Behavioral Science News
October 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:47pm EDT

More Behavioral Science News
October 5, 2015

Sep. 9, 2015 — Birds stopping for a break during their grueling migratory flights face a difficult tradeoff: They need to fuel up with food as efficiently as possible, but they need to avoid predators while they do ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — Understanding the biomechanics of natural cartilage could lead to the development of better artificial joint implants. That's exactly the goal of researchers. The team studied kangaroo cartilage ... read more

Huddling Rats Behave as a 'Super-Organism'

Sep. 3, 2015 — Rodents huddle together when it is cold, they separate when it is warm, and at moderate temperatures they cycle between the warm center and the cold edges of the ... read more

Animal Without Synapses Feeds by External Digestion Using Global, Local Cellular Control

Sep. 2, 2015 — A multicellular marine animal without organs, Trichoplax's feeding behavior may include cellular coordination, resulting in external food ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — The hierarchy in a group of dogs is not based on aggression but on submissiveness. A dog ranked lower in the hierarchy displays signals of submissive behavior towards dogs ranked higher. These ... read more

Compound Found in Red Wine Causes Conflicting Changes in Dogs' Immune Systems

Aug. 24, 2015 — Researchers have found that resveratrol does affect the immune systems of dogs in different ways when introduced to dogs' ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — Animal sexual reproduction can involve males attempting to entice or force females to mate with them, even if they are not initially interested.This male behavior is driven by conflicts of interest ... read more

Worming Our Way to a New Understanding of Behavior

Aug. 21, 2015 — The wriggling and writhing of worms may hold clues to the inner workings of our brains, according to scientists who have developed a pioneering tool to analyze a worm's posture as it wriggles, ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Research reveals new insight behind widespread wildlife extinctions, shrinking fish sizes, and disruptions to global food chains. 'Our wickedly efficient killing technology, global economic ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — New research investigates the archerfish and its sharp-shooting ability, showing for the first time that there is little difference in the amount of force of their water jets based on target ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Arachnophobes fearful of spiders jumping, creeping or falling into their beds now have something new to worry about. Some spiders might also glide in through the ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Animal sex signals, communications between partners indicating health, the capacity to produce healthy offspring and more, were thought to be beneficial and passed down from generation to generation. ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — How scientists study the effects of marijuana on the brain is changing. Until recently marijuana research largely excluded tobacco users from its participant pool, but scientists have found reason to ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A salamander found preserved in amber from the Dominican Republic is the first-ever fossil of its kind, and also shows that salamanders once lived in the Caribbean region, where they now are all ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Frolicking, wrestling, climbing, jumping -- Playing is a lot of fun and promotes development but is also very strenuous. Behavioral biologists therefore suspect that animals only play intensively if ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Koko the gorilla is best known for a lifelong study to teach her a silent form of communication, American Sign Language. But some of the simple sounds she has learned may change the perception that ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — A new study explains how taste and smell signals travel from a male fruit fly's sense organs into his higher brain as he assesses a potential mate. The research may provide important clues about ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Male elephant seals compete fiercely for access to females during the breeding season, and their violent, bloody fights take a toll on both winners and losers. These battles are relatively rare, ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — When the larger Pacific striped octopus was first observed in the 1970s, its unusual social and mating behavior were so strange that no one would publish it. But researchers have now found it all ... read more

Scent Matters to Fur Seals

Aug. 12, 2015 — Antarctic fur seals have unique ‘scent profile’ to recognize their pups, scientists have found. Until now researchers thought voice recognition was mostly important for finding their young, but ... read more

Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015