Social Psychology News
February 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:39pm EST

More Social Psychology News
February 6, 2016

'Meaningful' Media May Push Altruism Across Bounds of Race and Age

Feb. 4, 2016 — People who watch meaningful entertainment may be more willing to lend a hand to people they consider different, according to ... read more

Psychological Toll of Madoff Fraud Case Went Far Beyond the Victims, Study Finds

Feb. 4, 2016 — A new study explores where Bernie Madoff’s fraud case left its deepest impact and on whom -- not just among his direct victims, but also on how others viewed the trustworthiness of financial ... read more

Addressing Trauma in Juvenile Offenders Should Be Larger Focus of Rehabilitation, Study Finds

Feb. 3, 2016 — Treating trauma in juvenile offenders can aid social relationships that help them stay out of trouble, according to a new study. Between 65 and 75 percent of juveniles in the criminal justice system ... read more

Anonymous Browsing Hinders Online Dating Signals

Feb. 3, 2016 — Big data and the growing popularity of online dating sites may be reshaping a fundamental human activity: finding a mate, or at least a date. Yet a new study finds that certain longstanding social ... read more

Women More Sensitive to Irksome Behavior Than Men

Feb. 2, 2016 — Women may be friendlier than men, but that doesn't mean they like putting up with jerks, suggests a new report. A new study shows that women are more likely than men to get irked at irritating ... read more

Super Mario Gets Social Intelligence

Feb. 2, 2016 — Computer scientists help the popular jump ‘n’ run game figures learn to observe, collaborate – and even switch ... read more

Media Narratives Counter Prejudice Attitudes

Jan. 30, 2016 — Research from several personality and social psychologists show that entertainment media with positive content or conciliatory messages can contribute to positive relationships between members of ... read more

Lasting Impressions: Psychologists Discover What Influences Our Food Choices

Jan. 29, 2016 — With Americans tipping the scales more than ever, social and personality psychologists are at the forefront of understanding the psychological motivations for healthy food choices and consumption ... read more

First Impressions: When the Mating Market Resembles a Super Market

Jan. 29, 2016 — Two things people always need in life: food and love. According to psychologists, understanding the forces that drive both our hunger and our desire could help us eat healthier and have more ... read more

Recent Studies Show Value of Technology, in-Person Communications

Jan. 29, 2016 — Across four different research groups in the United States and Canada, findings from personality and social psychologists suggest that text messaging and social media can have emotional and ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Research has revealed subtle brain differences in adult males with autism spectrum disorder, which may go some way towards explaining why symptoms persist into adulthood in some people with the ... read more

Daughters of Interracial Parents More Likely Than Sons to Identify as Multiracial

Jan. 28, 2016 — Daughters of interracial parents are more likely than sons to identify as multiracial, and this is especially true for children of black-white couples, according to a new ... read more

Good Boss? Bad Boss? Study Says Workers Leave Both

Jan. 27, 2016 — Workers leave good bosses and bad bosses in equal measure, a finding that companies can use to their strategic advantage, indicates new ... read more

On Twitter, E-Cigarette Ads Spread Like Secondhand Smoke

Jan. 26, 2016 — Are 500 retweets the modern equivalent of 'everyone's doing it' when it comes to e-cigarette marketing? While the Food and Drug Administration has proposed a ban on the sales of ... read more

Why You Should Never Use the Term 'the Mentally Ill'

Jan. 26, 2016 — Even subtle differences in how you refer to people with mental illness can affect levels of tolerance, a new study has found. In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers found that participants showed ... read more

Social Media Use in Young Adults Linked to Sleep Disturbance

Jan. 26, 2016 — Young adults who spend a lot of time on social media during the day or check it frequently throughout the week are more likely to suffer sleep disturbance than their peers who use social media less, ... read more

Health Goes Downhill When Older Adults Stop Driving

Jan. 25, 2016 — While 81 percent of the 29.5 million older U.S. adults continue to hold a license and get behind the wheel, age-related declines in cognition and physical function make driving more difficult, and ... read more

Group Therapy Helps Autistic Children to Cope Better With Everyday Life

Jan. 25, 2016 — Children and adolescents with high functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder can learn how to cope better in the social world and also achieve a lasting effect. Social difficulties are one of the main ... read more

Mixed Emotions a Sign of Emotional Depth, Not Indecision, Say Researchers

Jan. 21, 2016 — Experiencing mixed emotions shows emotional complexity, not indecision, and people living in different parts of the world vary in their ability to distinguish between multiple feelings they're ... read more

New Experiments Challenge Economic Game Assumptions

Jan. 21, 2016 — Too much confidence is placed in economic games, according to new ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015