World Development News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:05am EDT

More World Development News
August 29, 2016

Aug. 18, 2016 — The availability of accurate and reliable information on the location of impoverished zones is surprisingly lacking for much of the world. Applying machine learning to satellite images could identify ... read more

Adding Milk, Meat to Diet Dramatically Improves Nutrition for Poor in Zambia

Aug. 10, 2016 — Adding livestock to poor households in developing countries such as Zambia is shown to improve their financial status, but how the addition of milk and meat to their diet effects their nutrition has ... read more

Global Experts Call on UN to Mobilize a Global Action Plan to Widen Access to Antibiotics

July 15, 2016 — Today some of the world's experts on antibiotic resistance called on the UN to act to reduce the growing number of deaths due to limited access to effective ... read more

Engineers Selected to Safeguard and Develop China's Sustainable Agriculture

July 11, 2016 — Aerospace engineers are researching how to improve unmanned autonomous ground and air vehicles -- such as fixed wing aircraft or quadrotors -- in order to fulfill remote data collection requirements ... read more

Europe: Don't Adopt Australian Style Immigration System, Warn Ethicists

June 27, 2016 — European countries should not adopt Australia's immigration system, with its emphasis on deterrence, warn ethicists in a new ... read more

Absent Investments, 200 Million Children May Not Reach Their Potential, Experts Say

June 16, 2016 — Thirty-one academic experts in children's health argue that absent urgent action by international aid agencies, 200 million children around the world could sustain serious, lifelong cognitive ... read more

Study Investigates Why Blacks Have Higher Risk of Cognitive Impairment

May 31, 2016 — Social and economic disadvantages play a significant role in why blacks face a much higher risk than whites of developing cognitive impairment later in life, indicates an American ... read more

May 27, 2016 — A professor calls for action to tackle the effect of a rapidly growing world population on greenhouse gas ... read more

Unmet Surgical Needs High for World's 60 Million Refugees

May 26, 2016 — The world’s estimated 60 million refugees, displaced from their homes due to conflict, persecution or human rights violations, may need at least 2.78 million surgeries a year, something thought to ... read more

Paris Climate Agreement Cannot Be Met Without Emissions Reduction Target for Agriculture

May 17, 2016 — Scientists have calculated, for the first time, the extent to which agricultural emissions must be reduced to meet the Paris climate agreement's plan to limit warming to 2 degrees Celsius in ... read more

Poor Countries to Bear Brunt of Climate Change Despite Emitting Least Carbon Dioxide

May 16, 2016 — Many of the world's poorest countries are expected to experience daily heat extremes due to climate change sooner than wealthier nations. New research shows that the poorest fifth of the global ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Reconciliation programs promote societal healing, but that these gains come at the cost of reduced psychological health, worsening depression, anxiety, and ... read more

Migrant Money Puts Aid in the Shade

May 12, 2016 — International remittances have poverty and inequality-reducing effects in Sub-Saharan Africa, new research suggests. The results suggest that a 10% increase in remittances as share of gross domestic ... read more

Team Highlights Ways to Address Global Food System Challenges

May 6, 2016 — A new study presents strategies to address the complex challenges of producing food for a growing global population, while reducing environmental impacts and increasing resilience in the face of ... read more

What Can We Expect Next in the Long History of Lead Poisoning in the US?

May 2, 2016 — While state and federal officials continue to criticize each other for failing to guarantee safe drinking water, the question of exactly who is responsible for crises like in Flint, Michigan, lies at ... read more

Demographic Changes Increase the Risk of Natural Fires

May 2, 2016 — In many parts of the world, grass and forest fires pose a threat to animals and humans. According to a new study from Sweden, while climate change is likely to cause more and larger fires, in the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Over 300 million people worldwide use groundwater contaminated with arsenic or fluoride as a source of drinking water. Now a research team has developed a method whereby the risk of contamination in ... read more

Landscape Ecology Must Play a Role in Policymaking

Apr. 27, 2016 — Landscape ecology considers the influence of time and space on environmental patterns. Because of this focus, it is uniquely positioned to inform crucial policy decisions -- in particular, those ... read more

Global Snapshot of Indigenous Peoples Health Released

Apr. 21, 2016 — A world-first study into the health and wellbeing of more than 154 million indigenous and tribal people globally reveals the extent of work that needs to be done if the United Nations is to meet its ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Much of the world may cringe as lemurs are hunted and killed or when entire forests are burnt and harvested for charcoal. However, if local residents don't perceive the actions as crimes or they ... read more

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015