Exotic Species News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:29am EDT

More Exotic Species News
April 30, 2016

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers working on the African flowering plant genus Macowania -- mostly endemic to the Drakensberg of South Africa and Lesotho, and a relative of the sunflower -- have shown that one of its ... read more

Global Carnivore Conservation at Risk, New Report Shows

Apr. 4, 2016 — Shrinking habitat and increased conflict are projected in regions critical to survival of threatened apex predators, a new report shows. Carnivores include some of the most iconic species that help ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — Agricultural expansion in Brazil's Cerrado is quickly chewing up rainforests and savannas -- even altering the region's water cycle, a new study ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Cropland recycles less water into the atmosphere than native vegetation in Brazil's wooded savannas, which could lead to less rain in the region as agriculture expands, a new study ... read more

No Snow, No Hares: Climate Change Pushes Emblematic Species North

Mar. 30, 2016 — A forest dweller, the snowshoe hare is named for its big feet, which allow it to skitter over deep snow to escape lynx, coyotes and other predators. It changes color with the seasons, assuming a ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Black wattle, flowering trees also known as Australian acacia, have been observed to rapidly invade local airports in Yunnan province, southwestern China. According to the ecologists, this alien ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — Rising levels of atmospheric nitrogen pollution threaten plant diversity at nearly one-quarter of sites across a widespread portion of the US, according a new ... read more

Working to Save Endangered Species in Nicaragua

Mar. 23, 2016 — A proposed canal project in Nicaragua that would connect the Caribbean Sea with the Pacific Ocean could seriously deplete and disrupt the habitats of a number of animals, including some that are ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — A changing climate is altering the ability of Rocky Mountain forests to recover from wildfire, according to a new study. When warm, dry conditions lead to drought in the years following fires, it ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — The legend of St. Patrick banishing snakes from the emerald isle some 1,500 years ago is indelibly etched in folklore -- even if science suggests snakes were unlikely to have colonized the country ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — New research suggests that Gleditsia triacanthos (honey locust) distribution in the Southern Appalachian region is more strongly patterned by Native American settlements dating back centuries than by ... read more

Mar. 15, 2016 — The expansion of protected areas into US federal waters would safeguard 100 percent of core home range areas used by three species of sharks tracked in the northwestern Atlantic Ocean, new research ... read more

Dissimilar Forests Are Vital for Delivery of Ecosystem Services

Mar. 14, 2016 — A team of ecologists aimed to find out what the effects of forest tree species diversity are on ecosystem services. These services, which include timber production, carbon storage, and forest ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Joshua trees are the iconic species of the Mojave Desert, the hottest and driest desert region of North America. Now scientists report that modern genetic tools could save the ancient icon, which are ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Over thousands of years, most forests in the eastern United States evolved with frequent fire, which promoted tree species and ecosystems that were both fire and drought resistant. In little more ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Future Forests of the Northern United States is an analysis of future forest change in the 20 states stretching from Maine to Minnesota and from Missouri to Maryland. The report provides critical ... read more

Even Plant-Supporting Soil Fungi Affected by Global Warming, Study Finds

Mar. 7, 2016 — On a cool, fog-shrouded mountain of Costa Rica, a biologist is finding that warming temperatures are becoming an increasing problem for one of the most ecologically diverse places on ... read more

Understanding Differences Within Species Is Critical to Conservation Efforts

Mar. 4, 2016 — Differences within a species across geographically distinct ranges should be taken into account during conservation planning as the climate changes, warn ... read more

The Overlooked Commotion of Particle Motion in the Ocean

Mar. 1, 2016 — Most aquatic species sense sound via particle motion, yet few studies on underwater acoustic ecology have included measurements of particle motion. In response, researchers have developed a ... read more

Warmer Water Leads to Respiratory Distress in Aquatic Animals

Feb. 29, 2016 — Until now, the link between rising water temperatures and higher mortality rates in aquatic animals was a bit of a chicken-and-egg situation. Are they dying because they're unable to absorb ... read more

Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015