Environmental Policy News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:55pm EST

More Environmental Policy News
December 1, 2015

Not All Canadians Feeling the Heat of Climate Change

Nov. 30, 2015 — While Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is in Paris hammering out the details of the global fight against climate change, a new study shows that Canadian attitudes are somewhat ambivalent. The ... read more

Launch of New Peatland Code Could Save More Than 200 Million Tons of Carbon Dioxide

Nov. 23, 2015 — A new government-backed code which could slash UK carbon dioxide emissions by 220 million tons and protect rare wildlife by restoring moors, bogs and mires has been ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — Scientists are warning of the risks that seismic surveys may pose to sea turtles. Widely used in marine oil and gas exploration, seismic surveys use airguns to produce sound waves that penetrate the ... read more

Grow Your Own Way: Trade May Not Help a Warming Planet Fight Its Farming Failures

Nov. 20, 2015 — A new study co-authored by an economist suggests that international trade will do little to alleviate climate-induced farming problems. Instead, the report indicates that countries will have to alter ... read more

The Netherlands Scores Average in Climate Change Adaptation

Nov. 19, 2015 — Compared to other countries, the Netherlands takes an average position when it comes to implementing climate change adaptation initiatives. In the period 2010-2014, little changes have been observed ... read more

UK Health Professionals Unite for Stronger Measures to Tackle Climate Change

Nov. 19, 2015 — As world leaders prepare to meet in Paris for the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference, UK health professionals have formed an alliance of doctors, nurses, and allied health professionals to ... read more

Link Between Air Pollution, Heart Disease Confirmed

Nov. 18, 2015 — A link between higher levels of a specific kind of air pollution in major urban areas and an increase in cardiovascular-related hospitalizations such as for heart attacks in people 65 and older has ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — A new framework seeks to clarify roles, responsibilities of local stakeholders on climate change research. The goal of the project is to help define how research involving collaboration and ... read more

Countries on the Rebound Making Significant Climate Adaptation Progress

Nov. 17, 2015 — Ten countries have come from behind to make marked progress in their ability to withstand the shocks and stresses of climate change, while five are distinctly less resilient, according to new ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Nutrient Load of Pike River Watershed

Nov. 17, 2015 — Using future climate change scenarios and water quality projections, experts found that sediment and the blue-green algae producing nutrients phosphorus and nitrogen are likely to increase in the ... read more

Global Energy Demand Has Adverse Effects on Freshwater Resources of Less Developed Nations

Nov. 16, 2015 — Global energy demand from developed nations has an adverse impact on freshwater resources in less developed nations according to a new study. While current energy policy focuses on preventing ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — The first data-driven estimate of the Earth's total supply of groundwater shows that less than six per cent of groundwater in the upper two kilometers of the Earth's landmass is renewable ... read more

Bird Decline Shows That Climate Change Is More Than Just Hot Air

Nov. 16, 2015 — Scientists have long known that birds are feeling the heat due to climate change. However, a new study of a dozen affected species in the Western Cape suggests their decline is more complex than ... read more

Study Ranks Six American Cities on Preparation for Climate Change

Nov. 16, 2015 — A new study assesses the factors that affect climate change adaptation and ranks six American cities, finding that Portland, Boston and Los Angeles are all in the advanced to middle stages of ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — A shortage of a rare mineral could spur global market instabilities, according to a new analysis of international commodity trade ... read more

Houston-Galveston Region Could Be Better Protected from Impact of Hurricanes and Severe Storms

Nov. 13, 2015 — New structural and nonstructural solutions could better protect the Houston-Galveston region from the impact of hurricanes and severe storms, according to a research paper by energy, engineering and ... read more

Oceans, Ocean Activism, Deserve Broader Role in Climate Change Discussions

Nov. 12, 2015 — Researchers argue that both ocean scientists and world leaders should pay more attention to how communities are experiencing, adapting to and even influencing changes in the world's ... read more

Increased Deforestation Could Substantially Reduce Amazon Basin Rainfall

Nov. 12, 2015 — Continued deforestation of the Amazon rainforest could diminish the amount of rain that falls in the Amazon River basin, finds a new study. These declines in rainfall could potentially alter the ... read more

Carbon Accumulation by US Forests May Slow Over the Next 25 Years

Nov. 12, 2015 — Currently, the carbon sequestered in US forests partially offsets the nation's carbon emissions and reduces the overall costs of achieving emission targets to address climate change -- but that ... read more

Timing Is Everything for Renewable Energy Use

Nov. 12, 2015 — As the world prepares for the UN climate talks in Paris later this month, researchers warn that there’s no time to waste in shifting to renewable energy sources if we are to avoid dangerous climate ... read more

Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015