NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Technology News
March 1, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:46pm EST

More Technology News
March 1, 2017

Synthetic Tooth Enamel May Lead to More Resilient Structures

Mar. 1, 2017 — Unavoidable vibrations, such as those on airplanes, cause rigid structures to age and crack, but researchers may have an answer for that -- design them more like tooth enamel, which could lead to ... read more

As Thin as an Atom: A Revolutionary Semiconductor for Electronics

Feb. 23, 2017 — Semiconductors that are as thin as an atom are no longer the stuff of science fiction. A new two-dimensional material could revolutionize electronics, say ... read more

Feb. 21, 2017 — A brain-to-computer hookup can enable people with paralysis to type via direct brain control at the highest speeds and accuracy levels reported to date, a clinical research publication has ... read more

Feb. 20, 2017 — DNA, the stuff of life, may very well also pack quite the jolt for engineers trying to advance the development of tiny, low-cost electronic devices. Much like flipping your light switch at home -- ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — Researchers have developed a novel workflow combining machine learning and density functional theory calculations to create design guidelines for new materials that exhibit useful electronic ... read more

Efficient Power Converter for Internet of Things

Feb. 17, 2017 — Researchers have presented a new power converter that maintains its efficiency at currents ranging from 500 picoamps to 1 milliamp, a span that encompasses a 200,000-fold increase in current ... read more

Digital Fabrication in Architecture

Feb. 17, 2017 — Society faces enormous challenges in constructing high-quality, future-oriented built environments. Construction sites today look much like the building sites did at the beginning of the 20th ... read more

Liquid Metal Nano Printing Set to Revolutionize Electronics

Feb. 17, 2017 — A new technique uses liquid metals to create large wafers around 1.5 nanometres in depth to produce integrated circuits, report scientists in a new ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — The precise control of electron transport in microelectronics makes complex logic circuits possible that are in daily use in smartphones and ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Gadgets are set to become flexible, highly efficient and much smaller, following a breakthrough in measuring two-dimensional 'wonder' materials, report ... read more

Wireless Power Transmission Safely Charges Devices Anywhere Within a Room

Feb. 16, 2017 — A new method developed by Disney Research for wirelessly transmitting power throughout a room enables users to charge electronic devices as seamlessly as they now connect to WiFi hotspots, ... read more

Microscope Shrunk to Dime-Sized Device

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers have created an atomic force microscope on a chip, dramatically shrinking the size -- and, hopefully, the price tag -- of a high-tech device commonly used to characterize material ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers report a new bilayer material, with each layer measuring less than one nanometer in thickness, that someday could lead to more efficient and versatile light ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Modern computer technology is based on the transport of electric charge in semiconductors. But this technology's potential will be reaching its limits in the near future, since the components ... read more

New Doppler Sound Database Could Help Those Suffering from Heart Conditions

Feb. 15, 2017 — Handheld devices can scan the lower limbs of a patient and 'listen' to the blood flow, providing vital early indication of problems that could lead to strokes or heart attacks.  But ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Researchers have developed a thermally conductive rubber material that represents a breakthrough for creating soft, stretchable machines and ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — In the future, wide-ranging composite materials are expected to be stronger, lighter, cheaper and greener for our planet, thanks to a new invention. Nine years ago, an American researcher invented an ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Graphene's unusual electronic structure enables this extraordinary material to break many records of strength, electricity and heat conduction. Physicists have used a model to explain the ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new approach to dynamically tune the micro- and nano-scale roughness of atomically thin MoS2, and consequently the appropriate degree of hydrophobicity for various ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — The European Union activated its Galileo satellite navigation system in December 2016. The EU is dedicated to setting this system apart from other navigation systems such as GPS -- the US counterpart ... read more

Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Sunday, February 5, 2017
Saturday, February 4, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Sunday, December 25, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016