NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Air Quality News
October 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:28am EDT

More Air Quality News
October 28, 2016

Is Energy Storage Via Pumped Hydro Systems Is Possible on a Very Small Scale?

Oct. 24, 2016 — Pumped-storage hydroelectricity systems are to be found throughout the world, but always on a large scale. Researchers investigated whether energy storage via pumped hydro systems is possible on a ... read more

Oct. 17, 2016 — Tiny robots have been helping researchers study how cli­mate change affects bio­di­ver­sity. These “robo­mus­sels” have the shape, size, and color of actual mus­sels, with minia­ture ... read more

Wind Patterns in Lowest Layers of Supercell Storms Key to Predicting Tornadoes

Oct. 13, 2016 — Wind patterns in the lowest 500 meters of the atmosphere near supercell thunderstorms can help predict whether that storm will generate a tornado, report ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — New research reveals how a single warming event in Antarctica may be an indication of future ecosystem changes. Stationed in East Antarctica's McMurdo Dry Valleys -- a polar desert that's ... read more

Team Delivers a Champion in Carbon Dioxide Conversion

Oct. 13, 2016 — A research team has developed an innovative concept to convert carbon dioxide into valuable products. The new process, coined “super-dry” methane reforming, intensifies carbon dioxide conversion, ... read more

Healthy Soil Is Essential to a Circular Economy

Oct. 13, 2016 — To achieve the Dutch government's objective of realizing a circular economy in the Netherlands, it is essential to maintain the productivity of the country's farmland. Healthy soil produces ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — In a new twist to waste-to-fuel technology, scientists have developed an electrochemical process that uses tiny spikes of carbon and copper to turn carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, into ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — More aridity is sending thousands of square miles up in flames, report investigators. According to the study, since 1984 heightened temperatures and resulting aridity have caused fires to spread ... read more

Salty Snow Could Affect Air Pollution in the Arctic

Oct. 12, 2016 — In pictures, the Arctic appears pristine and timeless with its barren lands and icy landscape. In reality, the area is rapidly changing. Scientists are working to understand the chemistry behind ... read more

China's Emission of Toxic Fluorinated Chemicals Highest in the World

Oct. 12, 2016 — China is today the largest emitter of certain toxic fluorinated chemicals in the world, researchers show after measuring the levels of 12 fluorinated substances at the mouths of 19 Chinese ... read more

Oct. 10, 2016 — Researchers set out to answer one not-so-simple question: Is it feasible to build and operate a high-speed passenger ferry solely powered by hydrogen fuel cells? The answer is ... read more

Effective Emissions Limits in Europe Could Save Thousands of Lives Every Year

Oct. 10, 2016 — Effective coal regulation could slash deaths from toxic fumes by 85%, saving 20,000 lives every year, say European ... read more

Oct. 10, 2016 — Calcium deficient fauna, poor conditions for freshwater fish and mercury in the drinking water is the long-term consequences of acid rain in the 70's and ... read more

Assessing the Effects of Human-Caused Activities on Marine Mammals

Oct. 7, 2016 — Rising levels of noise in the ocean have been identified as a growing concern for the well-being of marine mammals, but other threats such as pollution, climate change, and prey depletion by ... read more

Oct. 7, 2016 — Cheap shale gas produced by fracking has driven the decline in coal production in the United States during the last decade, researchers have ... read more

Oct. 7, 2016 — For at least a billion years of the distant past, planet Earth should have been frozen over but wasn't. Scientists thought they knew why, but a new modeling study has fired the lead actor in ... read more

Oct. 6, 2016 — On average, 40 volcanoes on land erupt into the atmosphere each month, while scores of others on the seafloor erupt into the ocean. A new time-lapse animation uniting volcanoes, earthquakes, and ... read more

Oct. 5, 2016 — Carbon dioxide levels in Earth's atmosphere passed a troubling milestone for good this summer and locked in levels of the heat-trapping gas not seen for millions of ... read more

Urban Warming Slows Tree Growth, Photosynthesis

Oct. 5, 2016 — New research finds that urban warming reduces growth and photosynthesis in city trees. The researchers found that insect pests are part of the problem, but that heat itself plays a more significant ... read more

Oct. 4, 2016 — When the local water management agency closes your favorite beach due to unhealthy water quality, how reliable are the tests they base their decisions on? As it turns out, those tests, as well as the ... read more

Monday, October 24, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Saturday, September 24, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016