NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Environmental Issues News
February 19, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 11:28pm EST

More Environmental Issues News
February 19, 2017

Tool for a Cleaner Long Island Sound

Feb. 19, 2017 — Ecologists have pinpointed sources of nitrogen pollution along Long Island Sound, and shows municipalities what they might do to alleviate ... read more

Quest for Climate-Friendly Refrigerants Finds Complicated Choices

Feb. 17, 2017 — Researchers have just completed a multiyear study to identify the 'best' candidates for future use as air conditioning refrigerants that will have the lowest impact on the ... read more

Extreme Waves Caught With Higher-Resolution Modeling

Feb. 15, 2017 — A new study shows that high-resolution models captured hurricanes and big waves that low-resolution ones missed. Better extreme wave forecasts are important for coastal cities, the military, the ... read more

Long-Term Eelgrass Loss Due to Joint Effects of Shade, Heat

Feb. 14, 2017 — A new study links a long-term decline in Chesapeake Bay's eelgrass beds to both deteriorating water quality and rising summertime temperatures. It also shows that loss of the habitat and other ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Researchers found sunlight converted little if any permafrost thawed carbon to carbon dioxide, whereas microbes were shown to rapidly convert permafrost carbon to carbon ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Mammals and Birds 'Greatly Underestimated'

Feb. 13, 2017 — Large numbers of threatened species have already been impacted by climate change, new research concludes. Alarmingly, this team of international researchers found evidence of observed responses to ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — A new study on how ocean currents transport floating marine debris is helping to explain how garbage patches form in the world's oceans. Researchers developed a mathematical model that simulates ... read more

Improvements in Short-Term Forecasting of Air Pollution Levels

Feb. 13, 2017 — A new research project has successfully predicted the daily maximum ozone threshold exceedances in the Hong Kong area. The results show that an accurate and prompt prediction of tropospheric ozone ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — New research describes how scientists have used the world's largest array of seismic sensors to map a deep-Earth area of melting carbon covering 1.8 million square kilometers. Situated under the ... read more

Bluebells May Fail to Flourish as Warmer Days Speed Start of Spring

Feb. 10, 2017 — Bluebells and some other spring flowers appear to be slipping out of sync with spring, as changes in seasonal temperatures alter the optimum time for them to come into leaf or flower, a new study has ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — In the largest epidemiological study conducted in the developing world, researchers found that as exposures to fine particulate air pollution in 272 Chinese cities increase, so do deaths from ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — New research suggests that insights from behavioral science can help inform the design of road signs to bring about changes in driver ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Less than a year after the first research flight kicked off NASA's Oceans Melting Greenland campaign, data from the new program are providing a dramatic increase in knowledge of how ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — A recent interpretive review of scientific literature sheds light on the interactions of gas hydrates and ... read more

Methane Levels Have Increased in Marcellus Shale Region Despite Dip in Well Installation

Feb. 9, 2017 — Despite a slow down in the number of new natural gas wells in the Marcellus Shale region of Northeast Pennsylvania, new research finds that atmospheric methane levels in the area are still ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — A group of biologists, paleobiologists, lawyers, policymakers and writers is urging conservationists not only to save species, but also to preserve a diverse array of ecosystem structures and ... read more

New Research to Help Preserve the Benefits People Receive from Nature

Feb. 9, 2017 — Humans rely on things that come from nature -- including clean air, water, food, and timber. But how can we tell if these natural services that people rely on, are at risk of being lost, potentially ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — With the ocean absorbing more carbon dioxide over the past decade, less of the greenhouse gas is reaching the Earth's atmosphere. That's decidedly good news, but it comes with a catch: ... read more

Current Climate Change Models Understate the Problem, Scientists Argue

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new study on the relationship between people and the planet shows that climate change is only one of many inter-related threats to the Earth's capacity to support human ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Heightened Risk of Type 2 Diabetes in Obese Latino Children

Feb. 7, 2017 — Latino children who live in areas with higher levels of air pollution have a heightened risk of developing type 2 diabetes, according to a new study. Scientists tracked children's health and ... read more

Sunday, February 19, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017