Religion News
May 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:35pm EDT

More Religion News
May 1, 2016

Pros and Cons of Mandatory GMO Labeling

Apr. 1, 2016 — Researchers have concluded that mandatory labeling of genetically modified foods is justified, based on an extensive review of international scientific and legal frameworks related to genetically ... read more

What Are the Risks of Growing Up in Places of High Religious Segregation?

Mar. 25, 2016 — A new report sheds light on the risks encountered by young people and children growing up in places of high religious segregation. The report focuses on interface communities -- areas in Northern ... read more

Preventing Violent Extremism Requires New Police Programs, Report Finds

Jan. 14, 2016 — The U.S. strategy to prevent homegrown violent extremism through community policing holds promise, but faces significant challenges and needs reforms, according to a new report. Community policing ... read more

We Trust in Those Who Believe in God, Study Finds

Jan. 5, 2016 — It's political season and there's one thing you're sure to hear a lot about from candidates vying for support -- religion. Talking directly or subtly about religion has become part of ... read more

Compassionate Approach Leads to More Help and Less Punishment

Dec. 19, 2015 — Compassion -- and intentionally cultivating it through training -- may lead us to do more to help the wronged than to punish the wrongdoer, new research suggests. Understanding what motivates people ... read more

New Study Finds Nearly Half of American Muslim Doctors Feel Scrutinized on the Job

Dec. 11, 2015 — In a U.S. national survey of 255 Muslim American physicians, researchers found that nearly half of respondents felt greater scrutiny at work compared to their peers. Nearly one in four said workplace ... read more

Study of Environmental Attitudes Finds Nine Distinct Segments of American Population

Dec. 7, 2015 — Americans' attitudes about environmental issues aren't simply polarized into pro- and anti-environment, but rather are spread across a diverse spectrum. A new study finds that attitudes ... read more

Dec. 3, 2015 — Are all scientists atheists? Do they believe religion and science can co-exist? These questions and others were addressed in the first worldwide survey of how scientists view ... read more

Christmas Period May Reduce Quality of Life for Many Europeans

Dec. 1, 2015 — Many Europeans do not experience the run-up to Christmas as a particularly jolly time, and often feel despondent and stressed, reports a new study. However, the study suggests Christians, ... read more

Sunday the Day of Rest for Fires, Study Suggests

Nov. 20, 2015 — Fires are more prevalent on a Tuesday and less likely on a Sunday, according to a new study, which highlights the dramatic effect humans, religion and culture have on the global ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — A first-of-its-kind program targets groups with highest tobacco rates and matches smokers with counselors in their demographic to help them quit, say experts from one of American's largest ... read more

How to Forge a Place in the 'Wealthy West': Challenges for Second-Generation Immigrants

Oct. 28, 2015 — Decades of mass immigration has created a diverse demographic of people from a range of ethnic, racial and religious backgrounds on both sides of the Atlantic. But what happens when the second, and ... read more

Middle Schoolers May Benefit Academically from Extracurricular Activities

Oct. 22, 2015 — Activities outside the classroom -- especially community engagement and sports -- may help low-income, urban youth academically as they transition into middle school, according to a new ... read more

Unconscious Bias Among Physicians Results in Low Quality Care for LGBT, Disabled Patients

Oct. 5, 2015 — Physicians' unconscious attitudes toward LGBT and disabled populations may be partially responsible for poorer overall health observed in these communities. Primary care providers frequently ... read more

Negative Spiritual Beliefs Associated With More Pain and Worse Physical, Mental Health

Sep. 23, 2015 — Individuals who blame karma for their poor health have more pain and worse physical and mental health, according to a new study. Targeted interventions to counteract negative spiritual beliefs could ... read more

From Vulcan Salute to Papal Blessing: Ulnar Nerve Damage Caused Original Benediction Sign

Sep. 17, 2015 — A study of anatomy, art, religion, and culture overturns the popular explanation for the papal hand of benediction posture. An anatomy professor says an ulnar nerve injury suffered by St. Peter, not ... read more

Adolescent Painkiller Abuse a Big Problem for Small Towns, Rural Areas

Sep. 17, 2015 — Adolescents who live in rural areas and small towns and cities are more likely to abuse prescription painkillers than adolescents who live in large urban areas, according to ... read more

A Better Look at Religion's Influence on Political Attitudes

Sep. 15, 2015 — Political scientists have developed a new strategy for measuring how Biblical interpretation influences people's political behavior. A better strategy for measuring religious beliefs will mean ... read more

Dealing With Climate Change and Local Beliefs in Africa

Sep. 15, 2015 — Experts should take note of local knowledge and beliefs when helping people in vulnerable regions cope with the impacts of climate change to ensure that such interventions are money well spent, and ... read more

New Survey on Americans' Views on Papal Encyclical on Climate Change

Aug. 26, 2015 — A new national survey found that fewer than one in three Americans, and 40 percent of Catholics, are aware of Pope Francis's efforts to publicize global warming as a priority issue for the ... read more

Friday, April 1, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Friday, June 13, 2014
Monday, June 2, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Monday, May 26, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014