Pests and Parasites News
November 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:49am EST

More Pests and Parasites News
November 30, 2015

Nanoparticles Simplify DNA Identification and Quantification

Nov. 25, 2015 — Researchers have been aiming to improving the speed and accuracy of current diagnostics for veterinary ... read more

New Project Aims to Develop Advanced Tools and Research Strategies for Parasite Control in European Farmed Fish

Nov. 18, 2015 — A new research project aims to improve our understanding of fish-parasite interactions and develop innovative solutions and tools to prevent, control and mitigate harmful parasites which affect the ... read more

Scientists Find Way to Reduce Pesticide Use and Save Millions for Ornamental Industry

Nov. 17, 2015 — Results of new research may help control some dangerous species of fungi, known as phytophthora -- or water molds -- that can cause millions of dollars in damage annually to ornamental plants and ... read more

Parasitic Fungi and the Battle Against Coffee Rust Disease

Nov. 13, 2015 — Coffee rust has ravaged Latin American plantations for several years, leading to reductions in annual coffee production of up to 30 percent in some countries and threatening the livelihoods of ... read more

Nov. 12, 2015 — Most animals reproduce by laying eggs. As the embryo develops, its feeds on the egg yolk. No egg yolk, no offspring, then? Not always. Biologists have discovered an exception to the rule: the eggs of ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — New research indicates that cockroaches use a combination of fast and slow twitch muscle fibers to give their mandibles a 'force boost' that allows them to chew through tough ... read more

Coronavirus Breakthrough: Protein Mutation Affects Spread and Virulence of Respiratory Virus

Nov. 10, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that a mutation in a coronavirus protein slows the spread of the virus in the central nervous system and reduces its neurovirulence. It is the first time that this ... read more

Black Mouse-Eared Bat Goes Green: First Case of a Fruit-Eating Bat in the Largest Genus

Nov. 10, 2015 — Out of more than 110 allegedly well-studied mouse-eared bat species, there is one that has been keeping its diet a mystery. Belonging to the largest group of bats, known to be feeding on insects ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — An international group of scientists has discovered a gene that can prevent some of the most significant wheat diseases -- creating the potential to combat food security for this staple and save ... read more

New Pest Management Resource for Hop Growers in the Northeast

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have published an open-access article that should help hop farmers in the northeastern US to manage insect pests. The article provides a comprehensive assessment of hop pests and methods ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — A product that helped stop a 100-year-old battle with a cotton disease in Texas has been proven effective in stopping the same fungus from devastating vineyards, according to a plant ... read more

New Disease-Carrying Mosquito Arrives in British Columbia, Canada

Nov. 9, 2015 — Scientists are studying an invasive, disease-carrying mosquito, Aedes japonicus, after finding it for the first time in Western Canada. The mosquitoes could poise a significant hazard to health if ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Research shows the adverse effects of a drug commonly administered to livestock, ivermectin, on populations of a key dung beetle in Mediterranean ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Little is known about the mechanisms that regulate the release of steroid hormones from endocrine tissues. The commonly accepted understanding, noted in textbooks, is that simple diffusion is at ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Stealthy diseases sometimes trick plants by hijacking their defense signaling system, which issues an alarm that diverts plant resources for the wrong attack and allows the enemy pathogens to easily ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Canadian entomologists have reported the first appearance of Aedes japonicus -- an invasive, disease-carrying mosquito -- in western Canada. Native to Asia, Ae. japonicus has been widely found in the ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Some forms of the single celled parasites, Trypanosoma brucei and Toxoplasma gondii behave like cancer cells, a new study suggests, potentially leading researchers toward new approaches to treat ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — A new study is the first to fully document the demographic impacts of West Nile virus on North American bird populations. Data from bird-banding stations shows more species were hit than suspected, ... read more

DNA Sequencing Shows Divergent Genomes in Malaria Vectors of Brazilian Rainforest

Nov. 2, 2015 — Researchers have assessed the extent to which geographical barriers affected genetic variation among Anopheles darlingi populations. Such barriers may greatly influence the approaches used by ... read more

Lack of 'Sleep' May Zap Cell Growth, Brain Activity, Study in Plants Suggests

Oct. 30, 2015 — Lack of adequate sleep can do more than just make you tired. It can short-circuit your system and interfere with a fundamental cellular process that drives physical growth, physiological adaptation ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015