Detectors News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:46pm EDT

More Detectors News
August 27, 2016

Computation Propels Particle Physicists in Quest for Discovery

Aug. 2, 2016 — One of the world's hubs of computation in particle physics sits inconspicuously at the corner of 56th Street and Ellis Avenue on the University of Chicago ... read more

Videos Reveal Birds, Bats and Bugs Near Ivanpah Solar Project Power Towers

July 27, 2016 — Video surveillance is the most effective method for detecting animals flying around solar power towers, according to a new ... read more

Disposable and Ultrafast Optical Humidity Sensors Provide Better Moisture Control for Manufacturing and Storage

July 27, 2016 — Researchers have designed a low-cost, stable and ultrafast responsive sensor that is easy to manufacture, overcoming the challenge of producing a simple, fast and highly sensitive ... read more

July 25, 2016 — Scientists are developing more highly sensitive devices for the detection of biological and chemical ... read more

July 8, 2016 — Physicists have made science history by confirming the existence of a rare four-quark particle and discovering evidence of three other 'exotic' siblings. Their findings are based on data ... read more

July 6, 2016 — As an important step towards graphene integration in silicon photonics, researchers have published a paper that shows how graphene can provide a simple solution for silicon photodetection in the ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Gravitational waves captured by space-based detectors could help identify the origins of supermassive black holes, according to new computer simulations of the ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new tool for detecting and measuring the polarization of light based on a single spatial sampling of the light, rather than the multiple samples required by previous ... read more

Detailed Plans for Largest Neutrino Telescope in the World

June 24, 2016 — A deep-sea array will soak up signals from neutrinos traveling through the cosmos to study the evolution of the universe and to discover more about the fundamental properties of these prized ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Researchers report on improvements to what is called a squeezed vacuum source. Although not part of the original Advanced LIGO design, injecting the new squeezed vacuum source into the LIGO detector ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Certain heavy barium nuclei have long been predicted to exhibit pear-like shapes. Scientists demonstrated the existence of this exotic shape by taking advantage of breakthroughs in the acceleration ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Smart threads can be woven into pressure-sensitive electronic skin for robots or medical ... read more

Researchers Improve Biosensors to Detect E. Coli

June 14, 2016 — Researchers have developed a portable biosensor that makes it easier to detect harmful bacteria. The simple sensor is able to detect and amplify the signal of the food pathogen Escherichia coli (E. ... read more

Electronic Bacteria Sensor Is Potential Future Tool for Medicine and Food Safety

June 14, 2016 — A new type of electronic sensor that might be used to quickly detect and classify bacteria for medical diagnostics and food safety has passed a key hurdle by distinguishing between dead and living ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Researchers are involved in a European network to develop an endoscopic scanner for early detection of certain types of cancers that have a high mortality rate ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Scientists have proposed a new method which allows to 'look' inside atoms and molecules and observe changes, occurring in their electron structure at unprecedented time scales (10^-18 ... read more

Laboratory Breakthrough May Lead to Improved X-Ray Spectrometers

June 7, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new design for X-ray spectrometers that eschews a commonly utilized component to lowers overall production costs and increase the efficiency of x-ray flux, which may lead ... read more

New High-Capability Solid-State Electron Microscope Detector Enables Novel Studies of Materials

June 7, 2016 — Scientists developed and demonstrated a new type of imaging electron detector. It records an image frame in 1/1000 of a second, and can detect from 1 to 1,000,000 electrons per pixel. This is 1000 ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Prototyping of a new, ultrasensitive “eye” for dark matter is making rapid progress at the Department of Energy’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. Researchers and engineers have installed ... read more

June 1, 2016 — A new device that can detect ultra-low concentrations of gases like nitrogen dioxide accurately and nearly instantaneously has been developed by a team of ... read more

Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Saturday, May 21, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Saturday, March 26, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015