Dogs News
July 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:14pm EDT

More Dogs News
July 5, 2015

European Rule Changes on Cross Border Pet Transport May Heighten Rabies Risk

June 26, 2015 — Recent changes to regulations on the transport of pets across Europe may have increased the threat of introducing rabies from rescue dogs into countries considered free of the disease, suggests ... read more

History of Native Welsh Sheep Breeds Uncovered

June 22, 2015 — The genetic integrity of native Welsh sheep breeds combined with contemporary scientific techniques will develop the commercial flocks of the ... read more

May 11, 2015 — Over nearly 15 years spent studying ticks, a new study has found southern Indiana to be an oasis free from Lyme disease, the condition most associated with ticks -- the second most common parasitic ... read more

May 6, 2015 — A clever combination of two different types of computer simulations enabled a group of researchers to uncover an unexpectedly cooperative group dynamic: the spontaneous emergence of resource sharing ... read more

Canine Cancer Cell Lines for Research and Drug Development

Apr. 22, 2015 — Analagous to the NCI-60, a new panel of authenticated canine cancer cell lines lets veterinary researchers experiment with known ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — The good relationship between humans and dogs was certainly influenced by domestication. For long, it was assumed that humans preferred particularly tolerant animals for breeding. Thus, cooperative ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Only three wolves seem to remain in Isle Royale National Park. Researchers observed the wolves during their annual Winter Study, and the lone group, at an unprecedented low, is a sharp decline from ... read more

Ways to Avoid Catching Diseases from Pets

Apr. 20, 2015 — Pets can pass diseases to humans, especially when a pet owner's immune system is compromised. Here, veterinarians outline ways for families to avoid disease transmission by choosing the right ... read more

Gene Signatures Predict Doxorubicin Response in Canine Osteosarcoma

Apr. 19, 2015 — A gene expression model that predicts canine osteosarcoma response to doxorubicin has been identified by researchers, potentially allowing veterinary oncologists to better choose which drug to use ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — A global study on canine rabies has found that 160 people die every single day from the disease. The report is the first study to consider the impact in terms of deaths and the economic costs of ... read more

Novel Neurodegenerative Disease and Gene Identified With the Help of 'Man's Best Friend'

Apr. 16, 2015 — A breakthrough study performed with veterinary neurologists and neuropathologists has identified a gene mutation that causes a novel type of neurodegenerative disease in dogs. The results of the ... read more

Canine Influenza: Veterinarian Explains What Every Dog Owner Should Know About Disease

Apr. 15, 2015 — A veterinarian explains what pet owners need to know about canine influenza and how they can protect their ... read more

Can Humans Get Norovirus from Their Dogs?

Apr. 10, 2015 — Human norovirus may infect our canine companions, according to research. That raises the possibility of dog-to-human transmission, says a veterinarian and first author of a new ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — There is substantial genetic variation in nature for both long-term seasonal acclimation and short-term acclimation associated with rapid extreme weather events, a new study shows. While much of the ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Generally, Western societies maintain high standards of everyday hygiene. When it comes to 'man's best friend,' however, it seems we turn a blind eye! New research explores the reasons ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — One of the biggest challenges in the training and testing of canine teams results from the explosives materials themselves - especially new homemade explosives. A new training aid has been created ... read more

Old Cancer Drug Could Have New Use in Fighting Cancer

Apr. 1, 2015 — An old cancer drug can not only kill cancer cells, but also works to change how certain cancer cells function, weakening those cells so they can be killed by other drugs, a veterinary researcher has ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — As more animal shelters, primate centers and zoos start to play music for their charges, it's still not clear whether and how human music affects animals. Now, a study shows that while cats ... read more

Scent-Trained Dog Detects Thyroid Cancer in Human Urine Samples

Mar. 7, 2015 — A trained scent dog accurately identified whether patients' urine samples had thyroid cancer or were benign (noncancerous) 88.2 percent of the time, according to a new ... read more

Dog DNA Tests Alone Not Enough for Healthy Pedigree, Experts Say

Mar. 4, 2015 — Breeding dogs on the basis of a single genetic test carries risks and may not improve the health of pedigree lines, experts warn. Only a combined approach that makes use of DNA analysis, health ... read more

Friday, June 26, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Sunday, August 24, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014