Obesity News
August 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:22pm EDT

More Obesity News
August 3, 2015

Parents' Health Literacy Affects Child Weight-Loss Tactics, Study Finds

July 28, 2015 — Parents who are less health literate may choose weight-loss strategies for their children that are unhealthy or not recommended. Governmental weight-control info may not be reaching families who need ... read more

Weight Loss for a Healthy Liver

July 27, 2015 — Weight loss through both lifestyle modification and bariatric surgery can significantly reduce features of nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, a disease characterized by fat in the liver, according to two ... read more

Preventing Knee Pain in at-Risk Adults With Diabetes

July 23, 2015 — An intensive program of diet and exercise had a small but statistically significant protective effect against the development of knee pain in the short term among overweight adults with diabetes, a ... read more

Body Fat Can Send Signals to Brain, Affecting Stress Response

July 23, 2015 — The brain's effect on other parts of the body has been well established. Now, a group of researchers has found that it's a two-way street: Body fat can send a signal that affects the way ... read more

Expert Panel Sets Nutrition Guidelines to Manage GI Symptoms in Autism

July 23, 2015 — A new guideline for the nutrition of management gastrointestinal symptoms in children with autism spectrum disorders provides a framework for clinicians to navigate frequently seen issues such as ... read more

Gene Mutation Contributes to Liver Disease in Patients of Normal Weight

July 22, 2015 — Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) is a major worldwide health problem. The disease is strongly associated with obesity and has been found in a high percentage Asian patients of normal weight. ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A diet high in soybean oil causes more obesity and diabetes than a diet high in fructose, a sugar commonly found in soda and processed foods, according to a new study. In the U.S. the consumption of ... read more

Research With Dolphins Provides Hope for Prevention of Diabetes in Humans

July 22, 2015 — Can butter help prevent diabetes? By comparing 55 fatty acids in blood levels of dolphins and their diets, scientists have discovered a specific dietary saturated fat, called heptadecanoic acid, that ... read more

Menopause Associated With More Fat Around Heart, Raising Risk for Heart Disease

July 22, 2015 — Late- and post-menopausal women have significantly greater volumes of fat around their hearts -- a risk factor for heart disease -- than their pre-menopausal counterparts, a study has shown for the ... read more

Current Dietary Protein Recommendations Need Updating, Experts Say

July 22, 2015 — New research based on modern techniques suggests that recommendations for protein intake in healthy populations may be ... read more

Low Birth Weight Combined With Unhealthy Adult Lifestyle May Increase Type 2 Diabetes Risk

July 21, 2015 — People who are a low weight at birth and have unhealthy habits as adults, such as eating nutritionally poor diets or smoking, may have a greater risk of developing type 2 diabetes than people born at ... read more

Grandparents' Affection Piling on the Pounds in Chinese Children

July 17, 2015 — Affection from grandparents towards their grandchildren may play a major role in contributing to the childhood obesity pandemic in China, new research reveals. Chinese children who are mainly cared ... read more

Sitting Time Not Associated With Poorer Diets in US Adults

July 16, 2015 — Previously identified associations between TV viewing and a less healthful diet may stem from exposure to advertisements of high calorie foods and 'distracted eating' rather than the ... read more

New Finding on the Formation of Fat Tissue in Humans

July 16, 2015 — Bone marrow contains stem cells that normally give rise to new red and white blood cells. A team of researchers from Sweden and France has now shown that bone marrow cells can also form ... read more

Exercising 300 Minutes Per Week Better for Reducing Total Fat in Postmenopausal Women

July 16, 2015 — Postmenopausal women who exercised 300 minutes per week were better at reducing total fat and other adiposity measures, especially obese women, during a one-year clinical trial, a noteworthy finding ... read more

Taxing the Dose of Calories in Sugary Drinks Could Help Reduce Obesity

July 16, 2015 — A tax on sugary drinks that depends on the number of calories or amount of sugar per liter could help fight obesity, suggests new research. While a few countries are already trialing a tax on sugary ... read more

Eating Habits Most Important in Weight Gain in Children

July 16, 2015 — Some children gain weight faster than others. What make some children gain weight faster than others? Eating habits seem to have far more to say than physical activity, new research ... read more

Diversifying Your Diet May Make Your Gut Healthier

July 14, 2015 — A loss of dietary diversity during the past 50 years could be a contributing factor to the rise in obesity, Type 2 diabetes, gastrointestinal problems and other diseases, according to an ... read more

Am I Fat? Many of Today's Adolescents Don't Think So

July 14, 2015 — Admitting that you have a weight problem may be the first step in taking action, but a new study found that an increasing number of overweight adolescents do not consider themselves as ... read more

This Is Your Brain on Fried Eggs: Brain, Motivation and Eating a High-Fat Diet

July 14, 2015 — High-fat feeding can cause impairments in the functioning of the mesolimbic dopamine system, according to new research. This system is a critical brain pathway controlling motivation. These findings ... read more

Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015