Parkinson's News
July 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:31pm EDT

More Parkinson's News
July 5, 2015

Nanoparticle Drug Reverses Parkinson's-Like Symptoms in Rats

Apr. 22, 2015 — As baby boomers age, the number of people diagnosed with Parkinson's disease is expected to increase. Patients who develop this disease usually start experiencing symptoms around age 60 or ... read more

Demand Driven Deep Brain Stimulation to Treat Parkinson's Disease

Apr. 15, 2015 — Possible subtypes of Parkinson's disease have been identified by researchers. By applying this finding, researchers have used artificial intelligence techniques for tremor detection in patients ... read more

How Molecule Protects Brain Cells in Parkinson's Disease Model

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers have found how a widely known but little-studied enzyme protects brain cells in models of Parkinson’s disease. These findings could provide valuable insight into the development of drug ... read more

Tango Dancing Benefits Parkinson's Patients

Apr. 13, 2015 — Dancing the Argentine tango could have potential benefits for people at certain stages in the development of Parkinson's disease, according to findings in a new study that looked at changes in ... read more

New Blood Signature Analysis May Help Diagnose Parkinson’s Disease Earlier

Apr. 6, 2015 — A new blood test may more accurately identify blood signatures, or biomarkers, for Parkinson's disease, according to a new study. While biomarkers -- such as bad cholesterol level in the case of ... read more

Possible Progress Against Parkinson's and Good News for Stem Cell Therapies

Apr. 3, 2015 — Researchers have taken an important step toward using the implantation of stem cell-generated neurons as a treatment for Parkinson's disease. Using an FDA approved substance for treating cancer, ... read more

Migrating Immune Cells Promote Nerve Cell Demise in the Brain

Apr. 1, 2015 — The death of dopamine-producing nerve cells in a certain region of the brain is the principal cause underlying Parkinson's disease. In mice, it is possible to simulate the Parkinson's ... read more

Long-Term Effect of Deep Brain Stimulation on Pain in Patients With Parkinson's Disease

Mar. 23, 2015 — Patients with Parkinson's disease who experienced pain before undergoing subthalamic nucleus deep brain stimulation had that pain improved or eliminated at eight years after surgery, although ... read more

New Information on Parkinson’s: GDNF Not Needed by the Midbrain Dopamine System

Mar. 4, 2015 — A key factor in the motor symptoms associated with Parkinson’s disease is the gradual destruction of dopamine neurons. The glial cell-derived neurotrophic factor, or GDNF, has been proven to ... read more

Sticky Protein Hails New Approach for Treating Parkinson's

Feb. 25, 2015 — UK scientists have developed a peptide that sticks to the protein that causes Parkinson's disease, stopping it from killing brain cells. The research highlights a potential new route for slowing ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a skin test that may shed new light on Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases. The study showed that skin biopsies can be used to detect elevated levels of abnormal ... read more

Feb. 23, 2015 — The critical role of CHIP was reported by researchers. Their report has spurred efforts to develop CHIP-enhancing drugs to help speed recovery from strokes and following neurosurgery, and prevent ... read more

Feb. 18, 2015 — Researchers have long sought treatments that can slow the progression of Parkinson's disease. Current treatments have for decades been only symptomatic in nature, supplying the neurotransmitter ... read more

Possible Mechanism Underpinning Alzheimer's and Parkinson's Diseases

Feb. 12, 2015 — Scientists have for the first time discovered a killing mechanism that could underpin a range of the most intractable neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and ALS. ... read more

New Therapeutic Principle for Parkinsonian Dyskinesia Shows Clinical Effect

Feb. 10, 2015 — Involuntary dyskinetic movements induced by treatment with levodopa are a common problem for people with Parkinson's disease. Now, however, researchers seem to be close to a novel therapy to ... read more

Creatine Does Not Slow Rate of Parkinson Disease Progression

Feb. 10, 2015 — Treatment with creatine monohydrate for at least 5 years for patients with early and treated Parkinson disease failed to slow clinical progression of the disease, compared with placebo, according to ... read more

Feb. 3, 2015 — A device that measures movement and balance can effectively help assess and track the progression of Parkinson’s disease, even when medications are used to reduce Parkinson’s symptoms, ... read more

Feb. 2, 2015 — Excess quantities of a specific protein in the brain dramatically increase the chances of so-called 'nucleation events' that could eventually result in Parkinson's disease, according ... read more

Does Getting 'Expensive' Drug Affect How Much Patient Benefits?

Jan. 28, 2015 — People's perceptions of the cost of a drug may affect how much they benefit from the drug, even when they are receiving only a placebo, according to a new study of people with Parkinson's ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — The health-promoting perks of wine have attracted the spotlight recently, leaving beer in the shadows. But scientists are discovering new ways in which the latter could be a more healthful beverage ... read more

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Friday, July 25, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Tuesday, April 29, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Friday, February 7, 2014