Environmental Issues News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:26am EDT

More Environmental Issues News
July 27, 2016

Hot Desert Storms Increase Risk of Bacterial Meningitis in Africa

July 25, 2016 — Exposure to airborne dust and high temperatures are significant risk factors for bacterial meningitis, a new study has found. The Sahel region of West Africa has the highest number of bacterial ... read more

Protecting Ice Memory

July 21, 2016 — The project’s first mission to protect the world’s ice memory will be launched in France on 15 August, in the Mont Blanc massif. Researchers from the CNRS, the IRD and the Université Grenoble ... read more

A Recent Pause in Antarctic Peninsula Warming

July 20, 2016 — The rapid warming of the Antarctic Peninsula, which occurred from the early-1950s to the late 1990s, has paused. Stabilization of the ozone hole along with natural climate variability were ... read more

July 20, 2016 — A new study of population trends among 46 ecologically diverse bird species in North America overturns a long-held assumption that the climate conditions occupied by a species do not change over ... read more

July 20, 2016 — High ocean temperatures and poor timing of parasite management likely led to an epidemic of sea lice in 2015 throughout salmon farms in British Columbia's Queen Charlotte Strait, a new study has ... read more

Dangerous Bacteria Found After Sewer Spills

July 20, 2016 — After a sewer line break, a strain of bacteria found in wastewater tested resistant to vancomycin, an antibiotic considered to be a 'last resort' treatment for serious infections that do ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Two key climate change indicators -- global surface temperatures and Arctic sea ice extent -- have broken numerous records through the first half of 2016, according to NASA analyses of ground-based ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Many households in impoverished regions around the world are starting to shift away from inefficient and polluting fuel-based lighting -- such as candles, firewood, and kerosene lanterns -- to ... read more

July 19, 2016 — The ability to predict when toads come out of hibernation in southern Canada could provide valuable insights into the future effects of climate change on a range of animals and ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Scientists have overcome a seeming weakness of global climate models. They had previously not been able to simulate the extreme warm period of the ... read more

Researchers Create Means to Monitor Anthropogenic Global Warming in Real Time

July 18, 2016 — A research team simulated in a computer model, for the first time, the realistic evolution of global mean surface temperature since 1900. The researchers also created a new method by which scientists ... read more

Fracking Industry Wells Associated With Increased Risk of Asthma Attacks

July 18, 2016 — People with asthma who live near bigger or larger numbers of active unconventional natural gas wells operated by the fracking industry in Pennsylvania are 1.5 to four times likelier to have asthma ... read more

The Future of Perovskite Solar Cells Has Just Got Brighter, Come Rain or Shine

July 18, 2016 — A team of researchers has found a new method to improve not only the efficiency, but stability and humidity tolerance of perovskite solar cells. The scientists have designed a hydrophobic conducting ... read more

Managing an Endangered River Across the US-Mexico Border

July 18, 2016 — A new study shows how improving communication and involvement could bring consensus solutions for the embattled Rio Grande/Bravo, which is shared between the USA and ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Ptarmigan, which live in cold ecosystems, are not strongly affected by fluctuations in seasonal weather at two populations studied in Colorado, report ... read more

How Are Beaches Restored?

July 15, 2016 — Erosion and human activities challenge beach ecosystems, say researchers. A new article explains how damage to the coastline can be ... read more

July 15, 2016 — An international research team has calculated the costs and benefits of calcification for phytoplankton and the impact of climate change on their important role in the world's oceans, a new ... read more

July 14, 2016 — A new study has found for the first time that ocean warming is the primary cause of retreat of glaciers on the western Antarctic Peninsula. The Peninsula is one of the largest current contributors to ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Powerful tropical cyclones like the super typhoon that lashed Taiwan with 150-mile-per-hour winds last week and then flooded parts of China are expected to become even stronger as the planet warms. ... read more

Climate Change Will Affect the Brown Trout

July 13, 2016 — A new report predicts that climate change will cause significant increases in the frequency of episodes in which the temperature of physiological and ecological efficiency of trout populations in ... read more

Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016