Autism News
August 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:35am EDT

More Autism News
August 26, 2016

Chemicals Banned Decades Ago Linked to Increased Autism Risk Today

Aug. 23, 2016 — A group of human-made chemicals used in some pesticides and insulating materials banned in the 1970s continues to linger in the United States, and new research found that high levels of exposure to ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Personalized wearable digital technology can help adults diagnosed with autism understand and manage their anxiety, say ... read more

Visualization of Newly Formed Synapses With Unprecedented Resolution

Aug. 11, 2016 — The spatial arrangement of synapses has a critical role in neuronal function, but the rules that govern this precise synaptic localization remain unknown. Researchers have identified mechanistic and ... read more

Induced Labor Not Associated With Risk for Autism Spectrum Disorders, Study Shows

July 25, 2016 — Induction of labor appears not to be associated with increased risk of autism spectrum disorders in children, a large new study demonstrates. The new finding suggests that concern about autism risk ... read more

Molecular Messenger Helps Mice Find New Friends

July 20, 2016 — Meeting new people can be both stressful and rewarding. New research suggests that a molecule involved in regulating stress in the brain may also help determine how willing we are to leave the safety ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Social robots can be used in the educational or health system, where they would support trainers and therapists in their work. The robots can be programmed to practice vocabulary with children or to ... read more

Dogs De-Stress Families With Autistic Children, New Research Shows

July 20, 2016 — Owning a pet dog reduces stress and significantly improves functioning in families who have a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), new research has ... read more

Weight Gain Studied for Second-Generation Antipsychotics for Autism Spectrum Disorders

July 18, 2016 — Some of the most effective treatments for autism spectrum disorder (ASD) are also well known for their risk of weight gain and subsequent health complications. For the first time, however, ... read more

Genomic Region Associated With Autism Plays Role in Specific Cognitive Functions

July 18, 2016 — A new study reports that variations in 16p11.2, a region of the genome associated with risk of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), have distinct effects on cognition. The findings highlight the diversity ... read more

July 13, 2016 — The majority of cases of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) are unknown. Now researchers have created a "mini-brain" model, derived from persons with a particular form of idiopathic ASD ... read more

July 13, 2016 — The immune system affects -- and even controls -- social behavior, a new study has found. Researchers discovered that blocking a single type of immune molecule made mouse brains go hyperactive and ... read more

Machine Learning Puts New Lens on Autism Screening and Diagnostics

July 12, 2016 — Researchers are now exploring whether machine learning might play an important role in helping screen for autism and guide caregiver and practitioner ... read more

Helping Kids With Brain Tumors Recover Beyond the Disease

July 11, 2016 — Social strains and lack of social competence are common in children recovering from malignant brain tumors. A behavioral scientist and colleagues from across the U.S. and Canada, examined a ... read more

Insurance Mandates Lead to More Children Diagnosed and Treated for Autism Spectrum Disorder

July 11, 2016 — State mandates requiring commercial health plans to cover the cost of services for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) have resulted in an increased number of children being diagnosed and ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Hallmarks of early brain overgrowth have been discovered in cells of people with autism. These findings suggest that it is possible to use stem cell reprogramming technologies developed in the past ... read more

Neuroscience Study Identifies New Trigger Mechanism for Fragile X Syndrome in Mice

July 5, 2016 — A new study identifies an astroglial trigger mechanism as contributing to symptoms of fragile X syndrome in ... read more

Effects of Supervision Variables in Treating ASD

July 5, 2016 — Scientists have announced study findings on the effects of variables in treating autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The evaluation provides the most up-to-date, scientifically sound evidence to CARD and ... read more

Reasons for Delays in Early Autism Diagnoses in Australia

July 1, 2016 — A new study has found many Australian children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) may not be diagnosed until long after initial signs appear, prompting calls for improvements to the diagnostic ... read more

July 1, 2016 — A new study has found that paracetamol (acetaminophen), which is used extensively during pregnancy, has a strong association with autism spectrum symptoms in boys and for both genders in relation to ... read more

Insights Into Neurons That Cause Symptoms of Rett Syndrome Could Guide New Therapy Search

June 28, 2016 — Two studies in mice reveal new insights into neurons that mediate symptoms typical of the postnatal neurological disorder Rett ... read more

Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016