Air Quality News
May 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:11pm EDT

More Air Quality News
May 27, 2017

Camelina: Where You Grow What You Grow

May 24, 2017 — A new study looks at how three varieties of camelina perform when grown in two different regions within the Great Plains. The end goal is to find the camelina variety that performs best in each ... read more

Fuel from the Air Technology Provides a Path to New Business for OPEC Countries

May 24, 2017 — Pioneering technology makes OPEC countries prime regions to produce synthetic fuels. This could be a key asset in phasing out fossil fuels after the Paris Agreement, while also keeping some of the ... read more

Air Pollution May Disrupt Sleep

May 22, 2017 — High levels of air pollution over time may get in the way of a good night's sleep, according to new ... read more

May 19, 2017 — Scientists have discovered the presence of contaminants in the pelagic food chains in the lakes Mjøsa, Randsfjorden and Femunden in Norway, and in supplementary material of fish from Tyrifjorden ... read more

May 18, 2017 — Temperatures in the Arctic are increasing twice as fast as in the rest of the globe, while the Antarctic is warming at a much slower rate. A new study shows that land height could be a 'game ... read more

May 18, 2017 — An ambitious study has investigated various factors that contribute to air pollution inside the house. Not surprisingly, cigarette smoke emerged as a major source of airborne particles in homes with ... read more

Not All Cool Pavements Are Created Equal

May 18, 2017 — Cool pavements can help keep cities cool, right? Yes, but according to new research many reflective pavements have some unexpected drawbacks relative to conventional pavements when considering the ... read more

May 17, 2017 — A Greenland ice core providing a first glimpse at the history of reactive oxidants shows that for big temperature swings in the past 100,000 years, reactive oxidants are actually higher in cold ... read more

Fate of Marine Carbon in Last Steps Toward Sequestration

May 17, 2017 — New research explains how an ancient group of cells in the dark ocean wrings the last bit of energy from carbon molecules resistant to ... read more

May 17, 2017 — Planting trees is a popular strategy to help make cities 'greener,' both literally and figuratively. But scientists have found a counterintuitive effect of urban vegetation: during heat ... read more

May 17, 2017 — Water reservoirs created by damming rivers could have significant impacts on the world's carbon cycle and climate system that aren't being accounted for, a new study ... read more

Public Divides Over Environmental Regulation and Energy Policy

May 16, 2017 — A 54 percent majority of US adults believe that 'government regulations are necessary to encourage businesses and consumers to rely more on renewable energy sources,' while 38 percent ... read more

May 16, 2017 — Dental plaque and the viscous brown slime in drainpipes are two familiar examples of bacterial biofilms. Removing such bacterial depositions from surfaces is often very difficult, in part because ... read more

Cities Need to 'Green Up' to Reduce Impact of Air Pollution

May 16, 2017 — The harmful impact of urban air pollution could be combated by strategically placing low hedges along roads in a built-up environment of cities instead of taller trees, a new study has ... read more

Protecting Peru's River Dolphins

May 16, 2017 — River dolphins and Amazonian manatees in Peru will benefit from new protection thanks to a newly developed ... read more

May 16, 2017 — Researchers believe they have found a new way to monitor the intensity and location of hurricanes from hundreds of miles away by detecting atmospheric waves radiating from the centers of these ... read more

May 15, 2017 — The beaches of one of the world's most remote islands have been found to be polluted with the highest density of plastic debris reported anywhere on the planet, a new study shows. Despite being ... read more

May 15, 2017 — One million miles from Earth, a NASA camera is capturing unexpected flashes of light reflecting off our ... read more

May 15, 2017 — The most extreme rain events in most regions of the world will increase in intensity by 3 to 15 percent, depending on region, for every degree Celsius that the planet warms, say ... read more

May 15, 2017 — Because of testing inefficiencies, maintenance inadequacies and other factors, cars, trucks and buses worldwide emit 4.6 million tons more harmful nitrogen oxide (NOx) than standards allow, according ... read more

Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Monday, May 22, 2017
Friday, May 19, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Friday, May 5, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017