Hazardous Waste News
April 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:28am EDT

More Hazardous Waste News
April 29, 2016

Apr. 28, 2016 — Over 300 million people worldwide use groundwater contaminated with arsenic or fluoride as a source of drinking water. Now a research team has developed a method whereby the risk of contamination in ... read more

Monitoring Toxic Chemicals in Coastal Waters to Protect Wildlife

Apr. 26, 2016 — More investment is needed to develop better analytical tests to measure, and therefore help control, the amount of toxic chemicals called organotins that enter the environment, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — While environmental issues are often cited as a major factor in cities and towns in pursuing sustainability, a new study shows that economic concerns can be just as important to local governments in ... read more

Induced Earthquakes Come Under Closer Scrutiny

Apr. 20, 2016 — On March 28, the US Geological Survey issued a one-year seismic forecast for the United States that for the first time includes ground-shaking hazards from both natural and human-induced ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — A paper-based biosensor covered with bacteria has been designed to detect water toxicity. This is an innovative and inexpensive biological tool which can be easy to use in economically restricted ... read more

Water Recovered from Whey Can Be Used for Clean-in-Place Procedures

Apr. 14, 2016 — Given the amount of water needed and concerns regarding resource scarcity, researchers sought to find a method to recycle and reuse water from whey for clean-in-place systems. Their findings provide ... read more

Recovering Lithium from Natural Salt Pools: Purity Up to 99.9 Per Cent

Apr. 13, 2016 — New methods for lithium recovery from natural brine have been studied pursued by researchers. Their methods enabled increasingly effective recovery of lithium and the purity of the lithium solution ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — The level of oxygen in a coal ash disposal site can greatly affect how much toxic selenium and arsenic can be leached from the system, report scientists at the conclusion of their ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Scientists have dramatically expanded the tree of life, which depicts the variety and evolution of life on Earth, to account for thousands of new microscopic life forms discovered over the past 15 ... read more

Oil and Gas Wastewater Disposal May Harm West Virginia Waterways

Apr. 7, 2016 — Unconventional oil and gas operations combine directional drilling and hydraulic fracturing, or 'fracking,' to release natural gas and oil from underground rock. Studies have centered on ... read more

Reducing Food Waste Could Help Mitigate Climate Change

Apr. 7, 2016 — About a tenth of overall global greenhouse-gas emissions from agriculture could be traced back to food waste by mid-century, a new study shows. A team of researchers, for the first time, provides ... read more

Respirator Mask Reduces Effects of Pollution on the Heart

Apr. 6, 2016 — The use of a respiratory filter mask helps minimize the impact of pollution on people with heart failure during rush-hour traffic in big cities, shows a new ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — New ways to influence selectivity for specific charged ions have been discovered by scientists. Better selectivity to enhance discrimination between metals, such as sodium and cesium, could improve ... read more

Potential for Capturing Waste Heat Via Nanotubes

Apr. 5, 2016 — A finely tuned carbon nanotube thin film has the potential to act as a thermoelectric power generator that captures and uses waste heat, according to ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — A new technique models oil and gas formations to determine the cause of souring in hydrocarbon products. The team's finding offers a way to cut costs at wellheads where biocides may be ... read more

Waste Stream to Energy Source: What If America’s Next Big Fuel Source Is Its Trash?

Mar. 31, 2016 — Researchers want to create energy conversion technologies designed to mine the carbon out of waste processes that traditionally have been an environmental burden to the ... read more

Energy Recycling Heats Up

Mar. 30, 2016 — Scientists have developed a novel system that recovers energy normally lost in industrial ... read more

Fracking -- Not Wastewater Disposal -- Linked to Most Induced Earthquakes in Western Canada

Mar. 29, 2016 — A survey of a major oil and natural gas-producing region in Western Canada suggests a link between hydraulic fracturing or 'fracking' and induced earthquakes in the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Coal and gas-fired generation attracted less than half as much capacity investment as renewables last year; Renewables added more to global energy generation capacity than all other technologies ... read more

'Ethereal Carbon': B.C. Government Presents a Fossil Fuel as 'Clean'

Mar. 21, 2016 — Despite worldwide concern about the consequences of “fracking”, the British Columbia government is presenting its proposed Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) industry as both an economic benefit to the ... read more

Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015