NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Technology News
October 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:46pm EDT

More Technology News
October 24, 2016

Oct. 20, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated a highly efficient method for wirelessly transferring power to a drone while it is flying. The breakthrough could in theory allow flying drones to stay airborne ... read more

Oct. 18, 2016 — A new extensible wiring technique capable of controlling superconducting quantum bits has now been developed, representing a significant step towards to the realization of a scalable quantum ... read more

Wearable Artificial Vision Device Shows Promise in Helping People Who Are Legally Blind 'Read'

Oct. 17, 2016 — A unique wearable artificial vision device may help people who are legally blind “read” and recognize faces. It may also help these individuals accomplish everyday tasks with significantly ... read more

Smartphone Microscope Creates Interactive Tool for Microbiology

Oct. 17, 2016 — An easily assembled smartphone microscope provides new ways of interacting with and learning about common microbes. The open-source device could be used by teachers or in other educational settings, ... read more

Oct. 17, 2016 — A new type of atomic force microscope (AFM) uses nanowires as tiny sensors. Unlike standard AFM, the device with a nanowire sensor enables measurements of both the size and direction of ... read more

Oct. 17, 2016 — With the rise in wearables such as smartwatches and fitness trackers that rely on smart sensors, and the continued popularity of smartphones, smart devices are taking our country by storm. Wireless ... read more

Oct. 14, 2016 — Researchers have made a discovery that could lay the foundation for quantum superconducting devices. Their breakthrough solves one the main challenges to quantum computing: how to transmit spin ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — Researchers have described in great detail how to fabricate and use transparent graphene neural electrode arrays in applications in electrophysiology, fluorescent microscopy, optical coherence ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — Researchers are sweating the small stuff in their efforts to develop a wearable device that can monitor an individual's glucose level via perspiration on the skin. They have demonstrated the ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — One of the biggest untapped clean energy sources on the planet — wave energy — could one day power millions of homes across the U.S. But more than a century after the first tests of the power of ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — 'Ferroelectric' materials can switch between different states of electrical polarization in response to an external electric field. This flexibility means they show promise for many ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — Thanks to advances in high-speed cameras, imaging techniques and computer modeling, researchers are studying fragmenting explosives in ways that weren’t possible ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — In a breakthrough for future optical-electronic hybrid computers, scientists have developed an ultrafast technique that can track light and electrons as they travel through a nanostructured ... read more

New Lab Mimics the Sound of Any Room

Oct. 11, 2016 — Researchers have developed a sound laboratory that can reproduce the acoustics of any environment from cars to concert halls. One goal is better design of sound systems for ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — A layer of diamond can prevent high-power electronic devices from overheating. This becomes particularly important in devices made from gallium nitride. Now a team of researchers show that a layer of ... read more

Oct. 10, 2016 — Ever since J.J. Thompson’s 1897 discovery of the electron, scientists have attempted to describe the subatomic particle’s motion using a variety of different means. Electrons are far too small ... read more

Brain-Inspired Device to Power Artificial Systems

Oct. 7, 2016 — New research has demonstrated that a nanoscale device, called a memristor, could be used to power artificial systems that can mimic the human brain. Artificial neural networks (ANNs) exhibit learning ... read more

Oct. 6, 2016 — Researchers have confirmed the existence of a naturally occurring exotic property in which a material becomes thicker when stretched -- the opposite of most materials -- a discovery that could lead ... read more

Oct. 6, 2016 — Engineers have been eyeing the finish line in the race to shrink the size of components in integrated circuits. Now, a team of researchers has succeeded in creating a transistor with a working ... read more

Oct. 6, 2016 — Researchers have created a high voltage and high frequency silicon carbide (SiC) power switch that could cost much less than similarly rated SiC power switches. The findings could lead to early ... read more

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016