Coral Reefs News
April 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00am EDT

More Coral Reefs News
April 29, 2016

Apr. 6, 2016 — A new study has found that multiple stressors might be too much for corals. The findings have important implications for the resilience of coral reefs to climate ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — New fishery regulations based on science are needed in the Caribbean to give coral reefs a fighting chance against climate change, according to an international ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — New research on coral reefs suggests that existing biodiversity will be essential for the successful adaptation of ecosystems to climate ... read more

Protecting Coral Reefs With Bubbles

Mar. 23, 2016 — Bubbles -- yes, bubbles -- could help protect coral reefs, oyster farms, and other coastal ecosystems from increasing ocean acidification, according to new ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — The world’s corals are dying, with tremendous effects on climate and ocean health – however, much about why coral dies is still unknown. Now, a team of researchers has created a new experimental ... read more

Give and Take: Researchers Analyze How Nutrient Pollution Can Negatively Impact Important Ecological Relationships

Mar. 10, 2016 — Nature has its own economy, with trading as dynamic as that of any stock exchange. To cope with nutrient deficiencies in their respective habitats, certain plants, animals and fungi have evolved ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Biologists have found that certain baby sharks are able to cope with the level of ocean acidification predicted for the end of this ... read more

Mar. 7, 2016 — New studies provide new insights into the physical and biological aspects of the Red ... read more

Mar. 3, 2016 — Shallow-reef corals are more closely related to their shallow-water counterparts over a thousand miles away than they are to deep-water corals on the same reef, new research ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — A team of scientists performed the first-ever experiment that manipulated seawater chemistry in a natural coral reef community in order to determine the effect that excess carbon dioxide released by ... read more

Feb. 23, 2016 — Global warming and the intense El Niño now underway are prolonging the longest global coral die-off on record, according to scientists monitoring and forecasting the loss of corals from disease and ... read more

Feb. 16, 2016 — A 60 year-old theory explaining why seas surrounding islands and atolls are particularly productive has just been proven. The authors describe the extent to which the Island Mass Effect happens and ... read more

Feb. 11, 2016 — Significant outbreaks of viruses may be associated with coral bleaching events, especially as a result of multiple environmental stresses, a study has concluded. One such event was documented even as ... read more

Feb. 9, 2016 — The timing of significant Great Barrier Reef coral loss captured by a series of historical photos has been accurately determined for the first time. Researchers said the photos were a powerful visual ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — Biologists found that noise from passing motorboats increases stress levels in young coral reef fish and reduces their ability to flee from predators. As a consequence they are captured more easily ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Researchers have, for the first time, successfully raised laboratory-bred colonies of a threatened Caribbean coral species to sexual maturity. Due to its large size and branching shape, elkhorn ... read more

Survey Shows Aussies' Love and Concern for Great Barrier Reef

Jan. 29, 2016 — More than three quarters of Australians regard the Great Barrier Reef as part of their national identity and nearly 90 percent believe it is under threat from climate change, a new report ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Researchers have identified a way to predict which reef fish can live across a greater range of depths, increasing their chances of surviving natural disasters such as cyclones and coral ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Researchers have designed the first application of soft robotics for the non-destructive sampling of fauna from the ocean floor. Their recent expedition in the Red Sea successfully demonstrated the ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — New research centers around the diminutive regal damselfish, found in non-native waters in the southern Gulf of Mexico. Damselfish are some of the most beautiful fishes in the ocean, and that's ... read more

Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Saturday, April 4, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015