NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
World Development News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:07am EST

More World Development News
February 20, 2017

Using Statistics Ethically to Combat 'a Scientific Credibility Crisis'

Feb. 19, 2017 — Can statistics increase the value of science to ... read more

Early Warning System Flags Global Financial Crises

Feb. 14, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new 'early warning system' that could help policymakers around the world take action to avert or lessen the impact of financial ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — An international team has, for the first time, developed a way of combining anonymized data from mobile phones and satellite imagery data to create high resolution maps to measure ... read more

Aftershock Nepal: Changing Perceptions Through Student Journalism

Feb. 6, 2017 — When the earthquake hit Nepal in 2015, the newspapers were full of stories of the tragic event, the devastation left following the natural disaster, and the heroic clean-up effort on the ground. Less ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Trees may be easy to spot on the plains of Africa but they are often overlooked as a source of income for farmers. A new study shows trees on farms may help reduce rural poverty and maintain ... read more

Perceptions of Tap Water Quality Linked to PTSD in Flint, Michigan, Residents

Nov. 1, 2016 — The water crisis in Flint, Michigan, increased the stress levels of community residents, according to new ... read more

Oct. 24, 2016 — Freshwater fish play a surprisingly crucial role in feeding some of the world's most vulnerable people, according to a new ... read more

Oct. 21, 2016 — Only a small share of Congolese villagers is the driving force behind most of the deforestation. They're not felling trees to feed their families, but to increase their quality of life. These ... read more

Risk Analysis for Common Ground on Climate Loss and Damage

Oct. 20, 2016 — The Paris Agreement included groundbreaking text on the need for a mechanism to help identify risks beyond adaptation and support the victims of climate-related loss and damage--but how exactly it ... read more

Amazon Fishery Management Provides Rare 'Win-Win' Chance for Conservation and Poverty Alleviation

Oct. 20, 2016 — A study into freshwater lake management along the Amazon’s most meandering river has demonstrated astounding benefits to local livelihoods in replenishing vitally important fish stocks — a source ... read more

Oct. 19, 2016 — Following the devastating droughts in the 70s and 80s in the Sahel region south of the Sahara desert, vegetation has now recovered. What surprised the researchers is that although it is now raining ... read more

Future of Antarctic Marine Protected Areas at Risk

Oct. 13, 2016 — Antarctica's surrounding waters are home to some of the healthiest marine ecosystems on Earth and support thriving populations of krill, seabirds, fish and whales. But efforts to establish a ... read more

Climate Change May Help Ethiopia, Increase the Country's Access to Water

Oct. 12, 2016 — Despite the many disastrous impacts of climate change, there are some regions of the globe that might benefit from hotter temperatures. A team of researchers have predicted that water availability in ... read more

Sep. 28, 2016 — A shift in westerly winds, which has led to climate impacts in Australia and the Southern Ocean, is human-induced, new research suggests. To date, limited data on Antarctic climate has meant that ... read more

Addressing Climate Change as a Social Issue

Sep. 20, 2016 — We cannot rely on governments, businesses or the public to adopt technological solutions to solve the problem of climate change, instead, social solutions must be put in place, according to ... read more

Climate Change Means Land Use Will Need to Change to Keep Up With Global Food Demand, Say Scientists

Sep. 20, 2016 — Without significant improvements in technology, global crop yields are likely to fall in the areas currently used for production of the world’s three major cereal crops, forcing production to move ... read more

Neglected Tropical Diseases: Progress Towards Addressing the Chronic Pandemic

Sep. 15, 2016 — A review of the progress made in addressing the chronic pandemic of neglected tropical diseases (NTDs) has now been released. The authors looked at the progress made in terms of the donated medicines ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Researchers are closer to helping producers better meet global food demand, now that they've combined simulation and statistical methods to help them predict how temperature affects wheat crops ... read more

Experts Urge a Defensive Stance in Efforts Against Antimicrobial Resistance

Sep. 8, 2016 — The United Nations should reframe global efforts against antimicrobial resistance by adopting a defensive stance, say experts who have suggested that focus should be in building the resilience of ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — The strongest predictors of North Carolina middle school students' beliefs in human-caused climate change: a science teacher's belief that global warming is happening and the students' ... read more

Sunday, February 19, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015