Oceanography News
February 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:25pm EST

More Oceanography News
February 6, 2016

Jan. 29, 2016 — There is a growing debate over the fate of the world's largest ice sheet, whose sudden melting is sending shockwaves throughout the geophysics community. Researchers contend that by studying ... read more

Mid-Atlantic States Present Ocean Data Products

Jan. 29, 2016 — The Mid-Atlantic Regional Council on the Ocean (MARCO), a five state partnership of New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware and Virginia, has released an ambitious and wide-ranging set of ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Ocean acidification may be impacting upon the population dynamics of marine species and hindering their ability to genetically adapt to future climate change. These are the findings of a team of ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Scientists plumbing the depths of the central equatorial Pacific Ocean have found ancient sediments suggesting that one proposed way to mitigate climate warming -- fertilizing the oceans with iron to ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Planet Earth's oceans and lands will be buried by increasing layers of plastic waste by the mid-century due to human activity, according to new ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Commercial fishing vessels target shark hotspots, areas where sharks tend to congregate, in the North Atlantic. The researchers suggest that sharks are at risk of being overfished in these oceanic ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — To date, research on the effects of climate change has underestimated the contribution of seawater expansion to sea level rise due to warming of the oceans. A team of researchers has now ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — In the water above natural oil seeps in the Gulf of Mexico, where oil and gas bubbles rise almost a mile to break at the surface, scientists have discovered something unusual: phytoplankton, tiny ... read more

Melting Greenland Ice Sheet May Affect Global Ocean Circulation, Future Climate

Jan. 22, 2016 — Scientists have determined that the influx of fresh water from the Greenland ice sheet is 'freshening' the North Atlantic Ocean and could disrupt the Atlantic Meridional Overturning ... read more

New Gravity Dataset Will Help Unveil the Antarctic Continent

Jan. 22, 2016 — A unique dataset of gravity anomalies has been released for Antarctica representing a significant step forward in the investigation of the largest ice-covered continent on ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — The Paris Agreement of the UN climate change conference is deemed a historic step for climate protection, but its success depends on rapid implementations. The consequences of delaying global carbon ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Researchers have found that carbon dioxide concentrations in seawater could reach levels high enough to make fish 'intoxicated' and disoriented many decades earlier than previously thought, ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Researchers have designed the first application of soft robotics for the non-destructive sampling of fauna from the ocean floor. Their recent expedition in the Red Sea successfully demonstrated the ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — A new method is being applied to determine whether specific climate impacts can be traced to human-caused emissions. The past century has seen a 0.8°C (1.4°F) increase in average global ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Half of the global ocean heat content increase since 1865 has occurred over the past two decades, researchers have concluded. Changes in ocean heat storage are important because the ocean absorbs ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — New research centers around the diminutive regal damselfish, found in non-native waters in the southern Gulf of Mexico. Damselfish are some of the most beautiful fishes in the ocean, and that's ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Early human agriculture cancelled natural cooling of Earth's climate, new ice core data and other evidence confirm. Earth naturally cycles between cool glacial periods and warmer interglacial ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — A warmer Atlantic Ocean could substantially boost the destructive power of a future superstorm like Hurricane Sandy, new research suggests. The researchers used a numerical model to simulate the ... read more

Living Fossils and Rare Corals Revealed

Jan. 19, 2016 — A team of researchers has published their analysis of data, specimens, photographs and video footage collected in 2009, when they sent a remotely operated vehicle (ROV) to a depth of 800 meters ... read more

To Clean Up Ocean Plastics Focus on Coasts, Not the Great Pacific Garbage Patch

Jan. 18, 2016 — The most efficient way to clean up ocean plastics and avoid harming ecosystems is to place plastic collectors near coasts, according to a new ... read more

Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015