Genetics News
August 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:16am EDT

More Genetics News
August 5, 2015

Aug. 4, 2015 — Active biological mechanisms transport scent and taste compounds known as volatiles from plant cells to the atmosphere, researchers report, a finding that could overturn the textbook model of ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — An atomic view of microtubules has been produced that enabled researchers to identify the crucial role played by a family of end-binding proteins in regulating microtubule dynamic instability, the ... read more

Effect of Environmental Epigenetics on Disease, Evolution

Aug. 3, 2015 — Environmental factors are having an underappreciated effect on the course of disease and evolution by prompting genetic mutations through epigenetics, a process by which genes are turned on and off ... read more

RNA-Binding Protein Influences Key Mediator of Cellular Inflammation, Stress Responses

July 31, 2015 — RNA-binding proteins such as RC3H1 regulate the degradation of the mRNA molecules and thus prevent the production of specific proteins. Researchers have now shown that ROQUIN binds several thousand ... read more

Protein Machines Make Fluctuating Flows Unconsciously

July 31, 2015 — Protein machines, regardless of their specific functions, can collectively induce fluctuating hydrodynamic flows and substantially enhance the diffusive motions of particles in the cell, an ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Scientists have solved the structure of the MCM2-7 Complex, which plays a key role in destabilizing and unwinding duplex DNA during DNA replication. More than 60 years ago, when Francis Crick and ... read more

July 27, 2015 — If you haven't heard of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome, thank geography, NGOs, and government agencies like the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the World Health Organization ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Biologists have discovered how the rice plant's immune system is triggered by disease, in a discovery that could boost crop yields and lead to more disease-resistant types of ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Researchers have identified the master switch for formation of the Casparian strip, a special structure in the root that plays an important role in nutrient ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a long-overlooked process important for converting a long, string-like DNA molecule into a chromosome. This finding gives us a better understanding of the mechanism of how ... read more

Unlocking the Rice Immune System

July 24, 2015 — Researchers have identified a bacterial signaling molecule that triggers an immunity response in rice plants, enabling the plants to resist a devastating blight ... read more

July 24, 2015 — Scientists have unraveled how an important plant protein, known as TOPLESS, interacts with other molecules responsible for turning genes off. The findings in plants provide a general model across ... read more

July 24, 2015 — The health of Colorado's bighorn sheep population remains as precarious as the steep alpine terrain the animals inhabit, but a new study has found that inbreeding -- a common hypothesis for a ... read more

July 24, 2015 — Pathogenic bacteria develop killer machines that work very specifically and highly efficiently. Scientists have solved the molecular mechanism of a fish toxin that could be used in the future as a ... read more

July 24, 2015 — The DNA sequences of the 228 known butterfly species in the Iberian peninsula have been obtained by researchers who compared it to available data for Europe. Their study compiles 3500 genetic ... read more

Fighting Mosquito Resistance to Insecticides

July 23, 2015 — Controlling mosquitoes that carry human diseases is a global health challenge as their ability to resist insecticides now threatens efforts to prevent epidemics. Scientists have identified new ... read more

July 23, 2015 — When does aging really begin? Scientists now have a molecular clue. In a study of the roundworm C. elegans, they found that adult cells abruptly begin their downhill slide when an animal reaches ... read more

Tool Developed for More Accurate Interpretation of Biomedical Research

July 23, 2015 — Investigators have recently achieved great success with a study involving biomedical research on mouse models. The research group recently used tangible examples to demonstrate how the side effects ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Its unusual biological characteristics make the flightless kiwi a unique kind of bird. Researchers have now sequenced the genetic code of this endangered species and have identified several sequence ... read more

July 22, 2015 — The structure of a simple but previously unexamined pump that controls the passage of proteins through a bacterial cell membrane has been discovered by researchers. This achievement that offers new ... read more

Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015