Dogs News
February 9, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EST

More Dogs News
February 9, 2016

Jan. 12, 2016 — Dogs can recognize emotions in humans by combining information from different senses -- an ability that has never previously been observed outside of humans, a new study published today ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Dog domestication may have inadvertently led to harmful genetic changes, a new study suggests. Domestication of dogs from gray wolves more than 15,000 years ago involved artificial selection and ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — A novel therapy tested scientists for treating a fatal heart disorder in dogs might ultimately help in diagnosing and treating heart disease in humans. The team also identified potential causes of ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The puff adder, Bitis Arietans, one of Africa's most abundant and venomous snake species has long been known to be a master of camouflage, but research has shown that it is the first land animal ... read more

Second Contagious Form of Cancer Found in Tasmanian Devils

Dec. 28, 2015 — Transmissible cancers are believed to arise extremely rarely in nature. One of the few known transmissible cancers causes facial tumors in Tasmanian devils, and is threatening this species with ... read more

Teenager Infected With Rat-Bite Fever from Her Pet Rodent

Dec. 23, 2015 — A 17-year-old woman was infected with the rare, but treatable rat-bite fever, that developed from pet rodents that lived in her bedroom, report the doctors who treated ... read more

Carnivore Hunting Policy and Science Don't Align, Researchers Find

Dec. 18, 2015 — An international group of biologists say that policies regulating the hunting of large carnivores do not always align with basic scientific data, which can undermine conservation ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — Compared to the rest of the animal kingdom, the human capacity for cooperation is something quite special. Cooperating with one another requires a certain amount of prosocial behavior. This means ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — The origin of dogs has inspired a lingering controversy in academia. Where and when did dogs first split off from wolves? Now a top-dog researcher hopes his latest research will finally settle the ... read more

Can Your Pet Boost Your Sex Appeal?

Dec. 15, 2015 — Dogs and cats are increasingly seen as being a crucial member of a traditional family, but aside from the companionship and love you receive from your pet... can they also make you appear ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — Using photography and laboratory simulations, researchers studied how dogs raise fluids into their mouths to drink. They discovered that sloppy-looking actions at the dog bowl are in fact high-speed, ... read more

Early Childhood Exposure to Farm Animals, Pets Modifies Immunological Responses

Dec. 14, 2015 — Exposure to farm animals in early childhood modifies the key allergy-related immunological mechanisms, shows a recent study, which provides new insight into the role of dendritic cells and cytokine ... read more

Using Public Surveillance to Study Insect Vectors of Chagas Disease in Texas

Dec. 10, 2015 — Chagas disease is caused by a parasitic protozoan (Trypanosoma cruzi) and transmitted via triatomine insects known locally in Texas as 'kissing bugs.' Due to the success of community based ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — For the first time, a litter of puppies was born by in vitro fertilization. The breakthrough opens the door for preserving endangered canid species using assisted reproduction techniques. It could ... read more

Dec. 7, 2015 — Researchers have, for the first time, harnessed the molecular machinery of living systems to power an integrated circuit from ATP, the energy currency of life. They achieved this by integrating a ... read more

Dec. 4, 2015 — Dogs get cancer, just like humans. Scientists are now exploring the molecular basis of cancer progression in canine cell lines. Modern cancer therapy has been revolutionized with the introduction of ... read more

Increasing and Accurately Measuring Rabies Vaccination Coverage in Tanzania

Dec. 3, 2015 — Canine mediated rabies is endemic in Tanzania despite the fact that the disease can be prevented entirely by mass dog ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — A rare fossil from eastern North America of a dog-sized horned dinosaur has been identified by a scientist. The fossil provides evidence of an east-west divide in North American dinosaur ... read more

Nov. 27, 2015 — Ticks can transmit various diseases to people and animals. Some well-known diseases spread by ticks include tick-borne encephalitis (TBE) and Lyme disease. Researchers are hot on the trail of ... read more

Rats: Sniff and Track, or Run and Scan?

Nov. 24, 2015 — Strategies used by rats to identify specific targets through odor cues in a familiar environment with a known number of choices has been the focus of recent ... read more

Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015