NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Video Games News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EST

More Video Games News
February 27, 2017

Social Exclusion in Virtual Realities Has a Negative Social and Emotional Impact in 'Real' Life

Feb. 16, 2017 — In this age of highly realistic computer games and increasingly popular social networks, social exclusion in virtual worlds is becoming more and more socially significant, as is demonstrated by the ... read more

Feb. 14, 2017 — Finding information about videogames can now be a game in itself, thanks to researchers. They created GameSpace, a playable visualization of 16,000 videogames grouped according to common features and ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Using a novel approach for computing real-time game strategy, engineers have developed an artificial Ms. Pac-Man player that chomps the existing high score for computerized ... read more

The Importance of Beating Buffering

Jan. 14, 2017 — Streaming video over mobile networks could be greatly improved by smart prioritization of visually important data, report ... read more

Is Your Favorite Ballplayer Hitting When It Matters, or Just Padding His Stats?

Dec. 5, 2016 — Computer scientists are adding to the ocean of baseball statistics with what appears to be the first analysis of hitters' performance when their team is either just about guaranteed to win or ... read more

Nov. 28, 2016 — The aim of a new research project was to analyze learning using Augmented Reality (AR) technology and the motivational and cognitive aspects related to it in an informal learning ... read more

Nov. 17, 2016 — Do you always get 'shot' playing computer games? Do you, like a sore loser, also blame the equipment? Actually, rather surprisingly, you might be ... read more

New Technique Could Boost Online Word-of-Mouth Marketing

Nov. 2, 2016 — Researchers have developed a technique for creating complex predictive tools that can be used to make effective decisions about word-of-mouth marketing for online products and ... read more

Army of Agents to Tackle Corrupt Officials, Tax Evaders, Terrorists, and Botnets as Game Theory Gears Up for the Chaos of the Modern World

Oct. 20, 2016 — Many of the world's major problems are spawned not from monolithic blocks of self-interest, but from a vast array of single entities making highly individual choices: from lone wolf terrorists ... read more

'Virtual Physiotherapist' Helps Paralyzed Patients Exercise Using Computer Games

Oct. 5, 2016 — A simple device can improve the ability of patients with arm disability to play physiotherapy-like computer games, according to new ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — Gamers playing the popular online puzzle game Foldit beat scientists, college students and computer algorithms in a contest to see who could identify a particular protein's ... read more

Virtual Reality Training Improves Social Skills of Individuals on the Autism Spectrum

Sep. 20, 2016 — Children with autism spectrum disorder, who participated in a virtual reality training program, improved social cognition skills and reported better real-world relationships. Neurocognitive testing ... read more

Video Games Can Have Lasting Impact on Learning

Sep. 20, 2016 — A computer-based brain training program helps improve student performance in reading and math — in some cases even more than individualized tutoring, according to a new ... read more

Popular Reality Game Pokémon GO Is Distracting

Sep. 19, 2016 — Motorists, passengers and pedestrians beware: a new report suggests the wildly popular augmented reality game Pokémon GO is ... read more

What Makes a Video Game Great? There’s Now a Scientific Way to Stop GUESSing

Sep. 19, 2016 — Human factors researchers have developed the Game User Experience Satisfaction Scale (GUESS), a psychometrically validated instrument that measures satisfaction on key factors such as playability, ... read more

New iPad Game Could Help Diagnose Autism in Children

Aug. 30, 2016 — Autism could be diagnosed by allowing children to play games on smart phones and tablets, a study has found. Researchers used fun iPad games to track players’ hand movements – gathering ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A commonly used device found in living rooms around the world could be a cheap and effective means of evaluating the walking difficulties of multiple sclerosis patients. The Microsoft Kinect is a 3-D ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Researchers have developed an application that can be accessed from parents' smart phones, tablets, or computers and used to distract children during painful ... read more

Online Gaming Can Boost School Scores

Aug. 8, 2016 — Teenagers who regularly play online video games tend to improve their school results, according to new research. But school students who visit Facebook or chat sites every day are more likely to fall ... read more

NFL: Optimizing Monday Nights

July 25, 2016 — After analyzing more than 20 years of Monday Night Football viewership, researchers have developed an optimization model that shows how its schedules could be improved despite the uncertainty that ... read more

Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017
Monday, December 5, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015