Insomnia News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

More Insomnia News
July 28, 2015

Dignity in Dementia: New Research Reveals the Challenges of Providing Good Nutrition in Care Homes

July 20, 2015 — Unexplained weight loss is often seen in people with dementia, which can lead to further complications, including mental and physical deterioration. New research has revealed the challenges of ... read more

Causal Pathway May Link Job Stress, Sleep Disturbances

June 30, 2015 — There may be a reciprocal, causal pathway between job strain and disturbed sleep, implying that interventions to treat sleep problems may improve work satisfaction, researchers have ... read more

For Women With Bipolar Disorder, Sleep Quality Affects Mood

June 30, 2015 — Poor sleep is associated with negative mood in women with bipolar disorder, according to researchers. Bipolar disorder is a brain disorder that causes unusual shifts in mood, energy, activity levels ... read more

Feeling Impulsive or Frustrated? Take a Nap

June 29, 2015 — It's becoming increasingly common for people, especially adults, to not sleep an entire night. This can negatively impair a person's attention span and memory, as well as contribute to ... read more

June 27, 2015 — A specific calcium channel plays a crucial role in deep, slow-wave sleep, scientists have discovered. This is a key step toward understanding both normal and abnormal waking brain ... read more

Sleep Disturbances Are Common, Influenced by Race and Ethnicity

June 19, 2015 — Sleep disturbances and undiagnosed sleep apnea are common among middle-aged and older adults in the US, and these sleep problems occur more frequently among racial/ethnic minorities, a new study ... read more

New Sleep Genes Found

June 18, 2015 — A protein called Taranis could hold the key to a good night's sleep, researchers have found. The researchers examined thousands of mutant fly lines and found a mutant, called taranis, that slept ... read more

Hormone Fluctuations Disrupt Sleep of Perimenopausal Women

June 16, 2015 — Women in the early phases of menopause are more likely to have trouble sleeping during certain points in the menstrual cycle, according to a new study. During perimenopause -- the earliest stage of ... read more

Lack of Sleep Affects Long-Term Health

June 16, 2015 — Maintaining a good night's sleep is important for our future health, partly because of how it affects lifestyle factors. Previous population based studies have not provided sufficient ... read more

Poor Sleep Associated With Increased Risk of Heart Attack, Stroke

June 15, 2015 — Poor sleep is associated with increased risk of heart attack and stroke, according to results from a recent study. The study included a representative sample of 657 men aged 25 to 64 years with no ... read more

Bright Light After Night Shift May Enhance Alertness and Cognitive Performance

June 11, 2015 — Bright light at the end of a night shift may have potential as a countermeasure to improve driving performance, particularly for low light work environments and commutes that occur before dawn, a new ... read more

Neuroscience and Psychology Paint More Complete Picture of Sleep and Memory

June 11, 2015 — A new study integrates neuroscience and psychological research to reveal how sleep suppresses certain nerve cell activity that promotes forgetting, insuring that at least some memories will ... read more

College Students Who Binge Drink Have More Delayed Sleep Timing, Variable Sleep Schedules

June 11, 2015 — A new study suggests that students who initiate and/or continue drinking and engage in binge drinking in college have more delayed sleep timing and more variable sleep ... read more

Twitter Data May Help Shed Light on Sleep Disorders

June 11, 2015 — Researchers have built the beginnings of 'digital phenotype' of insomnia and other sleep disorders based on data from ... read more

Sleep Problems and Energy Product Use Associated With Increased Alcohol Use in Teens

June 10, 2015 — A new study suggest sleep problems and energy product use are associated with increased alcohol use in teens, even after controlling for sociodemographics and mental ... read more

More Frequent Overnight Hot Flashes Linked With Brain Scan Changes

June 10, 2015 — Women who had more hot flashes during sleep had a greater number of brain scan changes. More than 70 percent of women have hot flashes -- a sudden feeling of intense warmth and sweatiness -- while ... read more

Risk for Sleep Disorders Among College Freshmen May Predict Retention, Success

June 10, 2015 — A new study suggests that the risk for sleep disorders among college freshmen may be a predictor of retention and academic ... read more

Sleep Duration, Quality May Impact Cancer Survival Rate

June 10, 2015 — Pre-diagnostic short sleep duration and frequent snoring were associated with significantly poorer cancer-specific survival, particularly among women with breast cancer, new research ... read more

Partial Sleep Deprivation Linked to Biological Aging in Older Adults

June 10, 2015 — One night of partial sleep deprivation promotes biological aging in older adults, a new study suggests. One night of partial sleep deprivation activates gene expression patterns in peripheral blood ... read more

Insomnia Leads to Decreased Empathy in Health Care Workers

June 9, 2015 — Insomnia decreases empathy in health care workers and may lead to adverse clinical outcomes and medical errors, a new study suggests. Results show that subjects with an Insomnia Severity Index ISI of ... read more

Monday, July 20, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015