Tundra News
August 23, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:27pm EDT

More Tundra News
August 23, 2016

June 23, 2016 — Finding out which is the highest mountain in the US Arctic may be the last thing on your mind, unless you are an explorer who skis from the tallest peaks around the globe. A ski mountaineer and a ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Analysis of nearly three decades of air samples from Alaska's North Slope shows little change in long-term methane emissions despite significant Arctic warming over that time period, according ... read more

June 22, 2016 — The role of red pigmented snow algae in melting Arctic glaciers has been strongly underestimated, suggests a study. The new work shows a 13 percent reduction of the albedo over the course of one ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Permafrost below shallow Arctic lakes is thawing as a result of changing winter climate, new research shows. These rates of warming are similar to those observed in terrestrial permafrost, yet those ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Soil moisture levels will determine how much carbon is released to the atmosphere as rising temperatures thaw Arctic lands, suggests new scientific ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Carbon dioxide emissions from dry and oxygen-rich environments are likely to play a much greater role in controlling future rates of climate change caused by permafrost thaw than rates of methane ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Following record-high temperatures and melting records that affected northwest Greenland in summer 2015, a new study provides the first evidence linking melting in Greenland to the anticipated ... read more

June 2, 2016 — The northern reaches of North America are getting greener, according to a study that provides the most detailed look yet at plant life across Alaska and Canada. In a changing climate, almost a third ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Through geologic time the cold temperatures of Alaska have led to the storage of vast quantities of soil and biomass carbon. A major concern for this region is how interactions among warming, ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Shifts in the distribution of Spectacled Eiders, a predatory bird at the top of the Bering Sea's benthic food web, indicate possible changes in the Arctic's marine ecosystem, according to ... read more

May 27, 2016 — 250 methane flares release the climate gas methane from the seabed and into the Arctic Ocean. During the summer months this leads to an increased methane concentration in the ocean. But surprisingly, ... read more

May 25, 2016 — A new paper explains why some climate processes are more effective than others at warming/cooling the Earth. By accounting for these differences we can more accurately determine the most important ... read more

May 25, 2016 — Black carbon aerosols are important for understanding climate change. Unfortunately, current simulation models consistently underestimate the amount of these aerosols in the Arctic compared to actual ... read more

May 23, 2016 — The history of Greenland's snowfall is chronicled in an unlikely place: the remains of aquatic plants that died long ago, collecting at the bottom of lakes in horizontal layers that document the ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Climate change creates more shrub vegetation in barren, Arctic ecosystems. A new study shows that organisms, such as bacteria and fungi, are triggered to break down particularly nutritious dead parts ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Climate change is melting glaciers, reducing sea-ice cover and increasing wildlife activity -- with some of the most dramatic impacts occurring in the northern high latitudes. New research projects ... read more

Influence of Sea-Ice Loss on Arctic Warming Is Shaped by Temperatures in the Pacific Ocean

May 2, 2016 — The Arctic amplification phenomenon refers to the faster rate of warming in the Arctic compared to places farther south. Arctic amplification has been linked to a spike in the number of persistent ... read more

Sea-Level Rise Summit Coincides With Flooding Risks in South Florida Due to the Moon, High Tides and Inclement Weather

Apr. 28, 2016 — Just as parts of South Florida are bracing for potential risks of flooding in low-lying areas due to the close proximity of the moon, high tides, sea-level rise and inclement weather, researchers are ... read more

Climate Change, Extreme Weather Linked to High Pressure Over Greenland

Apr. 26, 2016 — Greenland is one of the fastest-warming regions of the world, according to climate change experts. The work has identified changes in weather systems over Greenland that have dragged unusually warm ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Sea ice physicists are anticipating that the sea ice cover in the Arctic Ocean this summer may shrink to the record low of 2012. The scientists made this projection after evaluating current satellite ... read more

Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015