Environmental Issues News
September 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:49am EDT

More Environmental Issues News
September 5, 2015

Sep. 4, 2015 — Nearly 90 percent of visitors to a major national park highly valued the night sky and wanted the National Park Service to take steps to reduce light pollution. The study also established a threshold ... read more

How to Curb Emissions: Put a Price on Carbon

Sep. 3, 2015 — Literally putting a price on carbon pollution and other greenhouse gasses is the best approach for nurturing the rapid growth of renewable energy and reducing emissions. While prospects for a ... read more

Study Shows How Investments Reflected Shift in Environmental Views

Sep. 3, 2015 — A new study is the first to use financial investors' actions, rather than self-reported opinions, to investigate the trans-Atlantic difference in public opinion on climate change and the ... read more

New International Standards Needed to Manage Ocean Noise

Sep. 1, 2015 — As governments and industries expand their use of high-decibel seismic surveys to explore the ocean bottom for resources, experts from eight universities or organizations say new global standards and ... read more

Sep. 1, 2015 — Mysteries still abound about methane release from the ocean floor. Two state of the art observatories have been deployed offshore Svalbard this summer, to try and unveil the secrets of natural ... read more

Heat and Acid Could Squeeze Trout out of Southern Appalachian Streams

Sep. 1, 2015 — A newly published research study that combines effects of warming temperatures from climate change with stream acidity projects average losses of around 10 percent of stream habitat for coldwater ... read more

New Approach to Modeling Amazon Seasonal Cycles Developed

Aug. 31, 2015 — Engineers have developed a new approach, opposite to climate models, to correct inaccuracies using a high-resolution atmospheric model that more precisely resolves clouds and convection and ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — Researchers from CSIRO and Imperial College London have assessed how widespread the threat of plastic is for the world's seabirds, including albatrosses, shearwaters and penguins, and found the ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — As part of a broad effort to study the environmental and societal effects of climate change, NASA has begun a multi-year field campaign to investigate ecological impacts of the rapidly changing ... read more

Discarded Electronics Mismanaged Within Europe Equals About 10 Times the Volume of E-Waste Exported

Aug. 30, 2015 — Mismanagement of discarded electronics within Europe involves a volume 10 times that of e-waste shipped to foreign shores in undocumented exports, according to a comprehensive two-year investigation ... read more

Aug. 29, 2015 — Pollution and weather influence outcomes after a heart attack, according to new ... read more

Aug. 29, 2015 — Longer, more severe, and hotter droughts and a myriad of other threats, including diseases and more extensive and severe wildfires, are threatening to transform some of the world's temperate ... read more

Staying Safe in Sandy Beaches

Aug. 28, 2015 — Beach sand contains all kinds of microorganisms, including those that can harm human health. Yet current guidelines are focused exclusively on monitoring the levels of microbes in the water. Now, an ... read more

Aug. 28, 2015 — Researchers have shown that our understanding of how organic material is decomposed by fungi and bacteria is fundamentally wrong. This means that climate models that include microorganisms to ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Children's Low Academic Achievement

Aug. 27, 2015 — A new study on children's health has found that fourth and fifth graders who are exposed to toxic air pollutants at home are more likely to have lower ... read more

Scientists Warn Leaders of Dangers of Thawing Permafrost

Aug. 27, 2015 — WHRC scientists have counseled the State Department on policies that could control permafrost thaw, including reducing global carbon emissions from fossil fuel use and deforestation, and limiting ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — A new study has found that the genetic diversity of wild plant species could be altered rapidly by anthropogenic climate ... read more

Turning Sewage Sludge Into Concrete

Aug. 28, 2015 — Dried sewage sludge could be an alternative cement material for concrete, researchers have ... read more

New Survey on Americans' Views on Papal Encyclical on Climate Change

Aug. 26, 2015 — A new national survey found that fewer than one in three Americans, and 40 percent of Catholics, are aware of Pope Francis's efforts to publicize global warming as a priority issue for the ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Granada, Spain's climate and layout is like that of many cities in the Mediterranean area, which has the highest occurrence of pollen allergies in the world. The researchers hope their efforts ... read more

Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Sunday, August 30, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015