Aviation News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:46pm EDT

More Aviation News
July 26, 2016

June 29, 2016 — Poor weather can often make the operation of rescue helicopters a highly risky business, and sometimes even impossible. A new helmet-mounted display may in the future be able to help pilots detect ... read more

Behavioral Economics Study Shows Boost in Fuel and Carbon Efficiency of Airline Captains

June 20, 2016 — Interventions rooted in behavioral economics can significantly boost the use of fuel- and carbon-efficient flight practices in the airline industry, according to a new ... read more

Making Airport Surface Traffic More Efficient

June 7, 2016 — Many major European airports are unable to expand. This means that aircraft departures, arrivals and surface traffic movements will have to be sped up. A new system designed to make surface movements ... read more

NASA Super Pressure Balloon Begins Globetrotting Journey

May 18, 2016 — NASA successfully launched a super pressure balloon on a potentially record-breaking, around-the-world test ... read more

May 13, 2016 — A volcano erupting and spewing ash into the sky can cover nearby areas under a thick coating of ash and can also have consequences for aviation safety. Airline traffic changes due to a recent ... read more

Sonic Net Could Save Birds and Aircraft, Study Suggests

May 6, 2016 — Introducing a noise net around airfields that emits sound levels equivalent to those of a conversation in a busy restaurant could prevent collisions between birds and aircraft, saving passenger lives ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Long-eared bats are assisted in flight by their ears and body, according to a new study. The recent findings improve researchers' understanding of the bats' flying technique and could be ... read more

Turbulence Physics Explains Why Jet Noise Is So Loud

Apr. 26, 2016 — If you've ever experienced the exceptionally powerful and reverberating sounds of a jet during takeoff, you likely won't be surprised that the noise produced by jet engines is ranked among ... read more

Research Team Realizes 3-Color Photodetector

Apr. 22, 2016 — There's a new approach to design results in a device that can detect different infrared wavebands, which could lead to applications in imaging and entertainment, report ... read more

New Tool Calculates Economic Costs of Methane Leak Detection

Apr. 20, 2016 — The 'virtual gas field simulator' calculates the economic costs of different technologies for plugging and repairing leaky natural gas wells. In recent years, there has been a growing ... read more

No Evidence to Suggest Lasers Pointed at Cockpits Damage Pilots' Eyes

Apr. 19, 2016 — There is no evidence to suggest that lasers pointed at airplane cockpits damage pilots' eyesight. But obviously if directed at critical moments, the dazzle from the beam and ensuing distraction ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — A tiny pilotless aircraft has launched from the Royal Navy's ice patrol ship HMS Protector for the first time to assist with navigating through the Antarctic. The 3D-printed aircraft, along with ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A "Robird" will make its first flights at an airport location in February. The Robird is designed to scare away birds at airports and waste processing ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A new experimental setup with a motorized catapult and high-speed camera now documents in detail what happens when one of the popular small hobby drones hit objects or people. In the first film from ... read more

Autonomous Cloud Seeding Aircraft Successfully Tested in Nevada

Mar. 25, 2016 — Scientists and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) engineers have successfully flight tested the first-ever autonomous cloud seeding aircraft platform. Cloud seeding flare tests were deployed from Drone ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — New research has paved the way for drones to revolutionize ecological monitoring. The research found that drones are much more precise at monitoring the size of seabird colonies in tropical and polar ... read more

New Material Could Make Aircraft De-Icers a Thing of the Past

Mar. 16, 2016 — Instead of applying a deicing agent to strip ice from an aircraft's wings before winter takeoffs, airport personnel could in the future just watch chunks slide right off. Scientists report they ... read more

Mar. 15, 2016 — Researchers have grown crystals and measured the growth rate on the ISS by interferometry to better examine the effects of ... read more

Aviation and Volcanic Ash: Don't Build Model on Sand

Mar. 14, 2016 — Volcanic ash can damage jet engines, and volcanologists have developed a new empirical model for assessment of the risk. Their results show that tests using sand do not reflect the behavior of ash in ... read more

Mar. 9, 2016 — NASA's commercial partner Orbital ATK plans to launch its Cygnus spacecraft into orbit on March 22, 2016 atop a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket for its fifth contracted resupply mission to ... read more

Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Sunday, June 21, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015