Language Acquisition News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:07pm EDT

More Language Acquisition News
August 29, 2016

Virtual World Improves Communication Following Stroke, Says Study

Aug. 12, 2016 — A virtual reality world called EVA Park can improve the communication of those who have impaired speech and language following a stroke, according to ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Working parents and grandparents who FaceTime with their toddlers can take heart from a new study that sheds new light that on young children and how they engage in—and learn from—screen-time ... read more

Learn Much You Can, from Yoda’s Spoken and Subtitled Discourse

July 1, 2016 — The structural oddity of the speech pattern of the Star Wars character Master Yoda is probably one of the most instantly recognizable of all TV and film characters, even to those unfamiliar with the ... read more

June 30, 2016 — Ever wonder why some people seem to learn new languages faster? The secret might lie in the brain activity they generate while ... read more

June 29, 2016 — For the first time, researchers have captured images of the brain during the initial hours and days of learning a new language. They use an artificial language with real structures to show how new ... read more

Sign Languages Provide Insight Into Universal Linguistic Short-Cuts

June 27, 2016 — Humans have a natural drive to reduce physical effort in nearly every activity, including using language. The ways that effort-reduction affect human language have been the subject of extensive ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Using a language-learning game called 'Crystallize,' created by computer science faculty and students, researchers found that when players are required to work together they learn more ... read more

June 21, 2016 — In zebra finches, only males learn and sing songs, as this is the way they attract a mate. Therefore, learning a complex song to attract the lady zebra finches is crucial for reproduction. The ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Teenagers with type 2 diabetes have significant changes in total brain gray matter volume and in regions of gray matter involved in seeing and hearing, memory, emotions, speech, decision making, and ... read more

Success in Second Language Learning Linked to Genetic and Brain Measures

June 13, 2016 — A new study shows that the final grades that college students received in a second-language class were predicted by a combination of genetic and brain ... read more

'Now-or-Never Bottleneck' Explains Language Acquisition

June 10, 2016 — We are constantly bombarded with linguistic input, but our brains are unable to remember long strings of linguistic information. How does the brain make sense of this ongoing deluge of ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Skilled readers can quickly recognize words when they read because the word has been placed in a visual dictionary of sorts which functions separately from an area that processes the sounds of ... read more

May 31, 2016 — Adult songbirds modify their vocalizations when singing to juveniles in the same way that humans alter their speech when talking to babies. The resulting brain activity in young birds could shed ... read more

Professor's New Study Emphasizes the Impact of Leaders' Language

May 31, 2016 — The language of leaders has a profound effect on the performance of their employees, new research shows. The research shows that how a company presents its vision and values is deeply entwined with ... read more

Baby Talk Words With Repeated Sounds Help Infants Learn Language

May 27, 2016 — Babies find it easier to learn words with repetitive syllables rather than mixed sounds, a study suggests. Assessments of language learning in 18-month-olds suggest that children are better at ... read more

May 25, 2016 — In a computational analysis of the words used by more than 65,000 consenting Facebook users in some 10 million messages, it was discovered that women use language that is warmer and more agreeable ... read more

Exploring Gender Perception Via Speech

May 25, 2016 — Snap judgments of speakers' femininity or masculinity are based on acoustic information from the speakers' voices, but some vocal qualities deemed 'feminine' can overlap with ... read more

Speech-Language Pathologists Can Help Kids Who Struggle to Read

May 25, 2016 — Classroom teachers may not employ the strategies that can help students master complex written language, according to speech-language pathology ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Even before infants understand their first words, they have already begun to link language and thought. Listening to language boosts infant cognition. New evidence provides even greater insight into ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Imagine, for a moment, you are a parent trying to limit how much dessert your sugar-craving young children can eat. "You can have cake or ice cream," you say, confident a clear parental ... read more

Friday, August 12, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Saturday, February 13, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015