Aviation News
April 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:05pm EDT

More Aviation News
April 23, 2017

Mar. 30, 2017 — Scientists have collaborated with NASA to improve its composite materials for next-generation rocket engines by adding a 'fuzzy' silicon carbide ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Human lives depend on their decisions, and psychological stress levels are high. An average radio contact takes 3.5 to 11.3 seconds, during which the air traffic controller checks in with the pilot, ... read more

New Laser Spectroscopy Technique to Understand Atomic and Nuclear Structure of Radioactive Atoms

Feb. 23, 2017 — An international collaboration with research groups from five countries – Belgium, Finland, France, Germany and Russia – have applyied high-resolution laser ionization of radioactive atoms in a ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Scientists have created unique polymer matrices for polymer composites based on novel phthalonitrile monomers. The developed materials possess higher strength than metals, which helps to sufficiently ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Physicists have created a basis for accurately testing Einstein's equivalence ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — As interest and demand for nanotechnology continues to rise, so will the need for nanoscale printing and spraying, which relies on depositing tiny drops of liquid onto a surface. Now researchers have ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — Fixing flaws introduced during the machining of large components used in the aircraft and heavy equipment industries can be time-consuming for manufacturers – and costly if they must scrap the ... read more

First Ever Perched Landing Performed Using Machine Learning Algorithms

Jan. 11, 2017 — The very first unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to perform a perched landing using machine learning algorithms has been developed by researchers. The revolutionary development of a fixed wing aircraft ... read more

New Microscope Chemically Identifies Micron-Sized Particles

Jan. 5, 2017 — Scientists have developed a microscope that can chemically identify individual micron-sized particles. The new approach could one day be used in airports or other high-security venues as a highly ... read more

Ceramic Matrix Composites Take Flight in LEAP Jet Engine

Jan. 3, 2017 — A quarter-century ago, the Department of Energy began a program to support U.S. development of ceramic matrix composites. In 2016 a new aircraft engine became the first widely deployed CMC-containing ... read more

Realistic Training for Extreme Flight Conditions

Dec. 27, 2016 — Missions at sea, in mountainous regions or close to skyscrapers are extremely risky for helicopter pilots. The turbulent air flows near oil rigs, ships, cliffs and tall buildings can throw a ... read more

New Crew-Scheduling Approach Could Cut Air Travel Delays, Save Airlines Millions

Dec. 20, 2016 — A study based on massive amounts of data offers a new way to forecast flight late arrivals and departures and to schedule crews based on expected needs during holiday and other seasonal travel. The ... read more

Dec. 12, 2016 — Researchers,for the first time, have revealed why the shape of the feather shaft changes from round to square when it's put under ... read more

Dec. 7, 2016 — In what is believed to be the first proof-of-concept study of its kind, researchers have determined that large bags of blood products, such as those transfused into patients every day, can maintain ... read more

Dec. 6, 2016 — Parrotlets flying through a field of lasers and microparticles helped test three popular models that predict the lift generated by flying animals. The work could help develop better flying ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — A ground-breaking technique that allows green spaces to be mapped in 3D from an aircraft could boost biodiversity, aid human wellbeing and even help protect rainforests, say ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — A new radar sensor grants insights into the processes inside snow avalanches. The measuring system has been installed at a test slope in the Swiss canton Valais, where the Swiss Institute for Snow ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — The first fully functional quadcopter 3D printed in ULTEMTM 9085 aerospace-grade material with electronics embedded was created in a single production step, report ... read more

Nov. 29, 2016 — Nervous flyers and crew alike would prefer jet airliners not to vibrate so much at take off. Research points to blue skies thinking that might explain the phenomenon and find ways to reduce the ... read more

Flying Start for World's First Graphene-Enhanced Aircraft

Nov. 28, 2016 — Prospero, the first model aircraft to incorporate a graphene skinned wing, was successfully flown at the Farnborough International Air Show in the UK earlier this year. The flight sets an example of ... read more

Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016