Insomnia News
May 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00am EDT

More Insomnia News
May 27, 2015

Sleep Apnea Linked to Depression in Men

May 18, 2015 — Severe obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and excessive daytime sleepiness are associated with an increased risk of depression in men, according to a new community-based study of Australian ... read more

Childhood Maltreatment Linked to Sleep Problems Among Adults

May 5, 2015 — Adults who experienced multiple incidents of childhood maltreatment were more than two times as likely to have trouble sleeping than their counterparts who were not maltreated during childhood, ... read more

Kids Likely to Sleepwalk If Parents Have History of Nocturnal Strolls

May 4, 2015 — More than 60 percent of children developed sleepwalking when both their parents were sleepwalkers in a study among children born in the Canadian province of ... read more

Psychological Predictors Can Identify Children at Risk for Higher Pain Intensity After Surgery

Apr. 21, 2015 — Psychosocial risk factors, such as sleep duration, anxiety and parental fears, can be important predictors for identifying children most likely to experience higher pain intensity, delayed recovery ... read more

Impaired Sleep Linked to Lower Pain Tolerance

Apr. 30, 2015 — People with insomnia and other sleep problems have increased sensitivity to pain, reports a new study. The effect on pain tolerance appears strongest in people who suffer from both insomnia and ... read more

Study Links Insomnia to Impaired Work Performance in Night Shift Workers

Apr. 27, 2015 — A new study of night shift workers suggests that overnight occupational and cognitive impairment is more strongly correlated to insomnia than it is to ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Many studies have linked more sleep to better memory, but new research in fruit flies demonstrates that extra sleep helps the brain overcome catastrophic neurological defects that otherwise would ... read more

Playing a Wind Instrument Could Help Lower the Risk of Sleep Apnea

Apr. 16, 2015 — Wind instrument players have a reduced risk of developing obstructive sleep apnea, a new study shows. "The findings of our small study present an interesting theory on preventative measures or ... read more

Heavy Snoring, Sleep Apnea May Signal Earlier Memory and Thinking Decline

Apr. 15, 2015 — Heavy snoring and sleep apnea may be linked to memory and thinking decline at an earlier age, according to a new study. The research also suggests that treating the disorders with a breathing machine ... read more

Disruption of Sleep in Children Could Hamper Memory Processes

Apr. 15, 2015 — Sleep-disordered breathing can hamper memory processes in children, according to a new study. The research found that disrupted sleep had an impact on different memory processes and how children ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — A wristband that records motion throughout a 24-hour cycle may be an inexpensive, safe way to determine which patients with major depressive disorder will respond best to commonly prescribed drugs ... read more

A Grateful Heart Is a Healthier Heart

Apr. 9, 2015 — Recognizing and giving thanks for the positive aspects of life can result in improved mental, and ultimately physical, health in patients with asymptomatic heart failure, according to new ... read more

Sleep Problems Prevalent for Military Members

Apr. 7, 2015 — Improving the quality and quantity of US military members' sleep following deployment could help reduce other health problems, including depression and post-traumatic stress disorder, according ... read more

Night Owls Face Greater Risk of Developing Diabetes Than Early Risers

Apr. 1, 2015 — Night owls are more likely to develop diabetes, metabolic syndrome and sarcopenia than early risers, even when they get the same amount of sleep, according to a new study. The study examined the ... read more

Depression, Insomnia Are Strongest Risk Factors for Frequent Nightmares

Apr. 2, 2015 — Symptoms of depression and insomnia are the strongest predictors of having frequent nightmares, a new study concludes. "Our study shows a clear connection between well-being and ... read more

More Reasons Why Getting a Good Night’s Sleep Is Important

Mar. 30, 2015 — Losing several hours of sleep can slow the body’s metabolism, but what about losing only a few hours? A new study finds that metabolic effects are seen even when sleep is shortened by two ... read more

Sleep Apnea During Pregnancy Is Not Good for Mother or Baby

Mar. 30, 2015 — Researchers find that having sleep apnea while pregnant could make the baby prone to metabolic disease as an ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Researchers have found that an unexpectedly high percentage of young people experience 'exploding head syndrome,' a psychological phenomenon in which they are awakened by abrupt loud ... read more

Sleep Loss Tied to Emotional Reactions

Mar. 25, 2015 — A new book summarizes research on the interplay of sleep and various components of emotion and affect that are related to mood disorders, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorder and ... read more

High Prevalence of Sleep Disordered Breathing in Adults With Sickle Cell

Mar. 25, 2015 — Adults with sickle cell disease who report trouble with sleep could actually have a clinical diagnosis of sleep disordered breathing which could lower their oxygen levels at night. "Our study ... read more

Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Saturday, January 17, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014