Aviation News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:15pm EST

More Aviation News
February 13, 2016

Rapid Dispersal of Aircraft Pollution

Feb. 3, 2016 — A series of aerofoil-shaped panels downwind of an airport runway could break up the plumes of exhaust gases from departing aircraft, preventing those gases from staying near the ground and so ... read more

Scientist Creates Artificial Intelligence Algorithm to Monitor Machinery Health

Feb. 2, 2016 — An artificial intelligence algorithm greatly increases accuracy in diagnosing the health of complex mechanical systems. In blind tests using data coming from highly unpredictable and real-life ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Inside a massive clean room at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland the James Webb Space Telescope team is steadily installing the largest space telescope mirror ever. ... read more

Airline Passengers Face Longer Delays Under DOT Rule, Study Finds

Jan. 8, 2016 — It takes most air passengers far more time to reach their destination despite a federal rule that penalizes airlines for stranding them onboard during lengthy tarmac delays, a new study ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — One dozen flight mirrors are now installed on NASA's James Webb Space Telescope, out of the eighteen mirror segments that make up the primary mirror. The assembly of the primary mirror is an ... read more

Kestrel Inspires Unpowered, Autonomous Glider to Climb Higher

Dec. 18, 2015 — Researchers have drawn inspiration from the way kestrels hover above their prey to develop an autonomous fixed-wing micro air vehicle (MAV) that can gain height from convenient ... read more

Real-Time Tracking Shows How Batteries Degrade

Dec. 18, 2015 — How disposable Lithium batteries degrade during normal use has been tracked in real-time by a research team using sophisticated 3-D imaging, giving a new way to non-invasively monitor performance ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — While some dream of the day that aerial drones deliver their online purchases, scientists are using the technology today to deliver data that was never available before. About 5,000 meters high in ... read more

Nov. 12, 2015 — For the first time, scientists have observed how molecules change direction after slow collisions with atoms. Researchers have allowed molecules to collide with atoms very slowly. This enabled them ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — A piezoelectric load-sensing washer currently under development provides a more accurate way to measure the clamping force exerted by the bolt it is ... read more

U.S. Airlines Learning from Accident Close Calls, but They Can Try Harder, Study Finds

Oct. 29, 2015 — Although U.S. airlines are extraordinarily safe, they are missing an important opportunity to acquire even more safety-related information because some incidents involving close calls are not probed ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — To prolong the lifespan of Hall thrusters, scientists have experimentally optimized the operation of a novel, wall-less thruster prototype developed a year ago by the same team. The preliminary ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — Engineers have reported on the development of a microscopic motor operating between two thermal baths, that is, a micro Carnot ... read more

Oct. 20, 2015 — High-speed video breaks down the incredible leaping ability of basement-dwelling spider crickets and points the way toward development of robotic long ... read more

Why Corporations Don't Always 'Learn' Their Way to Success

Oct. 20, 2015 — Any business guru will tell you that companies achieve success by learning from their experiences in the marketplace. But a new study of the aircraft industry suggests that the belief in ... read more

Ammonia Leak Locator Heads to International Space Station

Oct. 20, 2015 — The International Space Station (ISS) is in some ways like most homes -- over time, it occasionally requires repairs. When the ammonia cooling system on the exterior of the ISS springs a leak, ... read more

Oct. 14, 2015 — An innovative SkinSuit designed to reduce the debilitating physical effects of space flight has been trialled for the first time on the International Space Station (ISS) by a European Space Agency ... read more

Oct. 9, 2015 — Soft steps and large feet can allow animals and robots to maintain high speeds on very loose soil and sand. These findings offer a new insight into how animals respond to different terrain, and how ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Before embarking on a transcontinental journey, jet airplanes fill up with tens of thousands of gallons of fuel. In the event of a crash, such large quantities of fuel increase the severity of an ... read more

Mission Impossible?

Oct. 1, 2015 — Researchers team up to study monitoring failures in the cockpit -- even among experienced ... read more

Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Sunday, June 21, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Friday, January 2, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014