NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Biodiversity News
September 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:58am EDT

More Biodiversity News
September 30, 2016

Sep. 21, 2016 — When there are no data due to a lack of hydrometric station, interviews to neighbors and air photographs of water environment are the effective methods to collect information on the water regime of ... read more

Scattered Marine Cave Biodiversity Data to Find Home in New Database WoRCS, Project Report

Sep. 13, 2016 — Considered 'biodiversity reservoirs,' most underwater caves are yet to be explored. Furthermore, species diversity and distributional data is currently scattered enough to seriously hinder ... read more

Ecological Intensification of Agriculture

Sep. 9, 2016 — Putting a halt to the profound changes affecting agricultural landscapes: With this goal in mind, scientists, farmers and official representatives teamed up to look into ecological intensification as ... read more

Sep. 9, 2016 — Climate change will alter our ecosystems. Using ecological models, researchers are attempting to predict what kind of changes we can expect to see. Up to now, however, these predictions have not been ... read more

Forecasting Climate Change's Effects on Biodiversity Hindered by Lack of Data

Sep. 8, 2016 — An international group of biologists is calling for data collection on a global scale to improve forecasts of how climate change affects animals and ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — An international group of 22 scientists is calling for a coordinated global effort to gather important species information that is urgently needed to improve predictions for the impact of climate ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Researchers reporting in the journal Current Biology show catastrophic declines in wilderness areas around the world over the last 20 ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Up until now, scientists had only recognized a single species of giraffe made up of several subspecies. But, according to the most inclusive genetic analysis of giraffe relationships to date, ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — New research found that China's reforestation program, the world's largest, overwhelmingly leads to the planting of monoculture forests that fall short of restoring the biodiversity of ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — PPCPs are widely released into the world’s freshwaters and oceans, where they mix at low concentrations over long time periods and seep into diverse environmental pathways such as surface water, ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Nutrient pollution emptying into seas from cities, towns and agricultural land is changing the sounds made by marine life -- and potentially upsetting navigational cues for fish and other sea ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — The Guiana mountain tops – an wide area of tabular highlands and high cliffs with tepuis - are threatened by the impact of human activity, specially tourism, according to the warnings of ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — European earthworms invading the forests of North America are responsible for a decline in species diversity in the forest understory. Scientists have now been able to demonstrate this general ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Ocean warming is affecting humans in direct ways and the impacts are already being felt, including effects on fish stocks and crop yields, more extreme weather events and increased risk from ... read more

Sep. 2, 2016 — A team of environmental engineers and a wetland ecologist have created a computer model that can help wetland managers increase the size of migratory bird habitat and combat invasive vegetation using ... read more

Subantarctic Seabed Creatures Shed New Light on Past Climate

Sep. 1, 2016 — It takes thousands of years for seabed communities to recover from major glaciation events, new research suggests. The study focused on the seas around South Georgia in the south ... read more

Aug. 30, 2016 — Researchers have used 'environmental DNA' to determine the biodiversity of a river. Previously, this involved collecting and identifying all the organisms living in it. Using environmental ... read more

Amazon Forests: Biodiversity Can Help Mitigate Climate Risks

Aug. 29, 2016 — A forest with greater diversity of plants can better adjust to climatic stress. Now for the first time, a team of scientists can show this in computer simulations of the Amazon region by accounting ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — An unnatural balance of nutrients threatens biodiversity in a survival of the fittest scenario, according to new research. A global network of researchers who have tested the impact increased ... read more

Predictive Tool Vital to Sustainable Environmental Futures

Aug. 26, 2016 — A new predictive tool, which for the first time combines human perception of the environment with land-use planning and socioeconomic data, could help governments mitigate the impact of climate ... read more

Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016