Social Psychology News
February 12, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:39am EST

More Social Psychology News
February 12, 2016

Companies Must Adapt Internal Communication as Demographics Change, Study Finds

Feb. 9, 2016 — As baby boomers retire and an increasing number of millennials enter the workforce, internal communicators must adapt to accommodate the shift of generations, the rise of internal social media and ... read more

Parental Preference for Boys Damages Girls’ Self-Esteem and Happiness

Feb. 5, 2016 — While most studies of parental sex discrimination explore the devastating social and demographic effects of a cultural preference for boys, a new study examines its psychological effects on the girls ... read more

'Meaningful' Media May Push Altruism Across Bounds of Race and Age

Feb. 4, 2016 — People who watch meaningful entertainment may be more willing to lend a hand to people they consider different, according to ... read more

Psychological Toll of Madoff Fraud Case Went Far Beyond the Victims, Study Finds

Feb. 4, 2016 — A new study explores where Bernie Madoff’s fraud case left its deepest impact and on whom -- not just among his direct victims, but also on how others viewed the trustworthiness of financial ... read more

Addressing Trauma in Juvenile Offenders Should Be Larger Focus of Rehabilitation, Study Finds

Feb. 3, 2016 — Treating trauma in juvenile offenders can aid social relationships that help them stay out of trouble, according to a new study. Between 65 and 75 percent of juveniles in the criminal justice system ... read more

Anonymous Browsing Hinders Online Dating Signals

Feb. 3, 2016 — Big data and the growing popularity of online dating sites may be reshaping a fundamental human activity: finding a mate, or at least a date. Yet a new study finds that certain longstanding social ... read more

Women More Sensitive to Irksome Behavior Than Men

Feb. 2, 2016 — Women may be friendlier than men, but that doesn't mean they like putting up with jerks, suggests a new report. A new study shows that women are more likely than men to get irked at irritating ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Abnormalities in embryonic brain development in mice, including transient embryonic brain enlargement during neuron formation, are responsible for abnormal adult brain structures and behavioral ... read more

Super Mario Gets Social Intelligence

Feb. 2, 2016 — Computer scientists help the popular jump ‘n’ run game figures learn to observe, collaborate – and even switch ... read more

A Uniter and a Divider: Purity Keeps Us Together -- And Apart

Feb. 2, 2016 — A study of moral values reveals issues related to purity can determine how close -- or how far -- we want to be with someone in social and political ... read more

When Loved Ones Battle Cancer, Families Head to Web for Information More Than Support

Feb. 1, 2016 — Loved ones of cancer patients are likely to search for further information about the disease online but less inclined to seek emotional support from social media forums, according to a study. It is ... read more

Once a Risk-Taker, Always a Risk-Taker, Study Suggests

Feb. 1, 2016 — People who are risk-takers in their youth also tend to take relatively more risks than their peers as they age, according to an analysis of more than 44,000 German ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — New work on how news media coverage shapes perceptions of obesity, has been published by investigators. They examined how perspectives on obesity portrayed in news articles affect people's ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — Caring for others dips during adolescence. But when young people feel supported from their social circles, their concern for others rebound, a new study ... read more

Blood Pressure Medicine Improves Conversational Skills of Individuals With Autism

Feb. 1, 2016 — An estimated one in 68 children in the United States has autism. The neurodevelopmental disorder, which impairs communication and social interaction skills, can be treated with medications and ... read more

Media Narratives Counter Prejudice Attitudes

Jan. 30, 2016 — Research from several personality and social psychologists show that entertainment media with positive content or conciliatory messages can contribute to positive relationships between members of ... read more

Fight Your Fears: Facing Down Anxieties Can Expand Your World

Jan. 29, 2016 — A professor uses exposure therapy to help patients with phobias that have begun to overtake their ... read more

Lasting Impressions: Psychologists Discover What Influences Our Food Choices

Jan. 29, 2016 — With Americans tipping the scales more than ever, social and personality psychologists are at the forefront of understanding the psychological motivations for healthy food choices and consumption ... read more

First Impressions: When the Mating Market Resembles a Super Market

Jan. 29, 2016 — Two things people always need in life: food and love. According to psychologists, understanding the forces that drive both our hunger and our desire could help us eat healthier and have more ... read more

Recent Studies Show Value of Technology, in-Person Communications

Jan. 29, 2016 — Across four different research groups in the United States and Canada, findings from personality and social psychologists suggest that text messaging and social media can have emotional and ... read more

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015