Photography News
July 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:17am EDT

More Photography News
July 25, 2016

July 6, 2016 — Errors can be spotted early and resources can be saved when many individuals share knowledge in a company. This is the case with a honing machine used to hone crankcases at VW’s engine plant in ... read more

Liability of Internet 'Intermediaries' in Developing Countries

June 30, 2016 — If someone posts illegal content on your website, are you liable? A new project addresses that question by examining the potential liability faced by website owners and other online service providers ... read more

Wearable Technology Gets Good Ratings from Plastic Surgeons

June 29, 2016 — Plastic surgeons see some clear advantages of using Google Glass in the operating room, reports a new ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Handheld, mobile phone-based microscopes can be used in developing countries after minimal training of community laboratory technicians to diagnose intestinal parasites quickly and ... read more

Visual Cloud Computing Methods Could Help First Responders in Disaster Scenarios

June 23, 2016 — Visual data created by numerous security cameras, personal mobile devices and aerial video provide useful data for first responders and law enforcement. That data can be critical in terms of knowing ... read more

'Digital Neurotherapeutic' in Development

June 23, 2016 — A researcher has created a video game for children who experience cognitive impairments from genetic disorders with the hope that that it will improve their ability to mentally process information ... read more

Digital Strategies Show Promise for Emergency Heart and Stroke Care

June 22, 2016 — A new scientific statement reviews current research on the effectiveness and safety of using mobile devices, social media, visual media and crowdsourcing to improve emergency heart and stroke ... read more

Compiler for Analog Computers Enhances Biological Modeling

June 21, 2016 — A new compiler for analog computers has been developed, a program that translates between high-level instructions written in a language intelligible to humans and the low-level specifications of ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Scientists can now identify the exact location of a single atom in a silicon crystal, a discovery that is key for greater accuracy in the operation of tomorrow's silicon based quantum ... read more

June 7, 2016 — Cheap cameras on drones can be used to measure environmental change which affects billions of people around the world, new research ... read more

In a New Method for Searching Image Databases, a Hand-Drawn Sketch Is All It Takes

May 31, 2016 — Computer scientists have developed a new method for conducting image and video database searches based on hand-drawn sketches. The user draws a sketch on a tablet or interactive paper, and the system ... read more

Google Searches for 'Chickenpox' Reveal Big Impact of Vaccinations

May 30, 2016 — Countries that implement government-mandated vaccinations for chickenpox see a sharp drop in the number of Google searches for the common childhood disease afterward, demonstrating that immunization ... read more

Study Shows Which New Moms Post the Most on Facebook

May 24, 2016 — A study shows which psychological characteristics of some new mothers may affect how they use Facebook to show off their baby. The research concluded that those mothers who posted more on Facebook ... read more

Internet Addiction, School Burnout Feed Into Each Other

May 24, 2016 — Excessive internet use contributes to the development of school burnout. School burnout, in turn, may lead to excessive internet use or digital addiction. Mind the Gap, a longitudinal research ... read more

Journalism Changed Forever by User-Generated Content

May 23, 2016 — The rise of User-Generated Content (UGC) -- information submitted by members of the public or posted on social media -- has changed journalism forever, according to a new ... read more

Digital Health Intervention Does Not Lower Heart Attack Risk

May 18, 2016 — Researchers examined whether a digital health intervention using email and text messages designed to change diet and physical activity would improve heart attack risk among a South Asian ... read more

What Makes the Public More Likely to Second-Guess Authorities During a Crisis?

May 17, 2016 — In a digital age when people have many information sources, during a crisis they won’t always seek guidance from the government or other official channels. Why ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Before a robot arm can reach into a tight space or pick up a delicate object, the robot needs to know precisely where its hand is. Researchers have shown that a camera attached to the robot's ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Holograms are a ubiquitous part of our lives. They are in our wallets -- protecting credit cards, cash and driver's licenses from fraud -- in grocery store scanners and biomedical devices. ... read more

Greater Social Media Use Tied to Higher Risk of Eating, Body Image Concerns

May 11, 2016 — Logging on to social media sites frequently throughout the week or spending hours trolling various social feeds during the day is linked to a greater risk of young adults developing eating and body ... read more

Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Sunday, May 8, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015