Exotic Species News
April 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:42am EDT

More Exotic Species News
April 25, 2017

Application of Statistical Method Shows Promise Mitigating Climate Change Effects on Pine

Apr. 20, 2017 — Confronting evidence that the global climate is changing rapidly relative to historical trends, researchers have developed a new statistical model that, when applied to the loblolly pine tree ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers have studied forests subjected to different frequencies of fires to determine what effects fire can have on oak forests over long periods of time. They found that the frequency of ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The snake fauna of Central and South America seems largely under-researched, since as many as thirty-three species of a single genus have been discovered in the last ten years only. Recently, a team ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A four-year study of one rare and one common lupine growing in coastal dunes showed that a native mouse steals most of the rare lupines seeds while they are still attached to the plant. The mouse is ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — Tropical rainforests are one of the most species-rich areas on earth. Thousands of animal and plant species live there. The smaller microbial protists, which are not visible to the naked eye, are ... read more

From Entanglement to Invasions of Alien Species: The Harm Caused by Marine Litter

Mar. 17, 2017 — Marine litter is a threat to the marine ecosystem, human health and economic activities. A new report sheds light on the many effects of litter in our oceans, and highlights the severity and scale of ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Biologists have announced the discovery last month of the largest Alberta bat hibernation site (based on estimated bat count) ever recorded outside of the Rocky ... read more

Mating Mix-Up With Wrong Fly Lowers Libido for Mr. Right

Mar. 16, 2017 — If you've ever suffered a nightmare date and were hesitant to try again, fruit flies can relate. Female flies that have been coerced into sex by invasive males of the wrong species are less ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — Some sea life could be just as disconnected as those divided by mountains or motorways, new research ... read more

Mar. 14, 2017 — The success of ecological restoration projects around the world could be boosted using a potential new tool that monitors soil microbes, say ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — Some farmers in the United States and Canada have noticed that the quantity and quality of their maple syrup is changing with climate variability. Now researchers who are investigating these ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — Researchers have discovered and identified 16 new fungus gnat species in the Amazonia. The diverse gnat species maintain exceptionally rich parasitoid wasp species, which shows the importance of ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — Conservationists working to safeguard tropical forests often assume that old growth forests containing great stores of carbon also hold high biodiversity, but a new study finds that the relationship ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — The indirect impacts invasive species can have in an ecosystem, new research confirms. This study focused on the brown treesnake, whose introduction to the forests of Guam has led to difficulties for ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — An international team of scientists discovered two new species of clown tree frogs in the Amazon region. Until recently, these colorful amphibians had erroneously been considered part of another ... read more

Rangers Fight Loss of Wildlife With Fire

Mar. 7, 2017 — Native animals are declining on Australia's second largest island with brush-tailed rabbit-rats, black-footed tree-rats and northern brown bandicoots the worst ... read more

How Nature Creates Forest Diversity

Mar. 6, 2017 — Forest ecologists have long sought to understand why so many different species of trees can coexist in the same niche. A modeling study provides new ... read more

Mar. 1, 2017 — Distinguishing human from climatic influence on historical fire patterns is critical to forest management planning, which is guided by historical patterns of fire frequency, size, and intensity. A ... read more

Feb. 27, 2017 — An invasive species of marsh grass that spreads, kudzu-like, throughout North American wetlands, may provide similar benefits to protected wetlands as native marsh grasses. According to new research, ... read more

Melting Polar Ice, Rising Sea Levels Not Only Climate Change Dangers

Feb. 23, 2017 — Climate change from political and ecological standpoints is a constant in the media and with good reason, suggests a new study, but proof of its impact is sometimes found in unlikely ... read more

Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016