Pests and Parasites News
October 9, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:44am EDT

More Pests and Parasites News
October 9, 2015

Oct. 8, 2015 — Striga, also known as witchweed, is a parasitic plant that affects 100 million people in sub-Saharan Africa. Researchers have made a discovery that could lead to more effective ways to protect ... read more

Oct. 7, 2015 — Wheat is vulnerable. Among the most damaging diseases that affect wheat crops across the world are rusts. These parasites cannot grow without infecting a host plant, and are responsible for some of ... read more

The Origin and Spread of 'Emperor's Rice'

Sep. 26, 2015 — Black rice was prized in ancient times for its color and is prized in modern times for its high levels of antioxidants, but its early history has been shrouded in mystery until now. Scientists have ... read more

Humans, Monkeys Affected by the Same Malaria Parasite in the Amazon Region

Sep. 25, 2015 — Two types of parasites are actually one with several host species, researchers have discovered. This finding has consequences for the global battle against the disease, the scientists ... read more

Parasite That Causes Lymphatic Filariasis Releases Vesicles Containing microRNA That May Control Host

Sep. 24, 2015 — Lymphatic Filariasis is a neglected tropical disease caused by three different species of parasitic worm, which are spread between human hosts by mosquitos. The molecular interactions between the ... read more

Researchers Propose Ecological Route to Plant Disease Control

Sep. 24, 2015 — New research has revealed a potential natural defence against invasive pathogens which damage food crops across the ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Microbiologists are addressing the global environmental issue of ocean dead zones. Their research is discovering the potential of naturally occurring bacteria called rhizobia to stem the tide of ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Using a species of butterfly as an example, researchers have demonstrated how insects adapt their offspring to changing environmental conditions. The paper shows that females pass on their own ... read more

Species Extinction Can Doom Parasites Important for Ecosystem Health

Sep. 21, 2015 — The effects of an animal population's extinction may echo beyond the original species, new research finds. Loss of a population could ultimately result in the extinction of parasites -- which ... read more

Naturally Occurring 'GM' Butterflies Produced by Gene Transfer of Wasp-Associated Viruses

Sep. 17, 2015 — Research teams have discovered that genes originating from parasitic wasps are present in the genomes of many butterflies. These genes were acquired through a wasp-associated virus that integrates ... read more

Lack of Attention Has Made Stripe Rust a Threat to the World's Wheat, Report Shows

Sep. 17, 2015 — Inconsistent funding for research into the pests and diseases that threaten key crops leaves global food supplies vulnerable, according to a new ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — A strange flea that is believed to be 20-30 million years old has been found in amber from the Dominican Republic. The specimen displays many features that are not found on any other flea, fossil or ... read more

New Genome Sequence to Provide Insight Into Tiger Mosquito and How Deadly Diseases Are Transmitted to Humans

Sep. 15, 2015 — The first draft genome sequence of Aedes albopictus, commonly known as the tiger mosquito, has been published by scientists. This tiger mosquito is responsible for transmitting several deadly ... read more

Form of Congenital Night Blindness in Dogs Identified

Sep. 14, 2015 — Working in collaboration with Japanese scientists, researchers have for the first time found a form of congenital night blindness in dogs. Their discovery and subsequent hunt for the genetic mutation ... read more

Ebola Virus Mutations May Help It Evade Drug Treatment

Sep. 11, 2015 — Genetic mutations called 'escape variants' in the deadly Ebola virus appear to block the ability of antibody-based treatments to ward off infection, according scientists. Their findings ... read more

Sep. 11, 2015 — A new model tested in northeastern Thailand shows that a multi-pronged approach -- combining treatment, ecosystem monitoring, and community mobilization -- can effectively tackle the transmission of ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — A deadly parasite that causes Chagas disease is widespread in a common Texas insect, according to a new study. The finding suggests that the risk of Texans contracting the disease may be higher than ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — In a deception that likely has evolved over thousands of years, a caterpillar that feeds on corn leaves induces the plant to turn off its defenses against insect predators, allowing the caterpillar ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — Contact and competition among different animals within a community matters when it comes to the possibility of parasitic disease outbreak, according to new research. The study sheds new light on how ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — While biocontrol agents come in different shapes, often taking a lot of time for scientists to develop, natural ones seem to be the better option. Now biologists have discovered a new parasitoid wasp ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Saturday, July 25, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015