Technology News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:15am EDT

More Technology News
August 24, 2016

Aug. 22, 2016 — Our research group has discovered a new technique for compressing the computations of encryption and decryption operations known as Galois field arithmetic operations, and has succeeded in developing ... read more

World Should Consider Limits to Future Internet Expansion to Control Energy Consumption

Aug. 11, 2016 — The world should consider ways to limit data growth on the internet to prevent run-away energy consumption and help limit carbon emissions, say leading computer ... read more

Diamond-Based Light Sources Will Lay a Foundation for Quantum Communications of the Future

Aug. 5, 2016 — Scientists might have solved one of the most challenging problems of quantum communications, showing that diamonds may be used as ultra-bright single photon emitters. Discrete generation of photons ... read more

New Way to Compare Mobile Phone Cameras: Benchmarking Takes Into Account Also Camera Speed

Aug. 5, 2016 — Researchers have defined a new benchmarking method for mobile phone cameras. The benchmarking combines different image quality and camera performance metrics to a comparable, single value ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — How can we move beyond solid state electronics towards flexible soft circuit systems? New self-propelling liquid metals could be the answer. The advance opens the potential for creating makeshift and ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have created a new silicon-tin nanocomposite anode that could lead to lithium-ion batteries that can be charged and discharged more times before they reach the end of their useful lives. ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have discovered that gallium nanoparticles can form a solid core surrounded by a liquid outer layer over a temperature span of 1000 degrees Fahrenheit. The discovery marks the first time ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Converting light from one wavelength to a shorter wavelength is typically inefficient. To tackle that inefficiency, a team built a structure with metallic cavities that improves the light conversion ... read more

Challenging the 'Rigidity' for Smart Soft Electronics

Aug. 3, 2016 — A team of researchers has found a way to solve a dilemma and developed a low crystalline conducting polymer that shows high-field effect mobility, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — With just a bit of helium, the lighter-than-air element that makes balloons float, scientists have done what was once thought impossible -- they stretched a crystal lattice in just one dimension, ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — A team chemists has created a battery that stores energy in a biologically derived unit, paving the way for cheaper consumer electronics that are easier on the environment.The battery is similar to ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Data traffic is growing worldwide. Glass-fiber cables transmit information over long distances at the speed of light. Once they have reached their destination, however, these optical signals have to ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers are developing a common language that can be used by computer software tools to describe materials at their smallest scale, with the ultimate aim of designing faster and better materials ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — Miniscule ribbons of graphene are highly sought-after building blocks for semiconductor devices because of their predicted electronic properties. But making these nanostructures has remained a ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — The wireless data transmission via mobile communication is reliable and affordable. However, data volume per user is rising exponentially. Causes are not only the continuously growing number of ... read more

Modeling Sunlight Harvesting in Nanostructures

July 30, 2016 — To create the next generation of solar panels, scientists must model how complex interactions occur. Modeling across different scales provides needed insights. In a review article, scientists ... read more

July 29, 2016 — A professor and his students have invented a 3D food printer that could revolutionize the way we think about food and prepare it -- it can fabricate edible items through computer-guided software and ... read more

July 29, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a way to significantly improve graphene's performance in detecting noxious gases. They peppered high-quality sheets with boron ... read more

July 29, 2016 — Scientists have tailored extremely small wires that carry light and electrons. These new structures could open up a potential path to smaller, lighter, or more efficient devices, they ... read more

July 29, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new method for making brighter and more efficient green light-emitting diodes. Using an industry-standard semiconductor growth technique, they have created gallium ... read more

Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016