Anxiety News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:05pm EDT

More Anxiety News
September 2, 2015

About 10 Percent of Mothers Experienced Depression Two Years After Hurricane Katrina

Aug. 27, 2015 — About 10 percent of mothers experienced chronic, persistent depressive symptoms two years after Hurricane Katrina slammed into the Gulf Coast, killing more than 1,800 people, displacing hundreds of ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — The effect of workplace anxiety on job performance is closely connected to the quality of relationships between employees, their bosses and their co-workers, according to a new ... read more

COPD Patients With Psychological Conditions Have Higher Rate of Early Hospital Readmission

Aug. 13, 2015 — People with a psychological condition such as depression, anxiety, psychosis, or alcohol/drug abuse are more likely to be readmitted early into a hospital for complications of chronic obstructive ... read more

New Biomarkers Show Exercise Helps Reduce Daytime Sleep Disorder

Aug. 11, 2015 — Aerobic exercise can help alleviate excessive daytime sleepiness among depressed individuals, researchers have found. Researchers looking at blood samples identified two biological markers for the ... read more

Parents' Math Anxiety Can Undermine Children's Math Achievement

Aug. 10, 2015 — Children of math-anxious parents learned less math over the school year and were more likely to be math-anxious themselves—but only when these parents provided frequent help on the child’s math ... read more

When Dinner Table Defiance Could Lead to Health Problems

Aug. 6, 2015 — When most people think of eating disorders, they think of anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa. But there’s another condition that has nothing to do with concerns over weight, shape or body image, ... read more

Picking Up the Phone to Improve Mental Health in Seniors

Aug. 5, 2015 — Therapy provided via telephone for older adults in rural areas is effective in treating anxiety disorder, a new study has demonstrated. Experts write that the health-care system lacks the capacity to ... read more

How to Tell the Difference Between Bipolar Disorder, Depression

Aug. 5, 2015 — Many patients with bipolar disorder, a debilitating mental condition that can take a person from the sluggishness of severe depression to super-human energy levels, are often misdiagnosed as having ... read more

Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Therapy Decreases PTSD Symptom Severity Among Veterans

Aug. 4, 2015 — In a randomized trial that included veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), those who received mindfulness-based stress reduction therapy showed greater improvement in self-reported PTSD ... read more

Perfectionism Linked to Burnout at Work, School and Sports, Research Finds

July 31, 2015 — Perfectionistic concerns have a positive relationship with overall burnout and symptoms of burnout, research has found. Perfectionistic concerns can create stress, interfere with relationships and ... read more

Generalized Anxiety Disorders Twice as Likely in Those With Inflammatory Bowel Disease

July 29, 2015 — People who have inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), such as Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis, have twice the odds of having a generalized anxiety disorder at some point in their lives when ... read more

Blood Markers Identify Women at Risk for Postpartum Depression

July 27, 2015 — The hormone oxytocin, sometimes called 'the love hormone,' may be a factor in postpartum depression, when a mother has a lower than normal level. A blood marker now may help identify the ... read more

Attention-Control Video Game Curbs Combat Vets' PTSD Symptoms

July 24, 2015 — A computerized attention-control training program significantly reduced combat veterans' preoccupation with - or avoidance of -- threat and attendant PTSD symptoms. By contrast, another type of ... read more

New Insights Into the Circuitry of PTSD, Mild Traumatic Brain Injury

July 23, 2015 — Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and traumatic brain injury (TBI) can have devastating consequences. Both are associated with high rates of disability and suicide, and although they are separate ... read more

Job Services Lacking for Young People With Autism

July 22, 2015 — As autism becomes more prevalent, the need grows for services that help young people with the disorder to find and keep jobs, indicates new research. Some 50,000 people with autism spectrum disorder ... read more

Manipulating Molecule in the Brain Improves Stress Response, New Target for Depression Treatment

July 21, 2015 — Increasing the levels of a signaling molecule found in the brain can positively alter response to stress, revealing a potential new therapeutic target for treatment of depression, researchers ... read more

Evidence for Serotonergic Dissociation Between Anxiety, Fear

July 20, 2015 — What had been clustered as anxiety disorders is not homogenous in terms of functioning of the serotonergic system, an international team of researchers suggests. According to the authors, this ... read more

Keep Fears at Bay by Learning Something New

July 20, 2015 — Exposure therapy is a commonly used and effective treatment for anxiety disorders, including posttraumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and phobias. The goal of such therapy is to ... read more

Success in Adulthood Linked to Childhood Psychiatric Health

July 15, 2015 — Children with even mild or passing bouts of depression, anxiety and/or behavioral issues were more inclined to have serious problems that complicated their ability to lead successful lives as adults, ... read more

Why Does PTSD Increase the Risk of Cardiovascular Disease?

July 15, 2015 — A new review article finds that post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) leads to overactive nerve activity, dysfunctional immune response and activation of the hormone system that controls blood ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015