Environmental Policy News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:18pm EDT

More Environmental Policy News
July 28, 2015

Emissions Have Declined, but Sulfur Dioxide Air Pollutant Still a Concern for Asthmatics

July 16, 2015 — Emissions of the air pollutant sulfur dioxide have been dramatically decreased during the past 30 years but for some people even a little inhaled sulfur dioxide may still be too ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new generation of green skyscrapers could help alleviate worldwide climate change, writes an urban ... read more

Human-Wrought Environmental Changes Impacting Crops, Pollinators Could Harm Millions

July 15, 2015 — Changing global environmental conditions caused by humans could negatively impact the health of millions by altering key crops, say two studies. One study found declining food pollinators such as ... read more

Accounting for Short-Lived Forcers in Carbon Budgets

July 15, 2015 — New research shows how measures to reduce emissions of short-lived climate forcers can impact global carbon budgets for limiting climate change to below 2 degrees C over pre-industrial ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Marine litter has the potential to undermine the psychological benefits of coastal environments, according to a new ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Twenty-one captive-raised southern river terrapins have been released back into their native habitat in southwest ... read more

July 14, 2015 — As climate changes, many species are spreading beyond their historical ranges. Here biologists announce a method to predict which species decline as a result. Testing the method in Ontario, Canada, ... read more

Organic Farming Needs Direction to Be Sustainable

July 14, 2015 — Large-scale organic farming operations, based on a review of almost a decade of data from 49 states, are not reducing greenhouse gas ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Biologists have assessed the causes of growth decline of a pine forest of great ecological interest in ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Peatlands -- waterlogged, organic soils -- have developed over thousands of years as carbon storage systems. In Southeast Asia, peat swamp forests cover about 250,000 square kilometers, a land area ... read more

July 9, 2015 — A regulatory framework for mining in the deep-sea floor is currently under consideration. In a new paper, researchers from leading institutions around the world propose a strategy for balancing ... read more

Why Not Build Houses the Environmentally Friendly Way?

July 9, 2015 — Green buildings are indeed healthy buildings, say researchers who conducted the first comprehensive review of studies that focused on green buildings and summarized the health benefits for the people ... read more

How to Engage the Population With Climate Change? Frame It as a Public Health Issue

July 9, 2015 — Recent research examines the powerful influence of mass media portrayal of climate change and subsequent public identification with the issue. Climate change is often reported as an environmental ... read more

July 8, 2015 — In our consumer-driven society, electrical and electronic equipment have never been more efficient, economical or in demand. However, e-waste from old and discarded equipment has become one of the ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Thirsty cities, fields and livestock drink deeply from aquifers, natural sources of groundwater. But a study of three of the most-tapped aquifers in the United States shows that overdrawing from ... read more

July 7, 2015 — A wide-ranging study of gains and losses of populations of bird species across Mexico in the 20th century shows shifts in temperature due to global climate change are the primary environmental ... read more

Rubber Expansion Threatens Biodiversity, Livelihoods Research Suggests

July 7, 2015 — Increasing amounts of environmentally valuable and protected land are being cleared for rubber plantations that are economically unsustainable, new research suggests. More widespread monitoring is ... read more

July 6, 2015 — In China, there has been an explosion of interest in the environment. There is every indication that extreme air pollution is driving new visions of sustainability and new formats of interaction ... read more

Stronger Action Needed to Transform UK's Energy System

July 5, 2015 — An ambitious policy package is essential for the UK to transform its energy system to achieve the deep reductions in carbon emissions required to avoid dangerous climate change, according to new ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Greenhouse gas emissions remain the primary threat to the preservation of polar bear populations worldwide. This conclusion holds true under both a reduced greenhouse gas emission scenario that ... read more

Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015