Educational Policy News
July 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:02am EDT

More Educational Policy News
July 28, 2016

Policy Makers Must Act to Reduce Energy Drinks Consumption by Children, Adolescents, Says New Report

July 21, 2016 — UK policy makers must act against excessive energy drinks consumption by children and young people, argues a new ... read more

Making Parenting a National Priority in U.S.

July 20, 2016 — A new report calls for a new national framework to support struggling parents. Developmental psychologists say the findings emphasize making parenting a national U.S. ... read more

Income Inequality Leads Millennials to Start Families Before Marriage

July 14, 2016 — Rising income inequality, and the resulting scarcity of certain types of jobs, is a key reason young Americans are having babies before getting ... read more

Need Skills? Corporate Volunteering Programs Not Always Best Place to Acquire Them

June 30, 2016 — Corporate volunteering programs are widely credited by business leaders and volunteers for giving participants valuable work-related skills. A new study suggests there is some truth to these claims, ... read more

Findings Show Gender, Not Race, a Factor in College Engineering Dropouts

June 29, 2016 — Researchers are exploring how ethnic and gender variables affect retention rates, goal setting and satisfaction among engineering students. Preliminary findings in the middle of this five-year study ... read more

Blue-Collar Training in High School Leaves Women Behind

June 29, 2016 — What's the best way to prepare high schoolers for jobs in the 21st century? Education leaders and the general public have been debating this question with more heat in recent years, clashing ... read more

Should First-Year College Students Assessed as Needing Remedial Math Take College-Level Quantitative Courses Instead?

June 24, 2016 — Policies placing first-year college students assessed as needing remedial math directly into college-level quantitative courses, with additional support, can increase student success, according to a ... read more

Part-Timers Now 49 Percent of Nation's College and University Faculty, Study Finds

June 23, 2016 — Part-time workers now make up nearly half of the faculty of U.S. colleges and universities, according to the 2016 edition of The Condition of Education, a federal report on the nation’s education ... read more

Teachers Optimistic About Common Core Writing Standards, but Not Tests

June 22, 2016 — Teachers believe the Common Core standards in their states can improve how they teach writing, but they also find plenty of shortcomings with the standards -- and with the associated state writing ... read more

June 20, 2016 — New research aims to help educators quantify how the best students perform problem solving with the aid of instructional videos, a step toward learning how to better coach students in difficult ... read more

Troubled-Youth Facilities Benefit from 'Ecological Approach'

June 17, 2016 — The difficult, and sometimes dangerous, job of caregiving in residential facilities for troubled youth becomes notably more fulfilling when agencies de-emphasize behavior control in favor of creating ... read more

Transgender Rights Critical for the Health of 25 Million Transgender People Worldwide

June 17, 2016 — 2015 was an unprecedented year in the recognition of transgender rights in some high-income countries. However, as a new series of articles reveals, public recognition has yet to translate to a ... read more

Absent Investments, 200 Million Children May Not Reach Their Potential, Experts Say

June 16, 2016 — Thirty-one academic experts in children's health argue that absent urgent action by international aid agencies, 200 million children around the world could sustain serious, lifelong cognitive ... read more

Adolescent Alcohol, Marijuana Use Leads to Poor Academic Performance, Health Problems

June 14, 2016 — Adolescents who use both marijuana and alcohol during middle school and high school are more likely to have poor academic performance and mental health during high school, according to a new study ... read more

Relationship Between School Security, Race, Research Shows

June 8, 2016 — Security measures in American high schools are meant to keep students safe. But research shows heightened security has unintended ... read more

Twitter: The Newest Teacher for Twenty First Century Writers

June 8, 2016 — In a world of digital natives, microfiction and social media in academic settings, Twitter is the ideal tool for regenerating twenty first century writing, according to a recent ... read more

Researchers Mine Twitter to Reveal Congress' Ideological Divide on Climate Change

June 2, 2016 — Senate Democrats are three times more likely to follow science-related Twitter accounts than their Republican peers, according to a new study. The research shows the growing divide between parties on ... read more

How the Great Recession Weighed on Children

June 2, 2016 — Increases in unemployment in California during the Great Recession were associated with an increased risk for weight gain among the state's 1.7 million public school students, suggesting that ... read more

June 2, 2016 — Male students in undergraduate introductory biology courses are outperforming females at test time, but it may be due to how exams are designed rather than academic ability, suggests new research. In ... read more

Don't Cut the Tags Off Yet

June 1, 2016 — Merchandise returns are expensive for retailers, and yet lenient return policies can boost consumer demand. For retailers seeking guidance on balancing these concerns, this analysis of the impact of ... read more

Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016