Coral Reefs News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:57am EDT

More Coral Reefs News
July 27, 2016

May 25, 2016 — Clownfish became a household name over a decade ago when Disney released the movie 'Finding Nemo.' The colorful fish are now at risk due to bleaching of their sea anemone homes in the ... read more

May 24, 2016 — Scientists have conducted the world's most comprehensive analysis of coral genes, focusing on how their evolution has allowed corals to interact with and adapt to the ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Tuna fishers who network with their competition may be able to stop thousands of sharks a year from being accidentally captured and killed in the Pacific Ocean, according to new ... read more

May 20, 2016 — A new study highlights the urgent need for action to save our coral reefs as 59 species of finfish disappear from catches over past 65 ... read more

Rich Coral Communities Discovered in Palamós Submarine Canyon in the Northwestern Mediterranian Sea

May 20, 2016 — A scientific team has found in La Fonera canyon, also known as the Palamós canyon in the Northwestern Mediterranian Sea, deep-water coral communities, a marine ecosystem which is very vulnerable to ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Fish provide protein to billions of people and are an especially critical food source in the developing world. Today marine biologists confirmed a key factor that could help them thrive through the ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Australian researchers have raised fresh concerns that a major shipping disaster could harm the Great Barrier Reef, with new research revealing coal dust in seawater can kill corals and slow down the ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Scientists have discovered rapidly rising seasonal sea temperatures are the likely trigger for coral reproduction allowing them to predict when mass spawning will ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Coral bleaching and death can have dramatic repercussions for how small reef fish learn about and avoid predators, say researchers after a world first ... read more

May 6, 2016 — An international research team has studied the geographical pattern of the evolution of corals and reef fish. Their findings show that today's geographical distribution of tropical marine ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Scientists have completed a massive study that will help communities and countries of the Western Indian Ocean measure and restore fish populations while identifying the best policies for achieving ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Researchers found that the limestone that forms the foundation of coral reefs along the Florida Reef Tract is dissolving during the fall and winter months on many reefs in the Florida Keys. The ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that large areas of intact coral reef with extensive live coral cover, not disturbed by humans or climate change, harbor the greatest amount of genetic diversity. With this ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Coral reefs--the world's most productive and diverse marine ecosystems--rely on a masterful recycling program to stay healthy. A new study explores how a process known as ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — As large rivers empty into the world's oceans in areas known as plumes, they typically create gaps in the reef distribution along the tropical shelves--something that makes finding a reef in the ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — Staghorns, the very corals responsible for establishing today's reefs, are now some of the most threatened coral species due to climate change and other human-made ... read more

1.5 C Vs 2 C Global Warming: New Study Shows Why Half a Degree Matters

Apr. 21, 2016 — Researchers have found substantially different climate change impacts for a global warming of 1.5°C and 2°C by 2100, the two temperature limits included in the Paris climate agreement. The ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers have shown for the first time that some corals surviving bleaching events can acquire and host new types of algae from their environment, which may make the coral more heat-tolerant and ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — New research suggests that Great Barrier Reef (GBR) corals were able to survive past bleaching events because they were exposed to a pattern of gradually warming waters in the lead up to each ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Researchers visited Christmas Island, the world's largest coral atoll, to measure the effects of El Nino. Eighty percent of the coral is dead, they report. Corals are communities of animals that ... read more

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015