Insomnia News
December 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:03am EST

More Insomnia News
December 2, 2015

Learning in Your Sleep, the Right Way

Oct. 28, 2015 — You can swot up on vocabulary in your sleep, but only if you don’t confuse your brain in the process. Researchers have invited people to their sleep lab for a Dutch language ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — REM sleep -- the phase of night-time mammalian sleep physiology where dreams occur -- has long fascinated scientists, clinicians, philosophers, and artists alike, but the identity of the neurons that ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — Alzheimer's patients frequently suffer from sleep disorders, mostly even before they become forgetful. Furthermore, it is known that sleep plays a very important role in memory formation. ... read more

Oct. 16, 2015 — Rewarding learning selectively enhances the consolidation of learned information during sleep, report scientists. This human study builds on what we know from Drosophila by showing how sleep and ... read more

Oct. 15, 2015 — It's tempting to believe that people these days aren't getting enough sleep, living as we do in our well-lit houses with TVs blaring, cell phones buzzing, and a well-used coffee maker in ... read more

Oct. 15, 2015 — In dream or REM sleep, brain activity is more like awake than non-REM activity, and muscles are paralyzed. Various regions of the brain affect REM sleep, but neuroscientists have found a group of ... read more

New Clinical Guideline to Help Clinicians Treat Circadian Rhythm Sleep-Wake Disorders

Oct. 14, 2015 — A new clinical practice guideline provides clinicians with updated recommendations for the treatment of intrinsic circadian rhythm sleep-wake ... read more

More Than One-Third of Perimenopausal Women Develop Insomnia

Oct. 14, 2015 — Millions of women may be sleep-deprived. It's already a known fact that women are more predisposed to insomnia. Now a new study suggests that perimenopausal women have an even greater risk for ... read more

Young Drivers Don't See Dangers of Driving Tired, Study Suggests

Oct. 14, 2015 — Drivers are more likely to get behind the wheel drowsy than drunk despite it being just as dangerous, and the worst offenders are those under 30, an Australian study has ... read more

Oct. 13, 2015 — Neuroscientists have discovered a brain circuit that can trigger small regions of the brain to fall asleep or become less alert, while the rest of the brain remains awake. The researchers believe ... read more

Obstructive Sleep Apnea Associated With Incident Heart Failure, Death in Women

Oct. 13, 2015 — Sex-specific differences exist in the relationship between OSA and CV disease, researchers have found, and that, in women, sleep apnea is associated with higher blood levels of troponin (hs-TnT), a ... read more

Poor Infant Sleep May Predict Problematic Toddler Behavior

Oct. 8, 2015 — A recent study finds a definite link between poor infant sleep and compromised attention and behavior at the toddler ... read more

Happy Head, Happy Heart: Positive Emotions May Promote Heart-Healthy Behaviors

Oct. 5, 2015 — People with heart disease may benefit from maintaining positive emotions, according to health researchers. The researchers assessed psychological well-being of participants at baseline and again at a ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Circadian rhythms help everything from plants to humans coordinate with the daily light-dark cycle, but how this natural clock keeps accurate time, or why it goes awry in people with sleep disorders, ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — More than a century ago, scientists demonstrated that sleep supports the retention of memories of facts and events. Later studies have shown that slow-wave sleep, often referred to as deep sleep, is ... read more

CPAP Therapy Reduces Symptoms of Depression in Adults With Sleep Apnea

Sep. 22, 2015 — Depressive symptoms are extremely common in people who have obstructive sleep apnea, and these symptoms improve significantly when sleep apnea is treated with continuous positive airway pressure ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Our long-term memory is consolidated when we sleep. Short-term memory traces in the hippocampus, an area deep in the brain, are then relocated to more outer parts of the brain. An international team ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — For the first time, research shows that evening caffeine delays the internal circadian clock that tells us when to get ready for sleep and when to prepare to wake ... read more

Twin Study Suggests Genetic Factors Contribute to Insomnia in Adults

Sep. 16, 2015 — A new study of twins suggests that insomnia in adults is partially explained by genetic factors, and this heritability is higher in females than in males. According to the authors, this is the first ... read more

Long Sleep and High Blood Copper Levels Go Hand in Hand

Sep. 14, 2015 — People who sleep fewer than 6 hours or more than 10 hours per night suffer from low-grade inflammation more often than people who sleep 7-8 hours per night. Earlier studies have found a relation ... read more

Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Sunday, July 26, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015