Technology News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:15am EDT

More Technology News
August 30, 2016

Aug. 22, 2016 — Our research group has discovered a new technique for compressing the computations of encryption and decryption operations known as Galois field arithmetic operations, and has succeeded in developing ... read more

Researchers Resolve a Problem That Has Been Holding Back a Technological Revolution

Aug. 16, 2016 — Researchers have cleared that obstacle by developing a new way to purify carbon nanotubes -- the smaller, nimbler semiconductors that are expected to replace silicon within computer chips and a wide ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — A new lithium-ion battery made entirely of solid material has been developed by scientists. They report that it contains neither liquids nor gels. The battery cannot ignite, even at very high ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Researchers have developed a highly stretchable touchpad that can be used to write words and play electronic ... read more

World Should Consider Limits to Future Internet Expansion to Control Energy Consumption

Aug. 11, 2016 — The world should consider ways to limit data growth on the internet to prevent run-away energy consumption and help limit carbon emissions, say leading computer ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — A wearable cloud make the design of mobile and wearable devices simple, inexpensive and lightweight by having mobile device users tap into the resources of the wearable cloud, instead of relying ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Researchers have built a record energy-efficient switch, which uses the interplay of electricity and a liquid form of light, in semiconductor microchips. The device could form the foundation of ... read more

Diamond-Based Light Sources Will Lay a Foundation for Quantum Communications of the Future

Aug. 5, 2016 — Scientists might have solved one of the most challenging problems of quantum communications, showing that diamonds may be used as ultra-bright single photon emitters. Discrete generation of photons ... read more

Record-Breaking Logic Gate 'Another Important Milestone' on Road to Quantum Computers

Aug. 5, 2016 — Researchers have achieved a quantum logic gate with record-breaking 99.9% precision, reaching the benchmark required theoretically to build a quantum ... read more

New Way to Compare Mobile Phone Cameras: Benchmarking Takes Into Account Also Camera Speed

Aug. 5, 2016 — Researchers have defined a new benchmarking method for mobile phone cameras. The benchmarking combines different image quality and camera performance metrics to a comparable, single value ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — Scientists have developed a working battery that self-destructs in water. It's part of a field of study called 'transient electronics.' The battery project presented many challenges, ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — How can we move beyond solid state electronics towards flexible soft circuit systems? New self-propelling liquid metals could be the answer. The advance opens the potential for creating makeshift and ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have created a new silicon-tin nanocomposite anode that could lead to lithium-ion batteries that can be charged and discharged more times before they reach the end of their useful lives. ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have discovered that gallium nanoparticles can form a solid core surrounded by a liquid outer layer over a temperature span of 1000 degrees Fahrenheit. The discovery marks the first time ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Converting light from one wavelength to a shorter wavelength is typically inefficient. To tackle that inefficiency, a team built a structure with metallic cavities that improves the light conversion ... read more

Challenging the 'Rigidity' for Smart Soft Electronics

Aug. 3, 2016 — A team of researchers has found a way to solve a dilemma and developed a low crystalline conducting polymer that shows high-field effect mobility, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — With just a bit of helium, the lighter-than-air element that makes balloons float, scientists have done what was once thought impossible -- they stretched a crystal lattice in just one dimension, ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — A team chemists has created a battery that stores energy in a biologically derived unit, paving the way for cheaper consumer electronics that are easier on the environment.The battery is similar to ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Data traffic is growing worldwide. Glass-fiber cables transmit information over long distances at the speed of light. Once they have reached their destination, however, these optical signals have to ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers are developing a common language that can be used by computer software tools to describe materials at their smallest scale, with the ultimate aim of designing faster and better materials ... read more

Monday, August 22, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016