Drought Research News
August 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:57am EDT

More Drought Research News
August 26, 2016

Global Climate Models Do Not Easily Downscale for Regional Predictions

Aug. 24, 2016 — One size does not always fit all, especially when it comes to global climate models, according to climate researchers who caution users of climate model projections to take into account the increased ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — Extreme weather conditions associated with climate change may extend the ozone season in the Southeastern United States as drought-stressed trees emit more of the precursor compound that helps form ... read more

Does Owning a Well Foster Environmental Citizenship? A New Study Provides Evidence

Aug. 22, 2016 — Kansans who own water wells show more awareness of state water policy issues than those who rely on municipal water supplies, according to a study that could have implications for groundwater ... read more

Mitigating Floods With an Electronic Brain

July 21, 2016 — A computer model that can “learn” similarly to the human brain could help water resource managers mitigate damage in cases of extreme flooding, according to new ... read more

July 11, 2016 — With a growing world population and a changing climate, understanding how agriculturally important plants respond to drought is crucial. A team has discovered a strategy employed by grasses in ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

July 5, 2016 — A combination of characteristics is the key to success for the genetic improvement of beans to make them resistant to droughts, say scientists, whose research can improve crop yield in Central and ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Droughts in California are mainly controlled by wind, not by the amount of evaporated moisture in the air, new research has found. The research increases the understanding of how the water cycle is ... read more

June 30, 2016 — The Mediterranean Basin has been witness to increased droughts for at least five decades, but has this always been the case? A research team has been successful in reconstructing, for the first time, ... read more

El Niño Could Drive Intense Season for Amazon Fires

June 29, 2016 — The long-lasting effects of El Niño are projected to cause an intense fire season in the Amazon, according to the 2016 seasonal forecast from ... read more

June 21, 2016 — Future food security depends on a variety of factors -- but better soil data could substantially help improve projections of future crop yields, shows new ... read more

Which Animals Will Cope With Climate Change Droughts?

June 21, 2016 — Scientists believe the current rate of climate change is unprecedented in Earth's history and will lead to more and worse droughts in many areas. Now a research team may have found a way to ... read more

Animal Hormone Is Involved in Plant Stress Memory

June 17, 2016 — Regulating melatonin production in plants via drought priming could be a promising approach to enhancing abiotic stress tolerance of crops in future climate scenarios, report ... read more

June 15, 2016 — As many as 2 billion leaves on a sequoia vie for resources. Established leaves that live for up to 20 years draw water up the tree's trunk and send nutrients down, while the trunk amasses wood ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Common belief states that the dominant factor determining water scarcity in the next few decades will be population growth. However, according to a new study, it's climate change -- not ... read more

Research Accelerates Next-Generation Ultra-Precise Sensing Technology

June 9, 2016 — The mining, navigation, minerals exploration and environmental hydrology sectors are set to benefit from new research into quantum technology, say ... read more

June 7, 2016 — Drought periods followed by rainfall caused nitrate levels to increase to the highest ever measured in some Midwest streams during a 2013 study, according to a new ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Merged data from on-the-ground measurements, aerial photography, satellite imagery and satellite-radar imaging have unveiled an unexpected geological consequence of northern California's ongoing ... read more

Water Yields from Southern Appalachian Watersheds in Decline Since the 1970s

June 1, 2016 — Newly published research shows water yields from unmanaged forested watersheds in the southern Appalachian Mountains declining by up to 22 percent a year since the 1970s. Changes in water yield were ... read more

Researchers Identify Critical Factors That Determine Drought Vulnerability of Wheat, Maize

May 26, 2016 — Researchers have identified critical information about the environmental variables and agronomic factors that determine the vulnerability of maize and wheat production to ... read more

Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015