Environmental Policy News
May 24, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:18am EDT

More Environmental Policy News
May 24, 2015

May 20, 2015 — The same spring rains that lessen producers' concerns about drought can also lead to soil erosion and nutrient runoff. Keeping soil and fertilizers where they belong--in the field--benefits ... read more

Enhancing Knowledge Crucial to Improving Energy-Saving Behaviors, Study Shows

May 22, 2015 — Increasing public knowledge and understanding about energy issues is vital if improved energy-saving behaviors are to be encouraged among individuals and organizations, a study ... read more

May 15, 2015 — A new article demonstrates how XML markup applied to texts using the GoldenGate editor can address the challenges presented by unstructured legacy data. The paper demonstrates how structured primary ... read more

World Population-Food Supply Balance Is Becoming Increasingly Unstable

May 11, 2015 — Globalization of trade is creating instability in the food distribution system, according to results from an environmental scientist's study. The study assesses the food supply available to more ... read more

For Biofuels and Climate, Location Matters

May 11, 2015 — Dedicating more land to biofuel production can lead to increased greenhouse gas emissions, which take decades to make up for. A new study shows that geography is a key factor determining how big that ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Corn, wheat and rapeseed can be used to produce biofuels, such as bioethanol and biodiesel. According to recent findings by environmental scientists, the location of the agricultural lands used to ... read more

Climate Change Attitudes Are Reflected on Social Networks

May 11, 2015 — People who believe in climate change have more Facebook friends than those who do not consider climate change a problem. A dissertation in economics shows that values and social networks are linked ... read more

May 12, 2015 — A strong connection between high ozone days in the western US during late spring and La Nina, an ocean-atmosphere phenomena that affects global weather patterns, has been identified by researchers. ... read more

Focus on the Regional Impact of Climate Change

May 12, 2015 — The recently published Second Assessment of Climate Change for the Baltic Sea Basin makes an important contribution to understanding variations in the climate. The report also captures the most ... read more

New Study Assesses Risks of Extreme Weather to North Texas Roads, Runways

May 12, 2015 — A new study explains how climate change and extreme weather will significantly disrupt infrastructure across the Dallas-Fort Worth region by the end of the 21st century. The assessment found the ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Expansion of cattle pastures has led to the destruction of huge swaths of rain forest in Brazil, home to the world’s largest herd of commercial beef cattle. But a new study shows that market-driven ... read more

New Index Reveals Unexpected Leaders in Water, Sanitation Progress

May 8, 2015 — A new index shows which countries are leaders in improving access to water and sanitation for their citizens. Sub-Saharan Africa countries including Mali, South Africa, and Ethiopia are also among ... read more

Clean Air, Health Benefits of Clean Power Plan Hinge on Key Policy Decisions

May 4, 2015 — States will gain large, widespread, and nearly immediate health benefits if EPA sets strong standards in the final Clean Power Plan, according to the first independent, peer-reviewed paper of its ... read more

May 4, 2015 — Researchers found that species that are disappearing as a result of the pet trade can be identified by changes in their market prices and trade volumes -- increasing prices and decreasing ... read more

May 7, 2015 — Climate change denial in public discourse may encourage climate scientists to over-emphasize scientific uncertainty and is also affecting how they themselves speak -- and perhaps even think -- about ... read more

May 7, 2015 — For the first time since we began tracking carbon dioxide in the global atmosphere, the monthly global average concentration of this greenhouse gas surpassed 400 parts per million in March 2015, ... read more

May 6, 2015 — A new study on the impact of 'drive-hunting' dolphins in the Solomon Islands is casting a spotlight on the increasing vulnerability of small cetaceans around the world. From 1976 to 2013, ... read more

May 6, 2015 — To fence or not to fence? That is the question facing conservationists concerned with barriers that keep wildlife in and people out. Researchers say that new policies must be developed before fences ... read more

Ethanol Refining May Release More of Some Pollutants Than Previously Thought

May 5, 2015 — Ethanol fuel refineries could be releasing much larger amounts of some ozone-forming compounds into the atmosphere than current assessments suggest, a new study finds. Airborne measurements downwind ... read more

Can Biodiesel Damage Your Car in Colder Climates?

May 5, 2015 — The oil industry believes biodiesel is not to blame for problems that some car owners are experiencing. But the nature of the fuel means that it has to be handled differently than regular ... read more

Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015