Pests and Parasites News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:50am EST

More Pests and Parasites News
February 10, 2016

Feb. 5, 2016 — By chance, scientists have discovered a malaria parasite that infects white-tailed deer. It's the first-ever malaria parasite known to live in a deer species and the only native malaria parasite ... read more

Not Your Grandfather's Cotton

Feb. 3, 2016 — Cotton's genetic history is full of surprises. From transoceanic travels to inter-species cross-breedings, cotton’s story is one of plant and seed survival, adaptation, and human cultivation. ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — With their chitinous shells, insects seem almost invulnerable – but like Achilles’ heel in Greek mythology, their impressive armor can still be attacked. Researchers studied fruit flies ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — Logging can encourage black rats to invade tropical rainforests by creating habitats they prefer, giving them the chance to displace native ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — The native ferns that form a lush green understory in coastal redwood forests are well adapted to dry summers and periodic droughts, but California's current prolonged drought has taken a toll ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — One of the most of the most widely used commercial chemicals to kill bedbugs are not effective because the pesky insects have built up a tolerance to them, according to a team of ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — In October 2015, researchers ran the first tests confirming the presence of Zika virus transmission in the South American country. The team documents a disease trajectory that started with nine ... read more

Zika Virus 'a Game-Changer' for Mosquito-Borne Diseases

Jan. 26, 2016 — The Zika virus, unlike other mosquito-borne viruses such as dengue, is relatively unknown and unstudied. That is set to change since Zika, now spreading through Latin America and the Caribbean, has ... read more

Scientists Demonstrate Key Aspect of Evolutionary Theory

Jan. 26, 2016 — Evolutionary theory predicts that pairs of chromosomes within asexual organisms will evolve independently of each other and become increasingly different over time in a phenomenon called the ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Carnivorous plants such as the Venus flytrap depend on meals of insects to survive in nutrient-poor soil. They sense the arrival of juicy insects, lured by the plants' fruity scent, with the aid ... read more

Malaria Parasite Is Dependent on Heavy Metals

Jan. 22, 2016 — The malaria parasite is rendered barren when the transport of heavy metals such as copper and iron is blocked. In addition, researchers identified six proteins that are essential to the life stages ... read more

A Predictive Risk Map for the Nematode Parasite Mansonella Perstans in Uganda

Jan. 21, 2016 — Infection with the nematode parasite Mansonella perstans is one of the most neglected of the neglected tropical diseases. Although symptoms are usually mild, the infection can cause swelling, fever, ... read more

Examining Genetic Diversity of T. Cruzi from California Kissing Bugs

Jan. 21, 2016 — Trypanosoma cruzi is a protozoan parasite that can cause an insidious onset of Chagas disease, a fatal cardiac disease in humans and dogs. The parasite is transmitted via triatomine insects, commonly ... read more

Hand Sanitizer, Antifreeze Can Preserve DNA

Jan. 20, 2016 — Many agencies conduct studies involving citizen scientists. Now one such study shows that a few simple products, such as hand sanitizer and antifreeze, can preserve DNA in samples collected by lay ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Reports of bat deaths worldwide due to human causes largely unique to the 21st century are markedly rising, according to a new analysis. Collisions with wind turbines worldwide and the disease ... read more

Immune 1-2-3 Punch Against Parasites Reveals Potentially Ancient Cell Death Pathway

Jan. 19, 2016 — The immune system's killer cells deliver a tightly controlled, 3-phase knockout punch that kills intracellular parasites through a novel pathway that an international team led by researchers has ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — While scientists have known for years that African trypanosomes cause sleeping sickness, they've been left scratching their heads as to how these tiny single-celled organisms communicate. A new ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Medical researchers reconstructed the 3D structure of one of the proteins of Plasmodium falciparum, the causative agent of malaria and the antibodies that act as the first line of defense against the ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Nematodes, an abundant group of roundworms that exist in nearly every habitat, have long been used as model organisms for studying the function of neurons -- the basic unit of animal nervous systems. ... read more

Plague-Riddled Prairie Dogs a Model for Infectious Disease Spread

Jan. 13, 2016 — Sporadic outbreaks of plague among black-tailed prairie dogs is an ideal model for the study of infectious zoonotic disease, say biologists. Plague doesn't usually kill people these days, but ... read more

Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015