Pests and Parasites News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:13am EDT

More Pests and Parasites News
May 22, 2015

May 7, 2015 — By increasing the stiffness of erythrocytes infected by the causal agent of malaria, Viagra favors their elimination from the blood circulation and may therefore reduce transmission of the parasite ... read more

May 7, 2015 — Chagas disease, caused by the Trypanosoma cruzi parasite and transmitted by insects in Latin America is among the most common tropical diseases, and so far without effective vaccine. A new study now ... read more

May 7, 2015 — New research has identified correlations between weather conditions and the occurrence of West Nile virus disease in the United States, raising the possibility of being able to better predict ... read more

May 4, 2015 — Scientists have uncovered a potential mode of parasite drug resistance in malaria infection, opening new opportunities for the design of anti-malarial drugs. Malaria infection includes symptoms such ... read more

'Silver Bullet' Kills Phytophthora, a Fungus That Affects More Than 400 Plants and Trees

May 5, 2015 — Silver nanoparticles produced with an extract of wormwood can stop several strains of the fungus phytophthora dead in its ... read more

Silicon: An Important Element in Rice Production

Apr. 28, 2015 — Recent research showed that, although long neglected by ecologists, silicon is in fact beneficial for the growth of many plants, including major crops such as rice, wheat and barley. Researchers have ... read more

Viruses: You've Heard the Bad; Here's the Good

Apr. 30, 2015 — Viruses, like bacteria, can be important beneficial microbes in human health and in agriculture, researchers say, following a review of the current literature on beneficial ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Bumblebees that have been infected by parasites seek out flowers with nicotine in the nectar, likely to fight off the infection, new research has found. The nicotine appears to slow the progression ... read more

Scientists Plan to Fight Insect Pests by Turning Their Own Hormones Against Them

Apr. 27, 2015 — The economic cost of agricultural pests is extremely difficult to estimate, but biological threats such as insects and disease account for around 40% of all crop losses globally. The rising need for ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Scientists are a step closer to developing new therapies for controlling the body's response to allergies and parasitic worm ... read more

Stressed-out Parasites: Overcoming Drug-Resistant Malaria

Apr. 22, 2015 — Drug resistance to the critical antimalarial therapeutics of the artemisinin family has emerged in Southeast Asia, highlighting the need to understand how these drugs work and how they can be used ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Disease shapes plant communities and determines the outcomes of environmental change, weed invasions and agriculture and forestry management strategies. Whether or not a disease devastates a plant ... read more

Importance of 'Self-DNA' for Maintaining Diversity Among Species

Apr. 20, 2015 — In natural plant communities, diversity is maintained by limits set on each plant by itself. This involves a detrimental effect of self-DNA -- DNA from the same species released during decomposition ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — The kwongan is a type of bushland that is only found in South-West Australia and is exceptionally rich in terms of biodiversity, despite existing on some of the most infertile soils in the world. Its ... read more

Model Captures How Nitrogen Limitation Affects Hydrological Processes

Apr. 14, 2015 — Rising carbon dioxide levels in the air act as a fertilizer for plants, altering how they use water and interact with the climate. However, an insufficient supply of nitrogen can limit the growth. ... read more

Efficient Fungus Paralyzes, Kills Pathogens That Cause Losses in Cotton Crops

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers have identified beneficial fungi that were already tested as disease control agents in cotton crops. Among them is Trichoderma koningiopsis, which kills the parasite or pathogens that ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — The common hippopotamus can spend up to 16 hours a day immersed in rivers and lakes. Lumbering out of the water at night, these herbivores graze on tropical grasses and consume 80 to 100 pounds in ... read more

A Beggars Banquet: Carrion Crow Chicks Sit Back While Cuckoo Chick Does All the Begging

Apr. 15, 2015 — It’s not all bad for crow chicks who have to share their nest with an uninvited pushy guest such as a cuckoo youngster. For one, they can sit back and wait for food to arrive while the cuckoo chick ... read more

Infectious Ants Become Antisocial

Apr. 14, 2015 — Combining experiments and epidemiological modeling, scientists explore how cleaning behavior affects disease spread in ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Among hundreds of birds sampled during two months of field work in the southeastern African nation of Malawi, an astonishing proportion of the birds -- 79 percent -- were infected with haemosporidian ... read more

Thursday, May 7, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015