Photography News
April 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:37pm EDT

More Photography News
April 28, 2017

How State-of-the-Art Camera That Behaves Like the Human Eye Could Benefit Robots and Smart Devices

Apr. 27, 2017 — Experts will explore how an artificial vision system inspired by the human eye could be used by robots of the future -- opening up new possibilities for securing footage from deep forests, war zones ... read more

Apr. 27, 2017 — Twenty one EU/EEA countries have developed or are in the process of developing systems to digitally record information about vaccination, according to a new report. Fourteen of these countries ... read more

New Survey: Snapchat and Instagram Are Most Popular Social Media Platforms Among American Teens

Apr. 21, 2017 — A new nationally representative survey of American teenagers age 13-17 finds that teens have shifted their favored social media platforms and are now most likely to use Instagram and Snapchat. The ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — A new camera platform has been introduced that uses laser 'speckle' patterns to capture high-resolution images from a distance without telescopic ... read more

Apr. 14, 2017 — When trying to pick the most flattering pictures for online profiles, it may be best to let a stranger do the choosing, a study ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — A new method has been devised for assessing the cultural value of landscapes using geotagged photos shared on a social-networking service. Data obtained with this method could help determine which ... read more

Global Growth of Ecological, Environmental Citizen Science Is Fueled by New Technology

Apr. 4, 2017 — Scientists have revealed the diversity of ecological and environmental citizen science for the first time and showed that the changing face of citizen science around the world is being fueled by ... read more

Can Robots Write Meaningful News?

Mar. 27, 2017 — Robots and computers are replacing people everywhere; doctors, pilots, even journalists. Is this leading to a dystopian society, or could it be something ... read more

Mar. 24, 2017 — Researchers have successfully used facial recognition software to diagnose DiGeorge Syndrome, a rare, genetic disease in Africans, Asians and Latin Americans. This is the newest addition to the Atlas ... read more

Humans, Smartphones May Fail Frequently to Detect Face Morph Photos

Mar. 22, 2017 — Both humans and smartphones show a degree of error in distinguishing face morph photos from their 'real' faces on fraudulent identity cards, new research has ... read more

Tweeting in Times of Emergency

Mar. 20, 2017 — US researchers have assessed the impact of Twitter on the reach and efficacy of information sharing by a global disaster response organization, the Red Cross/Red ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Improving traffic safety, better health services and environmental benefits: Big Data experts see a wide range of possibilities for advanced image analysis and recognition ... read more

Exergaming Can Reduce Sedentary Time, Increase Social Wellbeing

Mar. 17, 2017 — Digital gaming has generally been perceived to increase individuals’ sedentary time. According to a new dissertation, gaming can also act as a medium to promote health. Exergaming is a form of ... read more

Early Warning System for Mass Cyber Attacks

Mar. 15, 2017 — Mass attacks from the Internet are a common fear: Millions of requests in a short time span overload online services, grinding them to a standstill for hours and bringing Internet companies to their ... read more

New Extension Improves Inflight Wi-Fi

Mar. 14, 2017 — Inspired by the notoriously slow inflight Wi-Fi service, researchers have developed ScaleUp, an extension for the Google Chrome browser that drastically improves web browsing speeds at 30,000 ... read more

Mar. 14, 2017 — Sound waves could be used to hack into critical sensors in a broad array of technologies including smartphones, automobiles, medical devices and the Internet of Things, new research ... read more

Nudging Consumers Into Making Better Purchases Online

Mar. 13, 2017 — Small changes in the website design of online shops could significantly reduce the risk of incompatible purchases by customers, concludes a recent study. Warning messages appealing to the ... read more

Floods and Hurricanes Predicted With Social Media

Mar. 10, 2017 — Social media can warn us about hurricanes, storms and floods before they happen, according to new research. Key words and photos on social media can signal developing risks – like water levels ... read more

Mar. 6, 2017 — The more time a young adult uses social media, the more likely they are to feel socially isolated, according to a national analysis. In addition to the time spent online, the scientists found that ... read more

Mar. 2, 2017 — Biometrics experts set out to investigate what extent facial aging affects the performance of automatic facial recognition systems. They found that 99 percent of the face images can still be ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016