Air Pollution News
May 3, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:58am EDT

More Air Pollution News
May 3, 2016

Air Pollution Increases Risk of Early Death in Gothenburg

Mar. 24, 2016 — People who live where there are high levels of air pollution have an increased risk of dying prematurely. Air pollution levels in Gothenburg have, however, decreased by half in the past few ... read more

Mar. 18, 2016 — Using a new approach scientists have found that China's "climate responsibility", is not as significant as initially estimated. However, rather paradoxically, the latter country's ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — A recent article provides the first comprehensive inventory of the world's biological field stations. Its authors report 1,268 stations are operating in 120 countries -- from the tropics to the ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Exposure to common air pollutants during pregnancy may predispose children to problems regulating their thoughts, emotions, and behaviors later on, according to a new ... read more

European Clean Air Policies Unmask Arctic Warming by Greenhouse Gases

Mar. 14, 2016 — The drastic cut in sulfate particle emissions in Europe partly explains the amplified Arctic warming since the 1980s, shows a new study. Sulfate emissions, which cause, for example, acid rain, peaked ... read more

Wildland Fire Emissions Worse in Polluted Areas

Mar. 11, 2016 — When plant matter burns, it releases a complex mixture of gases and aerosols into the atmosphere. In forests subject to air pollution, these emissions may be more toxic than in areas of good air ... read more

Higher Ozone, Lower Humidity Levels Associated With Dry Eye Disease

Mar. 10, 2016 — The associations between outdoor air pollution and dry eye disease has been the focus of recent study. Researchers made a link in a study of the Korean ... read more

Eyeing Climate Change, Satellites Provide Missing Information

Mar. 9, 2016 — Scientists develop a new method to measure the impact of pollution on global warming and reduce the gaps in knowledge on climate ... read more

Mar. 3, 2016 — Clouds are notoriously hard to simulate in computer programs that model climate. A new study suggests why -- either clouds are more variable than scientists give them credit for, or those bright ... read more

Are Developments in Technology Improving Air Quality?

Mar. 2, 2016 — The London fog episode of the 1950s and the thousands of premature deaths that followed catalysed a series of attempts to improve air quality. According to author Philip K. Hopke, there have been ... read more

Mar. 1, 2016 — The valuable cooling effects of large urban green spaces has been established; now scientists have studied small and medium sized  parks in London to determine the optimum size, distribution and ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Higher Risk of Preterm Birth for Mothers With Asthma

Mar. 1, 2016 — Pregnant women with asthma may be at greater risk of preterm birth when exposed to high levels of certain traffic-related air pollutants, according to a study. The researchers observed an increased ... read more

Feb. 29, 2016 — Carbon tetrachloride (CCl4), once commonly used as a cleaning agent, is an ozone-depleting chemical. Despite a worldwide ban, a new study reports that CCl4 emission rates are still 30 to 100 times ... read more

Air Data Can Be Used to Reconstruct Radiological Releases

Feb. 29, 2016 — New research demonstrates that experts can use data from air sampling technology to not only detect radiological releases, but to accurately quantify the magnitude and source of the release. This has ... read more

Study Celebrates the Success of EU Air Quality Policy Amidst Brexit Uncertainty

Feb. 29, 2016 — A study has found that about 80,000 deaths are prevented each year due to the introduction of European Union (EU) policies and new technologies to reduce air ... read more

Jet Engines to Become Cleaner in Future

Feb. 26, 2016 — New research is working toward a new way to measure emissions of fine particulate matter from aircraft engines, and scientists are hoping to develop a preliminary standard governing the emission of ... read more

Feb. 25, 2016 — The Aliso Canyon natural gas well blowout, first reported on Oct. 23, 2015, released over 100,000 tons of the powerful greenhouse gas methane before the well was sealed on Feb. 11, according to the ... read more

Tropical Fires Fuel Elevated Ozone Levels Over Western Pacific Ocean

Feb. 24, 2016 — A diverse team of atmospheric chemists, meteorologists and modelers has traced the origins of mysterious pockets of high ozone concentrations and low water vapor in the air above the western Pacific ... read more

Nitrogen a Neglected Threat to Biodiversity

Feb. 24, 2016 — Nitrogen pollution is a recognized threat to sensitive species and ecosystems. However, the means and severity of the damage are elusive, hampering efforts to manage this worldwide ... read more

Charging Electric Vehicles at Night Can Cause More Harm Than Good, Says Study

Feb. 22, 2016 — While charging electric vehicles at night is more cost-effective, it increases air emissions, new research ... read more

Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015