Genetics News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:17am EDT

More Genetics News
July 28, 2015

July 27, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a long-overlooked process important for converting a long, string-like DNA molecule into a chromosome. This finding gives us a better understanding of the mechanism of how ... read more

Tool Developed for More Accurate Interpretation of Biomedical Research

July 23, 2015 — Investigators have recently achieved great success with a study involving biomedical research on mouse models. The research group recently used tangible examples to demonstrate how the side effects ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have exploited the light of fireflies in a new method that detects biological molecules without the need for complex devices and high costs. The researchers were able to add a small ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have published an overall map of how the cells in the human body communicate by systematically analyzing the relationship between ligands and ... read more

Yeast Cells Optimize Their Genomes in Response to the Environment

July 21, 2015 — Researchers have shown that yeast can modify their genomes to take advantage of an excess of calories in the environment and attain optimal ... read more

Sweet Revenge Against Superbugs

July 21, 2015 — A special type of synthetic sugar could be the latest weapon in the fight against superbugs. A team of scientists has discovered a potential new class of antibiotics inspired by sugar molecules ... read more

July 21, 2015 — The things we do to extend our lives -- quitting smoking, cutting back on carbs, taking up jogging -- all have some impact on our longevity, if only just a little. But no matter how hard we work ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Information embedded within DNA has long contributed to biodiversity conservation, helping to reconstruct the past history of species, assess their current status, and guide strategies for their ... read more

New Insights Into Biofilm Formation Could Lead to Better Therapies, but Mysteries Remain

July 20, 2015 — Biofilms are tough, opportunistic, highly antibiotic resistant bacterial coatings that form on catheters and on medical devices implanted within the body. Investigators have now shown that a ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Some bacteria and viruses take advantage of the way our immune system works to infect us. Researchers now describe some of the trickery used by ... read more

July 20, 2015 — In a world first study, researchers have unlocked the genetic mystery of why some fish are able to adjust to warming oceans. Researchers examined how the fish's genes responded after several ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Anyone who's ever noticed a water puddle drying in the sun has seen an environment that may have driven the type of chemical reactions that scientists believe were critical to the formation of ... read more

July 17, 2015 — Genetic differences between hemp and marijuana determine whether Cannabis plants have the potential for psychoactivity, a new study shows. The market for hemp seed and fiber in the U.S. surpassed ... read more

July 17, 2015 — A recent study reveals a novel workflow, identifying associations between molecules to provide insights into cellular metabolism and gene expression in complex biological ... read more

July 17, 2015 — A group of scientists proposes a quick alternative for predicting the internal dynamics of RNA molecules (how the different parts move in relation to each other). This simple solution, which uses ... read more

July 16, 2015 — In response to an infection, the immune system refines its defensive proteins, called antibodies, to better target an invader. New research has revealed two mechanisms that favor the selection of B ... read more

July 16, 2015 — According to new research, the defense hormone salicylic acid helps select which bacteria live both inside and on the surface of a plant's roots, keeping some bacteria out and actively ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Iron regulatory proteins play an important role in the body's immune system. Proteins responsible for controlling levels of iron in the body also play an important role in combating infection, ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Space may not be the final frontier for researchers who want to grow plants there. Because, who knows, we may one day try to live on Mars, and to survive, we’ll have to grow our own food. Thus far, ... read more

July 15, 2015 — A research team has reconstructed the crystal structure of BAP, a protein involved in the process by which marine archaea release carbon, to determine how it functioned, as well as its larger role in ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015