Biodiversity News
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:26pm EDT

More Biodiversity News
August 28, 2016

Predictive Tool Vital to Sustainable Environmental Futures

Aug. 26, 2016 — A new predictive tool, which for the first time combines human perception of the environment with land-use planning and socioeconomic data, could help governments mitigate the impact of climate ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — By figuring out how to preserve specimens in the remote locations in which they are found -- locations almost completely opposite those of a controlled laboratory or 21st century urban area -- ... read more

Poaching Patrol: New Ranger Methods Decrease Illegal Activities

Aug. 17, 2016 — Ecologists have tested a new method to detect and decrease wildlife poaching, using data to better predict where illegal activities occur in protected ... read more

Ecosystems in the Southeastern US Are Vulnerable to Climate Change

Aug. 11, 2016 — At least several southeastern US ecosystems are highly vulnerable to the impacts of present and future climate change, according to two new reports. At-risk ecosystems occur in states ranging from ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Wildlife-friendly farming schemes can help boost the abundance of many UK moth species, a new study has ... read more

Historically Robust Natural Ecosystems Could Collapse Due to Climate Change, Human Activity

Aug. 11, 2016 — Global change will strike the oldest and most complex ecosystems of the world hardest, regardless of their past stability, warn experts in a new ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — After months of work by researchers, two patterns have emerged. The first reveals that, as a bivalve's lifespan increases, its growth rate decreases. The second shows that long life and slow ... read more

Surveys of Corn, Soybean Fields Reveal Implications for Pollinator Conservation

Aug. 11, 2016 — What kind of insect pollinators are commonly found in corn and soybean fields? The answer to that question can be found in a new article, say researchers who used modified pan traps to compare the ... read more

Many Endangered Species Face Long Waits for Protection

Aug. 10, 2016 — The Endangered Species Act was enacted by Congress in 1973 to protect species threatened with extinction. To receive protection, a species must first be listed as endangered or threatened. A two-year ... read more

Morphological Analysis of a Light-Controlling Organ Suggests Two New Deep-Sea Fish Species

Aug. 10, 2016 — Two new species can be added to the bioluminescent deep-sea fish family Opisthoproctidae, or 'barreleyes' -- named for the fishes' tubular eyes -- according to a new ... read more

New Meta-Analysis Shows Engineered Hard Shorelines Are a Threat to Ecosystems

Aug. 10, 2016 — Artificial shoreline hardening is often used to protect human structures from coastal hazards, but the practice may negatively affect coastal ecosystems, say ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — The Gulf of Maine coastline, historically home to one of the richest shellfish populations in the US, is undergoing a dramatic change, with once-flourishing wild blue mussels all but disappearing, ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — Invasive plants are a problem around the world, but are they just a nuisance or are they killers? So far there are no documented cases of native plants becoming extinct purely because of an alien ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — Scientists can now reliably predict which bodies of water contain the endangered and elusive sawfish species -- by conducting a simple ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Douglas fir trees are consistently sensitive to drought conditions that occur throughout the species' range in the United States, according to a ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — The decrease in fishery productivity in Lake Tanganyika since the 1950s is a consequence of global warming rather than just overfishing, according to a new report. The lake was becoming warmer at the ... read more

A Plant Present in Brazil Is Capable of Colonizing Deforested Areas

Aug. 8, 2016 — Researchers have studied the genetic diversity and differentiation patterns of the native pioneer understory tree Miconia affinis. They collected leaf tissue from approximately 30 reproductive trees ... read more

Noisy Neighbours: Measuring the Impact of Human-Generated Noise Pollution on Sea Mammals in the Mediterranean

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new study is set to to analyze the possible influence of anthropogenic or human-generated disturbances on different cetacean mammals in the Mediterranean Sea. It focuses on three areas within the ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — The first ever satellite tracking study of one the world's endangered seal species has revealed new information about their migration habits and hunting ... read more

Mountain Environments More Vulnerable to Climate Change Than Previously Reported

Aug. 2, 2016 — New research by a forest landscape ecology professor shows that organisms will face more hardships as they relocate when climate change makes their current homes ... read more

Friday, August 26, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016