Obesity News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:22am EDT

More Obesity News
September 2, 2015

Food Intake, a Fragile Balance Between Neural Pathways

Aug. 24, 2015 — Scientists investigated the relative role of energy needs and "pleasure" of eating in food intake. The researchers studied a group of neurons in mice. They observed that when the neuron ... read more

Nine Risk Factors May Contribute to Two-Thirds of Alzheimer's Cases Worldwide

Aug. 20, 2015 — Nine potentially modifiable risk factors may contribute to up to two-thirds of Alzheimer's disease cases worldwide, suggests an analysis of the available ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Scientists have developed a novel way to engineer the growth and expansion of energy-burning 'good' fat, and then found that this fat helped reduce weight gain and lower blood glucose ... read more

Hot Chilli May Unlock a New Treatment for Obesity

Aug. 18, 2015 — A high-fat diet may impair important receptors located in the stomach that signal fullness, researchers have discovered. They investigated the association between hot chilli pepper receptors (TRPV1) ... read more

Drug Helps Patients With Diabetes Lose Weight

Aug. 18, 2015 — Among overweight and obese patients with type 2 diabetes, daily injection of the diabetes drug liraglutide with a modified insulin pen device, in addition to diet and exercise, resulted in greater ... read more

Aspirin Reverses Obesity Cancer Risk

Aug. 17, 2015 — A regular dose of aspirin reduces the long-term risk of cancer in those who are overweight, shows an international study of people with a family history of the ... read more

Exercise Alone Does Not Help in Losing Weight

Aug. 17, 2015 — Physical activity has many health benefits, ranging from reducing the risk of heart disease, diabetes and cancer to improving mental health and mood. But contrary to common belief, exercise does not ... read more

Effect of Presymptomatic BMI, Dietary Intake, Alcohol on ALS

Aug. 17, 2015 — Presymptomatic patients with the neurodegenerative disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) consumed more daily calories but had lower body-mass index (BMI) than those individuals without ALS in a ... read more

Dealing With the Stigma and 'Lived Experience' of Obesity

Aug. 17, 2015 — How obese people feel about themselves has much to do with how they experience social stigma and it can change over time, a new study has ... read more

Link Between Marital Distress, Poor Food Choices Found by Study

Aug. 14, 2015 — A link between marital distress and poor food choices has been found by investigators. Hostile couples had significantly higher amounts of the appetite-triggering hormone after arguments if they were ... read more

Vitamin D in Teens: Don't Overdo It, or Bad Things Might Happen

Aug. 14, 2015 — Dosing obese teens with vitamin D shows no benefits for their heart health or diabetes risk, and could have the unintended consequences of increasing cholesterol and fat-storing triglycerides. These ... read more

Heavy Smokers, Smokers Who Are Obese Gain More Weight After Quitting

Aug. 13, 2015 — For smokers, the number of cigarettes smoked per day and current body mass index are predictive of changes in weight after quitting smoking, according to ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Researchers compared the benefits of consuming a normal-protein breakfast to a high-protein breakfast and found the high-protein breakfast -- which contained 35 grams of protein -- prevented gains of ... read more

Children Who Are Leaner Report Eating More Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids

Aug. 12, 2015 — Children who report eating more polyunsaturated fatty acids, found in tree nuts, seeds and fatty fish, and consume a higher ratio of PUFA: saturated fatty acids, were found to be leaner, have less ... read more

Energy Expenditure Increases After Gastric Bypass Surgery

Aug. 11, 2015 — Gastric bypass surgery often leads to a sustained weight loss, and now researchers have found part of the explanation: the operation enhances energy expenditure such that eating actually helps the ... read more

New Endoscopic, Non-Surgical Bariatric Options Show Promise for Treating Obesity

Aug. 7, 2015 — Endoscopic bariatric therapies can be effective options and are most beneficial when used as part of a comprehensive, multidisciplinary treatment program, a new meta-analysis has ... read more

Controlling Inflammation to Reduce Chronic Disease Risk

Aug. 7, 2015 — An unresolved inflammatory response is likely to be involved from the early stages of disease development, scientists say. Controlling inflammation is crucial to human health and a key future ... read more

Very Little Evidence for Cutting out Certain Carbs to Ease Irritable Bowel

Aug. 7, 2015 — There is very little evidence to recommend avoiding certain types of dietary carbohydrate, known as the FODMAP diet, to ease the symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome, or IBS for short, concludes a ... read more

New Vitamin B3 Pathway Identified

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new vitamin B3 pathway that regulates liver metabolism has been identified by scientists. The discovery provides an opportunity to pursue the development of novel drug therapies for the treatment ... read more

Believing You Are Overweight May Lead to Further Weight Gain

Aug. 6, 2015 — People who recognize they are overweight or obese are more likely to put on weight than those who are unaware that they may be heavier than doctors would advise, according to ... read more

Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015