Behavioral Science News
September 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:17pm EDT

More Behavioral Science News
September 4, 2015

Aug. 13, 2015 — A new study explains how taste and smell signals travel from a male fruit fly's sense organs into his higher brain as he assesses a potential mate. The research may provide important clues about ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Male elephant seals compete fiercely for access to females during the breeding season, and their violent, bloody fights take a toll on both winners and losers. These battles are relatively rare, ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — When the larger Pacific striped octopus was first observed in the 1970s, its unusual social and mating behavior were so strange that no one would publish it. But researchers have now found it all ... read more

Scent Matters to Fur Seals

Aug. 12, 2015 — Antarctic fur seals have unique ‘scent profile’ to recognize their pups, scientists have found. Until now researchers thought voice recognition was mostly important for finding their young, but ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Stripes might not offer protection for animals living in groups, such as zebra, as previously thought, according to research. Humans playing a computer game captured striped targets more easily than ... read more

Prevention Methods for Dog Bites Too Simplistic, Researchers Find

Aug. 11, 2015 — Educating pet owners about canine body language may not be the answer to preventing dog bites as originally thought, new research suggests. Experts have argued that dog bites are preventable if ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — It's no surprise that some frogs secrete poison from glands in their skin. But researchers have discovered the first two species of frog, both living in Brazil, that are actually venomous. Not ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Insecticides that are sprayed in orchards and fields across North America may be more toxic to spiders than scientists previously believed. The researchers focused on the way that exposure to ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — New camera technology that reveals the world through the eyes of animals has been developed. The software, which converts digital photos to animal vision, can be used to analyze colors and patterns ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — When it comes to courting, one common spider species is quick to learn, and that learning process involves eavesdropping on the visual cues of rivals to win their mate. Scientists report that when ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Researchers analyzed circadian rhythms in abundance and type of microbiota in the gut and feces of mice using genetic sequencing. They found that the absolute abundance of a large group of rod-shaped ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — African fish called mormyrids communicate by means of electric signals. Fish in one group can glean detailed information from a signal's waveform, but fish in another group are insensitive to ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Having neural machinery dedicated to face processing suggests that this ability is hard-wired in dogs through cognitive evolution, and may help explain dogs' extreme sensitivity to human social ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — From an early age, human infants are able to produce vocalizations in a wide range of emotional states and situations -- an ability felt to be one of the factors required for the development of ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — A neurological mechanism has been discovered that could explain how songbirds' neural creativity-generator lets them refine and alter their songs as ... read more

Are Animal Models Still Essential to Biological Research?

Aug. 3, 2015 — A new article covers the use of animal models in scientific research. The use of animals in scientific research prompts regular debate and it can be difficult to garner a clear picture of the actual ... read more

Countering Pet Obesity by Rethinking Feeding Habits

July 30, 2015 — The number one cause of malnutrition in American pets is obesity. Research experts share causes, implications and potential solutions to this ... read more

Electric Fields Signal 'No Flies Zone'

July 30, 2015 — The behavior of fruit flies, which are commonly used in laboratory experiments, is altered by electric fields, new research shows. The research indicates that the wings of the insects are disturbed ... read more

When Cars and Wildlife Collide: Virtual Reality Could Prevent Real-Life Road Accidents

July 29, 2015 — Using a novel simulation approach, researchers took a closer look at how an interactive system, meant to reduce road accidents involving wild animals, can actually affect driver ... read more

Sleepy Fruitflies Get Mellow

July 28, 2015 — Whether you're a human, a mouse, or even a fruitfly, losing sleep is a bad thing, leading to physiological effects and behavioral changes. Researchers used fruitflies to probe deeper into the ... read more

Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015