Ice Ages News
May 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:11pm EDT

More Ice Ages News
May 27, 2017

May 10, 2017 — The warming climate has dramatically reduced the size of 39 glaciers in Montana since 1966, some by as much as 85 percent. On average, the glaciers have reduced by 39 percent and only 26 glaciers are ... read more

May 10, 2017 — New research by chemist has shed new light on ice crystal formation by combining an electron backscatter with a large single crystal ice model. Scientists discovered that an ice crystal's flat ... read more

May 10, 2017 — African lions are under the same threats extinct sabre-toothed tigers ... read more

May 10, 2017 — A warming climate could affect the stability of alpine grasslands in Asia's Tibetan Plateau, threatening the ability of farmers and herders to maintain the animals that are key to their ... read more

Oversized Landforms Discovered Beneath the Antarctic Ice Sheet

May 9, 2017 — Scientists have now discovered an active hydrological system of water conduits and sediment ridges below the Antarctic ice ... read more

Growth of East Antarctic Ice Sheet Was Less Than Previously Suggested

May 5, 2017 — Scientists have known for over a decade that the West Antarctic Ice Sheet has been losing mass and contributing to sea level ... read more

May 5, 2017 — Central parts of Antarctica's ice sheet have been stable for millions of years, from a time when conditions were considerably warmer than now, research ... read more

Policies to Curb Short-Lived Climate Pollutants Could Yield Major Health Benefits

May 4, 2017 — A commitment to reducing global emissions of short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) such as methane and black carbon could slow global warming while boosting public health and agricultural yields, ... read more

May 4, 2017 — The amount of dissolved oxygen contained in the water -- an important measure of ocean health -- has been declining for more than 20 years, reveals a new analysis of decades of data on oceans across ... read more

May 3, 2017 — A tiny shark tooth, part of a mantis shrimp and other microscopic marine organisms reveal that as the Andes mountains rose, the Eastern Amazon sank twice, each time for less than a million ... read more

May 3, 2017 — Climate plays a key role in determining what animals can live where. And while human-induced climate change has been causing major problems for wildlife as of late, changes in the Earth's ... read more

May 2, 2017 — A new analysis of an ice core from Dome Fuji in Antarctica, along with climate simulation results, shows a high degree of climate instability (that is, rapid climate fluctuations) within glacial ... read more

May 2, 2017 — The rift in the Larsen C ice shelf in Antarctica now has a second branch, which is moving in the direction of the ice front, researchers revealed after studying the latest satellite data. The main ... read more

May 2, 2017 — Glacier flow at the southern Antarctic Peninsula has increased since the 1990s, but a new study has found the change to be only a third of what was recently ... read more

May 1, 2017 — Parts of the ice of the Juvfonne snow patch in Jotunheimen are 7600 years old, which makes it the oldest dated ice on mainland ... read more

Apr. 27, 2017 — Ice cores drilled from a glacier in a cave in Transylvania offer new evidence of how Europe's winter weather and climate patterns fluctuated during the last 10,000 years, known as the Holocene ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — After an unusually intense heat wave, downpour or drought, climate scientists inevitably receive phone calls and emails asking whether human-caused climate change played a ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — Scientists have created the most comprehensive and high-resolution atlas of the seafloor of both Polar ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — New research describes for the first time the role that warm, dry winds play in influencing the behavior of Antarctic ice ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — Microplastics, which are particles measuring less than 5 mm, are of increasing concern. They not only become more relevant as other plastic marine litter breaks down into tiny particles, they also ... read more

Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Friday, May 5, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017