Exotic Species News
May 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:30pm EDT

More Exotic Species News
May 31, 2016

May 4, 2016 — Discovering that the association between trees and two classes of underground mycorhizzal fungi can be detected from space is a huge leap forward in our ability to understand how forests change on a ... read more

Hydropeaking of River Water Levels Is Disrupting Insect Survival, River Ecosystems

May 2, 2016 — A group of researchers concluded that 'hydropeaking' of water flows on many rivers in the West has a devastating impact on aquatic insect ... read more

Remote Sensing Maps Threats to Malaysia’s Mangroves

May 2, 2016 — Remote sensing data reveals land use and land cover changes over an 18-year period at one of the best-managed mangrove forests in the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Flight is one of nature's greatest breakthroughs. It enables escape, dispersion, and exploration. Lacking flight keeps you grounded -- sometimes for a long time even from evolution's ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Here's another reason to start saving for that beach house: new research suggests that residents with a view of the water are less ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Researchers say that climate change will cause a disproportionate decline in African antelopes with the smallest geographic ranges, placing the most-threatened taxa in 'double jeopardy.' ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Millions of native orchids are flourishing on the site of a former iron mine in New York's Adirondacks, suggesting that former industrial sites – typically regarded as blighted landscapes — ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Researchers in the United States recently completed the first comprehensive, multi-year study of honey bee parasites and disease as part of the National Honey Bee Disease Survey. The findings reveal ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Using a new model, researchers predict that many forests across the US are ill-suited to withstand drought conditions likely to face the country in the coming century. Furthermore, in the Pacific ... read more

Role of Animals in Mitigating Climate Change Varies Across Tropical Forests

Apr. 25, 2016 — Large animals play a key role in mitigating climate change in tropical forests across the world by spreading the seeds of large trees that have a high capacity to store carbon, new research ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — The redwood and sequoia trees in California, the baobab trees in Madagascar, and the rose gum Eucalyptus trees in northeastern Australia are only a few of the spectacular large, old trees still ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — A team of scientists set up camera traps in Peru to record the biodiversity of that area of the Amazon ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — In comparison to their relatives on the mainland, the Channel Island foxes living on six of California's Channel Islands are dwarves, at two-thirds the size. The island foxes most likely evolved ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers working on the African flowering plant genus Macowania -- mostly endemic to the Drakensberg of South Africa and Lesotho, and a relative of the sunflower -- have shown that one of its ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Tree species that can withstand stress to the water-transport system that carries water from the roots to the crown are less susceptible to drought and massive die-off. The findings could help ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Forest trees use carbon not only for themselves; they also trade large quantities of it with their neighbors, botanists report. The extensive carbon trade among trees -- even among different species ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Rising levels of atmospheric carbon dioxide have reduced protein in goldenrod pollen, a key late-season food source for North American bees, a new study ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A growing synchrony has been revealed in ring-width patterns of trees in response to global warming. This study shows the existence of an increase of spatial synchrony of ring width patterns in Spain ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Rat-tailed maggots are known to live in stagnant, fetid water that is rich in bacteria, fungi, and algae. However, they are able to avoid infection by these microorganisms due to nanopillars on their ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Urban gardeners have the potential to contribute to ecosystem services by growing a diverse array of plants that could benefit wildlife. In Chicago, African American, Chinese-origin, and ... read more

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015