Educational Policy News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:44pm EDT

More Educational Policy News
April 30, 2017

Classifying English Proficiency Varies by District, With Mixed Outcomes for Students

Apr. 12, 2017 — The threshold for transitioning students from English learners to fluent English proficient status -- a process termed reclassification -- varies widely across and within states, finds a new ... read more

Underachieving Boys, or Clever Girls?

Apr. 11, 2017 — Boys and girls perform differently at school, but researchers are uncertain whether this has to do with how they ... read more

Impacts of School Choice on Segregation

Mar. 28, 2017 — Diversity in schools is important for students' experiences and outcomes in schools and beyond, reducing prejudices and ensuring the likelihood of living and working in integrated environments ... read more

Honesty May Not Be the Best Policy for Hospital Safety Grades, Study Suggests

Mar. 28, 2017 — A new study finds that a well-known hospital grading system may put too much weight on the wrong things. The grades are based in part on hospitals' self-reported use of safety-related protocols. ... read more

More Compulsory Math Lessons Do Not Encourage Women to Pursue STEM Careers

Mar. 28, 2017 — What is known as "curriculum intensification" is often used around the world to attract more university entrants -- and particularly more women -- to STEM subjects; that is to say, students ... read more

Can Artificial Intelligence Detect Fake News?

Mar. 27, 2017 — An artificial intelligence course has been launched that includes two projects focused on using AI to detect and combat fake news ... read more

Most Remaining Smokers in US Have Low Socioeconomic Status

Mar. 24, 2017 — After decades of declining US smoking rates overall, most remaining smokers have low income, no college education, no health insurance or a disability. About 15 percent of US adults -- more than 36 ... read more

Age at Immigration Influences Occupational Skill Development

Mar. 23, 2017 — Future occupations of US immigrant children are influenced by how similar their native language is to English, according to a new ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Racial segregation is declining, but it remains higher for families with children than those without, a new study shows. Race appears to be a 'proxy' for school quality for many white ... read more

States Can Lower Risk of Measles Outbreak by Strengthening Exemption Policies

Mar. 21, 2017 — States with weaker non-medical exemption policies for vaccinations can reduce the likelihood of a measles outbreak 140 to 190 percent by strengthening them, a new study ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — 'Why do I have to learn this?' It's a common question among youth, but new research suggests students perform much better academically when the answer is provided by their peers rather ... read more

Food Insecurity in Early Childhood Linked to Young Children's Skills in Kindergarten

Mar. 21, 2017 — In the United States, estimates show that a substantial number of children under age 5 live in households that are food insecure. That means that they do not have food, or they lack sufficient ... read more

Challenges Veterans Face When Transitioning from the Battlefield to the Classroom

Mar. 16, 2017 — A research team investigating the mental health burden and treatment-seeking behaviors of student veterans attending rural community colleges in the southern United States has found that this ... read more

Female Cyberbullies and Victims Feel the Most Negative About School and Learning

Mar. 15, 2017 — Involvement in cyberbullying among girls triggers negative perceptions of the importance of school and the value of learning, a new study suggests. Psychologists found that 11-15 year-old girls who ... read more

How to Get Kids to Use Salad Bars in Public Schools

Mar. 13, 2017 — Thanks to a national initiative, salad bars are showing up in public schools across the country. Now a researcher is trying to nail down how to get kids to eat from ... read more

Mar. 6, 2017 — A new tool that uses classroom sounds may solve the biggest outstanding question in undergraduate science education, namely, what teaching methods are actually being used in college classrooms, and ... read more

Mar. 3, 2017 — Incoming college students who already feel a connection to their institution are more likely to fit in and want to remain at the school, especially if they are ethnic minorities, indicates a new ... read more

Racial, Ethnic, Gender Bias Occurs in Pathway from Teacher to Principal

Feb. 28, 2017 — Race and sex still matter when public school teachers seek to become principals, a new study has ... read more

Children and Youth Learning English Require Better Support for Academic Success

Feb. 28, 2017 — Despite their potential, many English learners (ELs) -- who account for more than 9 percent of K-12 enrollment in the US -- lag behind their English-speaking monolingual peers in educational ... read more

Back After a Century, for-Profit Medical Schools Could Make Impact

Feb. 23, 2017 — Long discouraged, for-profit medical education has established a renewed foothold in the US, leading a trio of Brown University scholars to examine in JAMA what that rise could ... read more

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016