Dogs News
May 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:59am EDT

More Dogs News
May 5, 2015

Canine Cancer Cell Lines for Research and Drug Development

Apr. 22, 2015 — Analagous to the NCI-60, a new panel of authenticated canine cancer cell lines lets veterinary researchers experiment with known ... read more

Gene Signatures Predict Doxorubicin Response in Canine Osteosarcoma

Apr. 19, 2015 — A gene expression model that predicts canine osteosarcoma response to doxorubicin has been identified by researchers, potentially allowing veterinary oncologists to better choose which drug to use ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — A global study on canine rabies has found that 160 people die every single day from the disease. The report is the first study to consider the impact in terms of deaths and the economic costs of ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Generally, Western societies maintain high standards of everyday hygiene. When it comes to 'man's best friend,' however, it seems we turn a blind eye! New research explores the reasons ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — One of the biggest challenges in the training and testing of canine teams results from the explosives materials themselves - especially new homemade explosives. A new training aid has been created ... read more

Dog DNA Tests Alone Not Enough for Healthy Pedigree, Experts Say

Mar. 4, 2015 — Breeding dogs on the basis of a single genetic test carries risks and may not improve the health of pedigree lines, experts warn. Only a combined approach that makes use of DNA analysis, health ... read more

Infection Control Experts Outline Guidance for Animal Visitations in Hospitals

Mar. 2, 2015 — New expert guidance outlines recommendations for developing policies regarding the use of animals in healthcare facilities, including animal-assisted activities, service animals, research animals and ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Tigers, lions and other wild carnivores, already under threat from poaching and habitat loss, are falling victim to Canine distemper, and could soon drive endangered populations to ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Cats may prefer to use their eyes rather than follow their nose when it comes to finding the location of food, according to new research by leading animal ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — The biological mechanism that may give some cancer cells the ability to form tumors in dogs has been identified by researchers. The recent study uncovered an association between the increased ... read more

Wildlife at Risk Around the Globe: Scientists Say Vaccinating Endangered Carnivores of Increasing Importance

Feb. 12, 2015 — Experts from around the world focused on the threat that canine distemper virus poses to the conservation of increasingly fragmented populations of threatened carnivores. While canine distemper has ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — Scientists have genetically describe the first kobuviruses to be reported from Africa. The results show that the viruses are less host-specific than previously ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Canine distemper, a viral disease that's been infecting the famed lions of Tanzania's Serengeti National Park, appears to be spread by multiple animal species, according to a study ... read more

Jan. 26, 2015 — Pets with out-of-date rabies vaccinations are very unlikely to develop the fatal disease if given a rabies booster immediately after exposure to the virus, a new study by veterinary diagnosticians ... read more

Jan. 20, 2015 — Dogs are 'man's best friend.' The origins of this dog-human relationship were subject of a study by behavioral scientists. They showed that the ancestors of dogs, the wolves, are at ... read more

Helicopter Parenting Better for Pets Than for Kids

Jan. 14, 2015 — Helicopter parenting may not be the best strategy for raising independent kids. But a healthy measure of overprotectiveness could actually be advantageous when raising dogs and cats, according to a ... read more

Clinical Trial Shows Benefits of Animal-Assisted Therapy in Adult Cancer Patients Undergoing Complex Cancer Treatment With Chemotherapy, Radiation Therapy

Jan. 13, 2015 — Therapy dogs may improve the emotional well-being of some cancer patients, according to results of a clinical study, the first to document the benefits of animal-assisted therapy in adult cancer ... read more

Ouch! When Teeth and Hands Connect, Bites May Be Beastly

Jan. 5, 2015 — Hand injuries are frequently caused by human and animal bites, prompting as many as 330,000 emergency department visits in the United States each year. A literature review outlines the potential ... read more

Dec. 31, 2014 — A MERTK gene defect responsible for a recently identified form of progressive retinal atrophy in Swedish vallhund dogs has been found by an international team of scientists. This discovery opens the ... read more

Children With Autism Who Live With Pets Are More Assertive

Dec. 30, 2014 — Dogs and other pets play an important role in individuals' social lives, and they can act as catalysts for social interaction, previous research has shown. Although much media attention has ... read more

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Sunday, August 24, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Friday, July 4, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014