NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Ice Ages News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:31pm EST

More Ice Ages News
February 20, 2017

Feb. 9, 2017 — A recent interpretive review of scientific literature sheds light on the interactions of gas hydrates and ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Drainage of four interconnected lakes below Thwaites Glacier in late 2013 caused only a 10 percent increase in the glacier's speed. The glacier's recent speedup is therefore not due to ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — A 'Snowball Earth' event actually took place 100 million years earlier than previously projected, outlines a new ... read more

Study Traces Black Carbon Sources in the Russian Arctic

Feb. 3, 2017 — Transport and residential heating could be responsible for a greater contribution of black carbon in the Russian Arctic compared to gas flaring or power plants, according to new ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Tiny air bubbles compressed within a polar ice core make some sections brittle to the touch, but one ice core lab knows how to handle this delicate part of the chemical analysis, thus making the ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Dust released by an active coal mine in Svalbard, Norway, reduced the spectral reflectance of nearby snow and ice by up to 84 percent, according to new ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A group of researchers suggest that the best way to understand the creation of the glaciers in Antarctica is by linking two competing theories about their origins. They argue that the deepening of ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Researchers may be one step closer to solving the mystery at the core of the Earth. It has long been established that approximately 85 percent of the Earth's core is made of iron, while nickel ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Scientists have confirmed the existence of a 'lost continent' under the Indian Ocean island of Mauritius that was left-over by the break-up of the supercontinent, Gondwana, which started ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Scientists report on dramatic environmental changes that occurred as Native Americans flourished and then vanished from the Midwestern United States before Europeans arrived. The researchers theorize ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — An international team of researchers has discovered why fresh water, melted from Antarctic ice sheets, is often detected below the surface of the ocean, rather than rising to the top above denser ... read more

Jan. 29, 2017 — An international team of researchers has managed to pinpoint, to within three months, a medieval volcanic eruption in east Asia the precise date of which has puzzled historians for decades. They have ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — By reconstructing past temperature change on Mount Kenya in East Africa, a new study suggests that future temperature changes on tropical mountains might be ... read more

Ancient Indus Civilization's Adaptation to Climate Change

Jan. 27, 2017 — A new article explores how an ancient culture dealt with variable ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — During the last Ice Age, Australia, Tasmania and New Guinea formed a single landmass, called Sahul. It was a strange and often hostile place populated by a bizarre cast of giant ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — New research shows how sea ice growth in the Southern Hemisphere during certain orbital periods could control the pace of ice ages on ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — In the cold depths along the sea floor, Antarctic Bottom Waters are part of a global circulatory system, supplying oxygen-, carbon- and nutrient-rich waters to the world's oceans. Over the last ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Scientists seeking an oceanic counterpart to tree rings that record past weather on land found one in Dry Tortugas National Park, where corals contain chemical signals of past water temperatures. ... read more

Arctic Melt Ponds Form When Meltwater Clogs Ice Pores

Jan. 23, 2017 — A team of researchers, including a mathematician, has determined how Arctic melt ponds form, solving a paradoxical mystery of how a pool of water actually sits atop highly porous ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — Sea-surface temperatures during the last interglaciation period were like those of today, a new study reports. The trend is worrisome, as sea levels during the last interglacial period were between ... read more

Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016