Environmental Issues News
June 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:17am EDT

More Environmental Issues News
June 30, 2015

June 27, 2015 — Warming oceanographic conditions and fishing pressure are driving nesting seabirds away from their ancestral breeding ground in Mexico into California harbors, a group of researchers has ... read more

Optimizing Shale Gas Production from Well to Wire

June 25, 2015 — A researcher has analyzed the life-cycle of the shale gas supply chain and operations and found that the process systems can be made more environmentally and economically ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Forests worldwide are increasingly used to store carbon as a way to slow climate change, but a new study finds that some wooded areas may be more valuable without trees, allowing the cleared ... read more

June 24, 2015 — A computer model that clarifies the complex processes driving ocean mixing in the vast eddies that swirl across hundreds of miles of open ocean has been developed by ... read more

Below-Average 'Dead Zone' Predicted for Chesapeake Bay in 2015

June 23, 2015 — Researchers are forecasting a slightly below-average but still significant "dead zone" this summer in the Chesapeake Bay, America's largest ... read more

June 23, 2015 — A global taskforce of 174 scientists from leading research centers across 28 countries studied the link between mixtures of commonly encountered chemicals and the development of cancer. The study ... read more

June 23, 2015 — The threat to human health from climate change is so great that it could undermine the last fifty years of gains in development and global health, according to a major new ... read more

June 22, 2015 — Fifteen years of warmer, drier winters are affecting California's wildflower diversity, scientists report. Grasses and wildflowers may be able to withstand the current drying period through ... read more

The Southeast Pacific Produces More Nitrous Oxide Than Previously Thought

June 22, 2015 — In addition to carbon dioxide there are plenty of other greenhouse gases. Nitrous oxide is one of them. However, a global assessment of emissions from the oceans is difficult because the measurement ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Over billions of years, the total carbon content of the outer part of the Earth -- in its mantle lithosphere, crust, oceans, and atmospheres -- has gradually increased, scientists say. The new ... read more

Climate Change Won’t Reduce Winter Deaths

June 19, 2015 — In a study that contradicts the received wisdom on health impacts of climate change, scientists say that we shouldn’t expect substantial reduction in winter deaths as a result of global ... read more

June 18, 2015 — Global warming leads to the ice sheets on land melting and flowing into the sea, which consequently rises. New calculations show that the sea level in Northern Europe may rise more than previously ... read more

Using Sago Palm Waste to Absorb Oil from Spills

June 18, 2015 — Waste material generated by Malaysia’s sago palm industry has potential for use as an adsorbent for cleaning up oil spills, according to a new ... read more

Climate Change May Impact Future Tourism at Some US National Parks

June 17, 2015 — Visitation at US national parks may potentially increase with increasing temperature in temperate areas, but may decrease with temperatures rising over 80 degrees ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Alaska's melting glaciers are adding enough water to the Earth's oceans to cover the state of Alaska with a 1-foot thick layer of water every seven years, a new study ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered evidence of food and potential respiratory irritants entrapped in the dental tartar of 400,000-year-old teeth at Qesem Cave near Tel Aviv, the site of many major ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Two new studies show that civilization is rapidly draining some of its largest groundwater basins, yet there is little to no accurate data about how much water remains in ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Humans aren't the only ones who like to cruise along the waterways -- viruses do too. For the first time, a map of fecal viruses traveling our global waterways has been created using modeling ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Surprisingly few bee species are responsible for pollinating the planet's crops, a major international study finds. Only two percent of wild bee species pollinate 80 percent of bee-pollinated ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Planetary boundaries have been proposed to describe a safe operating space of humanity. Human consumption of freshwater is the used control variable for a freshwater planetary boundary. Research is ... read more

Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015