Social Psychology News
May 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:35am EDT

More Social Psychology News
May 25, 2015

Preparing Foster Kids for School Lessens Impact of Moves

May 19, 2015 — A new study clarifies the impact of school moves experienced by children in foster care but also points to how to limit the damage, say researchers. Foster children in the study were 3.28 times more ... read more

Twitter 'Big Data' Could Provide Valuable Details About Transgender Individuals' Health and Social Needs

May 20, 2015 — Researchers and public health officials have looked for ways to better understand the health concerns of transgender populations, so social "big data" technologies like Twitter offer an ... read more

Tracking Trends in Youth Self-Harm Visitation Rates to Alberta's Emergency Rooms

May 19, 2015 — New insight is being gained into the youth visiting Alberta's emergency rooms for self-harming behavior. The study examined approximately 6,000 visits of young patients from 2002 until 2011. It ... read more

Awe May Promote Altruistic Behavior

May 19, 2015 — Inducing a sense of awe in people can promote altruistic, helpful and positive social behavior, according to research. Awe is that sense of wonder we feel in the presence of something vast that ... read more

Estrangement Likely When Adult Child Does Not Share Mother's Values

May 19, 2015 — Estrangement between a mother and an adult child is more common than people might think, says an Iowa State researcher. A new study has found that estrangement is often the result of a difference in ... read more

How People Defend Eating Meat

May 18, 2015 — Meat eaters who justify their eating habits feel less guilty and are more tolerant of social inequality say researchers. They found that the vast majority of omnivores defend consuming animals by ... read more

May 18, 2015 — The hottest hairstyle, the latest extreme sport, the newest viral stunt -- trends happen for a reason and now scientists have a better understanding of why. In a study using functional magnetic ... read more

Competitive? We Assume Our Key Goals Are Others' Goals Too

May 18, 2015 — Whether we’re buying a ticket to a movie, catching a train, or shopping for groceries, the more committed we are to achieving that goal, the more likely we are to assume others have exactly the ... read more

Who Should Pay the Price? Profiting from Selfishness

May 14, 2015 — Social dilemmas, in which an individual profits from selfishness, unless the whole group chooses the selfish option, have long provided an academic challenge. A new study theoretically analyzes the ... read more

Perspective-Taking Difficulties Diminished When Autistic and Psychosis Tendencies Balance

May 15, 2015 — Researchers have shed new light on the relationship between autistic tendencies and psychosis proneness in neurotypical adults. The study indicates that while increased tendencies for either ... read more

Unique Social Structure of Hunter-Gatherers Explained

May 14, 2015 — Sex equality in residential decision-making explains the unique social structure of hunter-gatherers, a new study ... read more

Rethinking the Rebound: Unexpected Effects of Rejection

May 12, 2015 — It's portrayed in movies again and again -- a character gets rejected by someone attractive and then falls willingly into the arms of someone perhaps less attractive. According to a new study, ... read more

Those Who Believe in Pure Evil Support More Harsh Criminal Punishments, Study Finds

May 14, 2015 — People who believe in pure evil are more likely support sentences such as life in prison without parole and the death penalty for criminals, a psychology study finds. The researchers added that ... read more

Bullying: What We Know Based on 40 Years of Research

May 14, 2015 — Psychologists have reviewed over 40 years of research on bullying among school age youth, documented the current understanding of the complexity of the issue and suggested directions for future ... read more

No Laughing Matter: Some Perfectionists Have a Dark Side

May 13, 2015 — The type of perfectionist who sets impossibly high standards for others has a bit of a dark side. They tend to be narcissistic, antisocial and to have an aggressive sense of humor. They care little ... read more

May 13, 2015 — New research shows children often have a closer relationship with their pet than their ... read more

Depression Intensifies Anger in Veterans With PTSD

May 13, 2015 — The tendency for veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder to lash out in anger can be significantly amplified if they are also depressed, according to new ... read more

Playing Games Can Shift Attitudes, Study Shows

May 13, 2015 — A research laboratory is working to quantify the effects of playing games. In a study, researchers found that attitudes toward public health issues shift to be more accepting and understanding after ... read more

May 13, 2015 — Men who wear red clothes send out a signal that they are angry and aggressive, in much the same way as if their face had reddened, new research suggests. This study is believed to be the first into ... read more

Research Finds Differences in the Brains and Behavior of Girls and Boys With Autism

May 13, 2015 — Differences in the underlying biology of children's brains and behavior has been identified through a study on a large cohort of preschoolers with autism spectrum disorder. The findings may help ... read more

Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015