablets, or computers and used to distract children during painful ... read more

NFL: Optimizing Monday Nights

July 25, 2016 — After analyzing more than 20 years of Monday Night Football viewership, researchers have developed an optimization model that shows how its schedules could be improved despite the uncertainty that ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Working parents and grandparents who FaceTime with their toddlers can take heart from a new study that sheds new light that on young children and how they engage in—and learn from—screen-time ... read more

Economics Study Finds Volume Discounts Don't Increase Profitability for Video Game

July 8, 2016 — Discounts tied to buying large quantities of virtual goods have little impact on profitability and do not increase the number of customers making purchases, A study by economists finds. The findings ... read more

Children's Purchasing Behavior 'Significantly Impacted' by Social Media, Mobile Apps

July 6, 2016 — A new study examines how children in European countries are influenced by online marketing. The study focused on the impact on children of in-game adverts in advergames, mobile apps and social media ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Using a language-learning game called 'Crystallize,' created by computer science faculty and students, researchers found that when players are required to work together they learn more ... read more

'Digital Neurotherapeutic' in Development

June 23, 2016 — A researcher has created a video game for children who experience cognitive impairments from genetic disorders with the hope that that it will improve their ability to mentally process information ... read more

Models Make Predictions on Olympic Medals

June 8, 2016 — How many medals will each country win in Rio at this Summer's Olympic Games? Researchers who derived predictions from two different models anticipate that the USA, China, Russia, and the UK will ... read more

Time to Up the Game: Video Game Designers Need to Do More for Young Disabled Players

May 7, 2016 — Computer games controlled through wheelchair movements have the potential to improve quality of life for young people with severe mobility impairments but more needs to be done to consider the needs ... read more

Two-Minute Warnings Make Kids' 'Screen Time' Tantrums Worse

May 5, 2016 — Giving young children a two-minute warning that 'screen time' is about to end makes transitions away from tablets, phones, televisions and other technological devices more painful, a new ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — New research challenges the belief that touchscreens are worse input devices because they lack physical buttons. The reason is that key press timing in touchscreen input is unpredictable. When timing ... read more

Emotion Detector: Facial Expression Recognition to Improve Learning, Gaming

Apr. 27, 2016 — A computer algorithm that can tell whether you are happy or sad, angry or expressing almost any other emotion would be a boon to the games industry. New research describes such a system that is ... read more

Videogames Against Malaria: Learn Through Playing

Apr. 25, 2016 — A malaria "Candy Crush" to research new diagnostic tools involving citizen participation has been developed by researchers. Called MalariaSpot Bubbles, the video game not only allows ... read more

Videogame Addiction Linked to ADHD

Apr. 25, 2016 — Young and single men are at risk of being addicted to video games. The addiction indicates an escape from ADHD and psychiatric disorder, suggests a new ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Player behavior in narrative role-playing games (RPGs) reflects specific character roles -- even if the game tells players nothing about the character's role. This finding is relevant to both ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Young male gamers who strongly identify with male characters in sexist, violent video games show less empathy than others toward female violence victims, a new study ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Online computer games allow gamers to solve a class of problems in quantum physics that cannot be easily solved by algorithms alone. Citizen science games have already proved successful in advancing ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A collaborative research team has found humanoid robotics and computer avatars could help rehabilitate people suffering from social disorders such as schizophrenia or social phobia. It is thanks to ... read more

Violent Video Games Eventually Lose Their Ability to Produce Guilt in Gamers

Apr. 8, 2016 — Rapidly advancing technology has created ever more realistic video games. Images are sharp, settings have depth and detail, and the audio is crisp and authentic. It appears so real that research has ... read more

Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015