Autism News
December 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:04am EST

More Autism News
December 2, 2015

Willingness to Adopt Children With Special Needs the Focus of Recent Study

Nov. 25, 2015 — A new study has focused on the attitudes and preferences of prospective adoptive parents in Canada. The study examined the preferences and attitudes of 5,830 AdoptOntario online registrants between ... read more

New Options for Treating Autism

Nov. 18, 2015 — The operating mechanism of oxytocin, the molecule involved in social behavior, has been researched by a team of European scientists. The results obtained in the research suggest that one of the ... read more

What's in a Name? More Than You Think...

Nov. 17, 2015 — What’s in a name? In the case of the usernames of video gamers, a remarkable amount of information about their real world personalities, according to research by psychologists. Analysis of ... read more

Meeting Transportation Needs Will Improve Lives of Those With ASD, Their Families

Nov. 13, 2015 — An integrated approach to providing access to reliable and safe transportation is needed for adults on the autism spectrum and their families, according to a new study that offers recommendations for ... read more

Rare Facial Paralysis Gives Researchers New Insights Into Social Interaction

Nov. 13, 2015 — Persons with facial paralysis or permanently disfigured faces often experience difficulties in their social interactions because they lack facial expressivity. A study of teenagers with the rare ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — The animal brain is so complex, it would take a supercomputer and vast amounts of data to create a detailed 3-D model of the billions of neurons that power it. But computer scientists and a professor ... read more

Building and Breaking Synapses

Oct. 19, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a protein that's involved in helping control the architecture of connections between neurons -- a basic process involved in both healthy and diseased ... read more

Oct. 18, 2015 — Babies born prematurely face an increased risk of neurological and psychiatric problems that may be due to weakened connections in brain networks linked to attention, communication and the processing ... read more

Suppression of Epigenetic Brain Proteins Induces Autism-Like Syndrome

Oct. 15, 2015 — Findings of a new study reveal a key role of the BET protein family in the regulation of selected genes that control normal development and function of nerve ... read more

Oct. 14, 2015 — It is not enough to observe what abilities are altered in autistic subjects, we also need to understand how each function interacts with the others. In fact, whereas in normal subjects joint ... read more

Novel Imaging Study Demonstrates How the 'Social Brain' Is Functionally Impaired in Autism Spectrum Disorder

Oct. 13, 2015 — Brain areas linked to social behaviors are both underdeveloped and insufficiently networked in youths with high functioning autism spectrum disorder (ASD) compared to study participants without ASD, ... read more

Oct. 7, 2015 — The way our brain responds to others' good fortune is linked to how empathetic people report themselves to be, according to new research. They study shows that a part of the brain called the ... read more

Training by Repetition Actually Prevents Learning for Those With Autism

Oct. 5, 2015 — Training individuals with those with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) to acquire new information by repeating the information actually harms their ability to apply that learned knowledge to other ... read more

Scientists Identify Key Receptor as Potential Target for Treatment of Autism

Oct. 1, 2015 — Scientists have uncovered a significant -- and potentially treatable -- relationship between a chemical that helps transmit signals in the brain and genetic mutations present in a subset of ... read more

New System Helps Teachers Gain Back Valuable Instruction Time

Oct. 1, 2015 — Elementary schoolchildren often dawdle between activities during the school day, losing valuable instructional time in the process. New research has found a way to reclaim these lost minutes and make ... read more

Children With Autism Benefit from Theatre-Based Program

Sep. 30, 2015 — Children with autism who participated in a 10-week, 40-hour, theatre-based program showed significant differences in social ability compared to a group of children with autism who did not ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Neurons thrive and grow in a new type of nanowire material developed by researchers. In time, the results might improve both neural and retinal implants, and reduce the risk of them losing their ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Games used for exercising can improve physical and mental fitness in children with autism spectrum disorders, a new study concludes. As a way to combat a lack of physical activity, researchers ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — A new analysis of data on the genetics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) has been released by experts. One commonly held theory is that autism results from chance combinations of commonly occurring ... read more

Researchers Find Biomarker for Autism That May Aid Diagnostics

Sep. 22, 2015 — By identifying a key signaling defect within a specific membrane structure in all cells, researchers believe they have found both a possible reliable biomarker for diagnosing certain forms of autism ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015