Environmental Policies News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:03am EDT

More Environmental Policies News
September 26, 2016

Floods Severely Affect Children, Young People

Sep. 22, 2016 — Research with flood-affected children reveals serious impacts on well-being but also a desire to take on a role in flood risk management. Factors impacting on children's well-being include: loss ... read more

It's Not All About Tigers and Criminals: Illegal Wildlife Trade Responses Need Nuance

Sep. 22, 2016 — Responses to illegal wildlife trade need to be more nuanced and not only focused on high-profile species if we are to truly tackle the problem, say ... read more

Age Limit for Federal Food Assistance Program Is Increasing Food Insecurity

Sep. 20, 2016 — A problem has been found with regard to the requirement that when children turn five, they are no longer eligible to receive food assistance from Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, ... read more

New Report Examines How Medicare Shared Savings Program Can Affect Radiology Practices

Sep. 20, 2016 — A new study examines how the incentives in an alternative payment model (APM) - the Accountable Care Organization Shared Savings Program (ACO SSP) - might influence cost, quality, utilization and ... read more

Addressing Climate Change as a Social Issue

Sep. 20, 2016 — We cannot rely on governments, businesses or the public to adopt technological solutions to solve the problem of climate change, instead, social solutions must be put in place, according to ... read more

Climate Change Means Land Use Will Need to Change to Keep Up With Global Food Demand, Say Scientists

Sep. 20, 2016 — Without significant improvements in technology, global crop yields are likely to fall in the areas currently used for production of the world’s three major cereal crops, forcing production to move ... read more

HHS Takes Steps to Provide More Information About Clinical Trials to the Public

Sep. 16, 2016 — In an effort to make information about clinical trials widely available to the public, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services today issued a final rule that specifies requirements for ... read more

Time to Outsource Key Tasks of WHO to Better-Placed and Capable Agencies, Say Experts

Sep. 12, 2016 — It's time to outsource key functions of The World Health Organization to bodies such as the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, The World Bank and The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Researchers are closer to helping producers better meet global food demand, now that they've combined simulation and statistical methods to help them predict how temperature affects wheat crops ... read more

First Estimates of Judicial Costs of Crime, from Homicide to Theft

Sep. 12, 2016 — When considering the costs of crime, most discussion focuses on the price of incarceration of criminals and the cost faced by victims of criminal activity. A new study focuses on the cost of ... read more

Accountable Care Model Savings on the Upswing

Sep. 12, 2016 — The Accountable Care Organization (ACO) model -- the signature payment reform of the Affordable Care Act -- generated savings to Medicare in its second year of existence, new research ... read more

Rate of Injuries Among Youth Soccer Players Doubled, New Study Finds

Sep. 12, 2016 — From 1990 through 2014, the number of soccer-related injuries treated in hospital emergency departments in the US each year increased by 78 percent and the yearly rate of injuries increased by 111 ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Experts involved in the operation of US civilian and military time standards have worked with two companies to identify a practical GPS backup possibility: commercial fiber-optic telecommunications ... read more

US Should Act to Support Innovation in Increasingly Clean Electric Power Technologies

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new report urges Congress, federal and state agencies, and regulatory institutions to significantly increase their support for innovation for what the report's study committee calls ... read more

US Rules for Targeted Killing Using Drones Need Clarifying, RAND Report Asserts

Sep. 8, 2016 — Current US policies on using drones for targeted killing are characterized by ambiguities in interpretations of international law and too many generalities, despite recent efforts by the Obama ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — The mining and milling of Canadian uranium contributes very few greenhouse gases to nuclear power’s already low emissions, a research group has ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — The strongest predictors of North Carolina middle school students' beliefs in human-caused climate change: a science teacher's belief that global warming is happening and the students' ... read more

National Education Reformers Target Local School Boards

Sep. 7, 2016 — Local school board elections increasingly are becoming a national political battleground, as millions of dollars in campaign cash pours in from out-of-state donors in the name of education reform, ... read more

Earned Income Tax Credit Program Is a Boon for Health, Report Suggests

Sep. 7, 2016 — The Earned Income Tax Credit program is not only good for people's pocketbooks, but also for their health, new research shows. Findings of a new suggest that the program is much more ... read more

Aerosol Emissions in East Asia Driven by Consumption in Developed Countries

Sep. 6, 2016 — Much of the influence on climate from air pollution in East Asia is driven by consumption in the developed countries of Western Europe and North America, according to research by atmospheric ... read more

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Sunday, September 4, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016