Behavioral Science News
July 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:45am EDT

More Behavioral Science News
July 6, 2015

Muzzle in on Cattle Classification

June 29, 2015 — Researchers are developing a biometric identification system for cattle that could reduce food fraud and allow ranchers to control their stock more efficiently. The system uses the unique features of ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Being the daddy isn't important for male gorillas when it comes to their relationships with the kids; it's their rank in the group that makes the difference, says new research. Researchers ... read more

June 16, 2015 — The cooperative or integrative aspects of insect colonies, such as information sharing among colony mates, can reduce the need for individual cognition in these societies, a new study suggests. ... read more

June 12, 2015 — Animals wearing new tagging and tracking devices give a real-time look at their behavior and at the environmental health of the planet, say ... read more

June 12, 2015 — Dogs are known to be excellent readers of human body language in multiple situations. Surprisingly, however, scientists have so far found that dogs do not follow human gaze into distant space. ... read more

Woodlice Can Calm Their Excited Neighbors

June 11, 2015 — Woodlice, familiar to the amateur gardeners, are easily observable living in groups sheltered under stones or barks. Research shows how a 'contagion' between the different behavioral states ... read more

June 11, 2015 — Researchers studying banded mongooses in Uganda have discovered that these small mammals are able to discriminate between relatives and non-relatives to avoid ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Plants can undergo the same extreme 'chromosome shattering' seen in some human cancers and developmental syndromes, researchers have found. Chromosome shattering, or ... read more

June 8, 2015 — Chimpanzees are capable of metacognition, or thinking about one's own thinking, and can adjust their behavior accordingly, researchers have ... read more

New Study Shows the Dynamics of Active Swarms in Alternating Fields

June 5, 2015 — The dynamics of active swarms have been studied using computer simulations and experiments on unicellular algae. The team not only found full analogy of the active motion in a field to magnetic ... read more

June 4, 2015 — The ability to delay gratification in chimpanzees is linked to how specific structures of the brain are connected and communicate with each other, according to new ... read more

June 4, 2015 — An American study in mice reveals that hormones that dictate a female's attraction towards males do so in part by controlling her sense of smell. The findings provide an example of how hormones ... read more

June 3, 2015 — Scientists have undertaken to map the neural circuitry involved in the conversion of olfactory inputs into navigational behaviors in the fruit fly larva. The work is a new example on how systems ... read more

Varroa Destructor Mite Mimics Two Types of Bee

June 3, 2015 — The parasitic bee mite Varroa destructor, which can mimic the chemical composition of its host's cuticle, is also capable of adapting this composition according to the bee species that it ... read more

June 3, 2015 — The first feeding study of tropical Australia's Irukandji box jellyfish has found that they actively fish. They attract larval fish by twitching their extended tentacles, highlighting their ... read more

June 2, 2015 — New research has found that the 6 gram brown thornbill mimics the hawk alarm calls of neighboring species to scare a nest predator by convincing it that a much bigger and scarier predator -- the ... read more

May 29, 2015 — Male moths locate females by navigating along the latter's pheromone (odor) plume. Two strategies are involved: males must find the outer envelope of the pheromone plume, and then head upwind. ... read more

May 28, 2015 — Flies might be smarter than you think. New research shows fruit flies know what time of day it is. What's more, the insects can learn to connect different scents with the sweet reward of sugar, ... read more

Study Tackles Evolution Mystery of Animal, Plant Warning Cues for Survival

May 27, 2015 — Not every encounter between predator and prey results in death. A new study co-authored by a University of Tennessee, Knoxville, professor suggests that prey emit warning cues that can ultimately ... read more

May 27, 2015 — A longhorned beetle's sexy scent might make a female perk up her antennae. But when the males of several species all smell the same, a female cannot choose by cologne alone. For these beetles to ... read more

Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Saturday, April 4, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015