NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Drought Research News
September 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:28am EDT

More Drought Research News
September 29, 2016

Sep. 5, 2016 — Over the past decades forests in different parts of the world have suffered sudden massive tree mortality. Now an international team of scientists has found a way to spot from satellite images which ... read more

Saving Irrigation Water With Superabsorbent Polymers

Aug. 25, 2016 — Soil conditioners called superabsorbent polymers have the potential to reduce irrigation needs for agricultural crops by storing water and nutrients and then releasing them in drought conditions, ... read more

Global Climate Models Do Not Easily Downscale for Regional Predictions

Aug. 24, 2016 — One size does not always fit all, especially when it comes to global climate models, according to climate researchers who caution users of climate model projections to take into account the increased ... read more

Does Owning a Well Foster Environmental Citizenship? A New Study Provides Evidence

Aug. 22, 2016 — Kansans who own water wells show more awareness of state water policy issues than those who rely on municipal water supplies, according to a study that could have implications for groundwater ... read more

Hidden, Local Climate Impacts of Drought-Friendly Vegetation

Aug. 5, 2016 — Scientists determined that if a many Los Angeles property owners switch their lawns to drought-tolerant landscaping, it could increase local temperatures and exacerbate heat waves, and would have ... read more

Early Snowmelt Reduces Forests' Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide Uptake, Decreases Streamflow Volume

Aug. 3, 2016 — Earlier, slower snowmelt hinders a subalpine forest's ability to regulate atmospheric carbon dioxide and reduces streamflow, a phenomenon with potentially drastic consequences for agriculture, ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — One ecologist wants to change the way we think about prescribed burns. The professor says he can harness extreme fire to restore grasslands on the Great Plains -- and he has created a small drone ... read more

July 21, 2016 — This is the first study to show that deciduous tree water uptake of snowmelt water represents a large but overlooked aspect of the water balance in boreal watersheds. For the boreal forest of Alaska ... read more

Mitigating Floods With an Electronic Brain

July 21, 2016 — A computer model that can “learn” similarly to the human brain could help water resource managers mitigate damage in cases of extreme flooding, according to new ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Groundwater discharge that flows into the Upper Colorado River Basin varies in response to drought, which is likely due to aquifer systems that contain relatively young groundwater, according to a ... read more

July 19, 2016 — International research has found how plants, such as rice and wheat, sense and respond to extreme drought stress, in a breakthrough that could lead to the development of next-generation drought-proof ... read more

Managing an Endangered River Across the US-Mexico Border

July 18, 2016 — A new study shows how improving communication and involvement could bring consensus solutions for the embattled Rio Grande/Bravo, which is shared between the USA and ... read more

Climate Experts Help Communities Cope With Impact of the Indian Monsoon

July 14, 2016 — New work by experts to predict the weather in India could help millions of people prepare for the devastating effects of the country's summer ... read more

July 11, 2016 — With a growing world population and a changing climate, understanding how agriculturally important plants respond to drought is crucial. A team has discovered a strategy employed by grasses in ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

July 5, 2016 — A combination of characteristics is the key to success for the genetic improvement of beans to make them resistant to droughts, say scientists, whose research can improve crop yield in Central and ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Droughts in California are mainly controlled by wind, not by the amount of evaporated moisture in the air, new research has found. The research increases the understanding of how the water cycle is ... read more

June 30, 2016 — The Mediterranean Basin has been witness to increased droughts for at least five decades, but has this always been the case? A research team has been successful in reconstructing, for the first time, ... read more

El Niño Could Drive Intense Season for Amazon Fires

June 29, 2016 — The long-lasting effects of El Niño are projected to cause an intense fire season in the Amazon, according to the 2016 seasonal forecast from ... read more

June 21, 2016 — Even with this winter's strong El Niño, the Sierra Nevada snowpack will likely take until 2019 to return to pre-drought levels, according to a new ... read more

Monday, September 5, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015