NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Language Acquisition News
February 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:37am EST

More Language Acquisition News
February 26, 2017

Jan. 17, 2017 — It's long been associated with anger and coarseness but profanity can have another, more positive connotation. Psychologists have learned that people who frequently curse are being more honest. ... read more

Jan. 12, 2017 — Baboons produce vocalizations comparable to vowels. This has been demonstrated using acoustic analyses of vocalizations coupled with an anatomical study of the tongue muscles and the modeling of the ... read more

Do Dogs of All Ages Respond Equally to Dog-Directed Speech?

Jan. 11, 2017 — People tend to talk to dogs as though they are human babies. A new study shows that people speak more slowly and with a higher tone to dogs of all ages -- both adults and puppies -- and that puppies ... read more

Play an Instrument? You Probably React Faster, Too

Jan. 10, 2017 — Researchers find that musicians have faster reaction times than non-musicians -- and that could have implications for the ... read more

Can Big Data Yield Big Ideas? Blend Novel and Familiar, New Study Finds

Jan. 9, 2017 — Struggling to get your creative juices flowing for a new idea or project? A new study sheds light on the secret sauce to developing creative ideas, and it all comes down to word ... read more

Jan. 9, 2017 — Even before they are born, premature babies may display alterations in the circuitry of their developing brains, according to a first-of-its kind research ... read more

Bilingualism May Save Brain Resources as You Age

Jan. 9, 2017 — A research team established that years of bilingualism change how the brain carries out tasks that require concentrating on one piece of information without becoming distracted by other information. ... read more

Preterm Infants Fare Well in Early Language Development

Jan. 4, 2017 — Preterm babies perform as well as their full-term counterparts in a developmental task linking language and cognition, a new study has found. The study, the first of its kind with preterm infants, ... read more

Jan. 3, 2017 — A new study demonstrates that regional cerebral blood flow is reduced in the Broca's area -- the region in the frontal lobe of the brain linked to speech production -- in persons who stutter. ... read more

Babies Exposed to Stimulation Get Brain Boost

Jan. 2, 2017 — Many new parents still think that babies should develop at their own pace, and that they shouldn’t be challenged to do things that they’re not yet ready for. Infants should learn to roll around ... read more

Genes and the Environment Equally Affect Language-Related Brain Activity

Dec. 29, 2016 — Researchers showed that brain activity in the left frontal area is equally affected by environmental and genetic factors. They also demonstrated that verbal memory is related to language-related ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — Neuroscientists have discovered that a basic mechanism underlying sensory perception is deficient in individuals with dyslexia, according to new study. The brain typically adapts rapidly to sensory ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — Hearing or seeing a word doesn’t mean that it is immediately understood. The brain must first recognize the letters as such, put them together, and “look up” what the word means in its mental ... read more

Dec. 14, 2016 — Listening to metaphors involving arms or legs loops in a region of the brain responsible for visual perception of those body parts, scientists have discovered. More evidence for 'grounded ... read more

Research Unlocks Clues to Language-Based Learning in Children

Dec. 13, 2016 — One in five individuals are impacted by language-based learning disabilities -- one of the most common being dyslexia, which involves difficulty in reading or interpreting words, letters and other ... read more

Want to Improve Your Memory? Go to the Gym

Dec. 13, 2016 — Exercise improves your short-term memory, new research concludes. In two experiments, healthy and active participants were given lists of words to learn and recall either after or before exercise, or ... read more

Get Better Customer Service by Choosing Your Words Wisely

Dec. 12, 2016 — The next time you make a complaint to your cellphone or cable company, don't get ... read more

Researchers' Discovery of New Verbal Working Memory Architecture Has Implications for Artificial Intelligence

Dec. 12, 2016 — The neural structure we use to store and process information in verbal working memory is more complex than previously understood--a discovery that has implications for the creation of artificial ... read more

Dec. 9, 2016 — Monkeys and apes are unable to learn new vocalizations, and for decades it has been widely believed that this inability results from limitations of their vocal anatomy: larynx, tongue and lips. But ... read more

Dec. 9, 2016 — The naming of colors has long been a topic of interest in the study of human culture and cognition -- revealing the link between perception, language, and the categorization of the natural world. A ... read more

Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, January 2, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016