NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
3-D Printing News
February 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:47pm EST

More 3-D Printing News
February 24, 2017

Digital Fabrication in Architecture

Feb. 17, 2017 — Society faces enormous challenges in constructing high-quality, future-oriented built environments. Construction sites today look much like the building sites did at the beginning of the 20th ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Tissue implants customized to a patient could soon be printed using a new type of 3D-printer, say ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — Researchers have developed a process enabling the production of a two millimeter flat camera. Similar to the eyes of insects, its lens is partitioned into 135 tiny facets. Following nature‘s model, ... read more

Future Now: Applying Lasers in 3-D Printing, Manufacturing

Jan. 10, 2017 — With the rapid advancement of technology in the manufacturing arena, 3-D printing is fast becoming a ... read more

Jan. 3, 2017 — Thin films made from silver nanowires are 4,000 times more conductive than films made from other nanoparticle shapes, like spheres or microflakes, says a new study. The results indicate that ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — A recent study shows how smartphones can be used to make movies of living cells, without the need for expensive equipment. The study makes it possible for laboratories around the world to do the same ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — The formation of a simple coffee stain has been the subject of complex study for decades, though it turns out that there remain some stones still to be turned. Researchers have modeled how a ... read more

Dec. 15, 2016 — Engineers reveal a manufacturing technique that promises to bring a simplified form of printing and imaging in color and infrared into daily use. Because the process uses existing materials and ... read more

Dec. 9, 2016 — A physics student adapted open source plans for a prosthetic hand to build a highly functional, affordable prosthetic, outlines a new ... read more

Dec. 8, 2016 — Researchers have developed a way to use commercial inkjet printers and readily available ink to print hidden images that are only visible when illuminated with appropriately polarized waves in the ... read more

3-D Printed Kidney Phantoms Aid Nuclear Medicine Dosing Calibration

Dec. 6, 2016 — In nuclear medicine, the goal is to keep radiation exposure at a minimum, while obtaining quality images. Optimal dosing for individual patients can be difficult to determine. That's where 3-D ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — The first fully functional quadcopter 3D printed in ULTEMTM 9085 aerospace-grade material with electronics embedded was created in a single production step, report ... read more

Nov. 8, 2016 — Researchers have combined one of nature’s tiny miracles, the diatom, with a version of inkjet printing and optical sensing to create an exceptional sensing device that may be up to 10 million times ... read more

Nov. 2, 2016 — A magnetic ink has been developed that can be used to make self-healing batteries, electrochemical sensors and wearable, textile-based electrical ... read more

Nov. 2, 2016 — A major technological advance in the field of high-speed beam-scanning devices has increased the speed of 2-D and 3-D printing by up to 1000 ... read more

Nov. 1, 2016 — Permanent magnets produced by additive manufacturing can outperform bonded magnets made using traditional techniques while conserving critical materials, new research ... read more

Oct. 25, 2016 — Almost all solid materials, from rubber and glass to granite and steel, inevitably expand when heated. Only in very rare instances do certain materials buck this thermodynamic trend and shrink with ... read more

Oct. 5, 2016 — Anyone who's watched drone videos or an episode of "BattleBots" knows that robots can break -- and often it's because they don't have the proper padding to protect ... read more

Sep. 28, 2016 — Engineers have developed a 3-D printable ink that produces a synthetic bone implant that rapidly induces bone regeneration and growth. This hyperelastic "bone" material, whose shape can be ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — Flexible thermoelectric devices are especially attractive for waste heat recovery along contoured surfaces and for energy harvesting applications to power sensors, biomedical devices and wearable ... read more

Friday, February 17, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015