Coral Reefs News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:42am EDT

More Coral Reefs News
April 30, 2017

Breakthrough in Live Coral Imaging

Mar. 6, 2017 — Interdisciplinarity scientists have used a well-known biomedical imaging technique called optical coherence tomography (OCT) to obtain fascinating insights to the structural organization and dynamics ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — World-first research on the Great Barrier Reef has shown how 'weed-like' algae will kill vital coral because of increased carbon dioxide concentrations in the ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Climate change is one of the most powerful stressors threatening marine biomes. It is hoped that identifying areas of resilience will provide managers valuable decision-making guidance. A survey of ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Scientists have developed a 3,000-year record of the abundance of parrotfish and urchins on reefs from the Caribbean side of Panama to help unravel the cause of the alarming modern-day shift from ... read more

Jan. 6, 2017 — The first comprehensive analysis of the Great Barrier Reef at a time of rapid sea-level rise during the beginning of the Last Interglacial found it almost died. The research shows the reef can be ... read more

Scaling Up Marine Conservation Targets Should Benefit Millions of People

Jan. 5, 2017 — About 200 countries worldwide committed to protecting 10 percent of national marine areas by signing the Convention on Biological Diversity. But more ambitious marine reserve coverage policies that ... read more

Jan. 5, 2017 — Thirty years ago a mysterious disease wiped out long-spined black sea urchins across the Caribbean, leading to massive algal overgrowth that smothered already overfished coral reefs. Now, marine ... read more

Jan. 5, 2017 — New climate model projections of the world's coral reefs reveal which reefs will be hit first by annual coral bleaching, an event that poses the gravest threat to one of the Earth's most ... read more

Dec. 7, 2016 — When it comes to coral health, superoxide -- a natural toxin all oxygen-breathing organisms produce -- gets a bad ... read more

Dec. 6, 2016 — In a new study, a research team examined the unique grazing roles of algae-eating herbivores on coral reefs to learn more about how they help keep corals from being overgrown by ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — Coral genotypes can survive for thousands of years, possibly making them the longest-lived animals in the world, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 29, 2016 — Scientists have confirmed the largest die-off of corals ever recorded on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. The worst affected area, a 700 km swath of reefs in the northern region of the Great Barrier ... read more

Marine Disease Likely to Follow Great Barrier Reef Coral Bleaching

Nov. 28, 2016 — Higher water temperatures in 2016 caused the worst destruction of corals ever recorded on Australia's Great Barrier Reef, report experts. And this may be followed by devastating outbreaks of ... read more

Nov. 22, 2016 — Scientists studying naturally high carbon dioxide coral reefs in Papua New Guinea found that erosion of essential habitat is accelerated in these highly acidified waters, even as coral growth ... read more

Deep Sea Coral in North Atlantic Faces Threat from Climate Change

Nov. 22, 2016 — North Atlantic coral populations -- key to supporting a variety of sea life -- are under threat from climate change, a study ... read more

Most Species-Rich Coral Reefs Are Not Necessarily Protected

Nov. 22, 2016 — Coral reefs throughout the world are under threat. After studying the reefs in Malaysia, a researcher concluded that there is room for improvement in coral reef ... read more

Nov. 21, 2016 — Acidification of the world’s oceans could drive a cascading loss of biodiversity in some marine habitats, according to new ... read more

Nov. 17, 2016 — Half of all coral species in the Caribbean went extinct between 1 and 2 million years ago, probably due to drastic environmental changes. Which ones survived? Scientists think one group of survivors, ... read more

Nov. 16, 2016 — Land-based pollutants, such as fertilizers and chemicals in wastewater, infiltrate into the groundwaters beneath land and eventually exit into nearshore ecosystems as submarine groundwater discharge ... read more

Rising Carbon Dioxide Threatens Coral and People Who Use Reefs

Nov. 10, 2016 — As atmospheric carbon dioxide levels rise, very few coral reef ecosystems will be spared the impacts of ocean acidification or sea surface temperature rise, according to a new analysis. The damage ... read more

Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016