Obesity News
October 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:52am EDT

More Obesity News
October 7, 2015

Lung Disease May Increase Risk of Insulin Resistance, Diabetes, Mouse Study Suggests

Sep. 30, 2015 — Numerous studies have identified obesity and poor diet as risk factors for insulin resistance and diabetes. Now, a new study adds another risk factor to the list: inflammatory lung ... read more

More Obesity Among the Less Educated in Rich Countries

Sep. 30, 2015 — In rich countries, obesity is more common among the lower educated, whilst in poor countries, obesity is more common among the higher educated, confirms new research. Previous studies have shown that ... read more

People With Genetic Variant Increasing Vitamin D Metabolism Improve Blood Sugar Control With High Protein Weight Loss Diet

Sep. 29, 2015 — People carrying a certain genetic variant relating to vitamin D metabolism are more likely to benefit from a high-protein weight loss diet than those without it, research ... read more

'Housing First' Approach for Homeless People Doesn't Help Obesity

Sep. 29, 2015 — The 'Housing First' approach of giving homeless people with mental illness a place to live without any preconditions such as sobriety or enrollment in a psychiatric treatment program has ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Introducing healthy lifestyle behaviors to children in preschool improves their knowledge, attitude and habits toward healthy diet and exercise and can lead to reduced levels of body fat, according ... read more

Unsaturated Fats, High-Quality Carbs Lower Risk of Heart Disease

Sep. 28, 2015 — While eliminating saturated fats can improve heart health, a new study shows that it makes a difference which foods are used in their place. A study shows that replacing saturated fats with ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — More than 80 percent of cardiovascular disease deaths occur in low- and middle-income countries, but very little data on the impact of diet on cardiovascular disease exists from these ... read more

Weight Loss Surgery Offers New Hope to Children, Adolescents With Prader-Willi Syndrome

Sep. 28, 2015 — Obesity is a leading cause of complications and death in children suffering from Prader-Willi syndrome (PWS), yet there are few effective treatment options for these patients. In a new study, ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — A blogger's weight affects her or his credibility with readers seeking food advice, according to a study. The study revealed that when a blogger is overweight, as shown in the blogger's ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Viral persistence and chronic inflammation are two key features of HIV-positive patients on antiretroviral therapy. A new study reports results from macaques and humans that suggest an important role ... read more

Inflammatory Response May Fan the Flame of Dietary Fats' Role in Obesity-Related Diseases

Sep. 24, 2015 — A new study finds that an enhanced inflammatory response could be the key link between high saturated fat intake -- a recognized risk factor for obesity-related disorders -- and the development of ... read more

Weight Loss, Exercise Improve Fertility in Women With Polycystic Ovary Syndrome

Sep. 24, 2015 — Weight loss and exercise improve ovulation in women who have polycystic ovary syndrome, a common hormone disorder that often causes infertility, according to a new ... read more

From Brain, to Fat, to Weight Loss

Sep. 24, 2015 — A breakthrough study shows that fat tissue is innervated and that direct stimulation of neurons in fat is sufficient to induce fat breakdown. These results set up the stage for developing novel ... read more

Female Gamers a New Risk Group for Overweight

Sep. 24, 2015 — Young women who play computer games are a new risk group for developing overweight and obesity. This is the finding of a study that includes more than 2,500 Swedes in their ... read more

Investigation Questions Expert Advice Underpinning New US Dietary Guidelines

Sep. 23, 2015 — The expert report underpinning the latest dietary guidelines for Americans fails to reflect much relevant scientific literature in its reviews of crucial topics and therefore risks giving a ... read more

Overweight Firefighters More Likely to Attempt Weight Loss If Advised by Doctor

Sep. 22, 2015 — Overweight firefighters are twice as likely to attempt to lose weight if their health care provider gives them weight loss advice, according to new research. More than 75 percent of firefighters are ... read more

A High Fat Diet Leads to Overeating Because of Faulty Brain Signaling

Sep. 21, 2015 — Defective signaling in the brain can cause overeating of high fat foods in mice, leading to obesity, according to a new article. The body controls food intake by balancing a need for food to survive ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — Research in rat models confirms a molecular link between activation of the amino acid response signal and the cell autophagy pathway, which is transferred from pregnant mothers' skeletal muscles ... read more

High Protein Diets, from Both Animal and Plant Sources, Improve Blood Sugar Control in Diabetic Patients

Sep. 18, 2015 — High protein diets improve blood sugar control in patients with type 2 diabetes without any adverse effects on kidney function, new research ... read more

Blood Tests Reveal Early Signs of Cardiovascular Disease Risk in Obese African-American Teens

Sep. 17, 2015 — Obese African-American teens, particularly girls, may have immune system changes that can lead to high blood pressure, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease in adulthood. Taking steps to control ... read more

Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015