Tundra News
May 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:00am EDT

More Tundra News
May 31, 2016

Apr. 13, 2016 — The establishment of moose in tundra regions of Alaska was the result of warmer and longer summers that increased their shrub habitat, according to a new ... read more

Six to 10 Million Years Ago: Ice-Free Summers at the North Pole

Apr. 7, 2016 — A new window has been opened into the climate history of the Arctic Ocean. Using unique sediment samples from the Lomonosov Ridge, the researchers found that six to 10 million years ago the central ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Plant gasses possibly dampen the temperature rise in Greenland. Plants emit compounds to deter pests or attract pollinators, and as a side effect particles are formed when the compounds interact in ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Global warming means much warmer winters in the Arctic, with more rain and icing. Researchers are working to understand what that will do to plants that have evolved to overwinter under a thick ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — As the Navy's Ice Exercise 2016 winds to a close this week in the frigid waters of the Arctic Ocean, officials at the Office of Naval Research today reported new scientific research that took ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — Vanishing Arctic sea ice. Dogged weather systems over Greenland. Far-flung surface ice melting on the massive island. These dramatic trends and global sea-level rise are linked, according to a new ... read more

Mar. 25, 2016 — An expert assessment helps quantify the amount of carbon dioxide that will be released in the Arctic following climate-related changes in the ... read more

Unaccounted for Arctic Microbes Appear to Be Speeding Up Glacier Melting

Mar. 23, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that Arctic microbes are increasing the rate at which glaciers melt, in a process not accounted for in current climate change models. Working on an icecap in Svalbard, in ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — A global study suggests that increases in plant respiration that could occur under global warming might not be as big as previously estimated, especially in the coldest regions. Since respiration ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — A recent article provides the first comprehensive inventory of the world's biological field stations. Its authors report 1,268 stations are operating in 120 countries -- from the tropics to the ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Warmer, wetter conditions in the Arctic are accelerating the loss of carbon stored in tundra and permafrost soils, creating a potential positive feedback that further boosts global temperatures, a ... read more

European Clean Air Policies Unmask Arctic Warming by Greenhouse Gases

Mar. 14, 2016 — The drastic cut in sulfate particle emissions in Europe partly explains the amplified Arctic warming since the 1980s, shows a new study. Sulfate emissions, which cause, for example, acid rain, peaked ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Rapid melting of ice and Arctic permafrost is altering tundra regions in Alaska, Canada and Russia, according to a new study. Ice-wedge degradation has been observed before in individual locations, ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Over thousands of years, most forests in the eastern United States evolved with frequent fire, which promoted tree species and ecosystems that were both fire and drought resistant. In little more ... read more

Mar. 2, 2016 — Scientists are exploring how the thawing of permafrost affects vegetation and the carbon cycle in the Toolik Lake area of Alaska's North ... read more

Study of Tundra Soil Demonstrates Vulnerability of Ecosystem to Climate Warming

Feb. 22, 2016 — Findings from one of the first comprehensive field studies by a collaborative team of researchers demonstrate the active layer microbiome of tundra soil was significantly altered after only 1.5 years ... read more

Feb. 19, 2016 — For long time freshwater has been seen as one potential cause for rapid climate change in the North Atlantic – Arctic region – probably most people have heard about the ‘Gulf Stream is slowing ... read more

Feb. 18, 2016 — By using satellites, biologists are now able to map which areas are most sensitive to climate variability on a global scale. A new metric, Vegetation Sensitivity Index (VSI), allows a more ... read more

Feb. 18, 2016 — This winter, the Arctic stratosphere so far has been unusually cold. Hence, all prerequisites are given for strong ozone depletion in the coming weeks. This conclusion is based on first results of ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — As the Arctic continues to change due to rising temperatures, melting sea ice and human interest in developing oil and shipping routes, it's important to understand belugas' baseline ... read more

Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015