Transportation Issues News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:16pm EDT

More Transportation Issues News
April 24, 2017

Distracted? Slowing Down, Not a Safe Option

Apr. 11, 2017 — Drivers who slow down while using mobile phones have the potential to increase on-road conflicts, a new study warns. Distracted drivers reducing their speed might sound favorable in terms of safety, ... read more

In-Car Cow Avoidance

Apr. 7, 2017 — Driverless cars are hitting the headlines across the globe but for the foreseeable future we will still have drivers. The pressure then is how might some of the safety features of driverless cars be ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Traffic researchers are developing technology that will take the huge amounts of data collected by the Iowa Department of Transportation, sort through it all and identify problems. The goal is early ... read more

Very Different Cities Have Similar Potential for Ride Sharing

Mar. 6, 2017 — Urban ride-sharing is feasible in a wide variety of cities around the globe, say researchers, and indeed that the potential 'shareability' of autos in those places is more similar, from ... read more

Strong Alcohol Policies Protect Against Drunk Driving Deaths Among Young People

Feb. 13, 2017 — Stronger alcohol policies protect young people from dying in crashes caused by drunk driving according to researchers. The study supports the importance of comprehensive alcohol control policies to ... read more

Surrounding Real Estate Shows Increase in Value If Near Transit Station

Feb. 10, 2017 — A U.S. national meta-analysis shows that single-family property increases only about 2.3 percent when located next to a transit station. According to previous studies, multi-family and commercial ... read more

Mathematically Optimizing Traffic Lights in Road Intersections

Feb. 3, 2017 — Traffic modeling has been of interest to mathematicians since the 1950s. Research in the area has only grown as road traffic control presents an ever-increasing problem. In a new paper, authors ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — In a preliminary study, engineers found that as subway use swells during events that draw big crowds, so too does the number of tweets at these events. The results suggest that data from Twitter, and ... read more

Smart City Transport Systems

Jan. 26, 2017 — A machine-learning program uses land-use and amenities data to predict public transport use in Singapore, report ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — With mobile phone distracted driving a growing road safety issue, a new study reveals why some drivers slow down when using a mobile phone but others ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — A pre-existing 4G network infrastructure could help drivers make safe decisions in or near accidents, according to new ... read more

How Safe Is That Driver Next to You? A Trucker's Poor Health Could Increase Crash Risk

Jan. 17, 2017 — As commuters shimmy past large, lumbering trucks on the road, they may glance over and wonder, “How safe is that driver next to me?” If the truck driver is in poor health, the answer could be: ... read more

Now Drivers Can Hear Ambulances No Matter How Loud Their Music Is Playing

Jan. 16, 2017 — If you’ve ever been startled by the sudden appearance of an ambulance while blasting music in your car, then you appreciate the value of a loud siren. Fortunately, your car is probably equipped ... read more

Jan. 9, 2017 — The rollout of Sweden’s first wireless charging buses earlier this month was coupled with something the rest of the world could use – namely, a tool for cities to determine the environmental and ... read more

Ignition Interlock Laws Reduce Alcohol-Involved Fatal Crashes

Jan. 5, 2017 — State laws requiring ignition interlocks for all drunk driving offenders appear to reduce the number of fatal drunk driving crashes, a new study ... read more

Dec. 13, 2016 — It is often faster to ride a bicycle through Chicago than to take an Uber or public transportation, find researchers. In a new study, researchers track the relative speed of bicycle travel, analyze ... read more

Expectation Versus Reality in the Acceptance of Self-Driving Cars

Dec. 6, 2016 — New research on public acceptance of automated vehicles reveals that drivers' perceptions depend on how realistic a picture they have of the current technology's ... read more

Double-Digit Rise in Head Injuries After Michigan Helmet Law Repeal

Nov. 17, 2016 — Fewer motorcycle riders who are involved in crashes across the state of Michigan are wearing a helmet, and the state’s trauma centers have seen a 14 percent increase in head injuries among ... read more

Will Pedestrians Walk Freely in a World of Self-Driving Cars?

Oct. 26, 2016 — Imagine an urban neighborhood where most of the cars are self-driving. What would it be like to be a pedestrian? Self-driving cars are programmed to obey the rules of the road, including waiting for ... read more

Oct. 24, 2016 — Most white-hat hackers believe hackers will exploit cyber vulnerabilities to remotely access connected vehicles. One objective by security experts is to identify key vehicle cybersecurity challenges ... read more

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016