Environmental Policies News
May 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:36pm EDT

More Environmental Policies News
May 30, 2016

Study Dispels Myth About Millionaire Migration in the US

May 26, 2016 — The view that the rich are highly mobile has gained much political traction in recent years and has become a central argument in debates about whether there should be 'millionaire taxes' on ... read more

Gaps in Vaccine Coverage Highlighted With New Report and Online Tool

May 24, 2016 — As the 69th World Health Assembly discusses progress on the Global Vaccine Action Plan, a new data visualization platform, the Vaccine Information Epidemiology Window (VIEW-hub), identifies ... read more

More Migration Data Needed for Better Policy

May 23, 2016 — Population researchers have called on governments to collect and share more information about migration to keep better track of the millions of people who move from one country to another each ... read more

Changing a Life Path for Dropouts

May 19, 2016 — Certain life experiences can worsen the negative effects of dropping out of school, but some interventions and treatments can help change the odds for dropouts, a new study ... read more

Healthy Eating Gets No Boost After Corner Store Interventions, Study Finds

May 16, 2016 — While many government, community and private interventions look at local corner and convenience stores as prime areas to stoke healthy eating, a new study found that even two years after such an ... read more

Canada's Plans to Legalize Marijuana Contravene UN's International Conventions, Say Experts

May 16, 2016 — The Canadian government's plan to legalize marijuana contravenes its current legal obligations to the United Nation's international drug-control conventions, states a new expert ... read more

International Experts Publish Guidelines for Cardiac Rehab in Developing Countries

May 16, 2016 — The cardiac rehab model of care is quite standard in developed countries, and consists of risk factor assessment and management, exercise training, patient education, as well as dietary and ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Mexican authorities are being called on to immediately and indefinitely close all fisheries within the habitat of Mexico's critically endangered vaquita porpoise. Only around 60 vaquitas ... read more

American Cancer Society Report Assesses Progress Against Goals Set for Nation

May 13, 2016 — A new report assesses how the nation fared against the ambitious challenge goal set by the American Cancer Society to reduce the cancer death rates by 50 percent over 25 years ending in ... read more

May 13, 2016 — An illegal trade in marine turtles is continuing despite legislation and conservation awareness campaigns, a pioneering study has ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Reconciliation programs promote societal healing, but that these gains come at the cost of reduced psychological health, worsening depression, anxiety, and ... read more

Migrant Money Puts Aid in the Shade

May 12, 2016 — International remittances have poverty and inequality-reducing effects in Sub-Saharan Africa, new research suggests. The results suggest that a 10% increase in remittances as share of gross domestic ... read more

Frequency of Extreme Heat Waves on the Increase in Africa: Could Occur Annually by 2040

May 11, 2016 — Climate analysis shows that periods of unusually hot weather are on the rise for one of the most vulnerable continents to climate change, even if the increase in global average temperature remains at ... read more

Large Reductions in Prison Population Can Be Made Without Endangering Public Safety

May 11, 2016 — A new paper addresses one of the most important crime policy questions in America: can prison populations be reduced without endangering the ... read more

Political Lobbying, Connections May Help Airlines Profits Take Off

May 10, 2016 — Government lobbying and political connections may add lift to the air transportation industry's profitability, but they could also cause a crash in talented transportation administrators, ... read more

Industry Collaboration, Consumer Pressure Key to Stopping 'Conflict Minerals' Trade

May 10, 2016 — Responsible sourcing of raw minerals from conflict regions could be achieved if firms were to collaborate and if there was more pressure from consumers, a new report ... read more

United States Must Step-Up Forest Pest Prevention, New Study Says

May 10, 2016 — Imported forest pests cause billions of dollars in damages each year, and U.S. property owners and municipalities foot most of the bill. Efforts to prevent new pests are not keeping pace with ... read more

Black Students More Likely to Be Identified as Gifted If Teachers Are Black

May 10, 2016 — African-American children are three times as likely to be placed in gifted-education programs if they have a black teacher rather than a white teacher, according to ... read more

Panic-Proofing, Not Preventing Bubbles, Should Be Focus of U. S. Financial Policy

May 9, 2016 — Complicated new regulations added to complicated old regulations won’t protect the United States’ financial system from frightening crashes like that experienced in 2008, says a professor who ... read more

Four of Five British People Are Unaware of Ocean Acidification

May 9, 2016 — Just one in five people in Britain are aware of ocean acidification -- a consequence of carbon emissions that poses serious risks to sea-life -- a survey of 2,501 members of the public has ... read more

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016