Obesity News
November 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:53pm EST

More Obesity News
November 27, 2015

The Myth About L-Trypophan in Turkey

Nov. 24, 2015 — Turkey itself doesn’t make you sleepy after a Thanksgiving meal. What makes you sleepy is eating very large quantities of turkey, stuffing, potatoes and pie. Turkey does contain tryptophan, but so ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — Weight loss surgery curbs the sweet tooth by acting on the brain's reward system, according to a new study. The researchers found that gastrointestinal bypass surgery, which is used to treat ... read more

Obesity Spells Problems for Trauma Patients

Nov. 18, 2015 — A link between obesity and a higher risk for surgery in orthopaedic trauma patients has been uncovered by new research. In addition, researchers found that patients with obesity had longer hospital ... read more

Nationwide Look at Diabetes in Mexico Paints Grim Picture

Nov. 18, 2015 — If diabetes in Mexico continues unchecked, at least one in three people, and as many as one in two, could be diagnosed with the disease in their lifetimes, suggests a new ... read more

To Reduce Risk of Infant Death, Shed Excess Pounds Before Becoming Pregnant

Nov. 17, 2015 — Achieving a healthy weight before becoming pregnant and gaining an appropriate amount of weight during pregnancy significantly reduce the risk of the baby dying in his or her first year of life, ... read more

Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes Harm Bone Health

Nov. 17, 2015 — In a new animal study, researchers examined how the development of obesity and insulin resistance contribute to bone-fracture risk and whether exercise prevents weight gain and diabetes and protects ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Researchers have identified a mechanism that allows cancer cells to respond and grow rapidly when levels of sugar in the blood rise. This may help to explain why people who develop conditions in ... read more

Endurance Athletes Who 'Go Against the Grain' Become Incredible Fat-Burners

Nov. 17, 2015 — Elite endurance athletes who eat very few carbohydrates burned more than twice as much fat as high-carb athletes during maximum exertion and prolonged exercise in a new study -- the highest ... read more

Impact of High-Fat Diet on Red Blood Cells May Cause Cardiovascular Disease

Nov. 16, 2015 — Researchers have discovered the negative impact a high fat diet has on red blood cells and how these cells, in turn, promote the development of cardiovascular ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — New insights into what nutrients fat cells metabolize to make fatty acids have been released by scientists. The findings pave the way for understanding potential irregularities in fat cell metabolism ... read more

How Depleting the Gut Microbiota Protects from Obesity

Nov. 16, 2015 — By studying mice without microbiota, scientists were able to demonstrate how the absence of microbiota has a remarkable effect against obesity. Indeed, it triggers a surprising metabolic mechanism: ... read more

Healthy Diet May Reduce Risk of Ovarian Cancer in African-American Women

Nov. 13, 2015 — A healthy diet may reduce the risk of ovarian cancer in African-American women, according to new ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — Women with apple-shaped bodies -- those who store more of their fat in their trunk and abdominal regions -- may be at particular risk for the development of eating episodes during which they ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — Eating sweet foods causes the brain to form a memory of a meal, according to ... read more

Researchers Identify Liver Pathway Linked to Negative Impacts of High-Fat, High-Cholesterol Diet

Nov. 12, 2015 — It's no secret that a high-fat, high-cholesterol "junk food" diet has been linked to major health problems, including high blood cholesterol and the buildup of plaques in the arteries, ... read more

Adolescent Bariatric Surgery Reverses Type 2 Diabetes in 95 Percent of Teens, Achieves Major Weight Loss and Improves Quality of Life

Nov. 11, 2015 — New research shows that three years after undergoing bariatric surgery, adolescents experienced major improvements in their weight, metabolic health, and quality of ... read more

Scientists Identify Genetic Factors That Influence Body Weight and Neurological Disorders

Nov. 11, 2015 — Genetic factors that influence motor performance and body weight in a genetically diverse group of mice have been identified in a new study. The researchers also found the genes identified in the ... read more

Perfluorooctanoic Acid Exposure in Utero Linked to Child Adiposity, Faster BMI Gain

Nov. 11, 2015 — A study of more than 200 Cincinnati households finds that the children of mothers who experienced higher levels of exposure to perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) while pregnant had higher body fat and ... read more

Teasing Girls About Weight Is More Than a Playground Joke, Study Finds

Nov. 10, 2015 — A practice that may seem like a harmless playground antic, but could have long-lasting and harmful effects to a young girl's perception of herself and of food, has been the focus of recent ... read more

Childhood Obesity Linked to Poverty, Parenting Style

Nov. 10, 2015 — With childhood obesity rates on the rise, a team of based researchers embarked on a study to show how authoritarian parenting and household income combine to affect kid's obesity ... read more

Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015