Anxiety News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:56pm EDT

More Anxiety News
April 26, 2015

Apr. 23, 2015 — The power of invisibility has long fascinated man and inspired the works of many great authors and philosophers. A team of neuroscientists now reports a perceptual illusion of having an invisible ... read more

Two Drugs Reduce Teacher-Rated Anxiety, in Addition to ADHD, Aggression

Apr. 17, 2015 — The addition of risperidone to parent training and a stimulant also improves teachers’ assessments of anxiety and social avoidance, new research shows. Improvement in teacher-rated anxiety and ... read more

Facebook Use Can Worsen, as Well as Improve, Mental Health Conditions

Apr. 14, 2015 — Facebook can help people recover from mental health problems but it needs to be used cautiously and strategically as it can also make symptoms worse, new research ... read more

Socially Anxious Youth in Treatment Can Enhance Recovery Through Simple Service Tasks

Apr. 14, 2015 — Often alcoholics and addicts mention a fear of not fitting in, and using alcohol/drugs to alleviate anxiety. A new study looks at youth in treatment who have social anxiety disorder. Almost half of ... read more

Depression, Insomnia Are Strongest Risk Factors for Frequent Nightmares

Apr. 2, 2015 — Symptoms of depression and insomnia are the strongest predictors of having frequent nightmares, a new study concludes. "Our study shows a clear connection between well-being and ... read more

Alcohol-Related Cues, Stress Strongly Impact Females and Increase 'Craving'-Like Behavior

Apr. 1, 2015 — A study conducted in rats measuring risk factors that contribute to alcohol abuse suggests females are particularly sensitive to alcohol-related cues and stress which elicits a “craving” ... read more

Interview Blues: Anxious, Slow Talkers Often Do Not Get the Job

Apr. 1, 2015 — Job candidates should focus on exuding warmth and assertiveness, a new study says. Researchers offer a few tips for those who are worried that their nerves might stand between them and acing their ... read more

History of Depression Puts Women at Risk for Diabetes During Pregnancy, Study Finds

Mar. 31, 2015 — A history of depression may put women at risk for developing diabetes during pregnancy, according to research. This study also pointed to how common depression is during pregnancy and the need for ... read more

Impact of Domestic Violence on Women's Mental Health

Mar. 31, 2015 — In addition to their physical injuries, women who are victims of domestic violence are also at a greater risk of mental health problems such as depression and psychotic symptoms. "We studied the ... read more

Publication Bias and 'Spin' Raise Questions About Drugs for Anxiety Disorders

Mar. 30, 2015 — A new analysis raises serious questions about the increasingly common use of second-generation antidepressant drugs to treat anxiety disorders. It concludes that studies supporting the value of these ... read more

New Study of Freelance Workers Examines Link Between Their Well-Being and Hours Worked

Mar. 30, 2015 — A new study of freelance workers has discovered key factors that affect their well-being – either making them happier or increasing anxiety and risking ... read more

Veterans' Avoidant Coping Interfers With Transition to University Life

Mar. 26, 2015 — A study of 165 veterans currently enrolled at three Texas universities shows that those who use problem-focused coping strategies for anxiety and depression instead of avoidant coping have more ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — In popular culture, the phrase "battle of the sexes" seems to pit the male hormone (testosterone) against the female (estrogen). Now a researcher has documented a way in which the two ... read more

Blood Test May Shed New Light on Fragile X Related Disorders

Mar. 26, 2015 — A blood test may shed new light on Fragile X syndrome related disorders in women, according to a new study. Fragile X is the most common inherited form of intellectual disability and the most ... read more

Sleep Loss Tied to Emotional Reactions

Mar. 25, 2015 — A new book summarizes research on the interplay of sleep and various components of emotion and affect that are related to mood disorders, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorder and ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Increased Risk of Anxiety, Stroke

Mar. 24, 2015 — Air pollution is linked to a higher risk of stroke, particularly in developing countries, finds a study. In a second article, new research also shows that air pollution is associated with ... read more

Stellate Ganglion Block Showed No Significant Benefit for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in Controlled Trial

Mar. 24, 2015 — A sympathetic nerve block that has shown promise for treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) performed no better than sham treatment in a randomized controlled trial, new research ... read more

Legally High? Teenagers and Prescription Drug Abuse

Mar. 24, 2015 — Legal drugs such as OxyContin now kill more people than heroin and cocaine combined. While awareness of the dangers of illegal drugs has increased, many teens are still ignorant of the significant ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Tumors that produce more stress granules are more likely to metastasize, according to researchers. The results suggest that drugs to inhibit the formation of these structures might rein in cancer ... read more

Stress Management Techniques Improve Long-Term Mood and Quality of Life for Women With Breast Cancer

Mar. 23, 2015 — A new study shows that providing women with skills to manage stress early in their breast cancer treatment can improve their mood and quality of life many years ... read more

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014