Drought News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:14pm EDT

More Drought News
September 1, 2015

July 14, 2015 — Biologists have assessed the causes of growth decline of a pine forest of great ecological interest in ... read more

July 9, 2015 — A new study on the genomic signatures of adaptation in crop plants can help predict how crop varieties respond to stress from their environments. It is the first study to document that these genomic ... read more

July 8, 2015 — In plants, beneficial bacteria and fungi are endophytes. Scientists have known for decades that plants like legumes (peas, beans, and lentils) have beneficial bacteria in nodules attached to their ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Thirsty cities, fields and livestock drink deeply from aquifers, natural sources of groundwater. But a study of three of the most-tapped aquifers in the United States shows that overdrawing from ... read more

June 22, 2015 — Fifteen years of warmer, drier winters are affecting California's wildflower diversity, scientists report. Grasses and wildflowers may be able to withstand the current drying period through ... read more

Researchers Examine How to Minimize Drought Impact on Important Food Crops

June 10, 2015 — Researchers provide information that could help agricultural planning and management to minimize drought-induced yield losses for legumes, one of the world's most important food ... read more

June 10, 2015 — The causes and consequences of global warming are still under debate, but what would actually happen to all the plants, essential to many aspects of our lives, if the climate in the planet does get ... read more

June 9, 2015 — A combination of drought, heat and insects is responsible for the death of more than 12 million trees in California, according to a new study. Researchers studying environmental factors contributing ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Researchers are working with Punjabi farmers to test innovations that will reduce pressure on overused ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Drought and heat-induced tree mortality is accelerating in many forest biomes as a consequence of a warming climate, researchers report. To predict characteristics of plants that will survive and die ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Naturally occurring, plant-associated bacteria as a crop protection agent are now available for use in crop protection to alleviate the contamination of soil with pesticides -- arguably the most ... read more

Carbon Emissions from Peatlands May Be Less Than Expected

May 11, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a dual mechanism that slows peat decay and may help reduce carbon dioxide emissions from peatlands during times of drought. The discovery might be used to reduce the risk ... read more

Space Technology Identifies Vulnerable Regions in West Africa

May 11, 2015 — Researchers have mapped regional droughts from space, which can affect the livelihood of millions of people in West Africa. They report that soil moisture observations can map land degradation with ... read more

Plant Toxin Causes Biliary Atresia in Animal Model

May 6, 2015 — A new study is a classic example of how seemingly unlikely collaborators can come together to make surprising discoveries. An international team of gastroenterologists, pediatricians, natural ... read more

Forest Canopies Buffer Against Climate Change

Apr. 29, 2015 — Current models of how forests will respond to climate change don't account for differences between adult and juvenile trees. Recent research of forest landscape ecology, finds that climatic ... read more

Silicon: An Important Element in Rice Production

Apr. 28, 2015 — Recent research showed that, although long neglected by ecologists, silicon is in fact beneficial for the growth of many plants, including major crops such as rice, wheat and barley. Researchers have ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Several species of fish — including the peppered chub and the plains minnow — were found to be severely declining in the Great Plains. A new article documents a reduction in water flow in Great ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — A map shows how California's state highway system is strewn with roadkill "hot spots," which are identified in a newly released report. The data could help state highway planners take ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — A plant's roots grow and spread into the soil, taking up necessary water and minerals. The tip of a plant's root is a place of active cell division followed by cell elongation, with ... read more

Apr. 3, 2015 — In Central Appalachia, changes in precipitation and temperatures are likely to reduce habitat suitability for some tree species, including iconic species such as American beech, eastern hemlock, ... read more

Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Saturday, September 13, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Friday, July 25, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Sunday, July 6, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014