Autism News
August 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:05pm EDT

More Autism News
August 31, 2016

How PSD Forms and Why Defects Can Cause Autism

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that SynGAP and PSD-95, two abundance proteins in PSD that are known to cause autism when mutated, can form an autonomously assembled network structure both in test-tube ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Researchers have revealed that microglia -- cells involved in immune functions in the brain -- also influence brain connectivity and formation of new links between neurons in the developing brain. By ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Personalized wearable digital technology can help adults diagnosed with autism understand and manage their anxiety, say ... read more

Visualization of Newly Formed Synapses With Unprecedented Resolution

Aug. 11, 2016 — The spatial arrangement of synapses has a critical role in neuronal function, but the rules that govern this precise synaptic localization remain unknown. Researchers have identified mechanistic and ... read more

Autism Genes Identified Using New Approach

Aug. 1, 2016 — Researchers have developed a machine-learning approach that for the first time analyzes the entire human genome to predict which genes may cause autism spectrum disorder, raising the number of genes ... read more

Creativity, Intermedial Languages as Bridge to Communicate With Autistic Children

July 28, 2016 — This pioneering research using drama with autistic children started with an Arts and Humanities Research Council funded project 'Imagining Autism: Drama, Performance and Intermediality as ... read more

July 27, 2016 — Through use of photographs, adolescents with ASD were able to share their accounts of difficulties transitioning out of school, their struggles with socialization and how they use animals as a source ... read more

Hearing Test May Identify Autism Risk

July 25, 2016 — Researchers have identified an inner ear deficiency in children with autism that may impact their ability to recognize speech. The findings could ultimately be used as a way to identify children at ... read more

Induced Labor Not Associated With Risk for Autism Spectrum Disorders, Study Shows

July 25, 2016 — Induction of labor appears not to be associated with increased risk of autism spectrum disorders in children, a large new study demonstrates. The new finding suggests that concern about autism risk ... read more

Molecular Messenger Helps Mice Find New Friends

July 20, 2016 — Meeting new people can be both stressful and rewarding. New research suggests that a molecule involved in regulating stress in the brain may also help determine how willing we are to leave the safety ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Social robots can be used in the educational or health system, where they would support trainers and therapists in their work. The robots can be programmed to practice vocabulary with children or to ... read more

Dogs De-Stress Families With Autistic Children, New Research Shows

July 20, 2016 — Owning a pet dog reduces stress and significantly improves functioning in families who have a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), new research has ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Human intelligence is being defined and measured for the first time ever. It turns out that the more variable a brain is, and the more its different parts frequently connect with each other, the ... read more

Weight Gain Studied for Second-Generation Antipsychotics for Autism Spectrum Disorders

July 18, 2016 — Some of the most effective treatments for autism spectrum disorder (ASD) are also well known for their risk of weight gain and subsequent health complications. For the first time, however, ... read more

Genomic Region Associated With Autism Plays Role in Specific Cognitive Functions

July 18, 2016 — A new study reports that variations in 16p11.2, a region of the genome associated with risk of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), have distinct effects on cognition. The findings highlight the diversity ... read more

July 13, 2016 — The majority of cases of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) are unknown. Now researchers have created a "mini-brain" model, derived from persons with a particular form of idiopathic ASD ... read more

July 13, 2016 — The immune system affects -- and even controls -- social behavior, a new study has found. Researchers discovered that blocking a single type of immune molecule made mouse brains go hyperactive and ... read more

Machine Learning Puts New Lens on Autism Screening and Diagnostics

July 12, 2016 — Researchers are now exploring whether machine learning might play an important role in helping screen for autism and guide caregiver and practitioner ... read more

Helping Kids With Brain Tumors Recover Beyond the Disease

July 11, 2016 — Social strains and lack of social competence are common in children recovering from malignant brain tumors. A behavioral scientist and colleagues from across the U.S. and Canada, examined a ... read more

Insurance Mandates Lead to More Children Diagnosed and Treated for Autism Spectrum Disorder

July 11, 2016 — State mandates requiring commercial health plans to cover the cost of services for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) have resulted in an increased number of children being diagnosed and ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016