Air Pollution News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:12pm EDT

More Air Pollution News
April 30, 2017

Ambulances Respond More Slowly in Summer and Winter

Apr. 24, 2017 — Ambulance response times in London worsen when air temperatures rise or fall beyond certain limits in summer and winter, according to a new ... read more

How Campuses Can Measure Their Nitrogen Footprints

Apr. 18, 2017 — A new groundbreaking initiative helps researchers to measure and reduce the nitrogen footprint left behind by campus activities like food waste and energy consumption. The publication outlines ... read more

Wood Burning Releases High Amounts of Secondary Organic Aerosols

Mar. 30, 2017 — Aerosol emissions from logwood combustion increase significantly when the emission ages in ambient air. A significant increase occurs already within three hours of aging, according to a new study. ... read more

Manufacturing, Global Trade Impair Health of People With No Stake in Either

Mar. 29, 2017 — The latest products may bring joy to people around the globe, but academic researchers this week are highlighting the heightened health risks experienced by people in regions far downwind of the ... read more

EPA's Controlled Human Exposure Studies of Air Pollution Are Warranted

Mar. 28, 2017 — A new report finds these studies are warranted and recommends that they continue under two conditions: when they provide additional knowledge that informs policy decisions and regulation of ... read more

When Air Pollution Is Bad, Know How to Protect Yourself

Mar. 23, 2017 — There are steps we can take to protect ourselves and our families from air pollution, which has well-documented negative consequences for childhood asthma, birth outcomes, pregnancy risks, ... read more

'Super Sponge' Promises Effective Toxic Clean-Up of Lakes and More

Mar. 22, 2017 — Mercury is very toxic and can cause long-term health damage, but removing it from water is challenging. To address this growing problem scientists have created a sponge that can absorb mercury from a ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — A research team has successfully concocted a novel nanofiber solution that creates thin, see-through air filters that can remove up to 90 per cent of PM2.5 particles and achieve high air flow of 2.5 ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Fertilizers, animal waste, changes to atmospheric chemistry and warming soils are all tied to increased ammonia over US, Europe, China and India, say researchers as they reveal the first global, ... read more

New Bedford Harbor Identified as Major Source of Airborne PCBs

Mar. 10, 2017 — Sediment contaminated with polychlorinated biphenyl, or PCBs, from the bottom of the New Bedford Harbor is the number one source of airborne PCBs in the neighborhoods surrounding the port, according ... read more

Measurements by School Pupils Paved Way for Key Research Findings on Lakes and Global Warming

Mar. 10, 2017 — With their measurements and samples, nearly 3,500 schoolchildren have assisted a research study on lakes and global warming. The results show that water temperatures generally remain low despite the ... read more

Infants Are More Exposed to Harmful Pollution on the Way to School Than on the Way Home, New Research Finds

Mar. 9, 2017 — Babies in prams accompanying older siblings on the school run are twice as likely to be exposed to harmful air pollution in the morning than in the afternoon, a new study has ... read more

Volkswagen's Excess Emissions Will Lead to 1,200 Premature Deaths in Europe

Mar. 3, 2017 — Volkswagen's excess emissions are predicted to cause 1,200 premature deaths in Europe. Countries hit hardest by automaker's emissions scandal include Germany, Poland, France, and Czech ... read more

Air Pollution Can Alter the Effectiveness of Antibiotics and Increases the Potential of Disease, New Study Reveals

Mar. 2, 2017 — New research has explored the impact of black carbon on bacteria in the respiratory tract. The study specifically looked into how air pollution affects the bacteria living in our bodies, specifically ... read more

Mar. 1, 2017 — The combination of prolonged hot spells with poor air quality greatly compounds the negative effects of each and can pose a major risk to human health, according to new ... read more

Iron Dissolved by Air Pollution May Increase Ocean Potential to Trap Carbon

Mar. 1, 2017 — Iron particles generated by cities and industry are being dissolved by human-made air pollution and washed into the sea -- potentially increasing the amount of greenhouse gases that the world's ... read more

Mar. 1, 2017 — An influx of pollution from Asia in the western United States and more frequent heat waves in the eastern US are responsible for the persistence of smog in these regions over the past quarter century ... read more

Feb. 23, 2017 — Humans may have been altering Arctic sea ice longer than previously thought, according to researchers studying the effects of air pollution on sea ice growth in the mid-20th ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Outdoor air pollution has been linked to 2.7 million preterm births per year, a major study has concluded. When a baby is born preterm (at less than 37 weeks of gestation), there is an increased risk ... read more

Fish Affected by Deepwater Horizon Spill Give Clues to Air Pollution Heart Disease

Feb. 16, 2017 — A study into the effects on fish of a 2010 oil disaster could shed new light on how air pollution affects humans' hearts, report ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Saturday, September 24, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016