Drought News
May 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:12pm EDT

More Drought News
May 29, 2015

May 27, 2015 — Researchers are working with Punjabi farmers to test innovations that will reduce pressure on overused ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Naturally occurring, plant-associated bacteria as a crop protection agent are now available for use in crop protection to alleviate the contamination of soil with pesticides -- arguably the most ... read more

Silicon: An Important Element in Rice Production

Apr. 28, 2015 — Recent research showed that, although long neglected by ecologists, silicon is in fact beneficial for the growth of many plants, including major crops such as rice, wheat and barley. Researchers have ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Several species of fish — including the peppered chub and the plains minnow — were found to be severely declining in the Great Plains. A new article documents a reduction in water flow in Great ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Argentina might seem a long way to go for an environmental engineer seeking to better understand land use in Wisconsin. But there are some surprising parallels between the two countries' ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — Undisturbed ecosystems can be resistant to changing climatic conditions, but this resistance is reduced when ecosystems are subject to natural or anthropogenic disturbances. Plants are particularly ... read more

Western Forests Decimated by Pine Beetles Not More Likely to Burn

Mar. 23, 2015 — Western US forests killed by the mountain pine beetle epidemic are no more at risk to burn than healthy Western forests, according to new findings that fly in the face of both public perception and ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Molecular biophysicists show that the same type of protein works in plants and animals to bind to peculiar DNA structures called G-quadruplexes, or G4 DNA for ... read more

Adapting to Climate Change Will Bring New Environmental Problems

Mar. 20, 2015 — Adapting to climate change could have profound environmental repercussions, according to a new study. Research reveals that adaptation measures have the potential to generate further pressures and ... read more

Mar. 18, 2015 — The Amazon is losing its capacity to absorb carbon from the atmosphere, reveals he most extensive land-based study of the Amazon to date. From a peak of two billion tons of carbon dioxide each year ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — Subsistence farmers in Africa, the Americas and the Caribbean are learning how to construct raised planting beds and install drip irrigation systems to boost their agricultural productivity, conserve ... read more

Seeding Mixtures Recommended for Midwest Lawns

Mar. 9, 2015 — A study evaluated the establishment rate and species composition over 3 years of a turf stand seeded with different ratios of kentucky bluegrass and perennial ryegrass maintained as a lawn. The ... read more

New Information Helps Predict Future Climate Change Impacts on Global Tropics

Mar. 9, 2015 — New measurements of tropical forests are being collected by scientists to gain a better understanding of how they respond to seasonal climate variations. "A better understanding of tropical ... read more

Better Genes for Better (More Adaptable) Beans

Feb. 26, 2015 — Out of thousands of legume species, only a few are used in mainstream agriculture. Among the underutilized legume species are crops that can tolerate poor soil with limited water. A new genetic ... read more

Gene May Help Reduce GM Contamination

Feb. 19, 2015 — Genetically modified crops have long drawn fire from opponents worried about potential contamination of conventional crops and other plants. Now a plant gene might help farmers reduce the risk of GM ... read more

Feb. 19, 2015 — Simply removing cattle may be all that is required to restore many degraded riverside areas in the American West, although this can vary and is dependent on local conditions, researchers have found ... read more

Feb. 10, 2015 — Scientists consider it key to understand why droughts kill so many trees and the influence of local forest histories on tree mortality. They also warn that we know very little about the joined ... read more

Predicting Plant Responses to Drought

Feb. 10, 2015 — A new study shows how plants' vulnerability to drought varies across the landscape; factors such as plant structure and soil type where the plant is growing can either make them more vulnerable ... read more

Feb. 4, 2015 — Plant biologists report that drought tolerance in plants can be improved by engineering them to activate water-conserving processes in response to an agrochemical already in use -- an approach that ... read more

Turning Up Heat on Plants Could Help Grow Crops of the Future

Feb. 2, 2015 — Crops that can thrive in warming climates are a step closer, thanks to new insights into how temperature and light affect plant development. Scientists studied the effect of light and temperature on ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Saturday, September 13, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Friday, July 25, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Sunday, July 6, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Monday, May 19, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014