Obesity News
July 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:22pm EDT

More Obesity News
July 27, 2015

Weight Loss for a Healthy Liver

July 27, 2015 — Weight loss through both lifestyle modification and bariatric surgery can significantly reduce features of nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, a disease characterized by fat in the liver, according to two ... read more

Preventing Knee Pain in at-Risk Adults With Diabetes

July 23, 2015 — An intensive program of diet and exercise had a small but statistically significant protective effect against the development of knee pain in the short term among overweight adults with diabetes, a ... read more

Current Dietary Protein Recommendations Need Updating, Experts Say

July 22, 2015 — New research based on modern techniques suggests that recommendations for protein intake in healthy populations may be ... read more

Grandparents' Affection Piling on the Pounds in Chinese Children

July 17, 2015 — Affection from grandparents towards their grandchildren may play a major role in contributing to the childhood obesity pandemic in China, new research reveals. Chinese children who are mainly cared ... read more

Sitting Time Not Associated With Poorer Diets in US Adults

July 16, 2015 — Previously identified associations between TV viewing and a less healthful diet may stem from exposure to advertisements of high calorie foods and 'distracted eating' rather than the ... read more

New Finding on the Formation of Fat Tissue in Humans

July 16, 2015 — Bone marrow contains stem cells that normally give rise to new red and white blood cells. A team of researchers from Sweden and France has now shown that bone marrow cells can also form ... read more

Exercising 300 Minutes Per Week Better for Reducing Total Fat in Postmenopausal Women

July 16, 2015 — Postmenopausal women who exercised 300 minutes per week were better at reducing total fat and other adiposity measures, especially obese women, during a one-year clinical trial, a noteworthy finding ... read more

Taxing the Dose of Calories in Sugary Drinks Could Help Reduce Obesity

July 16, 2015 — A tax on sugary drinks that depends on the number of calories or amount of sugar per liter could help fight obesity, suggests new research. While a few countries are already trialing a tax on sugary ... read more

Eating Habits Most Important in Weight Gain in Children

July 16, 2015 — Some children gain weight faster than others. What make some children gain weight faster than others? Eating habits seem to have far more to say than physical activity, new research ... read more

Diversifying Your Diet May Make Your Gut Healthier

July 14, 2015 — A loss of dietary diversity during the past 50 years could be a contributing factor to the rise in obesity, Type 2 diabetes, gastrointestinal problems and other diseases, according to an ... read more

Am I Fat? Many of Today's Adolescents Don't Think So

July 14, 2015 — Admitting that you have a weight problem may be the first step in taking action, but a new study found that an increasing number of overweight adolescents do not consider themselves as ... read more

This Is Your Brain on Fried Eggs: Brain, Motivation and Eating a High-Fat Diet

July 14, 2015 — High-fat feeding can cause impairments in the functioning of the mesolimbic dopamine system, according to new research. This system is a critical brain pathway controlling motivation. These findings ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Practically everyone gets fatter as they get older, but some people can blame their genes for the extra padding. Researchers have shown that two different mutations in a gene called ankyrin-B cause ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Blind cavefish that have adapted to annual cycles of starvation and binge-eating have mutations in the gene MC4R, the same gene that is mutated in certain obese people with insatiable appetites, ... read more

Ancestral Diets Determine Vulnerability to Type 2 Diabetes

July 10, 2015 — The middle classes from developing countries are more susceptible than western Caucasians to obesity, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease in today's changing environment. New research ... read more

Diet and Exercise Does Not Prevent Gestational Diabetes in Obese Women

July 10, 2015 — A diet and exercise regime for high-risk obese pregnant women, whilst effective in promoting a healthy lifestyle, does not prevent gestational diabetes, finds a new study. The research suggests that ... read more

Nutrition Researchers Develop Healthy Beverage Index

July 9, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new scoring method for assessing beverage intake, the Healthy Beverage Index (HBI). In a report, they describe how this tool can be used to more accurately evaluate ... read more

Many Overweight Teenagers Do Not Recognize They Are Too Heavy

July 9, 2015 — More than a third of overweight or obese teenagers don't see themselves as being too heavy and think their weight is about right, according to a new ... read more

Medication Could Improve Gastric Bypass Results, Study Suggests

July 8, 2015 — New findings about the mechanisms involved -- or not involved -- in the effects of the most common form of bariatric surgery suggest that combining surgery with a specific type of medication could ... read more

Mother's Diet Affects Offspring Alcohol and Nicotine Use in Lab Animal Study

July 7, 2015 — A study in rats suggests that a mother's consumption of a fat-rich diet during pregnancy increases her offspring's risk of a combined alcohol and nicotine abuse in ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015