Pests and Parasites News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:14pm EDT

More Pests and Parasites News
August 28, 2015

Aug. 27, 2015 — The fungus Cryptococcus causes meningitis, a brain disease that kills about 1 million people each year. It's difficult to treat because fungi are genetically quite similar to humans, so ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — Entomologists in Texas got a whiff of a new stink bug doing economic damage to soybeans in Texas and are developing ways to help farmers combat it, according to a new ... read more

Lucky Four-Leaf Clovers in the Sub-Arctic Could Prove Valuable to Future Plant Breeding

Aug. 24, 2015 — The lucky discovery of four-leaf clovers in the sub-arctic could prove valuable to future plant breeding ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — The intricate interplay between immune cells working to defeat infection has been seen and photographed for the first time. Researchers used state-of-the-art microscopy to painstakingly capture ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — The start of the school year means new classes, new friends, homework and sports. It also brings the threat of head lice. Scientists report today that lice populations in at least 25 states have ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Two growth-promoting groups of substances, or phytohormones, the gibberellins and the brassinosteroids, are used independently of each other for the breeding and production of crop plants. A team of ... read more

Mites Might Be Mighty Pest Control Method

Aug. 17, 2015 — Biological control of pests, weeds, plants and animals gives “the best hope to providing lasting, environmentally sound and socially acceptable pest management,” according to a new ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — An international team of researchers has developed the largest genomic data set in the world on Lassa virus (LASV). The genomic catalog contains nearly 200 viral genomes collected from patient and ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — In South Africa, sweet potatoes are a traditional crop for rural families. Researchers undertook a project to develop a local variety that has good yield, high dry mass, and desirable taste ... read more

Newly Identified Tadpole Disease Found Across the Globe

Aug. 10, 2015 — Scientists have found that a newly identified and highly infectious tadpole disease is found in a diverse range of frog populations across the world. The discovery sheds new light on some of the ... read more

Atomic-Level Defense Secrets Revealed

Aug. 10, 2015 — The molecular secrets of plants' defense mechanisms have been revealed at the atomic level. The study focuses on the plant hormone jasmonate and its interaction with three key proteins. The ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Researchers continue to study ways to nip the West Nile virus in the bud and monitor its spread by tracking rainfall, groundwater levels, mosquito abundance, wild bird populations and virus ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — An ichneumonid parasitic wasp seizes control of the parasitized spider and exploits its 'resting web' building behavior as seen before moulting, scientists have discovered. Researchers ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Insecticides that are sprayed in orchards and fields across North America may be more toxic to spiders than scientists previously believed. The researchers focused on the way that exposure to ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Flowers can pose a grave danger to bees, a team of researchers has determined. The study is the first to show that not only can bees disperse parasites around the environment but also that flowers ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Active biological mechanisms transport scent and taste compounds known as volatiles from plant cells to the atmosphere, researchers report, a finding that could overturn the textbook model of ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — It's happy hour in the battle against Pierce's disease in wine grapes. Scientists have created a phage cocktail that stops the bacteria Xylella ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — The dangers of relying on climate-based projections of future crop pest distributions have been highlighted by a new paper that suggests that rapid evolution can confound model ... read more

July 31, 2015 — When it comes to vaccinating their babies, bees don't have a choice -- they naturally immunize their offspring against specific diseases found in their environments. Now for the first time, ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Researchers have discovered how parasitic plants evolved the ability to detect and attack their hosts. Their findings could lead to new techniques to control the thieving ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Saturday, July 25, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015