NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Technology News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:47am EST

More Technology News
February 20, 2017

Digital Fabrication in Architecture

Feb. 17, 2017 — Society faces enormous challenges in constructing high-quality, future-oriented built environments. Construction sites today look much like the building sites did at the beginning of the 20th ... read more

New Doppler Sound Database Could Help Those Suffering from Heart Conditions

Feb. 15, 2017 — Handheld devices can scan the lower limbs of a patient and 'listen' to the blood flow, providing vital early indication of problems that could lead to strokes or heart attacks.  But ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Researchers have developed a thermally conductive rubber material that represents a breakthrough for creating soft, stretchable machines and ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — In the future, wide-ranging composite materials are expected to be stronger, lighter, cheaper and greener for our planet, thanks to a new invention. Nine years ago, an American researcher invented an ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Graphene's unusual electronic structure enables this extraordinary material to break many records of strength, electricity and heat conduction. Physicists have used a model to explain the ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new approach to dynamically tune the micro- and nano-scale roughness of atomically thin MoS2, and consequently the appropriate degree of hydrophobicity for various ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have developed a family of highly stretchable and UV curable (SUV) elastomers that can be stretched by up to 1100%, and are suitable for UV curing based 3-D printing techniques. Using ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers report that they are the first to grow a 2-D material with the ability to have many different ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A low-cost chip that enables batteries in sensors to last longer, in some cases by over ten times, has been developed by ... read more

New Design Tools Bring Large-Area LED Products on the Market With Speed, Quality and Lower Costs

Feb. 8, 2017 — Novel LED light sources have been developed based on large, flexible and transparent substrates. An easy-to-customize LED foil suitable for mass production enables the introduction of the large area ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new study has solved the contact resistance problem of metal-semiconductor, which had remained unsolved for almost 50 ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new study has introduced a new technique that efficiently isolates circulating tumor cells from whole blood at a liquid-liquid ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — The loneliness of the long distance runner could soon be a thing of the past as new technology allows crowds to cheer on athletes from anywhere in the world. A prototype digital relay baton has been ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — Your doctor waves a hand-held scanner over your body and gets detailed, high-resolution images of your internal organs and tissues. Using the same device, the physician then sends gigabytes of data ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — Periodic motions of atoms over a length of a billionth of a millionth of a meter are mapped by ultrashort x-ray pulses. In a novel type of experiment, regularly arranged atoms in a crystal are set ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Unavoidably, each digital information we send around the globe is prone to be lost. Travelling long ways in wires, the initial signal decays and scatters by colliding with impurities and neighboring ... read more

Terahertz Wireless Could Make Spaceborne Satellite Links as Fast as Fiber-Optic Links

Feb. 5, 2017 — Scientists have announced the development of a terahertz (THz) transmitter capable of transmitting digital data at a rate exceeding 100 gigabits (= 0.1 terabit) per second over a single channel using ... read more

Five Innovations Harness New Technologies for People With Visual Impairment, Blindness

Feb. 4, 2017 — New technologies and tools are in the works to help the 4.1 million Americans living with low vision or blindness. The innovations aim to help people with vision loss more easily accomplish daily ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — An important breakthrough has been reached in the development of energy-efficient electronic circuits using transistors based on ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — The addition of specific molecules to 'trap' charge carriers in semiconducting polymers proves to be a powerful method of mastering the materials' electrical properties. Now, materials ... read more

Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Sunday, February 5, 2017
Saturday, February 4, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Sunday, December 25, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016