Behavioral Science News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:22am EST

More Behavioral Science News
December 1, 2015

Nov. 30, 2015 — Fruit flies studies on mating compatibility have been examined to assess the usefulness of walk-in field cages in sexual behavior research within fruit fly species complexes and recognition of ... read more

How Do Fruit Flies Maintain Flight Stability?

Nov. 23, 2015 — Have you ever wondered why insects move in the funky ways they do? Or how physical laws shape the design of animals' sensors and neural computation for locomotion? These are a just a few of the ... read more

Gulls Follow Ducks to Find Dinner

Nov. 5, 2015 — Gulls have learned to follow diving ducks and take the bottom-dwelling mussels that the ducks bring to the surface, a food source that would otherwise be inaccessible to them. Gulls are one of the ... read more

Chimpanzee Language Claims Lost in Translation, Researchers Conclude

Nov. 2, 2015 — Research published earlier this year claiming chimpanzees can learn each others' language is not supported, a team of scientists concludes after reviewing the ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Among social insects, why does it pay for workers to help the queen in some situations but then also pay to kill her in others? What explains why some queens get killed and not others, and why kill ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Even as larvae, honey bees are tuned in to the social culture of the hive, becoming more or less aggressive depending on who raises them, researchers ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — Electric eels temporarily paralyze their prey by shocking them with electricity using a series of brief, high-voltage pulses, much as a Taser would do. Now, a researcher has discovered that the eels ... read more

Oldest DNA Sequences May Reveal Secrets of Ancient Animal Ancestors

Oct. 28, 2015 — Researchers have discovered early conserved DNA sequences from almost 700 million years ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — Researchers have found that fish release a chemical 'distress call' when caught by predators, dramatically boosting their chances of ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Collections of ants have a remarkable ability to change shapes and tasks based on the demands of their environment. When floodwaters hit, they self-assemble and form rafts to stay alive. They can ... read more

Research Suggests Canine Companionship Helps Calm Children Undergoing Cancer Treatment

Oct. 23, 2015 — Although survival rates for children diagnosed with cancer have increased dramatically over the past 40 years, hard evidence of proven psychosocial benefits to improve quality of life among patients ... read more

Collaborative Research Reveals a New View of Cell Division

Oct. 23, 2015 — Basic research into the mechanisms of cell division, using eggs and embryos from frogs and starfish, has led researchers to an unexpected discovery about how animal cells control the forces that ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — Researchers have identified neurons in a cockroach's brain that control whether the insect walks slow or fast, turns right or left or downshifts to climb. Electrical stimulation selectively ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — A mammal that has long been studied for its unusual social behavior is not inbred, as previously thought and is genetically more complex that people previously believed, a study ... read more

How a Flying Bat Sees Space

Oct. 22, 2015 — By training bats to fly around obstacles in a room, and sit patiently on a platform, a research team were able to interpret how the animals use echolocation -- a high-frequency sound navigation ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — New research provides first direct evidence that an algae-infecting virus can invade and potentially replicate within some mammalian cells. It follows up a 2014 study that found signs of a ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Not being picky about your food means you can live just about anywhere, and some vultures are good at adapting to landscape fragmentation caused by humans, but new research shows that different ... read more

Growing Up Without Parents Makes Endangered Birds More Flexible

Oct. 21, 2015 — This is it, kids: official permission to stop listening to what your parents tell you -- but only if you're a bird. Many animal parents spend time teaching their young about how to find food and ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Biology professors and students use tomatoes from campus garden to teach high schools students about genetic diversity. Students learn about dominant and recessive genes and the genetic influence on ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Chemical signaling among social insects, such as bees, ants and wasps, is more complex than previously thought, according to researchers, whose results refute the idea that a single group of ... read more

Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015