Genetics News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:16am EDT

More Genetics News
July 30, 2015

July 27, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a long-overlooked process important for converting a long, string-like DNA molecule into a chromosome. This finding gives us a better understanding of the mechanism of how ... read more

July 24, 2015 — The DNA sequences of the 228 known butterfly species in the Iberian peninsula have been obtained by researchers who compared it to available data for Europe. Their study compiles 3500 genetic ... read more

Fighting Mosquito Resistance to Insecticides

July 23, 2015 — Controlling mosquitoes that carry human diseases is a global health challenge as their ability to resist insecticides now threatens efforts to prevent epidemics. Scientists have identified new ... read more

July 23, 2015 — When does aging really begin? Scientists now have a molecular clue. In a study of the roundworm C. elegans, they found that adult cells abruptly begin their downhill slide when an animal reaches ... read more

Tool Developed for More Accurate Interpretation of Biomedical Research

July 23, 2015 — Investigators have recently achieved great success with a study involving biomedical research on mouse models. The research group recently used tangible examples to demonstrate how the side effects ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Its unusual biological characteristics make the flightless kiwi a unique kind of bird. Researchers have now sequenced the genetic code of this endangered species and have identified several sequence ... read more

July 22, 2015 — The structure of a simple but previously unexamined pump that controls the passage of proteins through a bacterial cell membrane has been discovered by researchers. This achievement that offers new ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A biomedical breakthrough reveals never-before-seen details of the human body's cellular switchboard that regulates sensory and hormonal responses. The work is based on an X-ray laser ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have exploited the light of fireflies in a new method that detects biological molecules without the need for complex devices and high costs. The researchers were able to add a small ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have published an overall map of how the cells in the human body communicate by systematically analyzing the relationship between ligands and ... read more

Yeast Cells Optimize Their Genomes in Response to the Environment

July 21, 2015 — Researchers have shown that yeast can modify their genomes to take advantage of an excess of calories in the environment and attain optimal ... read more

Sweet Revenge Against Superbugs

July 21, 2015 — A special type of synthetic sugar could be the latest weapon in the fight against superbugs. A team of scientists has discovered a potential new class of antibiotics inspired by sugar molecules ... read more

July 21, 2015 — The things we do to extend our lives -- quitting smoking, cutting back on carbs, taking up jogging -- all have some impact on our longevity, if only just a little. But no matter how hard we work ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Information embedded within DNA has long contributed to biodiversity conservation, helping to reconstruct the past history of species, assess their current status, and guide strategies for their ... read more

New Insights Into Biofilm Formation Could Lead to Better Therapies, but Mysteries Remain

July 20, 2015 — Biofilms are tough, opportunistic, highly antibiotic resistant bacterial coatings that form on catheters and on medical devices implanted within the body. Investigators have now shown that a ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Some bacteria and viruses take advantage of the way our immune system works to infect us. Researchers now describe some of the trickery used by ... read more

July 20, 2015 — In a world first study, researchers have unlocked the genetic mystery of why some fish are able to adjust to warming oceans. Researchers examined how the fish's genes responded after several ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Anyone who's ever noticed a water puddle drying in the sun has seen an environment that may have driven the type of chemical reactions that scientists believe were critical to the formation of ... read more

July 17, 2015 — Genetic differences between hemp and marijuana determine whether Cannabis plants have the potential for psychoactivity, a new study shows. The market for hemp seed and fiber in the U.S. surpassed ... read more

July 17, 2015 — A recent study reveals a novel workflow, identifying associations between molecules to provide insights into cellular metabolism and gene expression in complex biological ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015