Biodiversity News
July 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:57pm EDT

More Biodiversity News
July 29, 2016

July 14, 2016 — Levels of global biodiversity loss may negatively impact on ecosystem function and the sustainability of human ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Biologists are digging under vineyards to see if the Okanagan's grape industry is affecting soil quality. A research team delivers its findings after spending the better part of three years ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Widely hailed as a renewable natural resource, tropical timber from old-growth tropical forests is selectively logged worldwide at an unprecedented scale. A new study reveals that once prime tropical ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have produced the first detailed study of the impact of solar parks on the environment, opening the door to smarter forms of farming and better land ... read more

July 13, 2016 — In a new study, scientists have compiled data from museums around the world to find how many Amazonian tree species have been described so far. The answer: 11,676. They also estimate that there are ... read more

Alaska's Shorebirds Exposed to Mercury

July 13, 2016 — Shorebirds breeding in Alaska are being exposed to mercury at levels that could put their populations at risk, according to new ... read more

Mixed Response: Floodwaters Return to the Colorado River but Can Release Greenhouse Gases

July 8, 2016 — Deliberately flooding riverbeds left parched by dams has great potential to restore wetlands but may also have a significant unintended consequence: the release of greenhouse ... read more

July 8, 2016 — Leading scientists warn: Phosphorus pollution is a major concern. We need to speed up recovery treatments of lakes -- or accept poor freshwater quality. In a new series of studies, leading scientists ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Amphibians that tolerate higher temperatures are likely to fare better in a world affected by climate change, disease and habitat loss, according to two recent ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

New Farming Strategies Can Help Prevent Soil Runoff While Maintaining High Crop Yields

June 30, 2016 — Scientists found that the most effective tactic to prevent soil runoff yet maintain high crop yields is to utilize Conservation Reserve Program land strategically to create buffers between the trees ... read more

As Sea Level Rises, Hudson River Wetlands May Expand

June 29, 2016 — In the face of climate change impact and inevitable sea level rise, scientists studying New York's Hudson River estuary have forecast new tidal wetlands, comprising perhaps 33 percent more ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Climate change is already reshuffling the UK's wildlife calendar, and it's likely this will continue into the future, according to new ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Species across the world are rapidly going extinct due to human activities, but humans are also causing rapid evolution and the emergence of new species. A new study summarizes the causes of ... read more

June 28, 2016 — As oil palm production expands from Southeast Asia into Central Africa, a new study finds that converting Africa's forests into monoculture plantations could trigger significant carbon emissions ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Rising sea temperatures in the Mediterranean are encouraging alien lionfish species to invade and colonize new territories with potentially serious ecological and socioeconomic ... read more

Could Ancient Wheat Be the Future of Food?

June 27, 2016 — Researchers believe untapped consumer markets exist for ancient foods such as einkorn, emmer, and spelt. Two plant breeders argue that the consumer demand for high-quality, healthy food specialties ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Gravel-bed river floodplains are some of the most ecologically important habitats in North America, according to a new study by scientists from the US and Canada. Their research shows how broad ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A team of scientists has for the first time attached a dollar value to several of the leading 'ecosystem services' -- or natural benefits -- provided by the Eastern Tropical Pacific Ocean, ... read more

June 22, 2016 — The role of red pigmented snow algae in melting Arctic glaciers has been strongly underestimated, suggests a study. The new work shows a 13 percent reduction of the albedo over the course of one ... read more

Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016