Social Psychology News
May 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:34pm EDT

More Social Psychology News
May 29, 2015

Tablets Can Help Elderly Cross the 'Digital Divide'

May 27, 2015 — One way to help the elderly cross what's known as the 'digital divide' is the use of tablets, those smaller, lighter, easy-to-use computers that seem to be taking the place of ... read more

How Will Congressmen Vote? Just Look at Their Social Circles, Study Finds

May 26, 2015 — US Congress members' social circles are more important in how they vote than their liberal or conservative beliefs or constituents' opinions, according to a new model of voting ... read more

Preparing Foster Kids for School Lessens Impact of Moves

May 19, 2015 — A new study clarifies the impact of school moves experienced by children in foster care but also points to how to limit the damage, say researchers. Foster children in the study were 3.28 times more ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Face perception plays an important role in social communication. There have been many studies of face perception in human using non-invasive neuroimaging and electrophysiological methods, but studies ... read more

Personality Does Matter, Researchers Say

May 21, 2015 — Why do people behave the way they do? Why do people feel the way they do? In one of the largest studies to employ experience sampling methods to measure the effects of situations on human behavior in ... read more

With One False Tweet, Computer-Based Hack Crash Led to Real Panic

May 20, 2015 — A false tweet from a hacked account owned by the Associated Press demonstrates the need to better understand how social media data is linked to decision making in the private and public sector, ... read more

Twitter 'Big Data' Could Provide Valuable Details About Transgender Individuals' Health and Social Needs

May 20, 2015 — Researchers and public health officials have looked for ways to better understand the health concerns of transgender populations, so social "big data" technologies like Twitter offer an ... read more

May 20, 2015 — When animals are present, children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) have lower readings on a device that detects anxiety and other forms of social arousal when interacting with their peers. ... read more

Tracking Trends in Youth Self-Harm Visitation Rates to Alberta's Emergency Rooms

May 19, 2015 — New insight is being gained into the youth visiting Alberta's emergency rooms for self-harming behavior. The study examined approximately 6,000 visits of young patients from 2002 until 2011. It ... read more

The Dark Side of the 'Love Hormone:' Similarities With the Effects of Alcohol

May 19, 2015 — Significant similarities have been highlighted by researchers between the behavioral effects of oxytocin and alcohol. The research team warns that the oft-used nickname hides the darker side of ... read more

May 19, 2015 — As social creatures, we tend to mimic each other's posture, laughter, and other behaviors, including how we speak. Now a new study shows that people with similar views tend to more closely ... read more

Smokers Don't Vote: 11,626-Person Study Shows Marginalization of Tobacco Users

May 19, 2015 — A survey of 11,626 Americans shows that, even with all else equal, smokers are 60 percent less likely to vote than nonsmokers. The study is the first to link a health-risk behavior with electoral ... read more

Awe May Promote Altruistic Behavior

May 19, 2015 — Inducing a sense of awe in people can promote altruistic, helpful and positive social behavior, according to research. Awe is that sense of wonder we feel in the presence of something vast that ... read more

Estrangement Likely When Adult Child Does Not Share Mother's Values

May 19, 2015 — Estrangement between a mother and an adult child is more common than people might think, says an Iowa State researcher. A new study has found that estrangement is often the result of a difference in ... read more

How People Defend Eating Meat

May 18, 2015 — Meat eaters who justify their eating habits feel less guilty and are more tolerant of social inequality say researchers. They found that the vast majority of omnivores defend consuming animals by ... read more

May 18, 2015 — The hottest hairstyle, the latest extreme sport, the newest viral stunt -- trends happen for a reason and now scientists have a better understanding of why. In a study using functional magnetic ... read more

Competitive? We Assume Our Key Goals Are Others' Goals Too

May 18, 2015 — Whether we’re buying a ticket to a movie, catching a train, or shopping for groceries, the more committed we are to achieving that goal, the more likely we are to assume others have exactly the ... read more

Who Should Pay the Price? Profiting from Selfishness

May 14, 2015 — Social dilemmas, in which an individual profits from selfishness, unless the whole group chooses the selfish option, have long provided an academic challenge. A new study theoretically analyzes the ... read more

Perspective-Taking Difficulties Diminished When Autistic and Psychosis Tendencies Balance

May 15, 2015 — Researchers have shed new light on the relationship between autistic tendencies and psychosis proneness in neurotypical adults. The study indicates that while increased tendencies for either ... read more

Unique Social Structure of Hunter-Gatherers Explained

May 14, 2015 — Sex equality in residential decision-making explains the unique social structure of hunter-gatherers, a new study ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015