Encryption News
April 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:37am EDT

More Encryption News
April 25, 2017

Recent Advances and New Insights Into Quantum Image Processing

Apr. 11, 2017 — Researchers who are active scientists in quantum information processing shared their comprehensive review and incisive views on quantum image ... read more

Driver Privacy Can Be Compromised in Usage-Based Insurance Systems

Apr. 7, 2017 — An attacker only needs one part of the information provided to a UBI company to discover a driver's whereabouts, home, work, or who they met with, report ... read more

YouTube Users Be Aware: Your Viewing Habits Can Be Tracked

Mar. 15, 2017 — It's important to know that video encryption is not as secure as once thought. Google, YouTube's parent company, is not likely to patch the gaps, since it would be prohibitively expensive ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Scientists have developed a facile route to a highly magnetic material that could provide fundamental improvements to the performance of current computer ... read more

Mathematician Breaks Down How to Defend Against Quantum Computing Attacks

Feb. 28, 2017 — Newly written code, called the Generalized Knapsack Code, could thwart hackers armed with next generation quantum ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cybersecurity researchers have developed a new form of ransomware that can take over control of a simulated water treatment plant. After gaining access, they were able to command programmable logic ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — As we saw during the 2016 US election, protecting traditional computer systems, which use zeros and ones, from hackers is not a perfect science. Now consider the complex world of quantum computing, ... read more

Making Distributed Storage Highly Consistent

Jan. 24, 2017 — One of the fundamental open challenges in computer science is effective data storage. The socio-economic value and scale of information increases day by day and researchers have been working to ... read more

One in Five Adults Secretly Access Their Friends' Facebook Accounts

Jan. 19, 2017 — Most people are concerned about the prospect of their social media accounts being hacked, but a new study finds that it's actually people we know who frequently access our accounts without our ... read more

Heartbeat Could Be Used as Password to Access Electronic Health Records

Jan. 18, 2017 — Researchers have devised a new way to protect personal electronic health records using a patient's own ... read more

How Phishing Scams Thrive on Overconfidence

Jan. 9, 2017 — A new study examines overconfidence in detecting phishing e-mails. According to the research, most people believe they're smarter than the criminals behind these schemes, which is why so many ... read more

Genomic Data Sharing Is Critical to Improving Genetic Health Care

Jan. 5, 2017 — A new position statement tackles the question of how to make sense of the massive amount of genetic information being generated for better patient ... read more

Hack-Proofing Our Devices

Dec. 24, 2016 — A researcher is building better safeguards into the everyday technologies of radio-frequency identification (RFID) and mobile ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new type of light-enhancing optical cavity that is only 200 nanometers tall and 100 nanometers across. Their new nanoscale system represents a step toward brighter ... read more

Greater Readiness Repels Cyber Threats to Manufacturers

Dec. 14, 2016 — Tailored solutions have been developed to bring improved cyber security and disruption-free operations to manufacturers. The results of the project will make companies more able to ward off possible ... read more

Dec. 6, 2016 — We can create software with 100 times fewer vulnerabilities than we do today, according to computer scientists. To get there, they recommend that coders adopt the approaches they have compiled in a ... read more

Computer Scientists Work to Prevent Hackers from Remotely Controlling Cars

Nov. 21, 2016 — A luxury vehicle today contains multiple computers. During an hour's drive, it thus produces multiple gigabytes of data. Even less expensive vehicles are now brimming with information ... read more

New Software Continuously Scrambles Code to Foil Cyber Attacks

Nov. 16, 2016 — As long as humans are writing software, there will be coding mistakes for malicious hackers to exploit. A single bug can open the door to attackers deleting files, copying credit card numbers or ... read more

Online Password Guessing Threat Underestimated

Nov. 7, 2016 — Reusing similar passwords across many online accounts may make you more vulnerable to cyber criminals’ guessing than people realise, new research ... read more

New Tool Detects Malicious Websites Before They Cause Harm

Oct. 27, 2016 — Malicious websites promoting scams, distributing malware and collecting phished credentials pervade the web. As quickly as we block or blacklist them, criminals set up new domain names to support ... read more

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Saturday, December 24, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015