Air Quality News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:57pm EDT

More Air Quality News
April 30, 2016

Detecting Minute Nano Amounts in Environmental Samples

Apr. 29, 2016 — It is still unclear what the impact is on humans, animals and plants of synthetic nanomaterials released into the environment or used in products. It’s very difficult to detect these nanomaterials ... read more

Climate Change, Extreme Weather Linked to High Pressure Over Greenland

Apr. 26, 2016 — Greenland is one of the fastest-warming regions of the world, according to climate change experts. The work has identified changes in weather systems over Greenland that have dragged unusually warm ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — The warm spring of 2012 in the U.S. caused plants to absorb more carbon, thereby compensating for reductions during the subsequent summer drought, researchers have ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Coral reefs--the world's most productive and diverse marine ecosystems--rely on a masterful recycling program to stay healthy. A new study explores how a process known as ... read more

Changing Climate Conditions in Michigan Pose an Emerging Public Health Threat

Apr. 25, 2016 — Changing climate conditions—including warmer temperatures and an increased frequency of heavy rainstorms—represent "an emerging threat to public health in Michigan," according to a new ... read more

Role of Animals in Mitigating Climate Change Varies Across Tropical Forests

Apr. 25, 2016 — Large animals play a key role in mitigating climate change in tropical forests across the world by spreading the seeds of large trees that have a high capacity to store carbon, new research ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — The soaring canopy and dense understory of an old-growth forest could provide a buffer for plants and animals in a warming world, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — Staghorns, the very corals responsible for establishing today's reefs, are now some of the most threatened coral species due to climate change and other human-made ... read more

Test Aims to Identify Shale Gas Hazard in Groundwater

Apr. 22, 2016 — A test has been developed to check for contamination of shallow groundwater from unconventional gas extraction techniques, such as fracking. Methods used for shale gas extraction include hydraulic ... read more

Plastic Below the Ocean Surface

Apr. 21, 2016 — Current measurement methods skim the surface of the ocean while computer modeling shows ocean turbulence may force plastics far below the surface despite their ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — All living things require nitrogen for survival, but the world depends on only two known processes to break nitrogen's ultra-strong bonds to allow conversion to a form humans, animals and plants ... read more

US National Forests and Grasslands Could Yield Less Water in Future Climate

Apr. 21, 2016 — A warmer climate may lead to higher growth and productivity on US national forests and grasslands, but researchers say this could reduce quantities of freshwater flowing from most of these lands, ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — If emission rates continue unchecked, regions of the United States could experience between three and nine additional days per year of unhealthy ozone levels by 2050, according to a new ... read more

Crayfish May Help Restore Dirty Streams

Apr. 21, 2016 — While macroinvertebrates are a tasty food source for crayfish, a new study reveals a surprising finding: when crayfish were present in in-stream experimental enclosures, macroinvertebrate density was ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Sea ice physicists are anticipating that the sea ice cover in the Arctic Ocean this summer may shrink to the record low of 2012. The scientists made this projection after evaluating current satellite ... read more

New Tool Calculates Economic Costs of Methane Leak Detection

Apr. 20, 2016 — The 'virtual gas field simulator' calculates the economic costs of different technologies for plugging and repairing leaky natural gas wells. In recent years, there has been a growing ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Continental shifting may have acted as a natural mechanism for extreme carbon ... read more

Is Your Home Harming You? New Research Highlights Deadly Effects of Indoor Pollution

Apr. 19, 2016 — Indoor pollution from smoke, building materials and spores kills millions each year, say researchers. New work offers insight into ‘Sick Building Syndrome’ and how new smart cities could help ... read more

30 Years After Chernobyl, Camera Study Reveals Wildlife Abundance in Chernobyl Exclusion Zone

Apr. 18, 2016 — While humans are now scarce in the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone, continued studies--including a just-published camera study--validate findings that wildlife populations are abundant at the site. The ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — A new study tries to disentangle the complex question of whether rising amounts of carbon dioxide in the air might in some cases help crops. It suggests that while greater warmth will reduce yields ... read more

Friday, April 29, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016