Tundra News
May 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:59pm EDT

More Tundra News
May 6, 2016

Mar. 31, 2016 — As the Navy's Ice Exercise 2016 winds to a close this week in the frigid waters of the Arctic Ocean, officials at the Office of Naval Research today reported new scientific research that took ... read more

Mar. 25, 2016 — An expert assessment helps quantify the amount of carbon dioxide that will be released in the Arctic following climate-related changes in the ... read more

Unaccounted for Arctic Microbes Appear to Be Speeding Up Glacier Melting

Mar. 23, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that Arctic microbes are increasing the rate at which glaciers melt, in a process not accounted for in current climate change models. Working on an icecap in Svalbard, in ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — A global study suggests that increases in plant respiration that could occur under global warming might not be as big as previously estimated, especially in the coldest regions. Since respiration ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — A recent article provides the first comprehensive inventory of the world's biological field stations. Its authors report 1,268 stations are operating in 120 countries -- from the tropics to the ... read more

European Clean Air Policies Unmask Arctic Warming by Greenhouse Gases

Mar. 14, 2016 — The drastic cut in sulfate particle emissions in Europe partly explains the amplified Arctic warming since the 1980s, shows a new study. Sulfate emissions, which cause, for example, acid rain, peaked ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Rapid melting of ice and Arctic permafrost is altering tundra regions in Alaska, Canada and Russia, according to a new study. Ice-wedge degradation has been observed before in individual locations, ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Over thousands of years, most forests in the eastern United States evolved with frequent fire, which promoted tree species and ecosystems that were both fire and drought resistant. In little more ... read more

Mar. 2, 2016 — Scientists are exploring how the thawing of permafrost affects vegetation and the carbon cycle in the Toolik Lake area of Alaska's North ... read more

Study of Tundra Soil Demonstrates Vulnerability of Ecosystem to Climate Warming

Feb. 22, 2016 — Findings from one of the first comprehensive field studies by a collaborative team of researchers demonstrate the active layer microbiome of tundra soil was significantly altered after only 1.5 years ... read more

Feb. 19, 2016 — For long time freshwater has been seen as one potential cause for rapid climate change in the North Atlantic – Arctic region – probably most people have heard about the ‘Gulf Stream is slowing ... read more

Feb. 18, 2016 — By using satellites, biologists are now able to map which areas are most sensitive to climate variability on a global scale. A new metric, Vegetation Sensitivity Index (VSI), allows a more ... read more

Feb. 18, 2016 — This winter, the Arctic stratosphere so far has been unusually cold. Hence, all prerequisites are given for strong ozone depletion in the coming weeks. This conclusion is based on first results of ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — As the Arctic continues to change due to rising temperatures, melting sea ice and human interest in developing oil and shipping routes, it's important to understand belugas' baseline ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — New research confirms there really was a giant, flightless bird with a head the size of a horse's wandering about in the winter twilight of the high Arctic some 53 million years ... read more

Feb. 10, 2016 — Considerably more of the fossil record of creatures such as mammoths, mastodons, camels, horses and ground sloths has been lost in what is now the continental United States and South America than in ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Each year, as bears prepare to hibernate, they gorge themselves on food to pack on fat. And yet, despite the rapid weight gain, the animals somehow avoid the health consequences so often associated ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Not only is Greenland's melting ice sheet adding huge amounts of water to the oceans, it could also be unleashing 400,000 metric tons of phosphorus every year -- as much as the mighty ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — New research has quantified the change in regional extremes in a world where global average temperatures have risen by two degrees ... read more

Future of Arctic May Depend on Permafrost

Jan. 19, 2016 — Whether the vast Arctic will retain its icy past or might instead become a dry landscape could hinge on something of an obscure nature – permafrost – according to a new ... read more

Thursday, March 31, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015