Obesity News
February 12, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:53am EST

More Obesity News
February 12, 2016

Association Among Childhood ADHD, Sex and Obesity

Feb. 4, 2016 — The incidence of childhood and adult obesity has increased significantly over the past three decades. New research shows that there is an association between obesity development during adulthood and ... read more

Don't Use Body Mass Index to Determine Whether People Are Healthy

Feb. 4, 2016 — Relying on body mass index (BMI), a numerical measure of a person's height and weight, as a proxy for health incorrectly labels more than 54 million heavy Americans unhealthy when they are not, ... read more

New Target for the Treatment of Fatty Liver Disease Discovered

Feb. 3, 2016 — Two proteins, p38 gamma and p38 delta, control the accumulation of fat in the liver, a process linked to the development of insulin resistance and diabetes, which are common outcomes of obesity, ... read more

Does Gender Expression Impact Weight? New Research Ties Masculinity to Higher BMI for Young People

Feb. 2, 2016 — The first long-term research study of its kind ties masculine gender expression, or how much an individual conforms to masculine norms, to higher Body Mass Index (BMI) in ... read more

Adolescent Weight Gain on Popular Injectable Contraceptive May Depend on Micronutrient Intake

Feb. 2, 2016 — Since its introduction nearly 23 years ago, the popular injectable contraceptive depot medroxyprogesterone acetate (DMPA) has been associated with causing substantial weight gain in some adolescent ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — New work on how news media coverage shapes perceptions of obesity, has been published by investigators. They examined how perspectives on obesity portrayed in news articles affect people's ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — The maternal diet influences fat and glucose metabolism of offspring through epigenetic alterations, new research shows. As the study shows, a high-fat diet during pregnancy and lactation leads to ... read more

Obesity, Diabetes in Mom Increases Risk of Autism in Child

Jan. 29, 2016 — Children born to obese women with diabetes are more than four times as likely to be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder than children of healthy weight mothers without diabetes, new research ... read more

Cholesterol Levels Improve With Weight Loss, Healthy Fat-Rich Diet

Jan. 29, 2016 — Weight loss programs that provide healthy fats, such as olive oil in the Mediterranean diet, or a low-fat, high-carbohydrate diet have similar impacts on pound-shedding, research shows. More ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Body mass index (BMI) is an inadequate method for estimating changes in body fat and obesity in children with leukemia, a new study concludes. Investigators determined that the discrepancy between ... read more

Epigenetic Switch for Obesity

Jan. 28, 2016 — Having overweight parents significantly increases your risk of obesity, but the inheritance of specific mutations can't always explain why this is the case. In a study, researchers show that ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Exposure to secondhand smoke is associated with a larger waist and poorer cognition in children, researchers say. Researchers looked at passive smoke exposure in 220 overweight or obese 7-11-year-old ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Removal of a gene protected mice against arterial disease, and they stayed lean even when they ate more. The phenomenon underlying this beneficial phenotype is more active brown adipose tissue, a new ... read more

Losing Fat While Gaining Muscle: Scientists Close in on 'Holy Grail' of Diet and Exercise

Jan. 27, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered significant new evidence in the quest for the elusive goal of gaining muscle and losing fat, an oft-debated problem for those trying to manage their weight, control their ... read more

Spending More on Food Is Associated With a Healthier Diet, Weight

Jan. 27, 2016 — According to an epidemiological study, increasing the money you spend on food is linked to a better quality diet, particularly increased consumption of fruit and vegetables, leading to a healthier ... read more

How Obesity Makes Memory Go Bad

Jan. 26, 2016 — Obesity is associated with epigenetic changes that dysregulate memory-associated genes, and a particular enzyme in brain neurons of the hippocampus appears to be a link between chronic obesity and ... read more

Many Latino Kids Struggle to Reach a Healthy Weight by Kindergarten

Jan. 26, 2016 — More Latino kids are obese by ages 2-5 than white kids, due to maternal obesity, less exclusive breastfeeding, and workplace and childcare issues that affect nutrition and physical activity levels, ... read more

Being Married Might Hurt Your Chances of Weight Loss After Surgery

Jan. 26, 2016 — Spouses ideally could play a key role in helping patients lose pounds and keep them off after weight-loss surgery, but being married might actually work against patients, researchers have found. The ... read more

Study Links Fatty Liver, Heart Failure in Obese People

Jan. 26, 2016 — Fatty liver is independently associated with subclinical heart failure in obese people, according to a new study. The findings add more support to the importance of dietary interventions in such ... read more

Brain Function Differs in Obese Children, Study Shows

Jan. 25, 2016 — The brains of children who are obese function differently from those of children of healthy weight, and exhibit an "imbalance" between food-seeking and food-avoiding behaviors, researchers ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 25, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015