Autism News
February 8, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:04pm EST

More Autism News
February 8, 2016

Twenty-Five-Point Drop in IQ Caused by Lack of Gene Copy

Jan. 27, 2016 — Even in study participants whose IQ was considered to be normal, the researchers found a substantial 25 points IQ drop induced by 16p11.2 gene ... read more

Master Switch That Plays a Key Role in Energy Metabolism, Human Brain Evolution

Jan. 26, 2016 — The global gene regulator GABPa has been explored in recent study to better understand its influence as a master switch. This work honed in on human specific DNA regions potentially contributing to ... read more

Brain’s Wiring Connected to Sensory Processing Disorder

Jan. 26, 2016 — Researchers have found that boys and girls with sensory processing disorder (SPD) have altered pathways for brain connectivity when compared to typically developing children, and the difference ... read more

Health and Thinking Skills Linked to Same Genes, Study Shows

Jan. 26, 2016 — Genes that influence people's health also shape how effectively they think, a study shows. Scientists found that genes associated with diseases including Alzheimer's disease, schizophrenia, ... read more

Group Therapy Helps Autistic Children to Cope Better With Everyday Life

Jan. 25, 2016 — Children and adolescents with high functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder can learn how to cope better in the social world and also achieve a lasting effect. Social difficulties are one of the main ... read more

Brain Levels of Vitamin B12 Decrease With Age and Are Prematurely Low in People With Autism and Schizophrenia

Jan. 22, 2016 — A new study has found that Vitamin B12 levels in the brain are significantly decreased in the elderly and are much lower in individuals with autism or schizophrenia, as compared to their peers at ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Xavier has big brown eyes and freckles to match. He is a take-charge kid with sandy blonde hair and boundless energy. Xavier is also on the autism spectrum, diagnosed when he was 3½. Today, Xavier ... read more

Computer Modeling Provides Insight Into Cellular-Level Effects of Schizophrenia Risk Genes

Jan. 21, 2016 — Numerous genetic variants associated with risk for schizophrenia have been identified. However, little is known about how these genes have their effects in the ... read more

Gene May Be Important in Autism Disorders, Other Neuropsychiatric Syndromes

Jan. 19, 2016 — Scientists have identified a gene that appears to play a significant role in raising a person's risk of having more severe subtypes of autism that co-occur with other genetic diseases, such as ... read more

Jan. 15, 2016 — Scientists uncover pathway in highly suspect disease gene also tied to schizophrenia and bipolar ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Researchers have revealed how three proteins work in concert to wire up a specific area of the developing brain that is responsible for processing visual information. The findings may also lend ... read more

Scientists Get Mice to Pay Attention by Manipulating Neurons in Brain

Jan. 14, 2016 — Researchers have identified for the first time a cell type in the brain of mice that is integral to attention. By manipulating the activity of this cell type, the scientists were able to enhance ... read more

First Human in Vitro Model of Rare Neurodegenerative Condition Created

Jan. 13, 2016 — The first stem cell-derived in vitro cellular model of a rare, but devastating, neurodegenerative condition called Cockayne syndrome has been created by researchers. Cockayne syndrome is uncommon but ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that an overlooked region in brain cells houses a motherlode of mutated genes previously tied to autism. The finding could provide fresh drug targets and lead to new ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Researchers have figured out how a developmental disease called microcephaly produces a much smaller brain than normal: Some brain stem cells are simply too slow as they proceed through the neuron ... read more

Teens With Autism and Caregivers Should Plan Early for Adulthood

Jan. 6, 2016 — As the number of children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders continues to rise, medical professionals have emphasized early diagnosis, intervention and treatment. However, less attention has ... read more

Autism and Friendship: It's Different for Girls

Jan. 5, 2016 — Autistic girls are more socially motivated and have more intimate friendships than autistic boys, but are not as good as girls without autism at recognizing conflict in those friendships, new ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — An analysis of medical records data from three health care systems finds no evidence that prenatal exposure to antidepressants increases the risk for autism and related disorders or for ... read more

Absence of Serotonin Alters Development, Function of Brain Circuits

Dec. 23, 2015 — The first complete model to describe the role that serotonin plays in brain development and structure has been created by researchers. Serotonin is an important neuromodulator of brain development ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — For the first time, a study has demonstrated a genetic convergence between cognition and neurodevelopmental disorders in the human brain. These findings provide an alternate starting point for ... read more

Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015