Snow and Avalanches News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:43pm EDT

More Snow and Avalanches News
April 27, 2017

Apr. 4, 2017 — With spring finally here and warmer temperatures just around the corner, snow will slowly melt away, releasing us from the clutches of winter. However, that's not the only thing that the melting ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — Glaciers and ice sheets have recently been considered significant sources of organic carbon and provide nutrients to downstream marine ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — A change in precipitation at one location may be caused by changes on the other side of the planet. An international team with the participation of the GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences now ... read more

Some of Greenland's Coastal Ice Will Be Permanently Lost by 2100

Mar. 31, 2017 — The glaciers and ice caps that dot the edges of the Greenland coast are not likely to recover from the melting they are experiencing now, a study has ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Every year an increasing amount of sea ice is melting in the Arctic. This can start a chain reaction, which leads to increased production of algae and hence more food for creatures in the ... read more

Solving the Mystery of the Arctic's Green Ice

Mar. 29, 2017 — In 2011, researchers observed something that should be impossible — a massive bloom of phytoplankton growing under Arctic sea ice in conditions that should have been far too dark for anything ... read more

Climate Change and an 'Overlooked' Nutrient: Silica

Mar. 23, 2017 — Sugar maples may have far greater silica pumping power than expected, and also may be more profoundly affected by climate change as warmer winters damage their vulnerable ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The Arctic sea ice maximum extent and Antarctic minimum extent are both record lows this year. Combined, sea ice numbers are at their lowest point since satellites began to continuously measure sea ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — The last piece of the ice sheet that once blanketed much of North America is doomed to disappear in the next several centuries, says a new ... read more

Mar. 17, 2017 — The sub-antarctic island of South Georgia -- famous for its wildlife -- was covered by a massive ice cap during the last ice age, new research ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — When spring arrives, temperatures begin to rise, ice is melts, and the world around us starts to blossom. Scientists sometimes refer to this transition from winter to the growing season as the ... read more

Protecting Ice Memory

Mar. 16, 2017 — Collecting ice cores from high-mountain glaciers most at risk from climate change and storing them in Antarctica for future generations of scientists: that is the goal of ICE MEMORY, an international ... read more

When the Sea Ice Melts, Juvenile Polar Cod May Go Hungry

Mar. 15, 2017 — Polar cod fulfil a key role in the Arctic food web, as they are a major source of food for seals, whales and seabirds alike. But the polar cod themselves might soon be the hungry ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Scientists have found the seasonal 'fingerprints' of Arctic sea ice, El Nino, and other climate phenomena in a new study that probes the global interactions between weather and ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — The dramatic decline of Arctic sea ice in recent decades is caused by a mixture of global warming and a natural, decades-long atmospheric hot spot over Greenland and the Canadian ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — For the past eight years, Operation IceBridge, a NASA mission that conducts aerial surveys of polar ice, has produced unprecedented three-dimensional views of Arctic and Antarctic ice sheets, ... read more

Mar. 2, 2017 — Each year, there are over 150 avalanche fatalities in the US and Europe, with most deaths occurring among recreational groups that include skiers, snowboarders, snowmobilers, and mountaineers. The ... read more

Understanding and Predicting Snow Behaviour

Mar. 1, 2017 — Scientists are working to better analyze the mechanical properties of snow. The project has the goal to develop a computer model that can help solving typical snow-related engineering problems. The ... read more

Highest Temperatures Recorded for Antarctic Region

Mar. 1, 2017 — The World Meteorological Organization announced today new verified record high- temperatures in Antarctica, ranging from the high 60s (in Fahrenheit) to the high teens, depending on the location they ... read more

Feb. 27, 2017 — An international research team found a rapid rise in acidification in the western Arctic Ocean, a potential threat to shellfish, the marine ecosystem and the fishing industry. Since the 1990s, ... read more

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Saturday, September 24, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016