Encryption News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:48am EDT

More Encryption News
August 24, 2016

Cybersecurity Student Researches How to Keep Cars Safe from Hacking

Aug. 19, 2016 — Cybersecurity student researches spent the summer researching how to keep cars safe from cyberattacks during an intensive eight-week cybersecurity summer research ... read more

New Hacking Technique Imperceptibly Changes Memory of Virtual Servers

Aug. 11, 2016 — For the first time ever a team of Dutch hacking experts managed to alter the memory of virtual machines in the cloud without a software bug, using a new attack ... read more

More Efficient Way to Write Data Into Non-Volatile Memory Devices Improves Performance

July 27, 2016 — A scheme to write data into next generation memory chips has been developed. The proposal requires considerably fewer resources to write data safely into memory -- even during a system ... read more

July 11, 2016 — Bioengineers in the United States have developed a new method for encrypting and storing sensitive information in DNA. Digital data storage degrades and can become obsolete and old-school books and ... read more

Brilliant Hard Drive Quality With Magnetic Field Sensors Made of Diamond

June 30, 2016 — Quantum mechanics is not only of high interest in fundamental research. The current progress in quantum technologies promises numerous innovations of industrial relevance, which will be transferred ... read more

Fixing Vulnerabilities in Internet Encryption Protocol Transport Layer Security

June 20, 2016 — The Internet encryption protocol TLS – short for Transport Layer Security – is being fundamentally modified. Involved in attacks, researchers have contributed to revealing security gaps in the ... read more

Computing a Secret, Unbreakable Key

May 23, 2016 — What once took months by some of the world's leading scientists can now be done in seconds by undergraduate students thanks to new software, paving the way for fast, secure quantum ... read more

New Method of Producing Random Numbers Could Improve Cybersecurity

May 16, 2016 — A new method for producing truly random numbers could be used to encrypt data, make electronic voting more secure, conduct statistically significant polls and more accurately simulate complex systems ... read more

Evaluating Patient Files Without Violating Privacy

May 9, 2016 — Patient files may contain vital hints for detecting diseases at an early stage. However, evaluating them would violate patient privacy. This is where mathematics can help, say ... read more

Not So Safe: Security Software Can Put Computers at Risk

May 4, 2016 — Is the antivirus program running on your computer really making your computers safer to use, say, for online banking? Is the parental control software you bought to keep your child off inappropriate ... read more

Phoney Protection for Passwords: Honeywords Provide Additional Password Security

May 4, 2016 — Corporate data breaches seem to be on the rise, rarely a week passes without a company revealing that its database has been hacked and regrettably usernames, passwords, credit card details and its ... read more

Biology May Hold Key to Better Computer Memory

Apr. 27, 2016 — A group of researchers is working toward a better way to store digital information using nucleic acid memory (NAM), a new article ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — An international team of researchers has built a chip that generates multiple frequencies from a robust quantum system that produces time-bin entangled photons. In contrast to other quantum state ... read more

Sensitive People More Vulnerable to Online Dating Scams

Apr. 26, 2016 — Sensitive and less emotionally intelligent people are more likely to be vulnerable to online dating scams, new research concludes. Over 90 victims of dating scams took part in questionnaires relating ... read more

New Debugger Finds Security Flaws in Popular Web Apps

Apr. 15, 2016 — By exploiting some peculiarities of the popular Web programming framework Ruby on Rails, researchers have developed a system that can quickly comb through tens of thousands of lines of application ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Notices of personal data breaches have become an alarmingly common occurrence for American consumers. The first survey to examine consumers' attitudes about such data hacks finds that few people ... read more

Breakthrough in Cybersecurity Is No Phish Story

Apr. 1, 2016 — Corporations, small businesses and public sector entities have tried unsuccessfully for years to educate consumers and employees on how to recognize phishing emails, those authentic-looking messages ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — New cryptographic algorithms have been created that are based on particularly hard mathematical problems. They would be virtually unbreakable, say ... read more

Electronic Counterpart to Ecological Models Revealed

Mar. 24, 2016 — Predicting the future from the present -- that's what logistic maps can do. Researchers have developed an electronic version of a logistic map that is capable of interacting with many other ... read more

Cryptographic System Lets Users Control Access to Their Data

Mar. 18, 2016 — Generally, users have no idea which data items their apps are collecting, where they're stored, and whether they're stored securely. Researchers now hope to change that, with an application ... read more

Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015