Environmental Issues News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:18am EDT

More Environmental Issues News
July 28, 2015

Ocean Acidification May Cause Dramatic Changes to Phytoplankton

July 20, 2015 — Marine biologists have found that an increased ocean acidification will dramatically affect global populations of phytoplankton -- microorganisms on the ocean surface that make up the base of the ... read more

Warming Slow-Down Not the End of Climate Change

July 20, 2015 — A slow-down in global warming is not a sign that climate change is ending, but a natural blip in an otherwise long-term upwards trend, research ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Marine species that already roam far and wide throughout our oceans are extending their territories further and faster in response to climate change, according to new research an international team ... read more

July 17, 2015 — Summertime plankton blooms in the Southern Ocean play a significant role in generating brighter clouds ... read more

July 17, 2015 — In 2014, the most essential indicators of Earth's changing climate continued to reflect trends of a warming planet, with several markers such as rising land and ocean temperature, sea levels and ... read more

Emissions Have Declined, but Sulfur Dioxide Air Pollutant Still a Concern for Asthmatics

July 16, 2015 — Emissions of the air pollutant sulfur dioxide have been dramatically decreased during the past 30 years but for some people even a little inhaled sulfur dioxide may still be too ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new generation of green skyscrapers could help alleviate worldwide climate change, writes an urban ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new study of ocean temperature measurements shows that in recent years, extra heat from greenhouse gases has been trapped in the subsurface waters of the Pacific and Indian oceans, thus accounting ... read more

July 16, 2015 — The sun's activity could be affecting a key ocean circulation mechanism that plays an important role in regulating Greenland's climate, according to a new study. The phenomenon could be ... read more

Are Marine Ecosystems Headed Toward a New Productivity Regime?

July 16, 2015 — Phytoplankton have been projected to produce less organic material as the oceans' temperatures rise -- with carry-on effects for higher levels of the food web. Based on new climate model ... read more

Human-Wrought Environmental Changes Impacting Crops, Pollinators Could Harm Millions

July 15, 2015 — Changing global environmental conditions caused by humans could negatively impact the health of millions by altering key crops, say two studies. One study found declining food pollinators such as ... read more

July 15, 2015 — A new report calls for immediate, global action to protect the health of human civilization and the natural systems on which it depends. The report provides the first ever comprehensive examination ... read more

Hydraulic Fracturing Linked to Increases in Hospitalization Rates in the Marcellus Shale

July 15, 2015 — Hospitalizations for heart conditions, neurological illness, and other conditions were higher among people who live near unconventional gas and oil drilling (hydraulic fracturing), according to new ... read more

Mercury Scrubbers at Power Plant Lower Other Pollution Too

July 15, 2015 — Air pollution controls installed at a coal-fired power plant to curb mercury emissions are unexpectedly reducing another class of harmful emissions as well, scientists say in a new ... read more

July 15, 2015 — 'No swimming' signs have already popped up this summer along coastlines where fecal bacteria have invaded otherwise inviting waters. Some vacationers ignore the signs while others resign ... read more

Are Fuel Cells Environmentally Friendly? Not Always

July 15, 2015 — Fuel cells are regarded as the technology of the future for both cars and household heating systems. As a result, they have a key role to play in the switch to renewable energies. But are fuel cells ... read more

Accounting for Short-Lived Forcers in Carbon Budgets

July 15, 2015 — New research shows how measures to reduce emissions of short-lived climate forcers can impact global carbon budgets for limiting climate change to below 2 degrees C over pre-industrial ... read more

July 14, 2015 — As climate changes, many species are spreading beyond their historical ranges. Here biologists announce a method to predict which species decline as a result. Testing the method in Ontario, Canada, ... read more

Organic Farming Needs Direction to Be Sustainable

July 14, 2015 — Large-scale organic farming operations, based on a review of almost a decade of data from 49 states, are not reducing greenhouse gas ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Greenhouses that will use seawater to grow crops in one of the hottest and driest places on earth will be designed by researchers at Aston University working with industry partners as part of an ... read more

Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015