Tundra News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:56am EST

More Tundra News
February 13, 2016

Jan. 14, 2016 — Winter is changing, becoming less like the cold seasons we may remember. The 'new winter' has consequences far beyond December-to-March. It affects spring and summer, too, including ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Outdated land management practices, a dearth of local decision-making bodies with real powers, a lack of long-term planning, along with long-standing educational and financial disempowerment and ... read more

Melting Sea Ice Increases Arctic Precipitation, Complicates Climate Predictions

Dec. 21, 2015 — The melting of sea ice will significantly increase Arctic precipitation, creating a climate feedback comparable to doubling global carbon dioxide, a new study ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — The amount of methane gas escaping from the ground during the long cold period in the Arctic each year and entering Earth's atmosphere is likely much higher than estimated by current climate ... read more

Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Canadian Arctic Aquatic Systems Dated for the First Time

Dec. 18, 2015 — For the first time, researchers have successfully dated the carbon dioxide and methane emitted by ponds and lakes on Bylot Island, Nunavut. The research team observed significant variability in age ... read more

New Light Shed on Lake Evaporation Under Changing Climate

Dec. 16, 2015 — For the first time, scientists have shown how winds blowing across lakes affect the chemical makeup of water vapor above and evaporated from lakes, which may aid research into past and present water ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — New projections of permafrost change in northern Alaska suggest far-reaching effects will come sooner than expected, scientists ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — A new report shows that air temperature in 2015 across the Arctic was well above average with temperature anomalies over land more than 2 degrees Fahrenheit above average, the highest since records ... read more

Knowledge Gap on Extreme Change in Temperature Elucidated

Dec. 14, 2015 — Whereas the origins of warm periods during the Jurassic (201-145 million of years ago) are well investigated, there has so far been a poor understanding of the mechanisms behind changes into cooler ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — New hydrophone surveys of migration gateways to the Arctic show that recent extremes in sea ice loss has opened new waters to humpback and fin whales that once ranged through the far north only in ... read more

Climate Change Assessment Models Need Broader Context

Dec. 10, 2015 — Multi-actor integrated assessment models based on well-being concepts beyond GDP could support policymakers by highlighting the interrelation of climate change mitigation and other important societal ... read more

Dec. 10, 2015 — Pollution of Earth's atmosphere by ozone-depleting substances, such as chlorine or bromine from halons and chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), decreased over the past years, new research shows. Ozone ... read more

Dec. 10, 2015 — Clouds can increase warming in the changing Arctic region more than scientists expected, by delivering an unexpected double-whammy to the climate system, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 8, 2015 — Climate scientists present evidence in a new study that they can predict whether the Arctic sea ice that forms in the winter will grow, shrink, or hold its own over the next several ... read more

Dec. 4, 2015 — Old Weather is a citizen-science project that is mining historic ship logs to get a unique peek at the history of Arctic climate. Now volunteers will transcribe logbooks from hundreds of whaling ... read more

Asia Is Warming the Arctic

Dec. 1, 2015 — New research has calculated Arctic warming from various sources of black carbon emissions. Emissions from Asia and gas flaring in Russia have the greatest impact on Arctic ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — The levels of black carbon in Arctic rivers has been determined by researchers who found that the input of black carbon to the Arctic Ocean is likely to increase with global ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — Using statistically modeled maps drawn from satellite data and other sources, scientists have projected that the near-surface permafrost that presently underlies 38 percent of boreal and arctic ... read more

Shedding Light on Oil Behaviors Before the Next Spill

Nov. 25, 2015 — There are still critical research gaps hampering efforts to both assess the environmental impacts of crude oil spills and to effectively remediate them, a Canadian, comprehensive scientific report ... read more

Nov. 24, 2015 — NASA's Operation IceBridge, an airborne survey of polar ice, recently finalized two overlapping campaigns at both of Earth's poles. Down south, the mission observed a big drop in the height ... read more

Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015