Transportation Issues News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:37pm EDT

More Transportation Issues News
May 28, 2016

Analysis of Electric Vehicles to Optimize the in And out-of-Car Experience

May 6, 2016 — An international research team has been working to acquire, pool and develop knowledge on various aspects of electric and hybrid vehicles, such as vehicle dynamics, drivability, and noise, vibration ... read more

Car Crashes: Predicting High Risk Locations

May 3, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new blackspot identification method that offers an unbiased prediction of crash counts and allows a more accurate way to identify high-risk crash sites. The blackspot ... read more

Exempt from Passenger Restraint Laws, Taxis Pose Risky Rides for Small Children

Apr. 30, 2016 — The vast majority of small children riding in taxis are not restrained in car safety seats, according to new research, even though there are tens of thousands of motor vehicle collisions involving ... read more

Researchers Find a Fast Road out of Poverty

Apr. 19, 2016 — New research has measured the 'wealth effect' of upgrading the infrastructure in poorer sections of cities. Revamps, such as surfacing roads and joining them to the city grid, dramatically ... read more

Is HUD Housing Affordable? New Study Says Not When You Factor in Costs to Commute

Mar. 29, 2016 — Where to live can be a dilemma for many Americans. Do you pay more for housing located near work and other destinations or do you pay less for housing that requires extensive driving? What about ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — The popular notion that millennials are choosing not drive may be oversimplified, a new report suggests. In a suburban community with low density and no public transportation, teens obtained their ... read more

Affordable Housing Not So Affordable When Transportation Costs Soar

Mar. 21, 2016 — A new report assesses the affordability of US Department of Housing and Urban Development rental assistance properties from the perspective of transportation ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Hype followed by disappointment: That's been the general pattern over the past few decades when an alternative fuel is presented to the public. It's a fuel du jour phenomenon, from methanol ... read more

New Report Recommends Research to Improve Understanding of Relationship Between Fatigue and Crash Risk

Mar. 10, 2016 — Insufficient sleep can decrease a commercial motor vehicle driver's level of alertness, which may increase the risk of a crash, yet little is known about effective ways to minimize that risk, ... read more

Jet Engines to Become Cleaner in Future

Feb. 26, 2016 — New research is working toward a new way to measure emissions of fine particulate matter from aircraft engines, and scientists are hoping to develop a preliminary standard governing the emission of ... read more

Are Big-City Transportation Systems Too Complex for Human Minds?

Feb. 19, 2016 — A team of researchers has attempted to work out the amount of information an urban transportation system map can contain before it exceeds human cognitive ... read more

Independence and Mobility Key for Older Drivers Report Finds

Feb. 18, 2016 — The majority of older drivers want to continue driving as long as they are able to safely, according to a new ... read more

Improve Winter Road Safety in Canada to Decrease Number of Deaths

Feb. 16, 2016 — The annual deaths that occur each winter in Canada due to poor road conditions can be reduced with a multipronged strategy, argues a new ... read more

'Haptic Glasses' Could Make Car Navigation Safer, Less Distracting

Feb. 12, 2016 — Human factors/ergonomics researchers have developed an alternative navigation system that uses haptic (touch) communication instead of voice that, along with a visual display, shows promise to ... read more

Feb. 9, 2016 — Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) can reduce fuel consumption and greenhouse gas emissions compared to their gas-only counterparts. Researchers have taken the technology one step further, ... read more

The Big Dig: Global Software Solution for Road, Water and Sewer Repairs

Feb. 9, 2016 — Researchers have developed an innovative method of tracking the many issues involved with the repair and renewal of road, water and sewer ... read more

Injury Deaths, Life-Expectancy Gap Between US and Other High-Income Countries

Feb. 9, 2016 — The contribution of three causes of injury death to the gap in life expectancy between the United States and 12 comparable countries in 2012 has been estimated in a new study. The researchers focused ... read more

Feb. 9, 2016 — Many populations of African animal species have dramatically decreased or already disappeared altogether. A team of European researchers has now predicted hunting pressure for the Congo Basin and ... read more

Mature Drivers Favor Checks on Over 70s, New Study Finds

Feb. 4, 2016 — The majority of older drivers are in favor of tighter rules on checking the health and suitability of over-70s to drive -- even if those checks could take them off the road themselves -- according to ... read more

Soundscape Approach Integrating Noise Mapping Techniques: Case Study from the UK

Jan. 28, 2016 — Noise pollution affects a large number of Europeans becoming quickly one of the most underrated environmental problems that take severe toll on human health. It can affect people in both ... read more

Friday, May 6, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015