Behavioral Science News
August 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:16pm EDT

More Behavioral Science News
August 4, 2015

Are Animal Models Still Essential to Biological Research?

Aug. 3, 2015 — A new article covers the use of animal models in scientific research. The use of animals in scientific research prompts regular debate and it can be difficult to garner a clear picture of the actual ... read more

July 28, 2015 — A model to help land managers protect the threatened piping plover, a tiny shorebird, against habitat damage and predation has been created by a scientist. The bird's neighborhood preference has ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Researchers have studied beef cattle with in-ear accelerometers. These units may be able pick up signs that relate to early stages of disease in ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Gut worms can protect babies' brains from inflammation and long-term learning and memory problems caused by newborn infections, a new study on rats has shown. Expectant mother rats with ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Biologists have succeeded in teaching wild birds to understand a new language. After only two days of training, fairy wrens learned to flee when they heard an alarm call that was foreign to them, ... read more

July 16, 2015 — The itchy marks left by the punctured bite of a mosquito are more than pesky, unwelcomed mementos of a day at the lake. These aggravating bites can also be conduits for hitchhiking pathogens to worm ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Aging damselflies never lose their libidos and are just as likely as younger competitors to mate, scientists report. Although the life of the azure damselfly is actually quite short--most insects in ... read more

July 15, 2015 — A new study on animal behavior theorizes cats scratch more due to pheromones left behind from previous cat ... read more

You Need This Hole in the Head -- To Be Smart

July 15, 2015 — Researchers have shown that intelligence in animal species can be estimated by the size of the holes in the skull through which the arteries ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Researchers are creating a buzz in bee research, gluing tiny transmitters to the backs of the insects for the first time. Biologists glued RFID chips to the backs of 960 bees, providing new insights ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Male black widow spiders destroy large sections of the female's web during courtship and wrap it up in their own silk. New research shows that this home-wrecking behavior deters rival males, by ... read more

Modeling a Nervous Pathway Involved in Touch-Induced Behavior

July 9, 2015 — Many animals actively touch objects in their environment and respond to them by appropriate movement sequences. Biologists have captured the key properties of a wide variety of descending neurons ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Neuroscientists have introduced a new paradigm for brain-machine interfaces that investigates the physiological properties and adaptability of brain circuits, and how the brains of two or more ... read more

Spawning Frequency Regulates Species Population Networks on Coral Reefs

July 8, 2015 — Releasing larvae more often is beneficial for a species' network, new research on tropical coral reef ecosystems shows. The study on reproductive strategies is critical to assess the ... read more

July 8, 2015 — A team of international scientists has tracked the love lives of koalas, uncovering some curious behaviors and finding that male koalas make their distinct bellows to avoid confrontation with ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Have you ever wondered why eating one good-tasting French fry may lead you to eat the whole batch and leave you wanting ... read more

July 7, 2015 — New research has identified the neural circuit in the brain of the fruit fly (Drosophila melanogaster) that is responsible for detecting a taste pheromone, which controls the decision of male flies ... read more

July 6, 2015 — They may be viewed by some as an invasive species or a commonplace pest of public parks, but a new study has shown that grey squirrels are actually quick learners capable of adapting tactics to ... read more

July 4, 2015 — A climate-induced change of male dragon lizards into females occurring in the wild has been confirmed for the first time, according to recent ... read more

July 3, 2015 — The brain hidden inside the oldest known Old World monkey skull has been visualized for the first time. The ancient monkey, known as Victoriapithecus, first made headlines in 1997 when its 15 ... read more

Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015