Religion News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:03pm EDT

More Religion News
August 30, 2016

Egyptian Women Say Doctors Don't Discourage Female Genital Cutting, Study Finds

Aug. 26, 2016 — More Egyptian women are seeking the opinions of physicians on whether their daughters should undergo female genital cutting, which is illegal in the country, but they say doctors don't advise ... read more

'Coming Out' in the Classroom, but Not by Choice

Aug. 26, 2016 — In a first-of-its kind study, researchers found that active learning classrooms, which require more group work than traditional lecture courses, may create an unaccepting atmosphere for LGBTQIA ... read more

Beginning Pornography Use Associated With Increase in Probability of Divorce

Aug. 22, 2016 — Beginning pornography use is associated with a substantial increase in the probability of divorce for married Americans, and this increase is especially large for women, finds a new ... read more

Providers Face Cultural Challenges When Evaluating Refugee Children

Aug. 15, 2016 — Numerous challenges face providers who are administering developmental screenings for refugee children, including differences in cultural and religious beliefs, language barriers, and disparate ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Evidence has been found that religious identification and belief in a god dampen the otherwise strong negative effect that political conservatism typically has on whether people make purchasing ... read more

Rediscovery of Early Twentieth-Century Ecotheology

July 5, 2016 — The vast majority of us subscribe to the idea that human activity dramatically changes the natural environment, altering many biological processes. But addressing the global nature of human impact ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Few might seek insights on Middle Eastern conflict or modern poverty in records of the Ottoman empire. Yet when an economist combed through centuries-old court documents, he made a surprising ... read more

Lawmakers Might Introduce 'Anti-Evolution' Legislation to Appease Religious Constituents

June 20, 2016 — 'Anti-evolution' education legislation continues to be introduced because lawmakers want to appease religious constituents, not because they expect the bills to be made into laws, new ... read more

Support Across Ethnicities for Physician-Assisted Death

June 9, 2016 — Physician-assisted death was supported by a majority of California and Hawaii residents, regardless of their ethnicity, who responded to an online survey, according to a new ... read more

May 19, 2016 — In a first-of-its kind study, scientists have found that a majority of professors teaching biology in Arizona universities do not believe that helping students accept the theory of evolution is an ... read more

Religious Rhetoric Not Helpful in Anti-Alcohol Messages

Apr. 19, 2016 — Does including a religious message in a public service announcement warning of the dangers of alcohol use make a difference to the viewer, especially if that person lives in a Middle Eastern country ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — People who often mix their media consumption -- texting while watching TV, or listening to music while reading -- are not known for being able to hold their attention on one task. But sharpening ... read more

Pros and Cons of Mandatory GMO Labeling

Apr. 1, 2016 — Researchers have concluded that mandatory labeling of genetically modified foods is justified, based on an extensive review of international scientific and legal frameworks related to genetically ... read more

What Are the Risks of Growing Up in Places of High Religious Segregation?

Mar. 25, 2016 — A new report sheds light on the risks encountered by young people and children growing up in places of high religious segregation. The report focuses on interface communities -- areas in Northern ... read more

Meditation and Ballet Associated With Wisdom, Study Says

Mar. 7, 2016 — A new study confirms the age-old conception that meditation is associated with wisdom. Surprisingly, it also concludes that somatic (physical) practices such as classical ballet might lead to ... read more

A Uniter and a Divider: Purity Keeps Us Together -- And Apart

Feb. 2, 2016 — A study of moral values reveals issues related to purity can determine how close -- or how far -- we want to be with someone in social and political ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — A new study measures the psychological predictors of tolerance for tigers in the Bangladesh Sundarbans, where the large carnivores have a rocky and sometimes violent relationship with local ... read more

Preventing Violent Extremism Requires New Police Programs, Report Finds

Jan. 14, 2016 — The U.S. strategy to prevent homegrown violent extremism through community policing holds promise, but faces significant challenges and needs reforms, according to a new report. Community policing ... read more

Cultural Look at Moral Purity: Wiping the Face Clean

Jan. 12, 2016 — Moral purity is both universal and culturally variable. Its existence is found East and West. But the specific form of purification may differ from one culture to another. Whether people should wipe ... read more

Religious Beliefs Don't Always Lead to Violence

Jan. 7, 2016 — From the Christian Crusades to the Paris attacks, countless conflicts and acts of violence have been claimed to be the result of differing religious beliefs. These faith-based opinions are thought to ... read more

Friday, August 26, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014