Educational Policy News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:31pm EST

More Educational Policy News
February 13, 2016

Feb. 2, 2016 — Teacher turnover is often rightly perceived as a problem for schools. A growing body of evidence finds that teacher turnover reduces student achievement, either directly because replacement teachers ... read more

First-Semester GPA a Better Predictor of College Success Than ACT Score

Feb. 2, 2016 — Underrepresented students' first-semester GPA may be a better predictor of whether they'll graduate college than their ACT score or their family's socioeconomic status, a new study has ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Computer science has become a new basic skill, essential in order to excel in an increasingly computational and data-intensive world. However, access to computer science (CS) at the K-12 levels ... read more

New Tool for Gauging Public Opinion Reveals Skepticism of Climate Engineering

Feb. 1, 2016 — Members of the public find the risks of climate engineering technology more likely than any of the benefits, according to an article. Such research is crucial because even if the goal of reducing ... read more

Teachers Reported Moderate to Major Concerns Prior to 2015 State Testing

Feb. 1, 2016 — Prior to the first round of K-12 standardized testing under Common Core education standards last year, most teachers had moderate to major concerns about test difficulty and low student performance, ... read more

New Programs Help Prepare Low-Income Children for School Success

Jan. 28, 2016 — New pediatric programs report an increase school readiness in children of low-income ... read more

Incentive Pay Not Motivating Enough for Some Managers

Jan. 27, 2016 — Incentive compensation is becoming an increasingly popular practice, with firms offering managers incentive pay in the hopes of improving company performance. But not all managers respond to ... read more

New Research Uncovers Hidden Bias in College Admissions Tests

Jan. 25, 2016 — A little over two years after the College Board released research rebutting findings concerning the board's testing methods, researchers have raised new questions in a paper about test bias, ... read more

The Indigenous Internet

Jan. 25, 2016 — Improving computer literacy and building internet and communications technology (ICT) skills in Indigenous communities is more about understanding the opportunities rather than imposing ... read more

Low Reflective Ability Is Risk for Professionalism Lapses During Medical School and Beyond

Jan. 21, 2016 — A new study is one of the first to provide quantitative evidence to support anecdotal claims linking reflective ability of medical students and professional behaviors of future ... read more

Targeted School Closure Policies May Help the Fight Against Pandemic Influenza

Jan. 21, 2016 — Targeted school closure policies may help mitigating the spread of pandemic influenza, while entailing lower social costs than more traditional policies, such as nationwide school ... read more

Can Performance Brands Cause a Placebo Effect?

Jan. 20, 2016 — A common marketing message from consumer brands is "you will perform better with us." Research has examined whether using performance brands such as Nike and 3M had any effect on ... read more

Dangerous Driving Puts Kids at Higher Risk of Getting Hit During School Drop-Offs

Jan. 20, 2016 — In 2011, trained observers measured dangerous driving behaviors and numbers of children walking to school during morning drop-off times. The study reviewed police reports on child PMVCs, mapped ... read more

Group Learning Makes Children Better Decision-Makers, Study Finds

Jan. 19, 2016 — Children who participate in group learning develop better decision-making skills than children who study the same curriculum via teacher-led discussions, suggests a new study. More than 760 ... read more

Airlines Aren't Learning Enough from Near Misses

Jan. 19, 2016 — When it comes to flight safety, US airlines are pretty good at learning from accidents. But new research shows airlines should be learning more from accidents that never ... read more

Ads for Candy-Flavored E-Cigarettes Could Encourage Vaping Among School Children

Jan. 18, 2016 — Advertisements featuring e-cigarettes with flavors such as chocolate and bubble gum are more likely to attract school children to buy and try e-cigarettes than those featuring non-flavored ... read more

Psychology Study Explains When and Why Bystanders Intervene in Cyberbullying

Jan. 15, 2016 — People on social media are often unsupportive of cyberbullying victims who have shared highly personal feelings, psychologists report. In a new study, the researchers created a fictitious Facebook ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — A new lab will allow roboticists from around the country to conduct experiments remotely, American scientists report. Researchers from universities, as well as middle and high school students, will ... read more

Students' Cognitive Functioning Improves When Using Standing Desks, New Study Indicates

Jan. 14, 2016 — Do students think best when on their feet? New findings provide the first evidence of neurocognitive benefits of stand-height desks in classrooms. These findings provide the first evidence of ... read more

School Shootings and Street Violence: How They're Alike and Different

Jan. 14, 2016 — The two types of youth gun violence couldn't be more different, but the ways to prevent them remain largely the same, according to a new report by some of America's top violence ... read more

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015