Photography News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:48am EDT

More Photography News
August 30, 2016

One in Two Users Click on Links from Unknown Senders

Aug. 29, 2016 — Most people know that e-mails and Facebook messages from unknown senders can contain dangerous links. However, many users still click on them and researchers have investigated why. The results: up to ... read more

What Digital Divide? Seniors Embrace Social Technology

Aug. 25, 2016 — Contrary to popular belief, older adults enjoy emailing, instant messaging, Facebook and other forms of social technology. Not only that, but such online networking appears to reduce seniors' ... read more

Designing Better Ways to Let Go of Digital Memories Than 'Delete'

Aug. 25, 2016 — Researchers are looking at better ways of helping grieving people let go of emotionally-charged digital content after the death of loved ones or the break-up of ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A commonly used device found in living rooms around the world could be a cheap and effective means of evaluating the walking difficulties of multiple sclerosis patients. The Microsoft Kinect is a 3-D ... read more

New Way to Compare Mobile Phone Cameras: Benchmarking Takes Into Account Also Camera Speed

Aug. 5, 2016 — Researchers have defined a new benchmarking method for mobile phone cameras. The benchmarking combines different image quality and camera performance metrics to a comparable, single value ... read more

Low Rate of Internet Use by Seniors for Health Purposes

Aug. 2, 2016 — Researchers examined trends in seniors' use of digital health technology in the US from ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Over the past decade, the number of virtual field trips created to simulate in-person field excursions has grown, but one aspect of physical fieldwork is not commonly replicated: Virtual explorers do ... read more

July 6, 2016 — Errors can be spotted early and resources can be saved when many individuals share knowledge in a company. This is the case with a honing machine used to hone crankcases at VW’s engine plant in ... read more

Liability of Internet 'Intermediaries' in Developing Countries

June 30, 2016 — If someone posts illegal content on your website, are you liable? A new project addresses that question by examining the potential liability faced by website owners and other online service providers ... read more

Wearable Technology Gets Good Ratings from Plastic Surgeons

June 29, 2016 — Plastic surgeons see some clear advantages of using Google Glass in the operating room, reports a new ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Handheld, mobile phone-based microscopes can be used in developing countries after minimal training of community laboratory technicians to diagnose intestinal parasites quickly and ... read more

Visual Cloud Computing Methods Could Help First Responders in Disaster Scenarios

June 23, 2016 — Visual data created by numerous security cameras, personal mobile devices and aerial video provide useful data for first responders and law enforcement. That data can be critical in terms of knowing ... read more

'Digital Neurotherapeutic' in Development

June 23, 2016 — A researcher has created a video game for children who experience cognitive impairments from genetic disorders with the hope that that it will improve their ability to mentally process information ... read more

Digital Strategies Show Promise for Emergency Heart and Stroke Care

June 22, 2016 — A new scientific statement reviews current research on the effectiveness and safety of using mobile devices, social media, visual media and crowdsourcing to improve emergency heart and stroke ... read more

Compiler for Analog Computers Enhances Biological Modeling

June 21, 2016 — A new compiler for analog computers has been developed, a program that translates between high-level instructions written in a language intelligible to humans and the low-level specifications of ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Achieves Near-Human Performance in Diagnosing Breast Cancer

June 20, 2016 — Pathologists have been largely diagnosing disease the same way for the past 100 years, by manually reviewing images under a microscope. But new work suggests that computers can help doctors improve ... read more

June 16, 2016 — For the past 40 years, eye-tracking technology -- which can determine where in a visual scene people are directing their gaze -- has been widely used in psychological experiments and marketing ... read more

June 8, 2016 — New research raises concerns about how easily hackers could take control of flying drones and land or, more drastically, crash ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Scientists can now identify the exact location of a single atom in a silicon crystal, a discovery that is key for greater accuracy in the operation of tomorrow's silicon based quantum ... read more

June 7, 2016 — Cheap cameras on drones can be used to measure environmental change which affects billions of people around the world, new research ... read more

Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Sunday, May 8, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015