NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Encryption News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:49am EST

More Encryption News
February 20, 2017

Making Distributed Storage Highly Consistent

Jan. 24, 2017 — One of the fundamental open challenges in computer science is effective data storage. The socio-economic value and scale of information increases day by day and researchers have been working to ... read more

One in Five Adults Secretly Access Their Friends' Facebook Accounts

Jan. 19, 2017 — Most people are concerned about the prospect of their social media accounts being hacked, but a new study finds that it's actually people we know who frequently access our accounts without our ... read more

How Phishing Scams Thrive on Overconfidence

Jan. 9, 2017 — A new study examines overconfidence in detecting phishing e-mails. According to the research, most people believe they're smarter than the criminals behind these schemes, which is why so many ... read more

Genomic Data Sharing Is Critical to Improving Genetic Health Care

Jan. 5, 2017 — A new position statement tackles the question of how to make sense of the massive amount of genetic information being generated for better patient ... read more

Hack-Proofing Our Devices

Dec. 24, 2016 — A researcher is building better safeguards into the everyday technologies of radio-frequency identification (RFID) and mobile ... read more

Dec. 6, 2016 — We can create software with 100 times fewer vulnerabilities than we do today, according to computer scientists. To get there, they recommend that coders adopt the approaches they have compiled in a ... read more

Computer Scientists Work to Prevent Hackers from Remotely Controlling Cars

Nov. 21, 2016 — A luxury vehicle today contains multiple computers. During an hour's drive, it thus produces multiple gigabytes of data. Even less expensive vehicles are now brimming with information ... read more

Weakness of 2G Mobile Phone Networks Revealed

Oct. 21, 2016 — A fast and relatively simple attack on second generation digital mobile phone communications highlights the need to update security on older mobile ... read more

Oct. 18, 2016 — If you type on your desktop or laptop computer's keyboard while participating in a Skype call, you could be vulnerable to electronic eavesdropping, according to ... read more

Encrypting Medical Photos With Chaos

Oct. 11, 2016 — Chaos and confusion could be used to encrypt color photos and protect them from prying eyes, according to computer scientists in Algeria. Writing in a new article, the team describes a new algorithm ... read more

Gone Phishin': How Our Ability to Spot Phishing Emails Is Far from Perfect

Oct. 3, 2016 — Each year, tens of millions of phishing emails make it to your inbox, uncaught by your email client's spam filter. Of those, millions more slide past our own judgment and are clicked and opened. ... read more

Solution for Secure Processing of Patient Data Revealed

Sep. 30, 2016 — Large-scale research involving patient data can be done without threat to either the security of the information or the privacy of the patients, thanks to a newly revealed technique. This technique ... read more

Encryption Method Takes Authentication to a New Level, Improves Privacy Protection

Sep. 29, 2016 — New kinds of encryption methods have been developed for improving the privacy protection of consumers to enable safer, more reliable and easier-to-use user authentication than current systems allow. ... read more

Are Fitness Trackers Fit for Security?

Sep. 9, 2016 — The popularity of fitness trackers is constantly growing. Worldwide, nearly 20 million of these devices have been sold in the first quarter of 2016. Many of them track via GPS the kilometers the user ... read more

New Chip Could Bring Highest Level of Encryption to Any Mobile Device

Sep. 8, 2016 — Random number generators are crucial to the encryption that protects our privacy and security when engaging in digital transactions such as buying products online or withdrawing cash from an ATM. For ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Researchers illustrate how smartphones, due to their ubiquity and sophisticated gadgetry, can easily hack 3-D printers by measuring 'leaked' energy and acoustic waves that emanate from the ... read more

Researchers Find Vulnerabilities in iPhone, iPad Operating System

Aug. 25, 2016 — An international team of computer science researchers has identified serious security vulnerabilities in the iOS -- the operating system used in Apple's iPhone and iPad devices. The ... read more

Cybersecurity Student Researches How to Keep Cars Safe from Hacking

Aug. 19, 2016 — Cybersecurity student researches spent the summer researching how to keep cars safe from cyberattacks during an intensive eight-week cybersecurity summer research ... read more

People Disregard Security Warnings on Computers Because They Come at Bad Times, Study Finds

Aug. 17, 2016 — Software developers listen up: if you want people to pay attention to your security warnings on their computers or mobile devices, you need to make them pop up at better times. A new study finds the ... read more

RetroScope Opens Doors to the Past in Smart Phone Investigations

Aug. 11, 2016 — The increasing use of mobile technology in today's society has made information stored in the memory of smart phones just as important as evidence recovered from traditional crime scenes. Now ... read more

Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Saturday, December 24, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015