NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Transportation Issues News
February 19, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:05pm EST

More Transportation Issues News
February 19, 2017

Strong Alcohol Policies Protect Against Drunk Driving Deaths Among Young People

Feb. 13, 2017 — Stronger alcohol policies protect young people from dying in crashes caused by drunk driving according to researchers. The study supports the importance of comprehensive alcohol control policies to ... read more

Surrounding Real Estate Shows Increase in Value If Near Transit Station

Feb. 10, 2017 — A U.S. national meta-analysis shows that single-family property increases only about 2.3 percent when located next to a transit station. According to previous studies, multi-family and commercial ... read more

Mathematically Optimizing Traffic Lights in Road Intersections

Feb. 3, 2017 — Traffic modeling has been of interest to mathematicians since the 1950s. Research in the area has only grown as road traffic control presents an ever-increasing problem. In a new paper, authors ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — In a preliminary study, engineers found that as subway use swells during events that draw big crowds, so too does the number of tweets at these events. The results suggest that data from Twitter, and ... read more

Smart City Transport Systems

Jan. 26, 2017 — A machine-learning program uses land-use and amenities data to predict public transport use in Singapore, report ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — With mobile phone distracted driving a growing road safety issue, a new study reveals why some drivers slow down when using a mobile phone but others ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — A pre-existing 4G network infrastructure could help drivers make safe decisions in or near accidents, according to new ... read more

How Safe Is That Driver Next to You? A Trucker's Poor Health Could Increase Crash Risk

Jan. 17, 2017 — As commuters shimmy past large, lumbering trucks on the road, they may glance over and wonder, “How safe is that driver next to me?” If the truck driver is in poor health, the answer could be: ... read more

Now Drivers Can Hear Ambulances No Matter How Loud Their Music Is Playing

Jan. 16, 2017 — If you’ve ever been startled by the sudden appearance of an ambulance while blasting music in your car, then you appreciate the value of a loud siren. Fortunately, your car is probably equipped ... read more

Jan. 9, 2017 — The rollout of Sweden’s first wireless charging buses earlier this month was coupled with something the rest of the world could use – namely, a tool for cities to determine the environmental and ... read more

Ignition Interlock Laws Reduce Alcohol-Involved Fatal Crashes

Jan. 5, 2017 — State laws requiring ignition interlocks for all drunk driving offenders appear to reduce the number of fatal drunk driving crashes, a new study ... read more

Dec. 13, 2016 — It is often faster to ride a bicycle through Chicago than to take an Uber or public transportation, find researchers. In a new study, researchers track the relative speed of bicycle travel, analyze ... read more

Oct. 24, 2016 — Most white-hat hackers believe hackers will exploit cyber vulnerabilities to remotely access connected vehicles. One objective by security experts is to identify key vehicle cybersecurity challenges ... read more

Study Suggests Farm Traffic Vehicle Accidents Could Be Reduced by More Than Half

Oct. 21, 2016 — Traffic accidents involving farm vehicles in the Midwest would decrease by more than 50 percent if state policies required more lighting and reflection on those vehicles, new research has ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — Which products end up in your shopping basket? If the packaging information also features food traffic light colors (green for healthy, yellow for caution, and red for high fat and sugar content) ... read more

Sep. 29, 2016 — Older adults have comparable response times to young adults when tasked with taking control of a semi-autonomous vehicle, new research ... read more

Sep. 28, 2016 — Research shows that fitting tires with very low rolling resistance, combined with the right road surfacing, can provide just as much noise reduction as traditional noise ... read more

Wildlife Vs. Vehicle Costs Top $225 Million Annually in California

Sep. 27, 2016 — Collisions involving vehicles and wildlife along California's highways cost more than $225 million annually, according to a new study that uses traffic-incident reports to identify hot spots of ... read more

Vehicle Mileage Tax Is Best Option for Long-Term Highway Funding

Sep. 26, 2016 — A study that forecasts state and federal fuel tax revenues based on different fuel taxation policies found adoption of a vehicle mileage tax would best meet highway construction needs in the long ... read more

An Algorithm for Taxi Sharing

Sep. 26, 2016 — Researchers in Uruguay have developed an evolutionary algorithm to allow a smart city to facilitate efficient taxi sharing to cut an individual's transport costs as well as reduce congestion and ... read more

Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015