Ecosystems News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:12am EDT

More Ecosystems News
April 30, 2017

Towards a Liveable Future

Apr. 21, 2017 — Humans have influenced nature since as early as the Ice Age, and over the past century our impact has become even greater with our many new technologies and a growing world population. Researchers ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — For the first time, scientists have created a global map measuring the cooling effect forests generate by regulating the exchange of water and energy between the Earth's surface and the ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — Understanding the severity of the BP oil spill has led researchers to a barcoding fish eggs. This will help them to determine where fish are spawning, hopefully leading toward the creation of ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers have studied forests subjected to different frequencies of fires to determine what effects fire can have on oak forests over long periods of time. They found that the frequency of ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — Current wildfire policy can't adequately protect people, homes and ecosystems from the longer, hotter fire seasons climate change is causing, according to a new ... read more

Cover Crops May Be Used to Mitigate and Adapt to Climate Change

Apr. 17, 2017 — Cover crops long have been touted for their ability to reduce erosion, fix atmospheric nitrogen, reduce nitrogen leaching and improve soil health, but they also may play an important role in ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — Using mud pulled from the bottom of a tropical lake, researchers at have gained a new grasp of how ancient microbes made methane in the complex iron chemistry of the early ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Cretaceous climate warming led to a significant methane release from the seafloor, indicating potential for similar destabilization of gas hydrates under modern global warming. A field campaign on ... read more

Next 10 Years Critical for Achieving Climate Change Goals

Apr. 13, 2017 — In order to have a good chance of meeting the limits set by the Paris Agreement, it will be necessary to both reduce greenhouse gas emissions while preserving carbon sinks, with net emissions peaking ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — Microbes in streams flowing on the surface of glaciers in the Arctic and Antarctic may represent a previously underestimated source of organic material and be part of an as yet undiscovered ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — A new method has been devised for assessing the cultural value of landscapes using geotagged photos shared on a social-networking service. Data obtained with this method could help determine which ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Peripheral parts of the Amazon forest were long thought to be most vulnerable to climate-induced collapse. Now, a study that seasonally inundated areas in the heart of the forest may be an unexpected ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — North America's freshwater lakes are getting saltier due to development and exposure to road salt. A study of 371 lakes reports that many Midwestern and Northeastern lakes are experiencing ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Reconstructed food webs from the Ancestral Puebloan southwestern United States show the complexity and interconnectedness of humans, other animals, crops and the environment, in an area of uncertain ... read more

Apr. 7, 2017 — For the first time, scientists present the isotopic fingerprint of nitrous oxide produced by Arctic soils. The finding opens new avenues for predicting future trends in atmospheric nitrous oxide as ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — A team of economists and ecologists has developed one of the first models to assign a dollar value to the loss or gain of species in an ecosystem. This new work offers an economic argument for ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — The eastern Arctic Ocean is becoming more like the Atlantic Ocean, a new study combining remote sensing and local data ... read more

When Old Growth Beats Old School

Apr. 6, 2017 — Imitating old-growth forests enhances carbon storage in managed forestland far better than conventional forestry techniques, a fifteen-year study in Vermont shows. The new approach holds promise for ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Biologists agree that climate change reduces biological diversity. The specific processes that ultimately cause species to go extinct have, however, been little studied so far. Scientists have now ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Massive seagrass beds in Western Australia's Shark Bay -- a UNESCO World Heritage Site -- haven't recovered much from the devastating heat wave of 2011, according to a new study ... read more

Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017