Dogs News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:44pm EDT

More Dogs News
September 1, 2015

Ancient Hybridization Key to Domestic Dog's Origin, Wolf Conservation Efforts

Sep. 1, 2015 — The ancestry of man's best friend is more complicated than its furry coat and soulful eyes betray. Understanding the evolutionary history of the domesticated dog may help protect endangered ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Loved and hated. Admired and feared. Almost wiped out and now restored. Wolves have a long and varied history in Norway and trigger strong feelings on both sides of the ... read more

July 28, 2015 — A team of sled dogs racing through the snowy forests of northern Canada conjures up the timeless spirit of exploration. But the intrepid youths on the sleds may not be exactly what you’re picturing ... read more

July 13, 2015 — One in four dogs competing in the world's largest canine show (Crufts) is overweight, despite the perception that entrants are supposed to represent ideal specimens of their breed, reveals ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Female banded mongooses risk their lives to mate with rivals during pack 'warfare' and both males and females have also learned to discriminate between relatives and non-relatives to avoid ... read more

European Rule Changes on Cross Border Pet Transport May Heighten Rabies Risk

June 26, 2015 — Recent changes to regulations on the transport of pets across Europe may have increased the threat of introducing rabies from rescue dogs into countries considered free of the disease, suggests ... read more

June 22, 2015 — Through a rare mixed-species association observed between a carnivorous predator and a potential prey, biologists have identified that solitary Ethiopian wolves will forage for rodents among grazing ... read more

History of Native Welsh Sheep Breeds Uncovered

June 22, 2015 — The genetic integrity of native Welsh sheep breeds combined with contemporary scientific techniques will develop the commercial flocks of the ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Pet dogs may be humans' best friends in a new arena of life: cancer treatment, says a veterinary clinical medicine. Physiological similarities between dogs and humans, and conserved genetics ... read more

June 12, 2015 — Dogs are known to be excellent readers of human body language in multiple situations. Surprisingly, however, scientists have so far found that dogs do not follow human gaze into distant space. ... read more

Scientists See a Natural Place for 'Rewilded' Plants in Organic Farming

May 28, 2015 — One key element of organic agriculture is that it rejects unpredictable technologies, such as genetic engineering. But what if adding a gene from undomesticated plants to bring back a natural trait ... read more

Barking Characterizes Dogs as Voice Characterizes People

May 28, 2015 — Research on canine behavior shows that gender, age, context and individual recognition can be identified with a high percentage of success through statistical and computational methods of pattern ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Dogs' special relationship to humans may go back 27,000 to 40,000 years, according to genomic analysis of an ancient Taimyr wolf bone. Earlier genome-based estimates have suggested that the ... read more

May 20, 2015 — Their migration spanned half the globe and their culture was spread across the Pacific and Indian Oceans; but in Madagascar, the ancient Indonesians left behind a ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Brown Dog Ticks can drive homeowners and their canines to extreme measures. But new research may help alleviate the problem: homeowners can use pesticides to control the ticks, but "the vacuum ... read more

May 18, 2015 — Gray wolves in Yellowstone National Park have given researchers the first scientific evidence from wild mammals that living in a group can lessen the impacts of a chronic disease. The research also ... read more

May 14, 2015 — Dogs who suffer with separation anxiety become more optimistic when taking the animal equivalent of Prozac during behavioral treatment, according to the results of an innovative new study. Canine ... read more

Belgian Shepherd Dogs Seem to Have Genetic Protection Against Diabetes

May 14, 2015 — A genetic interaction which may protect Belgian shepherd dogs from developing diabetes has been discovered by researchers. In this breed, the scientists found a novel mechanism of regulating blood ... read more

May 13, 2015 — New research shows children often have a closer relationship with their pet than their ... read more

May 11, 2015 — Over nearly 15 years spent studying ticks, a new study has found southern Indiana to be an oasis free from Lyme disease, the condition most associated with ticks -- the second most common parasitic ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014