Environmental Policy News
November 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:55pm EST

More Environmental Policy News
November 26, 2015

Nov. 26, 2015 — Global warming will progress faster than what was previously believed. The reason is that greenhouse gas emissions that arise naturally are also affected by increased temperatures. This has been ... read more

Shedding Light on Oil Behaviors Before the Next Spill

Nov. 25, 2015 — There are still critical research gaps hampering efforts to both assess the environmental impacts of crude oil spills and to effectively remediate them, a Canadian, comprehensive scientific report ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — Droughts could kill off the tallest trees in tropical rainforests in coming decades, a study suggests. Over a 13-year period, researchers carried out fieldwork to assess the impact of drought on ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — More than half of the world's population is nourished by food grown with fertilizers containing synthetic nitrogen, which is needed for large crop yields but causes significant pollution. With ... read more

The Netherlands Scores Average in Climate Change Adaptation

Nov. 19, 2015 — Compared to other countries, the Netherlands takes an average position when it comes to implementing climate change adaptation initiatives. In the period 2010-2014, little changes have been observed ... read more

UK Health Professionals Unite for Stronger Measures to Tackle Climate Change

Nov. 19, 2015 — As world leaders prepare to meet in Paris for the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference, UK health professionals have formed an alliance of doctors, nurses, and allied health professionals to ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — A new framework seeks to clarify roles, responsibilities of local stakeholders on climate change research. The goal of the project is to help define how research involving collaboration and ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Nutrient Load of Pike River Watershed

Nov. 17, 2015 — Using future climate change scenarios and water quality projections, experts found that sediment and the blue-green algae producing nutrients phosphorus and nitrogen are likely to increase in the ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — A shortage of a rare mineral could spur global market instabilities, according to a new analysis of international commodity trade ... read more

Houston-Galveston Region Could Be Better Protected from Impact of Hurricanes and Severe Storms

Nov. 13, 2015 — New structural and nonstructural solutions could better protect the Houston-Galveston region from the impact of hurricanes and severe storms, according to a research paper by energy, engineering and ... read more

Oceans, Ocean Activism, Deserve Broader Role in Climate Change Discussions

Nov. 12, 2015 — Researchers argue that both ocean scientists and world leaders should pay more attention to how communities are experiencing, adapting to and even influencing changes in the world's ... read more

Increased Deforestation Could Substantially Reduce Amazon Basin Rainfall

Nov. 12, 2015 — Continued deforestation of the Amazon rainforest could diminish the amount of rain that falls in the Amazon River basin, finds a new study. These declines in rainfall could potentially alter the ... read more

Carbon Accumulation by US Forests May Slow Over the Next 25 Years

Nov. 12, 2015 — Currently, the carbon sequestered in US forests partially offsets the nation's carbon emissions and reduces the overall costs of achieving emission targets to address climate change -- but that ... read more

Timing Is Everything for Renewable Energy Use

Nov. 12, 2015 — As the world prepares for the UN climate talks in Paris later this month, researchers warn that there’s no time to waste in shifting to renewable energy sources if we are to avoid dangerous climate ... read more

Idea of Slow Climate Change in Earth's Past Misleading

Nov. 11, 2015 — Climate change is progressing rapidly. It is not the first time in our planet's history that temperatures have been rising, but it is happening much faster now than it ever has before. Or is it? ... read more

Study Cites Gap Between Theory and Practice in Natural Resource Management

Nov. 11, 2015 — Natural resource agencies have embraced an approach known as adaptive management to adjust and refine their management plans in the face of uncertainties. But a study finds agencies often apply ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — Ideas are the oxygen of growth in the zero carbon economy, and organizations need to be fed with these big, scalable, commercially-viable ideas to be able to address climate change. Experts have been ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — An analysis by sociologists of data on land use in Mato Grosso, Brazil's third largest state, reveals that a large proportion of deforestation, as well as remaining forest cover, can be found on ... read more

Climate Change Adaptation in High Income Countries: Some Clear Progress

Nov. 10, 2015 — Researchers are looking at whether progress is being made in designing policies and initiatives to reduce vulnerability to climate change across countries. Their aim is to contribute new ways of ... read more

Climate Change: A Wake-Up Call in the World of Finance

Nov. 5, 2015 — As climate changes become impossible to dismiss, how does the mainstream investor community respond? Are financial decisions taking full account of risks and opportunities related to climate change, ... read more

Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015