New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Air Quality News

February 23, 2024

Top Headlines
 

Polystyrene is a widespread plastic that is essentially not recyclable when mixed with other materials and is not biodegradable. A research team has now introduced a biohybrid catalyst that oxidizes polystyrene microparticles to facilitate their ...
Botanical gardens are not just beautiful -- they can cool the city air by 5 C during heatwaves, according to the most comprehensive review of its kind. Parks and wetlands have a similar ...
In a new study, researchers broke down how human-induced greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions influence rainfall in the United States. Greenhouse gas emissions increase rainfall, while aerosols have a long-term drying effect as well as short-term ...
A team of scientists on location with a film crew in the remote Amazon has uncovered a previously undocumented species of giant ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:55pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

There exists a narrative about climate change that says there are winners and losers -- with Russia being one of the countries that stand to benefit from its effects. In a new study, researchers ...

Researchers find deforestation accounts for about 10 percent of global human-made mercury emissions. While it cannot be the only solution, they suggest reforestation could increase global mercury ...

Climate changes usually happens over long periods of time, but during the last glacial period, extreme fluctuations in temperature occurred within just a few years. Researchers have now been able to ...

A chemical element so visually striking that it was named for a goddess shows a 'Goldilocks' level of reactivity -- neither too much nor too little -- that makes it a strong candidate as a ...

A new study has found the immune system in the blood of Alzheimer's patients is epigenetically altered. That means the patients' behavior or environment has caused changes that affect the ...

Researchers have developed a sensor made from 'frozen smoke' that uses artificial intelligence techniques to detect formaldehyde in real time at concentrations as low as eight parts per ...

Since the outbreak of COVID-19, surfaces in public spaces are cleaned more often. While disinfectant solutions eliminate germs, they don't leave behind a truly bare surface. They deposit a thin ...

Engineers have created a more efficient way of converting carbon dioxide into valuable products while simultaneously addressing climate ...

Analysis reveals imported earthworm species have colonized large swaths of North America, and represent a largely overlooked threat to native ecosystems. The researchers warn of the need to better ...

PFAS have earned the name 'forever chemicals' with good reason -- the human-made compounds, which can take thousands of years to degrade and are found in everything from grease-resistant ...

Scientists have discovered that nighttime air pollution -- coming primarily form car exhaust and power plant emissions -- is responsible for a major drop in nighttime pollinator activity. Nitrate ...

Researchers have uncovered the first direct evidence that the West Antarctic Ice Sheet shrunk suddenly and dramatically at the end of the Last Ice Age, around eight thousand years ago. The evidence, ...

In a study that signals potential reproductive and health complications in humans, now and for future generations, researchers have concluded that fathers exposed to environmental toxins, notably ...

Cutting-edge research converted waste carbon dioxide into a potential precursor for chemicals and carbon-free ...

Researchers say there needs to be better regulation and more guidance for consumers about how safe cleaning products really ...

Forests, which cover a third of Earth's land surface, are pivotal in carbon storage and the water cycle, though the full scope of their impact remains to be fully understood. In a new study, ...

For the first time, a hydrogel material made of nanocellulose and algae has been tested as an alternative, greener architectural material. The study shows how the abundant sustainable material can be ...

Think of it as recycling on the nanoscale: a tantalizing electrochemical process that can harvest carbon before it becomes air pollution and restructure it into the components of everyday products. ...

In hydrogen fuel cells, electrolyte membranes frequently undergo deformation and develop cracks during operation. A research team has recently introduced a fatigue-resistant polymer electrolyte ...

Researchers have discovered peptide factors that function in the shoot and root systems to transport iron into the root nodules colonized by nitrogen-fixing bacteria. Moreover, these peptide factors ...

Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Monday, February 12, 2024
Friday, February 9, 2024
Wednesday, February 14, 2024
Friday, February 9, 2024
Thursday, February 8, 2024
Wednesday, February 7, 2024
Tuesday, February 6, 2024
Monday, February 5, 2024
Thursday, February 1, 2024
Wednesday, January 31, 2024
Tuesday, January 30, 2024
Monday, January 29, 2024
Friday, January 26, 2024
Thursday, January 25, 2024
Wednesday, January 24, 2024
Tuesday, January 23, 2024
Monday, January 22, 2024
Friday, January 19, 2024
Thursday, January 18, 2024
Wednesday, January 17, 2024
Tuesday, January 16, 2024
Sunday, January 14, 2024
Friday, January 12, 2024
Thursday, January 11, 2024
Wednesday, January 10, 2024
Tuesday, January 9, 2024
Monday, January 8, 2024
Friday, January 5, 2024
Tuesday, January 2, 2024
Friday, December 29, 2023
Thursday, December 21, 2023
Wednesday, December 20, 2023
Tuesday, December 19, 2023
Monday, December 18, 2023
Friday, December 15, 2023
Thursday, December 14, 2023
Wednesday, December 13, 2023
Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Monday, December 11, 2023
Friday, December 8, 2023
Thursday, December 7, 2023